paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field

Cowtown Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
53Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 602-695-0722
Address: 10402 W Carefree Highway Blvd
Peoria, Arizona 85383
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tippmanterror Wednesday, September 29th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havn't played at other fields. checked out other fields but cowtown has the best field
Directions
to the Field:
lake plesent road and carefree highway. head down the road tward the gliderschool and canyon raceway and follow that road til it dead ends into the field's parking lot, as far the roughness of the road i saw a new corvette driving down it once. he was going slow and he was ok
Review: well i have read the reviews and the reoccoring theam i see is problems with bruce. well i know how aggravating he is being a regular customer more in love with the game than the field. well i went out there this past weekend and i heard the best news i have ever heard, BRUCE WALKED AWAY FROM COWTOWN THIS SUMMER AND IS NO LONGER INVOLVED WITH COWTOWN IN ANY WAY SHAPE OR FORM. from what i understood about the situation talking with brian is that bruce wouldn't let brian spend money reinvesting into the field and for proper staffing. this year should see massive improvements at the field. there were about 50 players on saturday and 5 reffs. 10 to one is a pretty good ratio for recball i think. i recomend that anyone who had a bad time at cowtown previously try it again now that bruce is gone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

happyballer Wednesday, March 31st, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
23BPS (closed), Westworld
Review: There are two kinds of people in the world; two, and only two: Those who love Cowtown and those who do not love Cowtown. I cannot think of any other field in the country (much less the state) that inspires such strong emotional response to a day of paintball. And for good reason.

The reason d'etre for Cowtown; the seminal object of there being a Cowtown at all, lies in the proposition that almost every aspect of the field that touches the customer is designed with but one goal in mind - that is - to provide a completely fun experience, while on the field or not.

The customer service is simply unrivaled. The owners, the refs, and most importantly, the other players themselves, go out of there way to make other players feel like you are the most important person in the world at that moment. The owners make it clear to the "regulars" who play; that every regular player is responsible for the well being of every other player. Woe to the regular player that does not live up to this creed - they will not be playing at Cowtown for very long.

The price to value proposition at Cowtown is unrivaled as well. You may bring your own paint or you may purchase quality paint at the field for a very reasonable price. Again, the goal of Cowtown is to make sure people have a good time, and it is reflected in their pricing structure.

There are several smaller things that make Cowtown unique; all designed to facilitate a tremendous customer experience: 1) A satisfaction guarantee policy 2) Very quick check in and check out 3) Multiple fields and 4) A "kids-only" field, to name a few. Most of these items (along with the bring your own paint option) are revolutionary and compteley unheard of at almost all fields across the country.

The rules of play are uniquely designed as well and constantly being refined to accomodate the changing needs of the attendees. For example, experienced players are absolutely forbidden to shoot more than one ball at a rental player, a new or inexperienced player, or a minor. Experienced players are permitted to exercise all their skills when playing against other experienced players. Players are required to chrono before each game. The surrender rule is in effect for experienced players who are matched against non-experienced players.

When you go to Cowtown, the place strikes you in a couple of ways. It appears chaotic, but it is organized chaos. Go with a positive attitude and you cannot help but have great fun. Appreciate the usual 100 kids that are all having a great time.Appreciate the way the owners are constantly checking on customer well being. Appreciate the ref staff for the way they keep everyone safe, fix equipment, and do it all with smiles on their faces. They really love paintball.

I have been going to Cowtown for several years now. It is simply the most fun you can have playing paintball.

















Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Solid Scotsman Wednesday, March 17th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fightertown and it is far safer than Cowtown.
Directions
to the Field:
Don't bother
Review: Recently attended an event that was most disturbing. Players overshooting. Players shooting hot. Too little of a reffing staff. Reffing staff imbibing alcohol between matches. Event staff imbibing alcohol.

There's too many ways on the field that were not covered by reffing staff. Anyone could have walked on with a hot gun.

The game had to be canceled early due to "safety" concerns.

If you value the safety in the sport of paintball, you know that alcohol should never have a role anywhere near a field especially at a "family event".

Very frustrated with this field especially since several of the players that day were 15 years or younger.

My team and I won't be back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdad1 Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played at Westworld before trying Cowtown.
Review: We had my sons birthday party at Cowtown today and all the kids had a great time. The staff was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. Cowtown has a "kids-only" field which my son and his friends loved. Then they played on the big rec ball field and they had a great time.

