paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hurricane Paintball Park / Hurricane Paintball Park / Hurricane Paintball Park / Hurricane Paintball Park

Hurricane Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
67Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 772-532-6461
Address: 770 Hurricane St NW
Palm Bay, Florida 32908
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
HurricanePark Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
IRP & CZ - Both fields are friends of ours
Directions
to the Field:
Palm Bay Florida
Review: I just wanted to keep everyone updated and let you all know that the City of Palm Bay seems to be headed in the right direction now and that the park will be re opening soon.

Troy Cox is now in charge of the paintball park and from my experience Troy Cox is an excellent manager and will do a great job serving the best interest of the park and its players.

Apparently the City is hoping to turn the negative publicity around as soon as possible and I know that Splat Action Sports is committed to working with them on this. So for those who have expressed their frustration in the matter your opinions have been heard.

The City agrees that the last agreement they sent out for bid was a mistake and now they are proposing new terms that will not only benefit the park but also the players and the vendor alike.

Splat Action Sports will be bidding as a vendor for the park and we applaud the City for cooperating with us so that we can work to help make Hurricane Park not only the best park in Bereaved but also the best value.

We appreciate the support everyone has given us and know that it is our goal to make sure that players arent having to pay a premium to play at a City park, that none field paint is allowed at the park, and that Hurricane Park remains a part of the community for years to come.

As I said we will be bidding on the park and would appreciate your support however our desire is to see the park successful regardless of who is running it and win or lose SAS and our teams will continue to be an active and intricate part of the park.

I am sorry that players haven't been able to attend the park, it wasn't due to this situation but it was due to the fact that our air system was stolen. We will have a new air system and hopefully a new arrangement with the City within the next week or two and look forward to seeing all of you out there!

Chris Carson
Splat Action Sports
Passion. Pride. Paintball.
Last edited on Monday, August 14th, 2006 at 3:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Combat Zone PB Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CZ & IRP
Directions
to the Field:
Palm Bay, FL
Review: Attention All Readers:

Combat Zone has only set up this account to inform our loyal customers that we have a problem. One of our patrons is attempting to incite a war between SAS Paintball & Combat Zone Paintball. We do not know why, but it has gotten out of hand and it must stop!

Combat Zone Paintball is asking politely for the screen name, IGOTATIMMY to stop posting any and all reviews about Hurricane, Fury, & Combat Zone Paintball. Yes, I ask you to stop posting even about CZ. I appreciate your loyalty to our company but I can not condone you attacks against our competitor. It is out of control and I do not appreciate it.

Some of there loyal customers are now starting to attack Combat Zone and that offends me. Not because they are attacking, but because they are attacking because of IGOTATIMMY.

So, Please if you like Combat Zone, and you love playing here and being cool with us then I am asking you to delete you comments from pbreview and leave everyone at SAS alone. If you do not and we find out who you are we will be forced to ban you from Combat Zone.

We will give you just a few days to delete these comments from the site. If you do not I will be forced to ask pbreview to delete Combat Zones Account all together. This will detract from doing any good for my business but it will show the world we are serious about keeping our integrity.

Again, thank you for your loyalty to our company, but please cease and desist all actions.

Thank You,

Derek M. Walls, USMC
CEO / President
Walls Enterprises inc. D.B.A.
Combat Zone Paintball
(321) 454-2374
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballax Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
oes, irp, combat zone, hurricane park (the best)
Directions
to the Field:
palm bay
Review: Lets me just say that I have been coming to Hurricane Park a long time and I think that its only gotten better!.!.!

I dont know what reviews people are talking about so I looked into it and the only bad reviews seem to be coming from IGotAtimmy... but I would give the field and SAS an 8.

Recently I complained about having to buy field paint and Chris the owner of SAS was kind enough to explain it to me.... the city of palm bay charges SAS a lot of money for renting the field, something like $10,000 a month and at the same time controls the prices and the park was going to be a field paint only park no matter who took it over. I think the city realized that the rent was too high and terminated the agreement on the park so that the city can send the park out for bid and hopfully the next supplier can negotiate a better contract rather then increase prices, something I guess SAS refuses to do... I think that the city wil close the park down until it can be awarded.

