paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Knights Paintball Field / Paintball Knights Paintball Field / Paintball Knights Paintball Field / Paintball Knights Paintball Field

Paintball Knights Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
44Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (210) 649-3147
Address: 13289 La Vernia Rd
Adkins, Texas 78101
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
kwalski Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Preadator-I've heard its improved, but still a NO
Krossfire-never been there
Lonestar-worth a day of fun, but only a day
Review: I am going to break this review into many parts. first, Prices, the first thing you deal with when you get there.

Prices
Very reasonable, the field paint is good quality, and they also have Diablo Midnight.It cost $18 if you don't have your own gun, and $9 if you do. All day air is $7, and each fill by itelf is $2

Rental Equipment
The rental guns are Paradox's, and are in good shape. Not that that makes it a good gun... But that's the only thing they rent out besides masks, as opposed to Lonestar, that rents pods(i suggest that Knights do the same)

Refs
I really like the refs here. They make really great calls, but they can get mean when you break a rule. But im not criticizing, that just makes them not do it again. (Note: one of the refs, Bob, i think, brought his son to reff. i really didn't like him. No offense, but he was rude. I got shot in the neck while wearing my neck protector in a speedball game, and i still complained to myself that it hurt. Bobs son overheard me, and said "get over it! Your wearing a neck protector for gods sake!" That really made me mad. i don't play alot, so it still hurts.

Conclusion
Great field, Great times, Great score. I give it a solid 10. Keep it real, Knights!
Last edited on Saturday, May 28th, 2005 at 3:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coptic Monday, January 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Krossfire Paintball
Review: I have played a majority of the fields in Texas bigger cities during practices and tournaments over the last few years. I recently moved to the San Antonio area and got the oppertunity to visit Knight for the first time. With that, and subsequent visits, I have been totaly impressed by the facility and staff.

Facility - INDOOR PLUMBING is a major plus for the restrooms. They have a combination of rec and tournament fields (mostly tournament) including an Xball, two hyperball, barrels, and a tire field. There are nice viewing areas for spectators and the netting is a permanent version of what the NPPL is using. The area was also very clean. I witnessed multiple employes picking up trash throughout the days while I was there. Covered staging area is also nice. They also offer 4500 fills ($6 all day air)

Staff - The staff is very professional and treats their clients well. Safety is a key concearn, and its nice to see safety precautions enforced consistently. Some refs are better than others, but that is apparent at every field I have ever been to. I also saw the staff replace a part on a kids gun (which he said he bought at another store) free of charge.

General - BYOP is a definite plus. Paint prices are very reasonable ($38-60 / case, depending on the grade). They are also the only field that I have found in the area with open team practices. The only negative I have is that they aren't convenient for me to get to (30 min - but I have to drive across town). But, taking everythign else into account, it is definetely worth the trip.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

z28pwr Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
LoneStar Paintball
Predator
CrossFire
Review: This is a nice paintball field with an actual restroom, the fields are nice and the refs are good. The rental equipment is decent and the prices are great at $6 dollars all day air.

The only complaint I have about them is that if you play at night time they don't have enough lighting on some of the fields and it's hard to see your opponent or anything else for that matter, of course if you play during the day then you don't have to worry about this.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

autokid29 Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
krossfire lonestar city park paintball (converse)
Review: Where to begin. first off, if you read the reviews further down i think they are being really harsh. i loved knights even before they had a million more fields. when i played there they only had that one big field. do not complain about lack of fields, i just moved up to Washington, and all the fields here consist of only one field always, no matter what. so chill out, you have it good compared to other places. its cheap, the people are nice, and it family owned what more can you want. whats this crap about "not big enough bunkers, my limbs are sticking out." and " the bunkers are too far apart, you actually have to run to get there" what did you think paintball was? a huge shield that required no skill to get behind? and if its a long ways for you to get to its a long ways for the other team to get to as well, so at least its even. i like how they switch up the games, and make it more than just elimination. no other fields do that, most don't even play center flag. so whatever, if your gonna dis it that's cool but its not as bad as you think, i say at least try it, the best part is the safety and the refs. they have more refs actually watching the games than any other field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MadDogMartin Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lone Star Paintball
Krossfire PaintBall
Predator's Paintball Park
Review: Okay first let me list the few thing that Knights does have going for it

-GOOD RENTAL EQUIPMENT-
you get a spyder victor and a v-force armor mask, while not top of the line stuff it is dependable. you can bring your own paint but no outside paint rental equipment so you're SOL there. they ask $40 for a case of house paint which is fine but they only have white paint, which is more like white water as it doesn't mark very well.
-ACTUAL RESTROOM-
they have a decent enough restroom that isn't as scary as some other places.They have separate men and women restrooms

