paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cedar Ridge Paintball Field / Cedar Ridge Paintball Field / Cedar Ridge Paintball Field / Cedar Ridge Paintball Field

Cedar Ridge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 13680 Friend Road
Germantown, Ohio 45327
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Oblyvious1 Monday, July 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
This field is a little less then 30 minutes from Dayton
Review: I cant compare this field to others fields in the area because ive never played before. This was my first time. I am now hooked on paintball. But from what I can tell, this place was a lot of fun. The fields were a lot of fun. The "speedball" field was on a hill, with a lot of cover. It wasnt the greatest cover, but thats what made the game fun. You continuously had to be prone and running for cover. We played on 2 other fields. The first was half open field, half woods. This made for a lot of excitment. The third was completely wooded with 2 hills and ravine cutting the field in half. There were not a lot of people there, so if you go, bring a group of people with you. The people that were there, were very nice and loved to joke around. Even the people that were really into paintball just wanted to have a good time, and were not out to kick ass. There was only 1 ref, and he basicly let us do our own thing. He was only there to make sure we were safe, and gave us other ideas for game types. The prices were standard. However, with paintballs, you can probably get a deal, or cheaper case price. They arent out to make money, only to let people have fun.

I would deffinently recomend this field to others who are first timers or those who are just out to have a good afternoon with friends. I would rate this field a 9 just because i havent been to other fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GhostRaven Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This is a great field. There are 2 different speedball fields, one large and one small. The small one requires ALOT of paintballs.

Large woods and nice staff. Great field for beginners and experienced players alike.

This was my first field and now I'm hooked. I'd recommend this field to anyone. No egos here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guttsdozer Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: After a long time away from paintball I decided to make Cedar Ridge my first field to play in years. I'm glad I did. I have heard horror stories about many local fields and was a bit hesitant about jumping back into the game. Cedar Ridge is a bit more "old school" but that's part of it's appeal. No flashy X ball field but, no cocky, loud mouthed kids with their heads up their butts either. There are good players there and games are usually competitive. For the most part the people that play there do so because they love the game and not because they want to hurt someone or have a chip on their shoulder.

I debated on whether or not to even write a review because I see Cedar Ridge and hidden gem on the Dayton Ohio area paintball scene. I kind of want to keep it my little secret. However, I also realize that some people won't give paintball a chance because there are a lot of players out there that simply scare potential players/ customers away from fields with their "I'm a paintball God" attitude. I know you can't completely escape that kind of mentality but at Cedar Ridge it seems much less of a problem than with most fields.

As far as the staff at Cedar Ridge goes I'd say they are top rate. They are always friendly and willing to help anyone out in any way they can. They can usually get a marker up and running if someone has a problem and if the staff can't fix it there are players that are considered "regulars" that are usually more than willing to take a look and give good advice if they can.

Pros:
Great atmosphere
Good Refs
Decent variety of fields

Cons:
Lack of paint selection (only PMI Premium)
Paint cases are about $10 to high
Field paint only ( a con only because you only have one choice of paint )

Overall I give Cedar Ridge a 10. For me the Pros out-weigh the cons. I'd rather have a good time and pay a little more than pay to much and have people with bad attitudes pointing paintball markers at me.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Grendal_p Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Well my friends and I have been long time paintballers, mind you none of us are tourney type players, and we have no intentions of ever being such. We had read a lot of great reviews about this place so we decided to check it out last weekend.

We had called ahead to see if it was possible to play with just our group during open play, being we had several new comers that we didn't want getting just blasted their first time out. The field accomodated us and had a second referee on hand to help us out.

Ok... To start with they have a myriad of fields to choose from, from woods type fields to a (scenario) type speed ball course. The only reason I say scenario is that the speedball field we played on, was probably a tad bigger than what a typical speedball field would be, we however loved it.

As I have seen with most of the reviews this place receives, the Staff usually gets high marks, and that is certainly the case here as well. The guy who took us around as our Ref for the day was wonderful, he pretty much let us do our own thing, and just there to make sure things stayed safe.

I had trouble early on tweeking my cocker, and the other ref with just a glance had it up and firing in no time.

So where as the fields as a whole might rank 8-9 range, the Staff give it a 10, so all in all i'm giving the field a 9.

I would highly recommend anyone at least check this field out once. We will certainly be making many return visits through out this summer.
Last edited on Monday, March 28th, 2005 at 7:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stormwire Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rush, I-70, NC Paintball
Review: Refs are freindly and great guys to have around. They always help you if you have trouble and are VERY easy going.