Thanks Cowtown!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

D's Toy Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Westworld- Smaller, more expensive, refs catered to the regular players. IE "cheating"
Directions
to the Field:
from the West, you can take the 303 north until it hits Happy Valley Pkw. Head East 2.3 miles to Lake Pleasant Pkwy then turn north 6.3 miles. One block before Carefree Highway, you might see the large sign pointing you to Cowtown, Turf soaring school and Canyon Raceway. (I missed it and had to turn around.. It is easier to see from the north) Turn Left (west) the road will become dirt. Cowtown is at the end of the dirt road, it dead ends there, you can't miss it.
Review: EDIT--read the note at the bottom. Comments have been added into main body, then deleted.

I have been playing for over 15 years, around the world, including two teams, and 3 scenario games. Altogether I have played on about 50 different fields, so I have some perspective here. I would like to clarify some conflicting reviews I read before going myself. Apparently there is a newer owner different than many of the past reviews, and there is no longer a food vendor.

Arrival: The dirt access road is about a mile to the field, it is car friendly. It is a grated, graveled road, with no divots or potholes. Check in is quick and easy.

Cost: $25 for field fee is about average, the $10 military/law enforcement discount makes it a great price for us government types. $10 for rental equipment is a good price, however most places will tie it together in the field fee, here if you have to rent, it's a total of $35. Paint at $45 per case is actually cheap compared to most places. I paid $60 at westworld. You can also bring your own paint to save on costs, unless you use a rental. Rentals are field paint only.

Field: as of Sun Jan 31 2010 they had three fields set up.
1 Sup Air field which was in use by the fields three sponsored teams for most of the day, thus I did not play on it. The field looked nice, had grass on it, and appeared to be the same as any other tournament set up. This field should be missing the weekend of Feb 6-7 due to a Yuma AZ tournament they are taking the field to.

2 A Hyperball looking field made from large plastic tubes. I did not play on this field either, However it looked like a decent speedball ish mirror image field.

3 A large rec ball field that includes an Alamo castle section for assault the castle type games, a city section which includes about 6-8 plywood buildings with rooms sectioned off, and a large field area surrounding the city full of bunkers, wrecked cars, a boat, and a crashed plane. I played 8 games on this field, and I particularly like the full field games, which include the city.

Safety-- As with any field, safety is always a major concern for anyone who wants to keep their eyes, or not have skin broken from a paintball. Goggles are required upon entering ANY open fire area, even when games are not ongoing. Barrel plugs/bags are required when not on the fields/open fire areas. Dry firing is not allowed when not on the field. Guns are to be 280fps or less. Guns are to be Simi auto only.

Problems--
1 While there was a Chrono on the rec field, there was NO enforcement of the 280 fps limit. I saw about 10 out of 50 people check their guns. After 15 years of playing I KNOW when I get hit from a hot gun, and several people were running over 310fps (which breaks the skin from 20ft or further). When called out, one specific guy that broke skin on four different people including myself, couldn't get the Chrono to "work" for him. Two of the reffs, while good at paint checking and mask enforcement, were no help on checking his gun. They could only get the chrono to register 180fps, on one shot out of 10... off to the side, instead of directly over it, as it was meant to be. Then they said he was a regular and he's fine, they don't really have to check him. -- Epic Fail

2 Anyone who has played for any length of time can also tell when a gun is on burst, auto, or semi auto. I was shot from less than 2 feet away by a 14yo kid with two shots of three round burst in less than a second... After I startled him by calling a safety from behind him. All of them broke skin.

3 The refs did not explain the "safety" rule typically defined as less than 10 ft, with clear line of fire, and obvious tactical advantage. IE sneaking up behind someone, or touching them with your barrel.

4 There was obvious uneven rules enforcement. Wiping was prevalent. There was no explanation to the new players on what consisted of a “hit”. IE gun shots DO count, bounces do NOT.

5 The "Teams" that were sponsored by the field did not follow the rules. IE Dry fire in the staging area. And since they had an upcoming tournament, they hogged the speedball field.

6 The field was “open” at 0800, but no games were ready until almost 1030, the staff simply was not prepared on time. I will not go again before 0930.