That being said let me tell you what i don't like about Knights

-FIELDS-
They have an X-ball field,a tire field, barrel field, a LEGO field, and a "castle" field.
At night during Knights main business hours only 2 of the 5 fields are playable due to inadequate lighting, and the games get repetitive really fast. They do however have an excellent game rotation to play besides CTF such as RESURRECTION, PROTECT THE PRESIDENT, AND ELIMINATION. But unfortunately playing different games on the same field is like having cereal for breakfast, lunch and dinner, it just gets old. The light that they do have isn't good enough to see most of the field anyway but there is a lot of glare on your goggles which just leads to confusion for most backmen, and by "backmen" I mean kids who stay in the back and shoot at what they think is the opposing team which leads to some frustrating friendly fire eliminations.
-STAFF-
The Referees are fair enough, they are just doing their jobs which is to enforce Knights' ridiculously strict rules. I know they are doing it in the interest of "safety" but im pretty sure they could care less about the safety of the player and more about rising insurance premiums. At least that the reason they gave us after kicking out a couple of friends of mine after they adjusted their masks on the field of play, and by adjusting i mean wiggling the mask not removing from the face. Also one of the females that works the register always acts like we are wasting her time, lets just say you won't feel welcome after catching one of her wicked glares.
-LOCATION-
Knights is really far to get to and kind of uncomfortable, driving to Knights is... well have you seen Texas Chainsaw Massacre?? Like a driving scene from that movie.

Overall with better fields in the area that are closer just go to one of those. With 5 being average i give this field a 4. I know, I know, Jhorgan is going to have some choice words for me but only because he probably works at Knights. I say that jokingly i dont know if he does or doesnt but they way he's defending knights is kinda weird.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bob-villa Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Predator-Way more Expensive
Review: Paint ball knights is the best. ive been going there for 3 months. do not listen to these other noob players that have to clear there masks every five seconds. the only main rules in paintball knights is that you must have a barrel sleeve on when not on the field and that you must have a mask on while your on the field. Im mean think about it, would you want to be sitting next to the guy waiting for the next game who's gun goes off for some strange reason while he doesn't have his barrel sleeve on? you would probably be going to the hospital for some eye injuries. Or would you rather be the dude on the field who gets his eye taken out because you didn't want to follow a little rule and clean your mask. personally if my mask fogged up id rather stay in the game and play with a fogged mask or leave the game. and the barrel sleeve. its real easy to form a habit of putting it on.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004 at 7:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

JasonRoughNecks Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
LonestarPaintball
Review: A lot people said paintball knights is bad and not a lot fields and such. Its true that they don't have a lot fields like most places and x ball is a great touch. They have strict rules and if u break them not even once ur out for the entired day. Trust me their strict. they got couple faults in my opinion. 1. need more fields and need to go at least 2 rounds. When i was there we started and played only 1 round thats it. Couple times they'll do 2 rounds but trust me only couple times. The players are nice and they don't act like they are better than u and trust me a lot expierence players do in most places. Their Day time is fun, but their nights games is fun but its hard cuz it gets foged up in ur goggels and the light gives u this glare. in my opinion they should put the lights higher so we wont get its glare. Ill give it a 7 cuz lonestar has a lot better stuff, but lonstar reffing is poor, poor to be honest. ill give knights better reffing night time and strict rules and nice people.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 8:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wastedwalrus Monday, October 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Predator and Lonestar
Review: This field is horrible. First of all they only have about 4 fields. With the exception of their X-Ball field, the fields are very poorly designed. There's a lot of space in between bunkers so you really have to run for it when your trying to move to a new one. Also, some of the bunkers give no decent cover whatsoever. They leave body parts visible to the opposing team. Paintball Knights doesn't take care of the place either. I find its kind of run-down and trashy. Plus, I hate playin at night and at Knights their main playing hours are at night. This park is also very far away from where I live whereas predator is failry close. The only thing this park has goin for it is the X-Ball field, and that you can bring your own paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Twisted Image Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: i went there for my first tourney and then my second (2 cen tex's) and those events ran great but recently tried to go play one of their events in the sa3man and wans tallowed to play caused some one called in and said i was a "NOVICE" level player they would not tell me who the person who called that in was when i should have right fully known so i could have stated my arguement with them (i would have been civil about it) but they would not let me play besides after watching a few games that day i was glad i wasnt playing the reffing was horrible i mean i saw refs blatently (sp?) watch players cheat and pull people for kneeling in paint when it was obivous and they watched them kneel in paint this is by far one of the worst fields i've played at and i intend never to play there again and even tell everyone i can how pitiful this field is they dont even deserve a 1 in the review
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

thaynes Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I've been playing at this field for a little under a year and have absolutely no complaints about it whatsoever. Here are a few of the best things in my opinion.

+ You can bring your own paint , but if you don't paint prices are very reasonble.
+ You can bring your own food/drinks, but some food and drinks are available.
+ Several (?5) different fields to play on
+ They are very safety conscious (some might call it strict, but safety is their biggest concern, and that's as it should be)
+ Reasonable field fees and air prices
+ Knowledgable and helpful refs (sure, you get a new ref from time to time but that happens anywhere. Give 'em a break, you were a noob once too)
+ Customer appreciation events: Once in a while they give away a marker or some other type of prize at the end of the night. They don't have to do things like this, it's a great field as is and people go there just to play. But these guys really do appreciate their customers and they show it.
+ Playing day and night: Saturdays they're open from 4 to 10 PM, so you've got daytime and nighttime play all in one session. Good lighting on a couple of fields means that this is the only place to have a decent nighttime game. This is a HUGE plus in Summer.

In short, this is a great operation run by great people. Do youself a favor and check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media