paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / White River Paintball Field / White River Paintball Field / White River Paintball Field / White River Paintball Field

White River Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 317-489-3732
Address: 5211 S. New Columbus Rd.
Anderson, Indiana 46013
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Eagle2010 Thursday, July 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest, Fort Knox, other private fields.
Review: I am a computer IT support specialist. I only gave this field a 5 because of the price of paint there...WAY OVER PRICED!!! The field is GREAT!

I had a service call in Anderson today, and a few minutes to go check out the field and see what improvements had been done. All I can say is, nice. The chrono area is netted off so you can not worry about getting shot if you are out in that field behind it. Speaking of that field, from the fence line all the way down to Bastogne/Town and from the trail at the top of the hill over to the corn field, about 100 yards, is the BEACH. Just outside of the town going toward the pro shop is a huge mound with spaces along the entire length that has cable spools and stuff. If you are standing behind it, you can see all the way to the 'landing craft', but from the 'landing craft' to a small open area are 'bunkers'. These bunkers are made of two pallets set in an A frame with a solid board nailed onto what would be the allied side or assault side. There are rows of these all the way across the field spaced about 20 feet or so apart. The no man's land is about 50 feet across, and then you get to the mounds. I think there were two rows of mounds, but maybe three. The biggest is back by the town. The airfield and mound field are not being used at all this time. The men's room has a wall now instead of a curtain, and there are more tables and shelters now, and it looks great. I guess my biggest issue with the facility has nothing to do with the layout, pro shop, refs, or any other people on staff, but rather the $84 per case plus tax paint cost!!! This is just ridiculous compared to other fields we go to and the quality of games produced there. BT is having some sort of BIG GAME in August that will be hosted by different fields around the world, and WRPB is one, but I would rather travel to CPX and play it there. Bedlam and the other fields are way nicer. If they would just lower the price on the paint, but for now, until someone builds another field nearby to compete, I just don't see it happening.

p.s. I looked at the TPX pistol while there....I WANT ONE!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sealbeater Thursday, July 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There are few other fields in the surrounding area-
Dark Armies in Indianapolis- indoor, expensive, Very dirty.
Sanitarium- outdoor, Cheap, not well maintained, (actually ran out of business.)
PaintballPlex- Fort Wayne, cheap, indoor (X-ball), well maintained.
Review: -The Pro-shop is open every day 7 days a week, with a helpful staff and a lot of assorted paintball equipment in stock.
-Private parties can be scheduled for any day of the week and OPEN PLAY is on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Anyone can come in.
-The reffs are great. They are very helpful and know what they are doing. They always make sure the rules are applied and everyone obey the safety measures.
-White River rents out Tippmann 98s and e-trigger'd Tippmann 98s, along with packs masks and vests.
-White river is all woodsball and scenario games. there are 6 fields and they are all excellent.
-Prices are not too high although, you have to use their paint and it costs $75 a case. Also entry is $30 bucks.(includes all rental gear.) Still it is cheaper than a lot of places.
- The concessions are okay, and they have pizzas.
-I have always had a great time whenever I have come out to white river. it is an excellent field.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jbmcduff Monday, June 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the Area... but have played at SC Village (AMAZING!)
Directions
to the Field:
Use GPS, or directions from website. Easy enough to get to though.
Review: I have been playing paintball for 10 years. So when I talk about the sport I do know something about it.

I love playing here. I have played here about 4 times so far and each time always makes me want to come back.

I live in Indy, but it is not too far of a drive from the city.

The refs are nice and entirely fair, sometimes they miss something, but usually its because someone didn't call a paint check or something. But the bottom line is they make every experience fun, and they are nice to everybody!

They do offer a lot of different field types. Air Strip and Bedlam are fun, but I would stay away from Fort. It is a big waste of paint, I am not saying it isn't fun, I am just saying be prepared to shoot a lot of paint.

I guess I'll go down the list

SAFETY: Like I said before, safety is a huge aspect of this place. The refs are not afraid to call a game off for something.

