paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
94Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (703) 777 0057
Address: 20261 Hogback Mountain Rd.
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
PlayedSun Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Review: Ok first thing i want to start off with is that compared to pevs paintball, hogback is just like something some guy started in his backyard.....and his results are oh so sweet. Now the courses at hogback are all located on the mountain, so the great thing about them is that they all vary in heights and provide great tactical battles. The courses at hogback are all woodsball, but believe me, these are some of the best woodsball courses i have ever played on. What really has me loving these courses is that they have trees, but there aren't so many trees that you cant hit someone. So there is just the right amount of cover without over doing it, like pevs does. Also hogback has many big-games, and these games rock!

Ok now with the badstuff.

First off, this place literally located in a dudes backyard. You have to drive through a neighborhood to just get to the place. Also its not set up near as professionally as pevs is. Its just a little shack with a couple of tables. So if you dont mind "roughing it" this place is great.

Finally the last bad thing about this place is that it is on a mountain.....
WARNING: If you are not prepared to walk up large hills, do not come here!
You will have to climb a fairly large hill to get up to the courses, so that kind of sucks when carrying all your gear.

But besides that, i really like hogback because of their great courses, so i think and 8 is an appropriate rating
Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2008 at 1:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TW Williams Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I purchased paintball guns this Christmas for my two teenagers. I used this site to determine which field we would visit. WE were very satisfied with our choice. The staff were absolutely the best. They were very helpful and made our experience one that we will remember. I was able to upgrade our tanks at the proshop for longer play and all day air vs co2. The prices were very reasonable and the facilities were very good. we will be back soon to play again. Thanks to Hogback Mountain's Staff for making our paintball experience one to remember!

Colonel TW Williams
US Army Retired
Army Strong
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kato_Lee Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warplay 10 out of 10 - Most Realistic Play with Real Bunkers-Best field in Virginia.
Pevs (Leesburg, Va) 8 out of 10. Best fields are Compound and Dodge City.
Skyline Paintball (Strasburg, Va) 8.5 out of 10. A Great Town scenario field.
Gotcha Paintball (North Carolina) 8.5 out of 10. Awesome X-Ball and Hyper ball play!

Directions
to the Field:
See website.
Review: Review: Staff – Always friendly and helpful. Lil Nick is always able to get my marker working quickly and for a reasonable fee.


Fields:

Scenario Fields:
Castle: Offers a lot of fun and diverse play.
Fort: Offers and intense action whether your attacking or defending.

Speedball Fields:
Air Ball 1 & 2: Seem to be mostly used for team practice, but I think that walk-on players can join in.

Shapes and Diamond: I haven’t played these fields, but they don’t seem well maintained. More like and afterthought than a field that is actively played.

Mini Bunkers: Yes they are Mini, be ready to crawl. This field offers a fast pace action and with lots of angles. Honestly I would love to see a hyper ball field (made with giant tubes) in its place instead of mini-bunkers.

Wood fields:
Mountain, Valley and Alley are great woods ball fields that offer a variety of natural bunkers as well as man made. These fields all offer a challenging fast pace game that will not disappoint you.


Fee: $15 admin is fair for this area. $8 all day air is cheaper than the other fields I have played.

Bonus: Most of the dead zones offer filling stations Air and C02. The scuba tanks fill to 3000 sometimes a little less. Anything is better than a hike back down the mountain to the primary fill station.

Safety: They are really safety conscience. They actually shut everything down, no air and no chrono to give the safety briefing speech. Refs are good about enforcing the rules during play and in the dead zones. I never had any problems with players with hot marker, but the refs should carry hand held chrono to allow for on the spot monitoring.


Conclusion: This field is great for walk-on play and awesome scenarios. My friends and I always have fun at Hogback.

However, after visiting Warplay, all of the the local Northern Virginia fields should step up and reward their loyal customer base with premier fields with real bunkers. I hope the Hogback owners/managers really consider making the necessary upgades. Even some basic improves would be appreciated.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 5th, 2007 at 1:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Compulsion Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs, Leesburg, VA - More expensive, less friendly, more experienced players
Outdoor Adventures, Bowie, MD - Good Scenario Games, Walk-on is weak
Directions
to the Field:
15S from Leesburg. Take a right onto Hogback Mountain Rd. Follow the signs. You're going to go through some horse pastures and nice places. Once you turn back onto the dirt road, you're very close.
Review: Staff Attitude - 10/10
Hogback has the best attitude in the area. The people that check you in are nice. The refs are responsive and try hard. Pev's still needs some work in this area.

