paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Knights Paintball Field / Paintball Knights Paintball Field / Paintball Knights Paintball Field / Paintball Knights Paintball Field

Paintball Knights Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
44Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (210) 649-3147
Address: 13289 La Vernia Rd
Adkins, Texas 78101
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
TrueTexan Wednesday, June 15th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
predator(staff is cool, fields aren't that nice), Krossfire(fields are probably the worst out of all three in the area, staff is pretty cool though, they have the cheapest rates out of all three also), Tactical Paintball (if your into woodsball go here, the staff are really, really good, there are no speedball fields though), Maximum paintball (never been here but I heard its a good place, very competitive, X-factor practices here, many airball fields from what I've heard.)
Review: I haven't been to Paintball knights in about 10 months due to a broken ankle.

Lets start off with the good stuff about this field. The fields are very nice, probably the best in the area. They have night paintball, which is great so you can get a break from the day heat. Paint isn't too overpriced. I can't remember exactly but I believe it is around $50-$60 a case depending on quality of paint. Admission isn't to bad $22 for rental equipment and $18 with your own equipment. Safety is taken very seriously, although there are so problems with that which I will get into later. Food, and drinks are available for purchase. The waiting area is in the shade and is relatively clean. They run all their rentals on hpa (I don't use rentals by the way). They do provide hpa and co2.

Now onto the negative about this field. The staff aren't great. They act like they know everything about paintball, and if you ask them anything they will usually shun you away. They try to enforce safety strictly but ultimately fail. I saw one instance where a kid tried to adjust his mask and the refs kicked him out because he was attempting to remove his mask. Bonus balling happens a lot and the refs usually don't do anything about it. You can expect to get shot 5 or 6 times sometimes before going out (it happened to my, uncle when he got shot about 5 times as he was falling to the ground). There was also friendly fire, because there was no way to identify the teams. My dad is new to paintball and I let him borrow an old Spyder. This Spyder has a 3 round burst mode, and when he turned it on he accidentally put it on 3 burst mode. The refs called us to chrono (which was probably the only time we chronoed the whole day) and my dad shot of the marker and by accident it shot a 3 round burst. The ref told my father to leave the field. I stepped in and showed my dad what he had done wrong and he walked up to the chrono and chronoed again. The ref ignored my father and my father continued to play. This was just another instance of rudeness shown by the staff. One of my biggest problem I had with this field is the chrono. There is no one to check the chrono. They have a chrono and tell everyone to chrono their guns but it is not enforced except for the occasional chrono checks which only occurred once during the whole day when I was there. Some guys had there guns chronoed HIGH, not like 305fps but like 380fps. Not only would it hurt but it is also a safety hazard to the players. Mask are only made to withstand 300fps, and I can see people making the mistake of putting their marker a few fps higher by accident, but some of these guys were had their fps way to high to be considered an accident. They also had this policy where if you took your barrel sock off you had to get off the property. It is understandable but when you've got a group of kids at a birthday party, you can't just remove one kid from the premisses, everyone has to go.

Overall, the experience was positive. Although the field has some flaws it isn't that bad. The whole facility is kept in great condition. The owner is a little arrogant, but he's not a bad guy. Not all of the staff are rude jerks, just some. One ref complimented the pump marker I was using that day. There is room for improvement, especially in the staff. I continue to go because it is the nicest field in the area. Check out the field for yourself, and see what you think. Its worth going to.

