paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field

Cowtown Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
53Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 602-695-0722
Address: 10402 W Carefree Highway Blvd
Peoria, Arizona 85383
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
jamesmpaintball Thursday, August 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
23bps,church,ballers arena, wildplanet
Review: This place is amazing new management,refs are top notch, and they have lights on a rec ball field for night play and my favorite is the speedball field which also has lights, if u were there and hated it a few months back come check it out wont be disapointed always there to help you out and show u new tips, COWTOWN is awesome now
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kdailey517 Monday, July 14th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
From Scottsdale and Phoenix take the 101 to I17 and then North to Carefree Highway. Go west on Carefree Highway for 6 miles to Lake Pleasant Blvd. Turn South for about 1/4 mile then turn West. past air feild / over cannal / race track It turns into a dirt rd follow the road all the way till it ends
From the West Valley take 99th Ave./Lake Pleasant Blvd. Turn North go until 1 block before Carefree Highway. You will see a large sign pointing you to Cowtown, Turf soaring school and Canyon Raceway, turn west.
Review: The cowtown FALL CLASSIC will be held the weekend of September 6th and 7th.

3 Man Young Guns (Age 14 and under) $150 per team
5 Man Rookie (All players must be D3 or below) $325 per team
5 Man Open (This division is open to all players so if you enter it there will be no complaining, you should know what you are getting into). $325 per team

This will be an event paint only event: we will using GAP Premium fury and it will be available at $39.00 per case.

Prizes:

First place: 20% of total division field fees
Second Place: 15% of total division field fees
Third Place: 10% of total division field fees

Captains Meeting will be held at 7:30am on the 6th of September, a representative must be present at the meeting or you will forfeit your first game
We will be using Modified NPPL rules (because of the 5 man format), ramping and sideline coaching will not be allowed.

Chrono speed is 280 fps.

the website is updated so visit cowtownpaintball.com
------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------
for the players who have been there before. there are new owners and this place is being completely redone. BRAND NEW RENTAL MARKERs GTI w/compressed air and new masks.

REC ball is being expanded 100 yrds to east and 50 yrds north
2nd rec feild added so bring your cammo
chrono speed 280fps

BRAND NEW SPEEDBALL NPPL setup (5man) 180ft / 80ft sat night !! we have lights!!!
2nd speedball feild (7man)is coming soon!!! along with a large lookout tower (announcers booth) overlooking both speedball feilds and moms should be able to take pics
chrono speed 300fps

7am - NOON SAT morning
5pm - 10pm SAT night
7am - NOON SUN morning
Last edited on Monday, September 1st, 2008 at 6:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

yeoldespyder Saturday, March 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Westworld- Better.
Directions
to the Field:
Uh all I can say about directions is that they are located down a loooong, rocky road, over a canal and next to a mountain.
Review: Cowtown has a couple pros, and a couple cons:

Pros: They have two fields (usually). Also, the air is self-run. So, it can be a lot faster. The cost isn't too bad. I'm not sure, but I spent around $20 to play for the whole day...And definately the best feature, is that you can use your own paint....Oh yah they have a hotdog booth set up as well.

Cons: The field and staging area is pretty dirty and unorganized. They have tables and chairs set up, but it's definately not as spacious as other fields. To go with that, the games are run on a very random basis. The hyperball games are run by the players, and usually don't have any refs overlooking the games. The goggle cleaning station isn't really set up that well, either.

SAFETY: As much as I hate to say it, safety on this field is horrible. The recball field is so close to the staging area that I had paintballs bouncing off of my gear, some of them splatting. People walk out of games, and wait to put their barrel sleeves on when they get back to the staging area, and in their chairs. Refs rarely check to make sure that everybody has their barrel sleeves on. In terms of chrono, I don't think that they checked the speed of my marker once.