I dont know anything about a ATV Park but I hear they are building a BMX track.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

IgotAtimmy Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
IRP & CZ
Directions
to the Field:
Palm Bay!!!
Review: Is the park shutting down like everyone is saying??? Someone said they read in the paper that Palm Bay is going to make a Moto Cros, ATV park! Is that ture???

Anyone with some input, comment back!

Later,

Timmy

Ok, I tried to post this and the computer said it was to few words. So I will say the following. I think a ATV park would kick butt. My dirt bkie has been in storage for way to long. Ok, lets see if this is enough words.

Later,

Timmy

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

LchNsMnstr Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indian River Paintball
Review: OK I've been reading the reviews for Hurricane recently and they almost kept me from going there today. The park is run fairly well still and like any other business there are issues that need to be addressed. I am not a fan of Chris or some of the people that work out there, but John the head ref is always level headed and makes fair decisions.
The prices are reasonable. I do however miss the BYOP, but the park needs to turn a profit or it won't be there, so its understandable.
Today numerous people were sat down for removing their masks on the field. I applaud the refs for being so strict on safety issues.
In short the problems with the field are not as bad as stated in some of these reviews before this one. There are issues, but the issues aren't as bad as some of the people that play there. The wiping, the cheating, shooting of dead players, shooting the refs, ...etc. What is wrong with you people?
Anyways.....on a scale of one to ten...compared to when chester ran it.........i would give chester a 7 and SAS a 5 the woodsball field needs alot of work.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

USMCPelto Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There really are no fields in the area...except for Combat Zone, in merrit Island...which is a plethora of miles away.
Directions
to the Field:
770 Hurricane Street
Palm Bay, FL 32908

http://www.palmbayflorida.org/departments/Parks&Rec/City
%20Parks/paintball_park.htm#directions
Review: I've been playin at Hurricane...and the park it took over, for years. Hurricane started as a group of players playin on private property every weekend or so, but then, after the police were called, it changed into a city run park, with a vendor, Gen. Chester, as he was called, supplying paint and air. Now, in Hurricanes latest and greatest renovation, SAS, Splat Action Sports, bought the park, and supplies it. They have rentals, paint, air, CO2, you name it, they got it there. There's even a pizza shop, bizarro's i beleive. Its got pletny of room, and a multitude of game types. They have lots of refs, I ref occasionally myself, and its just generally great paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stormin-Norman Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Norman Paintball (The only and best field in my area, because I own it :])
Review: Hurricane paintball is awesome and moreover, so is the staff. I am a field owner myself and know what a good paintball field looks like and this is certainly one. Chris, who is head of the field, is a super nice guy and even gave me a professional courtesy discount. Which, although I always do for fellow field owners that come to play at my field, I never expect. These guys focused on safety, made sure everyone was ahving a good time and was attentive to player needs. The fields were well kept and the woodsball field was incredibly huge. Every game was like a giant scenario. The speedball was a little lacking due tot he fact that the field was preping for a tourney the next week, however, I understood being that I would have been doing the same at my field. I met allot of cool people there and even the higher class speedball players were courteous and kind.

I think the experience that impressed me the most is when a woodsball NOOB approached a polish player ffrom the A1A all stars and was telling him about all his battle wounds and war stories. The player sat and listened and did not even brush the NOOB off, I was astounded at his patience. This is how paintball should be.

I really enjoyed the X-Ball and the ref from total grief gave my dads some pointers after I bunkered him at the 50. I didn't even get bonus balled the whole day.

This place is HIGHLY recommended and has the NORMAN PAINTBALL stamp of approval!