I will be going again in the upcoming months. I will update my review as needed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kody_05 Tuesday, December 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Predator, krossfire
Review: Pros's First pulled up to the paintball knights very impressed with the fields. Prices are fair compared with other paintball fields.
Con's Staff very very rude, bunkers had wasp nest in them also in the trees, which wasp are very hard to get out of your gear while stinging you. The wait for your safety briefing was about 30 mins. When the last game is played they do not fill up your air bottle. I observed the staff being very rude to a new person that had asked a question about his gun,( must be nice to know everything and to think your a paintball ball god)
Overall
NOT A FAMILY NOR A NEW PAINTBALLERS PLACE.I would not go back even If I had free passes, paintball is an expensive sport and to be treated very poorly and made to wait 30 plus mins for briefing. I would rather spend my money somewhere else where the players are treated fairly. WE where all new at sometime so lets help others enjoy the sport. I give credit to the father because If that would have been my son, I would have knocked the staffs teeth out. So to the unknown father your a great a role model to your son. GREAT JOB!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Haggerty Saturday, August 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Just south of 1604 and I10, east side of San Antonio
Review: I went for their night time play. We only played on 3 different fields, but I enjoyed all 3 of them. The refs were friendly but I didn't ask them any stupid questions or bother them with paint checks. I wish they were more vigilant with watching for hits though. I was nailing people multiple times and they'd hide for a minute, probably wiping paint off themselves and continue playing. Most cases I would just nail them again until it was obvious or they gave up in pain.
Team shooting was bad, not sure if that's just normal for rec play or not...the Refs stepped in on one case I saw, told the guy to leave the field, showed him who he was shooting and that he was a friendly and was not even pointing backwards, he let the kid back in the game at the start point to continue playing.
I was shot in the back about 3 seconds into a match, and once again when I was way forward killing the last 2 remaining enemies (I can almost understand this one).
The prices were high enough that I am going to try the other field around to see which one is best. If they were a little cheaper I'd probably have already decided they were best and just play there exclusively. The facilities were nice, one recommendation I would make to them is put a light in the parking lot, while I didn't feel like I was in danger walking to my car, I thought it was odd I had to do it in pitch black.
They have 3 options for paint, cheap $45, rental $50, and high end, $55. I wanted to get the high end balls but they said since I was sharing with a rental gun we had to buy the rental case. They shot pretty accurate with my gun.
Overall a great experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Th3Revreant Thursday, March 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
KrossFire-Never Been
Directions
to the Field:
1604E take a right by texas pride BBQ
Review: Going to do this review in sections and give a score from 1 being the worst to 10 being the best and then an overall score of the field.

GENERAL APPERENCE
When I first went to Paintball Knights and pulled into the parking area, I was instantly impressed. The parking lot was organised and the stageing area was clean, neat and free of trash. The field personnel were awsome, friendly and always willing to help. I couldn't wait to get started. 10/10

PRICES
The prices are decent and they offer a wide variety of paint from a case of cheap paint-$40, Field Grade-$50, and $60 for tourney grade paint with several brands to choose from. They also offer smaller amounts 100 and 500 bags of paint for cheap also. The entry fee is $18 if you bring your own equipment with all day Co2 or HPA and $22 for rental equipment which includes gun, mask, tank, 100 rounds and all day air and they offer military discounts for active duty persons, which is a huge plus for me. 9/10

FIELDS
The Fields are some of the best that I have played on. The grass is kept, absolutly no encounters with rocks(as of yet), and they range from woodsball to speedball style fields. They have an airball field which they swap up and is different everytime I am at the field. They just recently had an X-ball field, but not sure if it is a permant field or just another setup. They also have a castle field where they do a massive try to take the castle games, which is pretty cool. The best field is their tires field which is the best speedball style field. They switch up the game types from capture the flag, Protect the President, elimination and some games with different objectives. Just wish they would open the airball field more than just a couple of hours on sunday that is reserved for tourney practice, but understand why the choose not too. 10/10

STAFF
The staff is awsome and the gun tech at the field is pretty good at fixin pretty much anything. They have used markers for sale, nice ones like ego's and some timmy's and the such. They have food and drink for sale, but recommend to bring your own if you are in big groups. REF's are awsome and actually do their job unlike some of the other fields that I have played on. Safety is huge and that is a plus. They have safety briefings every 30 minutes and they wont allow you to start playing until you have the safety brief. If you take off your mask while your playing(duh, common sense not to) you are asked to leave and will be allowed to come back another day, which I think is more than reasonable. 10/10

FINAL THOUGHTS
Overall, this is definitly one of the best places to play in SA. This is the only field that I play at and dont think that I would want to play anywhere else. The only thing that I can suggest is to drop by Paintball Mart and save a little money on paint if you have your own equipment. Other than that, great place, great staff, great fields. Awsome place to play!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

greennoahc Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire Paintball- we didn't go there because Paintball Knights was recommended instead.
Directions
to the Field:
We recieved their flyer at PBmart in San Antonio. It had directions to the field.
Review: This field is the best field I have ever played at, and I have played all over the midwest and southwest. The fields were well-developed and the almost all players followed all the safety and game rules. I appreciate the field's safety breifings that they do very often throughout the day (most parks just don't care that much!)

