paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tunka Paintball Field / Tunka Paintball Field / Tunka Paintball Field / Tunka Paintball Field

Tunka Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Location: Boulder, Colorado 80301
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
motopsycho650 Sunday, December 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blitz Paintball, American Paintball Coliseum, Paintball Adventures (all commercial fields)
Directions
to the Field:
There are 10 different fields listed at http://tunka.com/whereweplay.html. There is a also a forum section of the site where we list and talk about other Boulder/Denver area locations.
Review: Tunka is an excellent group of paintball players. This site was designed to be a unified "woods ball" location for Boulder/Denver CO players to get together. All the fields listed in the site are National Forest Land. Colorado is one of only four states to still allow paintball out in the woods.

Tunka stands out above any commercial field because of many reasons:

1. All games are free to attend. Bring your own equipment, paint, and air. All ages and skill levels are welcome. Game sizes range from 8 - 50+ people depending on posting notice, weather, location, etc...

2. These are the friendliest bunch of paintball players around. These players are honest, don't cheat, and are some of the most sportsman like players I have ever played with. Many are willing to loan extra equipment, help with marker problems, and even loan paint to those in need, just to keep everyone in the game.

3. This group has a high priority of teaching paintball safety, respect of the land the games are played on, and many of the regular players are active in communication with the forest service, helping ensure we keep our privilege to play.

4. In the forums section of Tunka.com, we discuss all things paintball. We talk about & post games in a few other private property field locations. We host all different kinds of paintball games, from in-depth scenarios to quick elimination games. Most games allow unlimited rate of fire, but we also do limited technology games, including pump action only games.

Every paintball player in Colorado needs to join this site, and try out these games. Even speed ball players should give our woods ball style a try...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

karchomatic Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
My first paintball experience has been through Tunka.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions to the various fields are given on Tunka's website. The fields are on National Park land and are in the Front Range region of Colorado, especially in Roosevelt National Forest and around Nederland.
Review: I purchased a Custom 98 to wax a few local teens that were playing pranks in my neighborhood. It was my wife's idea, but when she saw me actually putting the marker in my car, she told me that it was probably illegal and I may just want to go play paintball instead. A brief six hours on Google and I found Tunka (dot) com. I signed up for free to their mailing list.

:) A few days later I got an email invitation to play at a field called Ballbuster. I logged into the website and replied "Count me in", and was able to post a short comment.

:) You can see how many players are "Count me in", "Maybe", or "Count me out", so you have a pretty good idea of how many players will show up.

:) Completely free, no charge for membership, the "required" armbands can be purchased for $5 or just use tape. If you live in the Front range of Colorado, this is a sweet way to meet people and play paintball. It's organized and informal.

:) There's a guy from (dub dub dub) ballisticspaintballsupply (dot) com who shows up at the majority of games with a mobile paintball shack on wheels. He runs the "Tunka Club" trailer, with compressed air, CO2 fills, many types of balls, loaner markers and spare parts; it's really sweet.

:) Games are organized, hosted, and rules are read by what I guess are Tunka vets. True, there are no refs, but there hasn't been a need for any. Everyone plays with honor.

:) Considering it's basically a grab-bag of Front range wackos, everyone I've met has been pretty nice, extremely helpful getting started with paintball, and not over-the-top fanatical about paint balling. The games were all out in the middle of National Forest land, and although I locked my car while playing I certainly didn't feel like I had to.

:( I do feel there's just a little too much down time between games. It's up to the host when the next game starts, and often there's allot of jaw jabbing going on. (-1)

:) Update. The June 11 game had a perfect amount of down-time between games. Just enough time to catch a nice breather, reload, re-chrono, get a snack or some water. I guess it just depends on who's hosting the game and how many show up. (+0.5)

:( It can be lonely at bigger games if you go alone. I guess this is to be expected, so bring a friend to play with or an enemy and freak him out. The guys (and gals) are very friendly, I didn't get a cliquish feel, but don't expect anyone to hold your hand. (-0.5)

:( It seems like any member can post a game, but it's certainly not an open seven days a week paintball field. I only downgrade because I have no idea when the next game is until a member posts it. (-0.5)