7 The staging area is directly in the line of fire from the "Hyperball" speedball field, and one side of the rec ball field. It "is" netted off from the fields with construction netting, however there are some holes and it is 1 ply netting. There was lots of splatter and ball shards that made it through the nets and at least 1 full ball that broke on a 2L coke bottle on my table. I will also talk to the owner about this issue.

Final thoughts-- Over all I had a good time, and enjoyed the field. The few shortcomings can easily be overcome, and I will speak to the owner about the chrono issues. I will be going back this weekend and taking a few friends with me, so I can get some Idea of how they cater to "groups" vs. just me as a walk on with my own gear.

MAJOR EDIT

WoW... All I can say is Wow... Overall I had a great time while I was there and I rated the field well. I had planned on going back, but then, I spoke to the field owner Bruce to book a group, and to let him know what was going on at his field, since he wasn't there. Instead of the expected response of "oh thank you for the incite, and what can I do to fix the safety problems". I got a "I do not think we will be a good fit for each other please do not return to my field" WOW.... Bruce then recommended two other fields that always follow safety rules, and implied that he liked his field as it was, and was NOT going to fix his field. Based on the LACK of a correct response by the owner, and the total disregard for fixing safety issues, I will no longer be able to recommended this field. The safety "problems" were the lack of Chronoing personal markers as they entered the field, and some holes between the viewing area and the playing area. Based on these reasons I can NOT in good conscious send anyone to his field. But it is your safety.

It is my understanding (meaning I may be wrong) that for insurance purposes you MUST crono and have functioning netting separating the fields and the staging area. If this IS true, they fail. I will Re-Edit this entry when I find out for sure.

Rob Lloyd (I don't do that anonymous crap!)
Last edited on Wednesday, February 10th, 2010 at 12:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

killergopher Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
23 bps, tempe paintball, westworld/splatter ranch
Review: So I was at the field yesterday and hung out for a bit and by far this is still one of the best spots to play at in the state. It sucks that Shawn is gone but that’s not the fields fault and given the situation in which he was forced to leave it is no ones fault and the field shouldn’t be looked poorly on because of it.

The previous review says you need a suv and/or a truck to get out there. BS!!! I take my 2004 Suzuki Forenza out there all the time with no issue, if you don’t drive like an idiot you should have no problem getting to the field with any type of vehicle. My little brother drives a slammed 2002 dodge Dakota on 20's with lo-pro tires and has no problem with this road. I am not trying to brag about the cars we have just simply provide some form of reference. I will admit though, the road is really rough.

As far as the field condition goes, could it improve? Yes. But this is true with any field you go to, compared to other fields in the state its got a ton more bunkers, and it has a multi building town with a big two level building to fight in!!!! I was there when the put this up and saw how much work went in to it and did Bruce and Bryan increase entry fees? Did they jack up paint costs? Did the make it a field paint only field? No!!! These guys have the interests of true balers’ in mind. I can say with out a doubt they have a long time customer and fan in me. Other fields in the state would do better if they were more like these guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

detail Tuesday, July 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Westworld, Outlaw, Tempe
Review: This field has so much potential, but definitely don't bring your kids there.

The cactus and cow pies aren't the issue. The issue is the rampant cheating and what I would call dangerous play.

The paint prices are fair and always of good quality, not quite as cheap as APD, but you won't get complaints from me at their prices. Even their scenario prices were respectable. You can also BYOP, which saves money (except in scenario games). I typically brought my first case from APD and in respect to the operators bought a second from them.

Here are my complaints that made me decide not to return after a year of playing there at least once a month if not more:

1. Refs are friends with the regulars and will give repeated warnings instead of punishing the regulars for wiping.

2. Even when the chronos are used, people will bring tools onto the field to increase their fps. When pointed out the safety issue it is, the ref just told them, "Come on, you know better than that." It should have been an immediate banning from the field.

3. I've watched the refs text message rather than ref the game.

4. I don't mind full auto, but 30 bps is a bit much, especially when the same people with the full auto consistently bonus ball. If you don't want your kid to go home with 50+ bruises, then don't bring them to the field. I've seen the regulars brag about how they lay into a kid with full auto. When pointed out that bonus balling like that, just makes you a jerk, they respond, "If the kid is too stupid to get out of the way, then that isn't my fault."