There was one instance when a player took his mask off on the field during play. He was not playing at the time, but on the side lines. The refs yelled for him to put his mask on, ran over to him, and blocked him from potential fire until the mask was on. They then took his gun and told him to leave, since everyone had been briefed on the rules. I am glad to say that some fields still care about safety and do enforce their rules!

And don't forget that the gameplay was AWESOME!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dronepilot Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lackland AFB
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to Find with website directions
Review: Recently moved to San Antonio, so working my way through the various fields. I have been involved with paintball for 19 years, have built 2 fields and operated 2 others. These are MY observations: Facilities are excellent- multiple fields, overhead cover in the staging area, actual bathrooms, clean and level parking. Rules - The mask and barrel bag rules are harsh, but I understand and agree with the need for them, after all, they are well briefed and enforced evenly...the paintball that takes out your eye is not going to care if it was your first mistake or not. The surrender rule, again I understand the need for it, but 20 feet is a bit excessive, maybe should modify it to where the advancing player has to OFFER surrender, the defender can accept or battle on. Gun hits don't count, bad precedent, teaches people to ignore gun hits and play on, inhibits the growth of future tournament players. My 2 cents.... Prices were very reasonable, paint was good quality. Referees - overall, found them to be friendly and helpful, but there was a bit of favoritism. There were three players, two of which worked there that were playing and they played together EVERY game. The team they were on won every game..... Referees were also hesitant to paint check these individuals. Time between games was a bit lengthy, not excessive, but definitely on the longer side. Games were also getting rather large 20 v 20, while this can be fun once in while....need to break in to a little bit smaller groups, which also allows for faster game rotation. Chrono - no supervision at the chrono station or follow up testing to ensure people are not shooting hot. A couple of handhelds with random testing would reduce the number of people who were shooting hot.

Overall - a well set up field with a few issues. As a former tournament player, now rec baller, I play to have fun, and to be honest I didn't have much fun today, but really can't say why. Perhaps I will try this field again after to making the rounds and revise my rating.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lostnbattle Sunday, January 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Predator Paintball, Krossfire
Directions
to the Field:
Southeast 1604.
Review: I am new to the San Antonio area and was surprised to find such a contrast between fields. First off, I am not a "Tourney" player and would consider myself to be a pretty good "Rec" player. I have been playing for about 7 years and have taken my son to many fields across America as we have moved several times.
As many of the other younger posters have indicated, Paintball Knights does have nice fields and is much more geared toward the "Tourney" players.
But as an adult, you need to ask yourself what kind of paintball experience you are looking for before you go to any of the fields here in San Antonio (are you going by yourself, with friends, with new players, etc.). My son and I have played in both the competitive and rec type environments but we prefer a relaxed, friendlier type environment. So, if you are going out just have a little fun and/or you are taking kids out with little or no experience and are looking for a "family type" environment, I would NOT recommend Paintball Knights. If this is what you are looking, you will quickly find out that Paintball Knights is not the place to bring new players.
The owner is full of himself and his staff is NOT friendly. New or beginning players are talked down upon and if a safety rule is broken they are humiliated and talked down to by the refs and kicked out by the owner, no warnings or second chances. The owner then punishes the entire group by requiring the person that broke the safety rule to leave the property. How is a 12 year old supposed to leave the property if he came with friends that are still playing??? The owner is very egotistical and thinks he is better than everyone else and does not realize that by telling a player he must leave the property, he is in a sense kicking out several other players. This is not the way to run a business or introduce new players to this sport. Also, if the owner is so concerned about safety, why is it that crono'ing is not required and/or randomly verified by ref's as is customary at most fields in California, Arizona, and Michigan. I can tell you that most players at Paintball Knights are playing "hot" and I have the pictures to prove it.
Again, Paintball Knights is not the place for beginners or new players and the owner is not doing this sport justice. We need new paintballers and the only way to increase this sports popularity is to be a little more understanding with new players.
Paintball Knights has nice fields and it’s a shame that you cannot bring new players here. The owner is so full of himself and so perfect he does not understand that new players will accidentally break a safety rule and while safety is very important, there has to be a learning curve. If the owner of Paintball Knights is truly interested in attracting new players and growing his business he needs to be a little more understand and grow up. I might suggest a simple but very effective wristband warning system that is used at other fields. The ref's carry yellow wristbands and if a player breaks a safety rule, the player is issued a yellow band. If the rule is broken a second time, the player is then suspended. And, you cannot ask the player to leave the property unless he drove himself, think about it!