Players - 9/10
The good attitude from the staff seems to carry through to the regular players and they're usually fair and nice.

A lot of the recball players at Hogback are new to the sport. If you play hard and have good gear, you'll find yourself ahead of the curve.

Admission Prices - 10/10
Best prices in the area. I have my own gear and normally have my own paint. It's $15 admission and $5 all-day air.

Facilities - 7/10
Good number of tables at admissions and in the deadzones. You don't have to leave your gear on the ground to get stepped on. Porta-potties at the field. Not so bad for the gents, but I wouldn't want to have to sit down.

Rule Enforcement - 8/10
The refs strictly enforce mask and barrel-plug rules. They WILL sit out players who have a hard time remembering, and will eventually send them home. Cursing and unsportmanlike conduct will also get you penalties.

Food - 8/10
2 Hotdogs, Chips, and a water/soda for $5. They're making a profit and not gouging the player. Everyone wins!

Water - 1/10
On my latest trip, the only water available at the field had to be purchased for $1 a bottle. I'd brought some with me, but had expected to be able to refill at the field. When you're running a sports complex, you should have free water available.

Fields - 8/10
The fields are all at least "ok", with a few good ones. There's a significant hike up to the fields from the admissions area where the crono and refill stations are. This is mitigated some by scuba tanks in the deadzone that can refill your air up to a point (max 3000psi, often lower). If you haul up your paint and shoot air, you shouldn't have to make the hike except for at lunch.

Conclusion - 8/10
The prices and friendliness at Hogback keep me coming back for walk-on. I play paintball to have fun, and Hogback makes that easy.

If they had one more great field and free water available regularly, I would give them a 10.

I will say that I prefer the scenario games at OA Paintball in Bowie, but Hogback has them beat for walk-on hands down.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lax1king Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's
Review: This is the first time i've been to this field, but it left a great first impression.

Safety/ refs 10/10
- the refs were very good. Much better than Pev's

Fields 10/10
- large veriety of fields, very nice.

Prices 8/10
-prices for tickets were good but prices for paint were a little high, i reccomend not buying paint there. Prices for food were very good, 2 hot dogs, a soda (or water) and chips for 5 dollars.

Players
-The players are about 1/4 noobs who have like only played once or twice (like me), and the rest are good players with alot of experience, and nice gear. The only down side to my trip to hogback mountain was that the refs didn't do a good gob of evening out the teams. I had a party of 2 girls 3 kids (10ish) and a couple of guys... all renting, my group of people and a couple of good paintballers, the other team had all the guys with awsome gear. We got our buts kicked
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

nyyfranchise Monday, June 4th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's - The fields are a little nicer, but the crew is terrible
Warplay - The fields are awesome, the crew is more experianced
Directions
to the Field:
Its right off of Route 15 south of Leesburg. Take Hogback mountain road then follow the signs.
Review: Safety - They do have a 20 foot rule which is good for protecting people, but bad for actually trying to maneuver around the field. They do a good job of keeping the kids safe.

Fields - Their fields have not improved since the day they opened. They haven't repaired anything or taken any time to improve the quality of their structures.

Prices - Fair

Services - I do like how they have scuba tanks in their Dead Zones for quick filling between games.

Staff - Absolutely terribly unless you are sponsored by, or work for Hogback. There are two standards. Their people are tier 1, then the paying customers are lower. One of their players CLEARLY had his DM6 set for full auto (not allowed by their rules) and their staff wouldn't even look into it. When confronted, the ref just stood their and looked oblivious. I have also seen several accounts of obvious wiping go uncalled. I feel like at times we are playing against the refs as well as their players. They are very disorganized at times. This past weekend we played at Hogback for their D-Day scenario game. It was raining which did not bother me at all. It was the standing around, waiting for them to start things up that did. After an hour long lunch, we spent another 45 minutes sitting in the Dead Zone waiting for the crew to get things together to play. All while getting poured on.

