paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Adventures Paintball Field / Paintball Adventures Paintball Field / Paintball Adventures Paintball Field / Paintball Adventures Paintball Field

Paintball Adventures Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 904-645-7127
Address: 11850 camden RD
Jacksonville, Florida 32218
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Xstasy_3 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I recently moved to Jacksonville and have been busy with college. No other field.

For Credibility's sake: I was the Head Ref at the Field where I live in Fort Walton Beach for about 3 years.
Review: To start off- I was extremely, extremely disappointed.
I have been a paintball referee for 3-4 years prior to coming to Jacksonville and Paintball Adventure's safety was unacceptable.
The story:
Trinity Baptist Church held a youth conference for over 1000 teens all over Florida, Alabama, and Georgia on the Dates of April 4-6. Our biggest day was on the 6th when we had a campus game day. Trinity rented out many different types of rides etc. for the kids to do.
Trinity decided to get the guys from Paintball Adventures to come out on campus and set up a paintball field on the back acreage of the property. These teenagers ranged in age from 12-18.
Disappointment #1: ~~There were three guys present to run the "field": One older gentlemen and two guys about 20 years old. The older gentlemen left not long after leaving the 2 younger guys to run the entire field for the remainder of the day.
#2: ~~They had **one** injury waiver posted and everyone signed a piece of notebook paper saying they had read it. THESE WERE KIDS! MOST OF WHICH WERE UNDER THE AGE OF 16~ You cant allow kids of this age to sign their own wavers! If anything it was the youth pastor's job because he was responsible for them. Nonetheless the kids just filed by and signed the piece of paper regardless of reading the posted waiver.
#3:~~ They used the normal Tippman 98 Customs as rental guns but I immediately noticed they had 2-3 Barrel plugs among about 30 rental guns. These kids were walking around with no barrel plugs and no masks on just waiting for an injury (that may have been covered by the piece of notebook paper with about 50 names on it). I never heard the ref say to turn your guns on safety..not even once.
#4~~ The field was horribly small with NO SAFETY NETTING OF ANY KIND! The field was composed of the cheap bunkers made of springs that were lazily planted in the ground. After the first game all the standups were laying down and everything was just kinda moving around except the doritos.
#5: I must repeat once again there was NO SAFETY NET. This is extremely dangerous knowing that there were only 2-3 barrell plugs on hand. The guys set up their tent behind their van but the van was constantly pelted by paintballs causing the bystanders with no equipment to move.
#6: I had to take it upon myself to yell at the kids when they took their masks off during a game. The ref actually said something maybe 3 times in the four hours I was there. When someone got shot he would tell them to get off the field rather than announcing it to the field (i.e. "PLAYERS HIT! LET HIM OUT!!").
Overall it was very poorly set up by PB Adventures and Im writing this so they will correct this. It was by pure luck or miracle that no one was seriously injured.
I have pictures of the field and van for credibility.
I do give the ref some respect for kicking two guys out that had premium smaller bore size paint. That kind of paint would have gone all the way to the parking lot.
Last edited on Saturday, April 14th, 2007 at 11:50 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

aquakitten Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This was my first time paintballing, and I can't wait to do it again! I went with a group of 16, only one of which, I believe, had actually been paintballing before. At first, we were a little worried when we saw a well-equipped group of guys setting up. The faculty there was great. They evenly spaced the auto-long time players from my newbie group. The guys were nice and everyone played pretty fairly. Even though the refs were pretty young, they knew what they were doing and kept the fields under control.

I was there for about 4 hours and we played 5 rounds, each around 15 minutes. The fields were great, with lots of places to hide and get good shots from.

The only problem I really had with the place was a small problem with safety. On one of the boards, there was a note saying "Crono your guns." My friends and I had no idea what this meant. Only at the end of the day did I find out that we were suppose to test the strength/speed of our guns to make sure they weren't dangerous. I found out most of my friend's rental guns were over 300, which is much higher than it should be.

The refs did allow our group to play atleast two [I left after the second] games with our own small group.