5. They never enforce the no vulgarities rule. Honestly, how do you enforce a rule, when your biggest violator of the rule is usually a ref on the field (Yea, I'm talking about the guy with freckles, not the redhead, the other one, the speedballer.).

6. When it was pointed out at a big scenario that the valley's cheating team (You know, those "little bugs") had guys shooting at 450 fps (a major safety issue), it was consistently ignored until people started leaving. Bruce even questioned if the mask that was brought to him that was cracked from a paintball was done by a paintball and not hitting a rock. Ultimately, it was found out that a number on the team was shooting hot. Bruce told everyone that major over chronoed they were kicked out forever for that safety violation, but I saw the same guys two weeks after the scenario playing again, I guess money buys indulgences quite easily.

7. I don't expect a perfectly safe field, otherwise I'd play in a rubber room, but having strands of old barbwire on the ground is unbelievably dangerous. I fully understand the risk of cactus and actually have been stuck by it without complaint (Welcome to nature). It is bad when I have a pair of pants torn and almost had the stray barbwire trip and gouge me.

8. Don't drive there in a car. You need an SUV or full size truck. The entrance road is extremely rough. I don't mind the dirt road, but it needs to be grated and the mud pit by the bridge needs to be raised for better drainage.

This field has so much potential, but unfortunately, it isn't being ran the way it should. When I first started attending the field was well maintained and the reffing was good, but in the last 6 months the reffing has gone down hill. Couple this with the same problem players playing virtually every week means the negatives outweigh the good.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 14th, 2009 at 3:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bmat137 Tuesday, July 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Westworld,splater ranch, 23bps, fortadobe, church, wild planet
Review: a player came to our field recently and seemed to have had a bad experience, (the review below this) for that i am deeply sorry, but i would like to take this opportunity to explain a couple things and hopefully correct a couple of things. One Chef shawn is no longer with us that happend the friday before this particular weekend and we had not had time to take his information down from our web site. we are working on geting a new food vendor, as for the cow pies, we are in what is considered to be, open range and we have horses that do wonder through our area from time to time, this has been a source or irritation for us as they do make a mess and destroy bunkers and netting, we are working on puting up a fence to correct it. For our chrono. the chrono had been working flawlessly until a couple of players decided to shoot it thinking that was the way to crono their guns,it is old and well it simply stoped working. we are working on purchaseing a new chrono and hope to have one in shortly, the other chronos have got up and walked away. as for our staff, yes we are short handed at the moment but only due to economic constraints. I agree that there should have been a better presence of refs on the field. As for arm bands, we had over 150 arm bands but over the last few months players have either lost them on the field or walked off with thim never to see to them again, so for this I appologize. I will correct this soon. believe me when i say that I am very sorry that you first experience with us was not a enjoyable one but I am working very hard to correct this short comings and hope that you will give us a second chance.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slave2theAxe Saturday, September 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
23 BPS, Ballers Arena, Wild Planet
Review: As others have said...COWTOWN IS UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT so don't bother with any of the reviews older than July/August 2008...they just aren't accurate...at all!!!

1 grass NPPL speedball field up and running and field 2 under construction...plans for a 3rd as well for Xball.

Recball/scenario fields available as well.

New owners Brian and Bruce have made some amazing improvements out there and it is only the beginning. So much more to come. Great facilities that are only getting better, and what can I say about the staff...just OUTSTANDING.

For those of you who have never been out there, you owe it to yourself to check it out...

For those of you who haven't been out there since the new ownership took over...

See it AGAIN...For the FIRST time!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sam68 Sunday, September 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballers, westworld, Splater, 23
Review: This place is under new management if you have not been there in the past 3 months GO it is amazing. Right now there is a scenario field, and 1 speed ball field , they just laid the sod for the second field a full size speed ball field, it is going to be the only full size field in Arizona from my understanding. Sundays are team practice on the speed ball field and there have been anywhere from 6 to 10 teams in the past month, this is the new 23 and the place to be if you are serious about speed ball. The management is going all out guys they have big BIG plans for Cowtown, and there is something new done each week I have gone. The reffing is AMAZING, they are all over the field not your usual who cares refs that work most fields. Pricing is very fair around $40 bucks a case for good paint and I think $20 field fee, very very reasonable. They just had their first Tournament and it was run very well, reffing was A+ and everyone had a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media