FIELDS: Good, read above.

HOURS OF OPERATION: Private Parties are all week long, you just have to schedule. Open Play is Friday from 4-9 pm, Sat from 9:30 to 7 pm, and Sun from 1-7 pm.

PRICES: The rate to play and rent equipment are not bad. But it is a little pricey to buy the field paint (which you must). But keep in mind, paintballs are not all that cheap to begin with

RULES: Are fully explained by the refs before you are even allowed to Chrono your gun.

PROSHOP: Pretty good proshop, has everything that you might need.

PLAYERS: Haven't played with too many pro players, a lot of beginners to intermediate. But its still fun.

FACILITIES: Clean indoor bathrooms.

FOOD: Offer some snacks, but the staff will order pizza for you and help you get whatever you want.

It has been my experience that White River Paintball is one of the best places I have ever played at.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009 at 8:00 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BDR529 Thursday, April 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Indiana / Gator Pit / Gator Joe's (Martinsville) - PI has more even ratio of players, experienced to new; PI doesn't have on-site proshop, but their proshop (Indy Extreme) is excellent; PI does have airball field, but limited scenario fields
Directions
to the Field:
Use GPS Nav or directions on their website. Best to arrive in truck or SUV, the driveway is very long and rocky [edit 4/6/09] - Driveway has been largely cleared of rough gravel now!
Review: This is a great site for paintball. I've been here three times and am never disappointed. The other reviews posted are fantastic, so i'll just add a couple things not mentioned yet...

White River seems to attract and host a lot of private party games over weekends, which is great, but just means extra waiting to get checked in since the staff has to register a LOT of people (most of which are new and need rentals and explaination). All three times i've been there i waited about 15 minutes just to get in. But, once inside, this didn't affect the games at all though. There are plenty of fields and it didn't seem like our open play group had to compete for fields ever.
[Edit 4/6/09] - Leave it to me to finally post a review and then have to edit the next weekend! This weekend I was there and there was only one private group of about 14 people, and the rest of the 40+ players were all walk-on! I was assured by a couple other people that this was a more typical day than what I had experienced my other times here. Anyhow, thought I'd mention my most recent experience. [/Edit]

A couple interesting policies for White River that I noticed: 1) gun / equipment hits do not count. 2) Each time i've been there, we only chrono'd for the first game. I suppose this is because most of the players had rental equipment (meaning they were not swapping out barrels and parts of their own equipment between games) This was still surprising.

All in all, it is a very clean, safe and well organized place to play paintball. The on-site proshop is unmatched for any field I've been to. Indoor restrooms! Its understandable why many new and young players would come here since the staff does a great job in keeping the day fun for everyone.

One important thing that affects my rating (lower) is the paint prices at White River... a case of paint costs (and I'm not kidding at all) $84 for PMI Premium, field paint only. There are discounts available from their website (like registering a day in advance or signing up for membership or buying 3 or more cases) but still that is somewhat annoying and almost seems like they're taking slight advantage of unknowing parents or young players. Still a very good place to go though.
Last edited on Monday, April 6th, 2009 at 10:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeliciousDave Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Indiana, Proving Grounds, Dark Armies
Directions
to the Field:
Listed on their website
Review: This is an excellent field, great staff, great people, great pro-shop, the owners name is Ben, it is overall a very nice field, very professional staff. The people are very friendly and can cater to the needs of any player. This field is field paint only. I would advise anyone to go check this field out, they have open play every weekend as well as private parties on weekdays, they are open year round and the pro-shop is open seven days a week. FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION VISIT THEIR WEBSITE

Field Review

General: The referees will try to hurry you from game to game, take your own time, dont be afraid to let them know you are not ready.Dont let them tire you out, this will let you play more games. Talk strategy at this time, even in open play, dont be afraid to go over to total strangers and talk strategy with them. The referees will tell you you can play all day, hold them too it! Be nice to the referees, they might throw some calls your way if you are cool with them.