:( Update. The last game I attended through Tunka was large. I mean like 60-70 guys at the peak of they day. The cheating was rampant, the cursing was overwhelming, the whining and crying was annoying, and the first scenario game was an hour long- way too long a game when new players are involved. I watched my RPS All Stars completely paint a flag runner: shoulder, torso, legs, marker; the guy refused to call "hit". It was completely unfair. I painted some other guy who was wearing a brown tee-shirt and he got so pissed-off that he started cursing at me. (He made a big fuss about not cursing before the game began.) One paintball hit him in the belly and I thought he was going to fight me over it...I mean physically fight me. In another game, I was painted point-blank by a guy on my own team while I was bunkering into a defensive position. He claimed I was "too well hidden" (meanwhile, I had a bright blue armband on). I only stayed because I had brought a friend for his first time and didn't want to ruin his day. There were some really nice and friendly guys there, when I went dry on the field a guy I didn't know gave me a tube of paint. I will not be going to games with more than 40 "Count me in's". It still upsets me when I think about it. It's a real shame how a few bad apples can ruin the bunch, but that's why it's a cliche. If you cheat in woods ball, you're turning honest players off to the game. Sooner or later, only cheaters will be showing up. Then you and your fellow cheaters might as well sit in a circle shooting each other. And if you think you're a bad-a55, take up boxing or street fighting, not paintball. And if you don't like the pain of getting painted, wear more than a tee-shirt while playing, especially when you have no skills whatsoever. (-2)

:) Update. June 11...What an awesome day of play. I think I've played enough through the group that I realize it's all about who hosts and how many show up. I had an awesome time, the guys there were fantastic, but I'm only adding 0.5 because it's still so hit-or-miss with this group. (+0.5)
Last edited on Wednesday, July 19th, 2006 at 10:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paul Hewson Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint ball adventures, X-treme shutdown APC.
Review: A great alternative to pricey pay fields in the Denver area. Great experience playing in national forests outside of Boulder. Roger, the head of Tunka, really enjoys paintball and ensures everyone has a good time. You may or may not be able to fill up on C02 once your up there, and there usually isn't a nitro fill.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigBoomer Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
American Paintball Coliseum, National Forest Areas
Review: I just went out to play a game with these guys, and it was awesome. There was a total of 38 players for the day so the games were intense. Roger the Administrator of the group/club did an outstanding job. Before playing all safety rules were gone over and teams were divided up and arm bands given out for the two teams (They just got in new arm bands that you need to buy at $5.00 a pair. These should work a lot better than the tape that they were using).

The Fields are just National Forest Areas and there is a great deal of time spent to find more playing areas. Currently they have 6 or 7 places that they can go to and the one we went to for this game was great and really easy to get to. Another nice thing is you don't have to become a member to play, they post all the game information on the web site. However, you do need to join to get special emails on offers made only to members or for game updates.

You will have to check out the web site for more information, but it is well worth the time to do so. I just can not say enough about this club. I will warn you that just like any other place you play paintball there are a few D***S that you have to deal with, but during the game I only ran into two, and they really didn't ruin my game that much. Once the game gets ready to start stick to the guys that try to work out a plan of attack. I made the mistake of hooking up and trusting a couple of guys and they left me high and dry without letting me know they were pulling back and I got blind sided. The great thing is that it is not just for people that live in Boulder, it is open to everyone. They just happen to play in the National Forest that is close by Boulder. They do have one field that they go to that is about 30 minutes from Golden.
Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2004 at 11:39 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlexK84 Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none i boulder
Review: isnt really a field, its an mailing list for people around boulder that like to play pball. good group of people. really well organized considering it doesnt cost anything. all you gotta do is bring all your own gear. i really recommend joining this group if you live around boulder. they usually play around the national parks and stuff like that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pyrite Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mainstream Paintball- the only other field close in the area, is a commercial field and is indoor.
Review: Tunka isn't really a field, its an email group of boulder players to organize games. Usually the group plays on nearby national forest or the Miliken field. The people in the group are friendly, and the games are played with exceptional sportsmanship. There is always a chrono present and barrel plug/condom, goggle and other safety rules are enforced. Tunka players are generally friendly and willing to give advice about playing or equipment. Tunka is also the cheapest way to play paintball up in Boulder as it is BYOP and no extra costs whatsoever.

However, the group does have a few negatives in my opinion, although none of them are very serious. Because it is just a group and not a field, it is up to the players to provide enough air for themselves for the day. If you are running compressed air you'll need to get the tank filled beforehand or hope that someone brings a scuba tank. There is also the concern of no refs, but as everyone I've played with at Tunka was nothing but honorable I really can't complain. My biggest complaint with the Tunka group is that everyone seems to just want to run out and play before setting boundries or rules, making games really confusing.

However, the group is a good one to play with and lots of cheap paintball fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

cybrax Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mainstream Paintball
Review: Tunka is an excellent club based out of boulder. Joining tunka is free which is a big plus to a poor college guy like me. The people in tunka range from beginers to experts, but they are all real nice people. My experince at the game I attended was great! No one cheated and there wer no arguments. It was impressive how smoothly their games ran. So if you live in Boulder or in the surrounding area JOIN TUNKA!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media