Game Play: The flexibility to take suggestions and play the games that everyone wants to play and not be all rigid on game play makes it a blast. Any game, any field, it is always up to the group :)

The group: are not terribly large on saturdays, but there is always enough to make a very competitive game. There are very good players but they play nicely :)

The fields: are very diverse and offer everything from speedball to cedar woods, to ravines, etc... fields 2& 3 are my favorite by far !!

The fees: are VERY affordable compaired to most !

The negative: some of the fields could use a bit more upkeep and perhaps a bit more effort into creating themes/scanarios. (ie: vietman or WW2 or soemthing like that)

You will like playing at this field period. Everyone is very friendly and makes enjoying the day that much easier. Check this place out for sure, as it definately gets my vote !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappyeby Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I think CRP is a great feild you may only get about 10 to 15 ppl there every weekend but it is nice, every one is very nice. If you like woods i would deff. check this place out, some ppl say they dnt like there speed ball feild because its on a slight hill but i personally like that. They are always making ajustments to all of there feilds.The woods feilds are all awesome!!! IF your wanting to play a good woods or speedball game i would deff. check cpr out !!!1
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JDemon Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rush, Xtreme, I-70, Paintball Country, Muddy Creek, Metro Paintball, Crazy Jim's (Closed)
Review: Cedar Ridge Paintball

Okay, I've only been there once, so I don't have a lot to say about it. First off most paintball fields are business trying to make money, that is not the the case for Cedar Ridge. This is an "Old School" field in which Wayne (owner) runs, cause of the love of the game. He is not in it for money. Due to that, the field really lacks. There is only one, I guess you could call it a speed ball field, and plenty of woods, they don't have a airball field, cause Wayne can't afford one. The refs there are very nice, and friendly, but when I was there, there was only one ref, and he was re-cooperating from surgery. So he didn't even ref the games, and let us play on honor system. Since that happen, some more inexperienced players, where running around the field while games were going on, without their mask on. The field is fairly cheep to play at, and provides air and CO2, and is field paint only. The field is strongly connected to Queen City Paintball store, and is serviced by them. All in all, its a good field to play some "old school" style paintball. Not much into the tourny style.
The only thing I saw that was bad, is the fact that the field is hard to get to, way out on the back roads of Germantown. I think because of that, there's hardly anyone there to play. When I visited, there was only 5 people playing, including myself. So I'm going to give it an average rating. May be I'm not being fair, since I've only been there once, so I do plan to go back, and play some more.
One last thing to know, is that this field does allow full auto modes of firing. They told me, they feel "if a person can afford a full-auto, they should be allowed to play with it". Which is neat, cause I play with an Angel, and want to try that out. However, I think its silly, cause most people can shoot at a faster rate of fire on semi-auto, then the factory capped 13 bps full-auto has.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pb136 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rush paintball in miamisburg
Review: great fields
well maintained
great refs
lots of fields to choose from
about 6 to 8 fields
prices are very good (about average in the area)
great for first timmers, beginners, and pros

The bad
the only bad part is the speed ball field it is kinda on a hill but other than that
************AWSOME**************
Last edited on Sunday, June 15th, 2003 at 5:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker_guy Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
rush paintball: better speedball, but less fields and no woods. plus all my teammates and friends go there so rush and cedar are about equal imo.
crazy jims: only played the indoor field at a tourny, so i can really compare it
Review: first the good:
-if your a new player you will love this place, most people here are also new to the sport
-the refs are great, and wayne the owner is a nice guy
-scenarios are cool, need to be a little more organized tho cuz usually one team dominates due to the large hill on one side that one team has to climb up. unfortunately i always seem to get stuck on the team at the bottom of the hill.
-most people that go there are honest and really nice. there are a few cheaters every now and then but far less than other fields i've went to

now the bad, not anything major but a few small things that could be improved:
-the big speedball field is on a hill its not the best i've played on, but with a few more bunkers and improving the ones near the creek it would be awesome.
-kind of a long walk to some of the fields
-staging area isnt covered
-no free food on regular days like at rush
-the biggest one is really that not many people know where this place is and sometimes when you go theres less than 5 people. make sure you call before you go.

overall this is a great field for anyone. check it out one weekend, you wont be dissapointed.
Last edited on Friday, March 21st, 2003 at 5:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bellybomber3 Wednesday, March 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Ohio Bash (not sure of field name): I really liked the event and will be back this year. Holds an event once a year.
Crazy Jim's Indoor in Cincinnati: It was OK, I have not played in any other indoor facilities.
Review: Overall I like this field. It is close to my home, and I like the players, management, and refs that work/ play there. I think that thier prices are fair compaired to other prices that I have seen in the area. They offer 8 playing fields that consist of woods and speedball playing. They offer one special event per month. They are open for the general public on Saturday and by reservation on Sunday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media