CONCLUSION: This field is OK...until you get to the safety and how clean the field is....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

X7 M4 TIPPMANN Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
since we moved to az. from ca. this is the only field Ive played here in az.
Directions
to the Field:
303 loop north to happy valley east lake pleasent rd north make a left before care free hwy off the glider place. take that road all the way down. EASY cant miss it.
Review: well we got good and bad things about this field we'll start with the bad. There is not a whole lot of control at this field. i seen guys blind fireing like crazy, no barrell plugs on thier guns, and there was an idiot dry fireing his gun and no one on the staff said anything. when the games start there is people comming in late and just start playing and no one said anything. there is only one porto potty for a whole lot of people and they aint very clean. the paint they sell is on the high side ($40) and it is second grade paint. TO ANYONE READING THIS PAINT BALL IS AN HONER SPORT! IF YOU GET HIT GET THE HELL OUT! there is a lot of that going on at cowtown. now for the good things oscar and all his staff are very nice and helpful people. every one there, players and staff are all there to help. we can leave our paint and markers on the tables (reels) and no one will mess with your stuff. the rec. field is one of the best ones ive played on they are real cool especialy when they open up the woods area, the refs for the most part do there jobs. they shut down for a little bit for lunch, they sell hot dogs chips and soda and water. the food prices are resonable. you can also bring your own paint which is real cool, and you get all day paintballing with air for $25. all and all i love this field. its kind of far for me but its well worth the trip.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

big_blue_guy Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
in the area? none very close, but the other good field in AZ is 23bps
Directions
to the Field:
check their website, it'll be a little map and the turn off to Cowtown is just a straight line, actually its a road the turns at a Glider school and then winds for quite time and you just cant give up on the way there
Review: i decided to go to this field because my home field is 23 bps and i thought the traffic would be horrible due to the superbowl. Anyway, this is a great field. the staff, mainly Oscar, is awesome. the refs lack just a little bit and tend to favor the players that have come there before (you know who you are). This was my first time and i was just playing rec because my team wasnt there and i wanted to have a little fun.
the rec field was like a dream, honestly it was. the field positions i was able to get to were awesome. when you get to play with it, the ravine off to the side has to be the greatest thing to paintball since WDP (just kidding), but honestly is was too much fun to charge down the ravine and flank the other team before they knew what was goin on. there were 3 games the i played with the ravine open to play and each time i got outs in the double digits, highest was 15 lowest was 11.
As for rec balling, best field ive been to period. the speedball field was lacking so if you're a speedballer lookin for a place to play go to 23 bps in Avondale. But on the other hand if you're a rec/woodsball player GO TO THIS FIELD. Its also pretty good if you have a party or a large group of people, Oscar seems to be great with kids and large parties of people.
There is only 1 warning that i must pose to all players going to this field. If you shot someone be prepared to be battered by both the person you shot and the refs. i have to 2 very good examples of this; the first was a small game with like 5 v 5 i believe and i was shooting 13 bps on PSP, which to me was nice 'cause otherwise i shoot 17 on semi :P, but anyway i shot this guy when he slowly moved from one bunker to the other and then shot his son...and the other person on the field. after the game i was yelled at by all 3 refs, the older man, and was threatened with being thrown off the field, i then change my gun from PSP to semi and unlimited cap and showed them what i could do on semi, they then shut up. The other example was the first time i was in the ravine i moved up on a guy, shot him twice at about 20 feet, he then turned to shot me so i, of course, shot him until he surrendered. That man, let me inform you he was 30+ and im 15, walked over to me and had some choice words for me, including, "Why did you shot me 8 times? Punk b**ch" then he preceded to hit me, that was a fun game...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shayn Saturday, December 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Hey, Just wanted to let you all know that Cowtown Paintball is awesome. I don't play often but I have played periodically through the last 12 years. Oscar is great. We took our kids this time. They are 8 and 9. I was a little worried. I should not have been. Oscar explained everything for them so well. They took good care of us. My boys absolutely loved it! The boys now want paintball markers for Christmas. They are saving their money so they can go play more often. We are already planning to take friends and family that will be in town for Christmas. And the boys want to go at least once a month. It was my cousins first time also. She thought it was great. The field is big. I thought it was much more fun than the smaller closed in fields. It had more bunkers and unique qualities than any other field we have played in.
OSCAR AND COWTOWN PAINTBALL ARE GREAT!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dalineman78 Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
On website
Review: Alright, I want to say that to write a good review you must tell both sides of the story, and although I love this place and attitude, there are some problems.

Price
Well, the admision is awesome for a paintballing place. Also, bring paint saves you quite a bit. The only problem is that the place is pretty far out there, and gas is pretty expencive now.

Refs
There were some good refs who were constantly active. I sorta laughed because one of the kids had the exact same mask as the refs. Anyways, there guys are pretty cool. Even when they got shot by acident they kept their cool. Also, they were making sure that the games did not drag and called people out when they were hit. One minor flaw was there could have been more refs, but they handled the field well.