All in all, the place was great. My group is already planning on going again, and again!
Last edited on Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 at 5:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbaman Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Actually I'm not going to rate the field, as I am the owner. I am however going to clarify the review from INFRETTA. The 'lady' failed to give 'the rest of the story'. On the Monday after her group played, I received an e-mail from her. Here is her e-mail and my respond.


From: Kendall W****
To: info@paintballadventures.com
Sent: Monday, January 22, 2007 8:35 PM
Subject: Broken Gun

Brian,

I had every intention of letting all of this go but when one of the friends that I invited out to play on Saturday told me that you approached her after I left I felt that at a minimum I needed to let you know what happen from my perspective.

First - while the actual incident that ended my day at your facility is, in the grand scheme of things, irrelevant, I think it speaks to the larger problem that I witnessed or experienced all day.

I've played Paintball at several fields around Jacksonville on and off for a few years now. It has been everything from a few friends getting together for something fun on the weekend to an organized team building event through my company or one of the many organization I'm involved with on the Chamber of Commerce. While I don't have my own equipment or consider myself very good at the game, I'd like to think that I have enough experience to understand the rules of the game and what good etiquette is. What I experienced at your field didn't resemble anything I've ever seen.

My girlfriend and I came out with a group of 11 family and friends to celebrate a few birthdays. Of the 11 of us, only 4 had ever played. When we saw all of the pro-equipped guys suiting up we asked if we could play with entry level people and were told there weren't enough refs but we'd be ok. I have to say, we weren't and asked in between the next four games and were each time given another reason why we couldn't. In every field I've played, the experience players were broken out from the inexperienced, usually in a type A and type B category. Type A players were anyone that owned their own equipment and any ďrentalĒ that deemed themselves worthy. The B players were the rentals whose skills where inferior to the type A players, pretty straight forward. Some companies run the games simultaneously on separate fields while the smaller companies just rotated the different games in and out, always having a game running. The point being, it was up to the customer to decide what level game they wanted to play in. After all, people are shooting at you and while playing is a blast, getting hit isnít.

We were out there for 5 hours and got to play in six games. Four of the six games were ten-minute game and two were 15-minute games. Thatís an hour and 10 min of play and 3 hours and 50 minutes of standing around. You take that in to context with the fact that we were always knocked out within the first 2-4 minutes of play from a guy with an automatic weapon that just sprayed down the area to get us out of his way and we had about 30 min of play all day. Iím sure you think Iím exaggerating here but Iím not. Of the 6 games I plays, I was knocked out of 3 of them by my teammate and it was always by one of the pro-equipped guys. Of course, when asking they clearly say they didnít shoot you, it came from over there. It was ridiculous. Between that and the, what seemed like, common practice of wiping paint by your regulars, it seemed pointless to even try. It became apparent by the third game that the only way to get any play time at all was to wipe paint with everyone else but then you ask yourself, whatís the point of playing.

As far as the incident where the gun got broken, as Iíve calmed down about it quite a bit, Iíll give you the readers digest version. Girl friend and I stayed together and started working the left line of the field toward the neutral zone. A few minutes in we got knocked out by two guys with automatic guns that sprayed the area we were in; we walked to the holding area, waiting for someone to let us out along with 10 other people on our side. Some kids comes sneaking up from our left (of the hut) and tells us he sneaked past the lines and started tagging us all back into the game. My girlfriend and I walk out into the neutral zone and decided to make a run for the line that we walked in on, in hopes of getting the guys out that got us in the first place. We were about 5 feet clear of the yellow tape on the trees (which we were told marked the neutral zone) and I fired one or two rounds at one of my friends that was about 100 feet away. Some kid that was about 10 feet away, who I didnít even see at first, turns and unloads on us. I hear my girlfriend whimper in pain and I point at him (10 feet away mind you) and scream at him to stop while firing one or two rounds. The next thing I know Iím on the ground in an extreme amount of pain screaming for him to stop. He just stood there and unloaded on us. I have no idea how many rounds he fired at us but I have nine distinctive black and blue welts that start at my hips and go up to my shoulder. Iím just glad that I was in front of my girlfriend to take the brunt of it. She only ended up with four welts on her.