Josh Norman
FIeld Owner
Norman Paintball
www.normanpaintball.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeeNWoodballa Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Zone( they dont even chrono for cryin out loud).
Review: This field is the huge, but since SAS has taken it over it has become more and more speed ball. Dont worry tho the woodsball and open field will never be converted. The rentals now are ion which has its postives and negatieves. Yes, the ion is a very good gun, although not the gun for the noobies. The old 98s were ok but more newbie material. Jaba is awsome along with the other dozen refs. first sunday of every month is BYOP-bring your own paint. every other weekend it is field paint only. hpa is a good price along with co2. overall very good park.

i was thinkin about getting a job there and im 13 now and i hear its like $10 per hr. so if any ref reads this can ya like im me or somtin.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

firebirdude Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Left on Degroot. Go roughly 3 miles until you pass Bayside High and some Elementary School. There is a small brown sign on the right hand side of the road telling you to turn right onto Emerson. It's a dirt road. Take Emerson for about 1 mile and turn left just after a small horse ranch on your left hand side. Go for about 4 blocks and you'll see a cheesy sign telling you to turn left onto Hurricane Ave. I think. (REAL actual sign is broke)
Review: I've played here every weekend for almost two months now. Pretty good. It is now field paint only. All field balls are Draxxus brand , have an "SAS" logo on them and all have orange fill. So they'll know if you're not using their stuff. They announce several times a day and do random checks every day. I've been checked every day I go. So don't plan on getting away with anything. They offer CO2 refills only on a "per fill" basis. It's $4.50 per 20 Oz. fill....so people using CO2 and staying all day are paying a fortune for air. 3000psi and 4500psi charging stations are self service and cost $10 all day. Rental guns are Ions with 3k HPA tanks. Set to semi, so don't expect to shoot 17bps with them. $20 rental fee IN ADDITION to $10 field fee AND $10 all day air. So $40 total + paint for someone with no gear. A little pricey IMO. There is a small Birzzaro's pizza shack onsite. $2 slice or $10 large pizza. They sell hot dogs for $3 I think and assorted drinks including powerade. (*edit*--- the food shack is now closed. No food is sold here) Proshop sells just about anything you could ask for. Almost all brand name stuff. Normal prices. Cheapest paint is $45/case I think....and goes up to $50, then $55, and $60/case depending on quality.

Onto the fields....Park is open 9:30am Sat and Sunday until roughly 4:30pm. Last game starts around 3:45ish. Park has 3 small speed ball tournament style course including an X-ball field. They charge an extra $5-$10 to use these in addition to the rec field. Bulls#it IMO. Should be free with rec-field. They have one large rec-field. Half is open field with tons of various style bunkers. (Plywood, monster tires, a single tree, plywood houses) Really great. The other half is woods. Medium thickness. It should be up kept more often to keep it somewhat clear. Paint gets broken on every little twig. It's not too too bad now, but might be in a few months if not up kept. Entire field is...roughly...6 acres? It's plenty large enough for a 50 on 50 game. Some games played.... regular elimination, elimination with 2 lives, attack and defend, bomb the enemies base, collect the most bombs, various capture the flag games and a monster 1 hour unlimited lives elimination! Usually done once at the end of the day. There is a 10ft no shoot rule through the entire rec-field. No exceptions. You can say "take the hit" under that distance. No shooting regardless of response. Bunker tapping on entire rec-field. Meaning you can run up to the bunker and tap on the opposite side and that kills the person on the other side. It's to keep people from getting shot in the head point blank. I can usually get a lot of people out like this. Profanity is not allowed as they always have some small kids playing. They enforce this rule strictly. I've been yelled at many times. Hard to control in the heat of battle. ;-) I think they need more refs on the field. People wipe hits or don't notice a little too often. Especially in the forts. Once someone gets in a house, they never leave. They get hit, look for a ref, and wipe. It's not unbareable, but happens many times each day. Ok, this review is long and taking up my time. hehehe that's about it anyways. Great field. That's why I keep going back. It gets a solid 8. If prices were a little lower...they had real bathrooms....maybe something else special... I would easily bump it to a 9.
Last edited on Sunday, August 20th, 2006 at 10:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

gotchabunkered Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I really enjoy Hurricane, everybody is nice and helpful for the most part. I have only been there a couple of times since it has been run by splat action sports and I think they do a great job! Not to take anything away from Chester, it was great when he ran it also! The prices are good, and so is the atmosphere. They keep the games rolling so there is not a lot of down time so you get what you paid for... a lot of paintball!!! All in all it is a great field and I am very happy us that live in the melbourne/palm bay area have such a close field to play at!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media