Field
Desert! Unfortunated for me, there were no trees or extra cover to sneak around in. Also, we played the same field over and over. I wasnt sure if we could go one the other courses, maybe I should have asked. One problem with the set up is that the place were you are supposted to go after you get hit is too close to the field. I was hit four times walking in or off the course, even though my gun was up. Also, you can use the net to flank you opponets since it is almost impossible to shoot through the net. I did however like the tower, van and buggy as part of the field although they might need a once over with a brush.

Players
Everyone is kind there. These people are like a family or a really close comunity. Basicly, if you ask for help or something, most anyone are willing to not only help, but talk to you and share to share a good laugh. The only thing is that there are a lot of kids out there. Because of this, camping is almost everywhere. I dont recomend trying to advance too fast unless you want to deal with a hell of a lot ok campers. Finally, watch out for using too much paint. You see a lot of people running out durring games. It is almost worth buying some cells to hold more paintballs. I have never used so many paintballs.

Guns
There are some top notch players out there so beware of a storm of balls to hail down. I do recomend that you bring your own gun, since theirs are crap, but I mean even the rentals are cheep so whatever flotes your boat.

In conclusion, this is an awesome place to come and paintball. It is good for both starters and pros. I really want to come back in the near future.
Last edited on Sunday, April 1st, 2007 at 10:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

johnnydean08 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
23 BPS
Directions
to the Field:
Long Drive. Can't remember. Just know how to drive there. =S
Review: I am a Volunteer Referee here. I paintball here as much as I can with the money and time i recieve from work. But, I have to finally put in my review for this field.

The Good Things Here:

Staff is there to help
Lots of players
Games are continously when started
Prices
-Food & Drinks
-Field Fee
--Which includes Air
Players
-Some Good Sportsmanship
-Can ask for help with markers and they'll help if they know the marker.

The Bad Things Here:

From My Vision, Rentals are Junk; recommend to bring your own markers, please!
Players
-Honor System (low)
-Bonus Balling (lots)
The Fields
-The Rec Ball Field can be customized to the Head Ref's Decision. I will list those that you would be able to play here:

President (My Favorite)
Alamo (My Least Favorite, Every Kid's Dream I Guess)
Short Field
Long Field (Very Large)
2 Hit Elimination on Short Field
Capture the Flag (Flag's in the Middle)
That's About It...

-The Speedball field is fairly cheap. It isn't an Air Field. It's not really a mirror image of the other side. I play it, just it's really odd if there's too many players. 4 or 5 on each team should be max. The bunkers gives ok cover.

-The Revene/Scenario Field is pretty big and is practically made for scenario games. I like it if I were to be roll playing or had the marker. (like Tippmann with flatlines and suited up with RAP Gear.) I reffed one day here and it was very complicated to keep players playing in bounds and finding hits.

-The XBall Field is personally, my least favorite when playing against "The General." Very small and tight field to move around. Very fast. If you havn't played on it, don't plan on playing players you don't know. Practice and get familiar with it before playing strangers lol.

-Both the Speedball and Recball fields are very dirty and coated very well by paint. The ground is filled with rocks and pebbels. No grass. The saftiness is enforced by everyone, not just refs. (barrel covers, masks, etc.)
===========================================================


To Summarize It Up By Profiles:

If you're a newbie, woodsballer, recreational player and/or tippmann owner, this field would perfect for you. If you're a speedballer, don't expect having fun on an airball field or speedball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

COMET64 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area. We live in Northern Cal. We were visiting for the holidays.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are on the website.
Review: We picked Cow town from the reviews written by other members and found them to be pretty accurate. My son and I mostly play Woods ball at home. Cow town was a great change, I liked the vehicles and other structures that are on the field as bunkers. We played almost continuously from the time we arrived, i thought the hours might be a little short, 9-2pm but the games were played continuously one after another except for a short lunch break. Some of the refs were a little young but did a good job and were right there to check for a paint break if needed. The prices were good and the air/co2 being included in the admission price is a pretty good deal. They cook hot dogs and hamburgers on site and have soda and water, all reasonably priced. Oscar was great and was always walking around the place talking to everyone and making sure all was cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BUS Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soutwest-23BPS
Review: I am mostly a rec/renegade player. The field has greatly improved. I had a real good time there. Great rec fields. They are chronoing the markers more often and the refs are doing a much better job. I can defintely reccomend the field now. Keep up the great work Oscar, we will be back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media