paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Al's Army Paintball Field / Al's Army Paintball Field / Al's Army Paintball Field / Al's Army Paintball Field

Al's Army Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
27Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (407)-834-2000
Address: 1440 E Altamonte Dr
Altamonte Springs, Florida 32701
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
92choppa Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 27th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
orlando, orange county, epik, hypersports,stinger,
Review: al's amry is a nice place. its clean ,they have a decent Fields they have 3 to 4 fields refs r nice there go refs .the panit balls price can reach from 20.00 to 70.00 they have 3 air bunkers
fields and 1 wooden fields they have a decent shop parts and stuff but i'm rating this place for a (7) that all i have to say about al's amry and navy
Last edited on Monday, January 16th, 2006 at 4:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

csram62 Tuesday, December 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Most all fields in central Florida
Review: Al's overall is a great place to paintball. For awhile it got pretty slow but their new field they just opened is amazing. Its a huge 7 man X-Ball that is one of the nicest fields I have ever played on. They have another airball field but that field can not compare to their new one. Also for all the rec ball players they opened a field for non electronic guns only. The refs are mostly high schoolers but they are good at what they do and are knowledgable of the sport. Usually if you have any problems with your gun the staff can help fix it. The pricing is good- $5 to play all day. The field is not BYOP but unlike other places, they do not jack up the price of paint. NEL Splat is sold for $45 a case and prices increase after that depending on the brand on paint. Rental guns can be used for $10. The store itself is very nice selling markers ranging from Tippman 98 to Dye DM5 and everything in between. Whether your a tourney player looking for a competive place to play or a rec player playing for fun, Al's is a great facility.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dont4him Friday, November 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hypersports - reasonable price, I like grass, good customer service. Reasonable paint prices.
Review: Orlando provides a great range of paintball flavors. We have cheap, expensive, indoor, outdoor, team oriented, family oriented and everything in between. Al's is the cheapest outdoor, family oriented place in town. My experience is that Al's is great for players who are more interested in fun than showing off or putting everyone down because they don't have a $$$$ marker. They attract a good customer base and I don't mind bringing my 10 yr old there to play. It sucks how much crap all field owners have to deal with. Props to the guys at Al's. I've seen them deal with the jerks then treat the next guy like they needed the business. Don't let it drag you down guys. The fields are partially shaded from trees and they stay pretty busy so the grass is sparse. But hey they are trying to provide an affordable place to play not a top notch training facility. Refs were decent guys, easy to work with.

Look out for the parent/child tourney Dec 17th. My kid will paint your honor roll student.
I'll give em a 9 until they figure out how to grow grass in the shade under heavy traffic.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rhino Tats Thursday, September 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stingers - much better
Review: WOW, what a disappointment! After having bought all my gear from Al's, and having a good experience doing so with Steve and the long-haired brunette with the glasses (sorry I didn't catch her name), I expected the same great experience at their fields. The two were night and day however. A friend and I visited Al's on Sunday 9/4/05 and were a little leery from the time we pulled up. There are some nice shady spots to park and unpack your gear but the two available fields were very overgrown with grass and seemed poorly up-kept. After registering and airing up, we proceeded to the chrono tent where about four refs were seated inside. Asking them to get a game going seemed like a huge distraction to them sitting around and talking. They actually took "not-it" dibs on who would have to go out and ref. My buddy and I are not big fans of speedball and slinging a lot of paint around so we wanted to try to get in a little one-on-one when no one was lined up to play. This again seemed like a big inconvenience for the refs to have to leave their tent. After agreeing to let us play, a ref came out to the field and after our first game was over, turned and walked off the field and back to the tent before we did, leaving us standing there on the field. It was then that we decided to leave immediately after less than an hour and drive all the way to Stingers for some friendly paintballing. I understand these refs get paid as well which makes NO sense to me given their approach to the job. The refs at Stingers are VOLUNTEER, reffing in exchange for paint, field time, etc. and are excellent. They are always on the field, getting games started, and are much easier to talk to and deal with. Although I will continue to shop for gear at Al's, I do not plan on returning there to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