Players - Unless they are sponsored by Hogback, there aren't many real players there. Mostly rentals and A-5's. You are lucky to see an ego or someone who really knows how to play the game.

Food - Two hot dogs, chips and a soda for 5 bucks.

I will never go back to Hogback paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
11 Comments - Add Comment

Monkman Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs - has similar issues
Warplay - only place for me
Directions
to the Field:
www.randmcnally.com
Review: Attended Hogback's D-Day event and for the most part had a good time.
Staff 10/10
Layout 10/10
Field paint 4/10 $60 a case for paint that is one step up from white box is just mean.
Organization 4/10 The field brief was short for once, but when we go to our dead zone, we stood around looking pretty for another 40 minutes. After lunch we ran into the same issue. We played a total of four hours, 2 in the morning and 2 in the afternoon.
Shop 10/10 had a nice tent setup with some goodies, prices looked good.
Food 8/10 hotdogs, not much you can say.

Walkon play
Staff 10/10 never had an issue and their refs are not 12
Layout 9/10 Castle needs some work, the circle the wagons move is getting old.
Organization 8/10 only once or twice had an issue with 20-30 minutes between games. Before I get a dispute put on me, I understand it takes a minute to get tanks refilled, etc. But we pay to play, not watch the refs talk about who is better or where they will be playing next week. Air up, fill up pods and play.
Food 8/10 hotdogs, not much you can say.
Shop never been in it.

Until Warplay opened up we only played at Hogback. They tried to keep the cheating down where the other local field just looked the other way. They also have older refs who will not let the regulars push them around.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionguy16 Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pevs- pricey and no better
Directions
to the Field:
i wasnt driving, but i think we used like mapquest or something
Review: SAFETY-9/10 the ref forgot to take us to chonograph before we played. so basically, my friends gun was 337 fps[we found out after he hit me and the ball bounced, actually twice.] so now i have a nice big welt. but it didnt hurt too much.
FOOD-? i just picked something up from subway.
PROSHOP-8/10 well, they didnt have a good selection, but the stuff was great for what their fields were. guns- a5's 98's and some cheap airball thing.all the other stuff was diablo or empire.
FACILITY-9/10 typical mt. stuff- porti pottis and picnic tables.
STAFF/REFS10/10- its cool, the refs are the normal cooking and cleanup staff too.
PLAYERS-8/10- well, that 4 year experience comes from playing in my friends yard a million times. i don't go to a park like ever. but this time, im with some other 11 year olds, and we got confused and went to ther wrong field. we played like 21 year olds who could show up pros. they asked me to sprin to the other side, get a flag pull, and all this stuff.IM NOT THAT GOOD, OK??!!
RULES-10/10- what you need, 20 foot rule, cuz their fps limit is high, barrel plugs on in dead zone,mask on anywhere out of the dead zone,no cursing.
EXTRA-if ur not a old teen or a really experienced player, get a private group w/ other people ur age.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ProtoRailGunner Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Directions
to the Field:
The directions are really easy to follow.
Review: The refs are fair. The food is good (if you are hungry.) The place is orginized and great for woodsball and airball players. The proshop has a good variaty of things. The rules are good. Their is a 20 foot rule so you dont get f***ed up.
The fields are good they have a wide choose of fields. They have a lot of resonable rules and they have many refs to keep things safe.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

annaNDAleRipPer Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive played at pevs 1s but i didnt like it becuase in the whole day i only layed 4 games
Review: Ilove this field ive played here my whole life when i was 5 i was coming here to watch my cuzn. my favortie field is alley, castle,mini bunkers, or there airball coarse.the ownwer is so nice.when my ion broke since my cuzn used to work for hogbak he let me use his shoker and that made me almost buy 1 but yah i didnt.hogback is were i met some people and they joined my team.They just recently set up a proshop but the only thing that is good enough is the A-5 the jen-z isnt that good i dont think but iono i have never tested it out. the refs are really nice and usually no how 2 fix ur gun if its acting up.the 2 rules i hate so much is the 20ft and the no bunkerin so now the games last a little longer becuase some of the newbies juust hide and u cant get them from any angel unless u bunker but u cant. yah i give this field a 10 caus its the field i grew up on i no tht sounds corny.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media