Like I said in the beginning of this e-mail to you, the actual event is irrelevant at this point and only speaks to the completely unfair and unsafe atmosphere youíve allowed to be created at your facility. No worries though, I'm not your average player therefore won't have any affect on weekend volume but you can be guaranteed I wonít be speaking highly of your company in my circle of influence. You might want to reconsider growing the corporate team building side of the business as your website mentions and stick with the slaughter fest. Professional people aren't big on spending their money to come out and have an experience like this.

Kendall



Kendall,

I apologize for the bad experience you had at my field. I originally spoke with you about playing separate from the others and it was me that told you we didn't have the staff to accommodate your request. Any failures in service or product is my responsibility. I offer private games (listed with my prices on the web site) but that has to be booked in advance. I didn't ask you if you wanted the games to be private or team building, so it is my fault additional staff wasn't available. I have been in business (as Paintball Adventures in Jacksonville) for 17 years. I deal with over 300 churches and businesses each year. Every week I do at least two team building exercises during the week at my location. I use the Myers Briggs, MMDI, and 'Team Dynamics Assessments' outlines and I am a retired U.S. Army officer. As with most team building exercises, an assessment of instruction form is completed after each class. My repeat business is phenomenal and customer satisfaction is outstanding. Of course a team building exercise and recreational play is very different. Let me address your concerns and comments.

In the past I offered two different games based on self-evaluated skill level and ended up with 95% of the players in one game and the remaining players in another game. After a game or two, the smaller group always integrated into the larger group. In an effort to control prices (my prices have not changed in four years) I offer private games by reservation only. I routinely talk to my customers, seek feedback, and listen and watch reactions. I spoke with several folks from your group as they came off the field. I had no negative comments, in fact a few of the guys joked with me and all were polite and no one seem irritated or upset. If, after a game or two, you were not having the experience you expected, I wish you would have come directly to me. I am the responsible party at my field and I can make quick changes if needed. Perhaps I wasn't on the top of my game because I didn't realize any problems until I was told of a gun that was thrown down and broke in anger. Evaluating your account of the events and talking to my refs and employees, I believe I had a problem with certain regulars. This problem affected your play. For this I am sorry. All customers are important to me but if I have a problem with a player affecting the enjoyment of another, I will make changes. As for breaking my equipment, I don't believe bad behavior begets bad behavior.

Regarding the play times. I keep a log of all games and times. When they start and when the ref comes off the field. I am at the desk so I see what happens in the staging area. Turnaround time is important to me. From a business point of view, I want games to be fast and ongoing. I want very little down time. My records show the turnaround was different than you indicated. I don't doubt the accuracy of your statement, and I will further investigate why your group only played 6 games.

As far as you being my average player, I can't say. I have a diverse group of players. The day you were out, I had military, law enforcement, a judge, doctor, several business owners, school aged kids, an accountant, and even some blue collar folks. These are the occupations of the people I know. All are valuable and all work hard (some a little harder) for the money they spend. None (that I know of) want a bad experience. I have a binder full of letters and e-mails complimenting my staff, business and play experience. I am fair and will include your e-mail. In fact I will place it first. I have a perfect safety record and have standards that are higher than insurance company requirements. I will always bend over backwards for my customers. I value every customer.

I thank you for your comments. I will address all issues with my staff and will make any necessary corrections. I am offering you a free pass for each person that played on Saturday, January 20th. The pass is non-transferable and includes all equipment and 250 rounds of ammo per player. I will also make your future event private.


That is the end of my e-mail respond.

At Paintball Adventures, I always try to accommodate the needs of my customers and I take all complaints seriously.
I offered her a completely free private game for all of her guests. I made this offer even though a male guest broke my equipment in a fit of anger.
I am very cognizant of paintball safety. My fields have a perfect safety record. I offer flak vests to any player free of charge, I enforce goggle safety, I enforce 'No Shooting' in the staging area, I enforce barrel blocking devices, and I have some of the best recreational players in Florida & Georgia play at my field. I do not have a 'bunch of professional' that slaughter 'newbies'. I do have a great deal of players with their own equipment. Many of these players work with the less experienced players and complaints are very few.
You have to ask yourself, would you go out to a nice restaurant and have one bad experience after another and continue to experience this 'bad' time for five or six hours without ever asking to speak to the manager? Why didn't Ms W**** talk to me about this terrible experience? Why didn't any of Ms W****'s group complain? Ms W**** seems to lecture me about the needs of 'professionals'. I might note a true professional knows how to communicate effectively. I don't doubt something failed on my part. That is why I made the offer. I assumed the responsibility and I tried to make it right.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