neva gunned Tuesday, July 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
orlando paintball
Review: ok this place rocks the paint prices are awsome 45$ a case (or as my friends call it pain prices lol) and a 10$ get in price the first time i went the refs were great but then after that the refs were kinda lazy and mean lol u dont need 10 refs laying around but they had a great sense of humor. the only thing is that they need more feilds all they have is 3 and 1 isnt working. over all the feilds are great and staff is good and i would recamend any1 2 go there. oh yea of course on Wednesday the whole day is free!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RoboKahn8 Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
extreme assault, op. epik
Review: Im back to write another review.... I was their last week and there putting up there new fields. Field 1 is now a new woods ball/ x ball course really big looks like fun. Field 2 is still the same but still great now that there is more people coming and put up a couple more bunkers. Field 3 is now the old Field 1( airball) they put the bunkers into better spots and now they have a snake!!! They are really starting to get a pretty good field going on... Al's is very cheap to. Now using Nel Splat Paint, theres like no chopping at all and they got rid of all the fuego crap. I recomonded this field to anyone with alot experience or little so come down great field..
10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pball4ever316 Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
full-throttle,epik,OP,waynes world,Paintball world
Review: I have been playing at als for a while. I go every weekend and it never gets old.
It is really cheap to- 5$ for addmition 40$-60$ for a case of paint and air is really cheap to.
The feilds are great and alot of fun the first one it a kick ass woods ball, the second is a more tornement level and the last one it a small but fun air ball feild.
Everyone is really great,fun,and helpfull there and ill never stop going.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball313 Tuesday, May 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
op(expensive),epic,extreme rage
Review: This place is pretty neat. I have played here for about 2 years. Im not a big fan of scenerio games and woods ball. Als got there 2 new airball fields about 5 months ago. I think tourney paintball is the best especialy xball. When they got there new fields I was very excited and eager to play. The thing that disapointed me though was the paint. It was this fuego stuff that was really horrible. When I tried to rip with my alias it looked like a rain of paint. The fields werent bad at all though, and the prices are awesome. 5$ to get in with own gear. After a while of having there new fields open, they got new paint. It is now nelson paint. I run anarchy through my gun. It works great and almost never chops. It is at a reasonable 60$ a case too. They also have paint for lower quality guns for 40$. To rent they have tippman 98 customs with mask and co2 fills all day. They now also fill nitro. Now they have more experienced players coming as well as newer players. They even had a few guys from after shock there. it was pretty fun even though they slaughtered us most of the time. Over all this place is awesome. If your lookin for some good practice or just for some recball, this is the place to go. The refs are awesome and know alot. I also know a friend who is hopefully opening a new field around the area. It will have a nxl grade xball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

XxteamspazmxX Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Epik paintball,Stinger paintball,Orlando paintball
Review: Al's is one of the best feilds you can play at for youre money. The feild paint price's are resonable and the refs are great. The feilds are in good condition and all the players are friendly.
my rating 10/10

Id consider the feild at its prime considering i was one of the first players there when all it was back then was spools and plastic tube's.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tulipson2cdz Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Epic BYOP little more expensive but better fields you will find a mix of new and experienced players both Sat and Sun,
Extreme Rage great fields experienced players play on Sunday,
Full throttle never played their rec ball field they have one x ball field its a good field experienced players play on Sunday,
private team fields ok but damn the home field advantage
Review: This was my first field. It is like most of the folks before me posted a beginner field. A place where you can run around with little to know experience and have fun. The new fields are an improvement to the much larger field 3 that they had when I first started playing army als. Usually there were mud puddles behind the bunkers but I did not know any better and damn did I have fun. The price was right $5 and it was BYOP.

The new fields are not as good as epic or full throttle. Airball field 1 is in my opinion cheesy. The lay out was thrown together with economy in mind. Airball field 2 is too small. It is not a difficult run to the 50 off the break (made it 5 out of 5 times). If you run from the right and tapper your approach to the center of the bunker you'll make it to the 50 every time. Because this is a small field you will have to communicate often. Your guy on the 50 is very exposed for bunkering.

I was very upset after my last visit to army als. I was disappointed they went to field paint only (not based on price because the price for a case was cheap). What really bothered me is they knew they were selling defective paint and could not return the stuff so they did a very irresponsible thing by selling it anyway. I was pissed I had to clean my barrel during and after each game I played.

Again none of the above will bother the new guy running around just to have fun but if you are trying to advance your game your better off going to epic. For one Epic sells air while army als only sells co2. I imagine this is done by design because really only the lower end guns use co2. Tons of spiders and spider clones running around there and they rent out tippman customs. You may see 5 high end guns running around out there but that's pushing it.

If I go again I'll post an update.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media