So ratings....

Fields... 6
Owner/Ref's... 2

Again, just know what you are getting into. Paintball Knights has nice fields and is good for experienced players. BUT I would not recommend to anyone taking younger kids or new players, it will not be a good first time experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TiFfAnY Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire(best fields)
Predator(friendly big fields)
Review: Tihs place is the best they have friendly staff the fields are great.

When i went i thought it was going to be a boring place but it was fun. I've been playing for more than 2 years and i always played at krossfire but my friends wanted me to go with them to knights with them so i went and this was the best. The only thing that is bad it that there are to many people there. Its hard to play cuz everyone is all gathered around and its hard to move. But other than that its great and the prices are amazing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

s-dawg Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lone Star before it closed
Constant Action, before it closed
Krossfire
Review: First, Knights has a large, well-maintained field with a lot of variety, air-ball fields like you see on ESPN, and a spacious staging area. I've only been there twice and I will go back eventually, especially when it is too hot in Texas to play during the day.

PB Knights is where you play in San Antonio if you want to be a competitive player. The level of play for "team practice" is as high as you can get in the sport (NXL team X-Factor practices there), and team practice seems to be largely unsupervised by staff. That's great for the competitive ballers because they are experienced and don't need refs, just like pickup basketball games at a public court. The competitive players at Knights appear to be incredibly loyal to their field and to the family that runs the park.

Rec-ball is a different story. Although Knights has very large, interesting fields, the teams can get way to big. This sometimes causes rec-ball games to be uninteresting "mob-ball." Moreover, referees can be too far away to ensure safety. Compared to other fields I've played at in Texas and California, there is a long delay between games. They have enough fields that they could break up into teams of at least 15 v 15, but they don't seem to have enough refs to do that, and it's probably too much of a hassle, too. But, I guess more rec-ballers + bigger, less frequent games = less work and more money for pbknights, so I don't blame them at all.

The two times I played there, no-one from the staff was supervising the chrono or requiring self-equiped players to set their marker velocity below the 300FPS limit. I suspect that at least some players are likely to be shooting hot at this park, especially in rec-ball. Unfortunately, many players with their own markers (especially younger players) don't bother to learn how to set their velocity correctly. I got some pretty horrible buises and broken skin, so I suspect that someone was shooting hot (I'll also admit that I suck :P). So, maybe markers were shooting hot, but we have no way of knowing.

I'm giving this field an 8 because of the problem with marker velocities and the long wait between rec-ball games.
Last edited on Thursday, March 15th, 2007 at 12:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

salami Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire,
Predator
Directions
to the Field:
Its on a road that goes next to Texas Pride BBQ out there on 1604
Review: Its the only place in the San Antonio Area to play at night.

Lit up just enough but not too much, perfect for a bit more of a challenge, me and my friends have been exclusively playing at night there because of the fact.

Friendly staff and refs, yes I did get the boot once but I was stupid and rules are rules. Hey, its for the general good of everyone so I said no problem. He was uber cool about it, he just simply said you know the drill, can you please pack up your gear and head on out. Not a problem with me, he was extremely polite about it, he could have been alot worse in his tone with me.

Well maintained fields. When it rains they do go and try and take care of the ants, but they always make note to remind people that they are out there, it is South Texas you know so thats an issue to contend with.

Decent rentals and other accessories available at the field office.

Overall A+ place to play IMHO.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media