infretta Sunday, January 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: If youíre a casual paintball person and just wants to have some fun with your friends, this is not the field to go to. The guys that run this field have total disregard for their customers that arenít ďprosĒ and come out every weekend. I went out with a group of 12 (pre arranged) family and friends for a birthday outing and it was a pretty horrible experience. 9 of the 12 had never played paintball before and when we saw all of the pros equipped guys getting ready with their totally automatic guns we asked if we were going to be able to go on a field that was strictly newbieís with rental equipment and were told that they only had one ref and weíd be ok because they were going to split them all up. Yeah right, it was a slaughter on every game. Itís absolutely ridiculous to think that it was fair on any level. They only ran one game at a time never splitting the pro equipped guys from the rentals. It was a minimum of 30 minutes wait between games. We were there for 5 hours and only got in 6 games that were a max of 15 min each. When a game finally got going, you were out so quick because the moment you entered the field a hail of automatic fire covered your area that you couldnít even come close to matching. We asked no less that 4 times (between the first 4 games) to be split up into more reasonable groups (matching skills and equipment) and were each time given some story about not enough refs or this one will be better. The more people that showed up to play as the day went on, the more people were added to each game. At one point there were no less than 35 on 35 as I counted 70 in the staging area.

To make matters worse, the pro equipped guys didnít like it when they got shot by a ďrentalĒ so they would just cheat; wipe off the paint and then slaughter you with their automatic weapons. You had no choice but bail out of the game even of you wanted to cheat to make it fair as you would get welted up pretty good with a hail of fire coming at you from 10 feet away. They didnít care, they were having a good time, and we werenít.

So Ė if youíre an avid paintball player whose idea for a good time is taking you pro-level gear out to a field, ignoring all of the rules, cheating at every turn and yes, the best part, completely slaughtering the weekend rentals whose skills and equipment are inferior to yours, this is the place for you. Anyone else, go somewhere else as you will waste you money and be someoneís target practice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

firefightermax Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
?
Review: Paintball Adventures was a fun place to play. Team Frontal Assault was there that day. Awesome group of people. Really good team. They made me want to have my Tippmann A-5. Everyone there was cool and really good to play against. The Christmas Trees Field was a lot of fun. Prices are very reasonable and if you are from outta town the people playing seem very cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scooba St3ve Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Brothers, Paintball Adventrues
Review: Deffenatley one of the best fields i've played at. The attack and defend field was extremely fun and the christmas tree field was awesome. The reffs werent too bad, prices were good, place was kept pretty good, the lady with the food and stuff was pretty good, players were nce...everything was great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

greenwor Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Me and a couple of the guys from my ship went there, we had read the reviews and we aren't really into woods ball but it was the closest place to mayport and we really wanted to go play that weekend. we were all highly dissapointed. the refs just stood there and didn't really do thier job. at one point in the game the ref actually came over to one of the other teame mates and told him that his teammate was out of air then let him trade guns with him. and the players were wiping paint all day so i would sujest if you have the transportation go some where elese. other than that the staff was helpfull and ok.

Fields
the fields like i said were all woods and were for the most part good fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Elemental889 Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
backyard, woods my friends found, I've seen M.I. before but didn't play
Review: I really like this field. It is very close to my house (just across the Dames Point bridge for those of you in Jacksonville).

Attitude:
The people there are really nice. Most of the players there are too. They always have walk-on games going on on the weekends. Uneless it is a private party, they will usually let you join a game. They are pretty good on rules too (barrel plug, masks, etc.). Other then the jerks you get every now and then like at every field, everyone there is nice.

Price:
There prices are pretty good.
Field fee - $10
Rental equipment +field fee - $27 (I think)
2000 paintballs (Diablo Heat usually) - $48
All day CO2 - $7
not sure about air

Staging:
They have a fairly nice staginf area (especially for bein off in the woods). There are plenty of tables and rooom for everyone. On Staurdays, the concession lady is there and sells food at very good prices ($2.50 for a hotdog, coke, and bag of chips I think)

Fields:
Rec Field - This is basically an assault field with A LOT of bunkers and things to hide behind. It is probably their best field. The defending team is in a fairly big base with a sniper tower and a trench in the front. They usually play 2 team elimination or capture the flag on this field. There is plenty of stuff to hide behind and it is pretty easy to advance. Word of advice to the defenders, get at least half your team out of the base. If you stay in, your usually a sitting duck.

Deep Woods - The name is kind of self explanitory. Elimination and center flag are usually played on this field. This field consists of thick woods with trails running through it and one big open trail. I like this field. My favorite thing to due is go as deep into the woods as I can without going out of bounds and come up on the side of the team on the higher end of the field. There I lay down in the woods and try to pick off people. Last time I did this, I got three people in one game without anyone ever figuirinf out where I was. I highly suggest you where cammo on this field.

Woods Fort/Assualt - This is a combination of the first two. It is in deep woods and there is a big base near one end. The defending team has to stay in the base, but can let out people periodically. I personnally like to be on the attacking team for this field. There are two trails that run straight at the fort and one that goes around behind it with good cover from the woods. I like to get around behind he fort and alternate between 3 harrassment points. At these three points, it is easy to... well... harrass the people in the fort. Last time I played there, my friend and I switched between these 3 points in random order. I have feeling we really confused the people in the base. This is probably my favorite field to play on.

There is another field called "The Pit". Noone really plays on this field and I don't have enough time to talk about it.

I like Paintball Adventures a lot. It is a fun place to play and I high;y recommend it. There are usually a lot of people there on the weekends so you can find a game most of the time. I only play woodsball, so this field is perfect for me. If you like woodsball or are looking around for a new fiels and live around Jacksonville, I suggest you check this place out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

KingThomasIV Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Coast Paintball, Paintball Brothers, Wild Bill's Paintball, others in the area I forget
Review: Let me start my review by saying that this is my favorite field I have played at, but it took me a while to realize that.

The field itself is decent, mostly woodsball, but occasionally they will set up the airball bunkers if it is a nice day, you are there early enough, and have enough people. They have a bunch of fields (around 8 I think) but many are left fallow and are not allowed to be played on for about a year at a time. This ensures the "woods" does not disappear from overuse. Also, within the past two years several of the fields have really undergone some work, as forts and the like were added. The prices are decent, they now have an air compressor (but also let you bring a scuba tank if you had it anyway,) and they are generally helpful. Also, one thing of note is that there are rarely bugs of any kind before 5 PM... It's weird because the field is in Florida...

My favorite thing about this field is the attitude. Most of the time, the people are friendly, the vending lady is there (she has awesome food at normal prices -- if I remember correctly, one of her deals was 2 hot dogs, chips, and a drink for $2.50. I love that lady! lol) The owner, Brian, is a cool guy if you talk to him, and he will gladly answer questions if he is not busy doing something. Plus, if you volunteer to help clean up at the end of the day, you will normally get rewarded with a coupon for a free field-pass for the next time you come. The field grew on me after a while, so pardon any bias, but other than extraordinarily long between-game times (which they were trying to fix last time I was there) I don't see too much wrong with the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Malice Intent Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This is pretty much the only field close to me. It has a fair number of fields, according to their website they have 5, one of which is under repairs, I've only been to three of the fields, a speedball like one, a woodsball one and the pit, which is a sand canyon with 30 foot walls on both sides. The staff is young, but they know what they are doing. There are only a few negative things about this place, first off some times there can be upwards of 75 people with only 1 ref so the games are pure chaos, this seems to happen about half the time I go there. The biggest concern that I have with this field is that not everyone Chronos their guns, maybe about half do, the staff does not force players to chrono their guns. So besides the fact that some of the people there could be shooting over 300 feet per second it is a very fun field. Due to those negatives I am going to give this field a 7.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media