AIR STRIP:Wait! Watch your opponents movement.The tower is a secondary priority,if the other team gets it, watch for longballs. Run the sides, dont charge straight up the middle, FLANK CITY. Play the sides and exploit your opponents flanks, get an edge on them. The most popular game on this field is elimination or four flag, know your games.The crack between a double stack is perfect to shoot through, if you are at the stack, or need to get someone out at the stack. When playing four flag send two squads in opposite directions, meet up at last flag.As always,communicate! Make sure everyone on your team knows where every opponent on the field is.Save your ammo, this field will drain your paint, shoot smart.

BATTLEFIELD:This field is a monster, watch your sides, it is completely possible for an opponent to be directly across the side field from you and you not even know it. Capture the flag is a referee favorite on this field. Get a runner to get the flag.Its not critical, but if you can, get the tank, Communication is key on this field, be descriptive for your team,dont just yell, "Over there" shoot at it! Dont be afraid to get right into the action, and make sure you team is evenly spread across the field, to avoid getting flanked. Grenades work quite well on this field, especially when an opponent is reloading. A lot of paint is wasted on this field, especialy with tag backs. Load up on the pods,also watch your footing, lots of roots on this field.

WOODSBALL:This field is slow moving, very rarely will one team make it across the revine, have lots of paint on this field, you will almost always play elimination on this field, although there is a flag on the field, have runners ready. Accuracy is key on this field as well as paint volume being shot, the more you shoot the more likely you are to hit people, call lots of paint checks, when the referee is checking your opponent, MOVE and find a better place to shoot him from, ITS NOT CHEATING, communicate positions of opponents on this field, it will be key.This is a very basic field, moving up is not key, but if you can find the opposing teams weak side, exploit it and flank them, the game will end very soon if you can do that.

DUNES:This is a capture the flag field, you will need a runner, when you have one ready to run for the flag, get cover fire on the count of a countdown. This strategy wins games, this field will not waste as much paint if you play it right, get your entire team as close to the flag as you can, then RUN! This is a simple, field to play, and a simple field to win, just get a fast runner.

FORT FIELD: You will need LOTS of paint regardless of if you are attacking or defending, so load it up. If you are defending, dont let your cover off of the flag, dont worry about getting players out, the key is to not let them get the flag, player hits count for nothing, if you are attacking, the same thing go for this field as it did the dunes field, get all your players as close to the flag as you can, cover fire on a countdown, and RUN, this field will drain you paint, so conserve it for the cover fire, this field is way longer than it needs to be, if you have to go tag back in, dont run, take the walk easy.

BASTOGNE:The newest field, and the most speedball like, this field can be played one of two ways, elimination, or capture the "asset" the "asset" is an old ammunition box in the middle of the field. Dont put all of your players in the houses, the ones who do go to the house better know how to cover a flag, you can flank like crazy on this field, just be stealthy, you can save a lot of trouble if you communicate on this field, make sure you have a fast runner, and make sure you have a fair amount of paint, although this game will be over quickly, watch for broken glass in the cars.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dabeach Tuesday, November 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The old blast factory
Directions
to the Field:
use there Website
Review: This is a great place to play paintball! The staff there is great they will help you in anyway, and make sure you have lots of fun. The refs are good they do their job. The proshop is very good if you have any problems with your gun like I did they will help you fix it and the guy is very smart when it comes to paintball. The price you pay to get in will get you free air for the whole day and whatís really cool is that you can play for the whole day. There is really no closing time I played for a while in the dark even. I got around a total of eight hours of playing time for twenty bucks. The only negative thing I can say is the price of paintballs is sorta high. There case of 2,000 is $70 bucks sorta high but they use custom ordered paint with thicker shells in the winter and thinner in the summer that way your balls donít break in the cold. This is a great Place and I highly recommend this to anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wooowooowooo Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indiana paintball/whiteriver=better
Directions
to the Field:
check their website.
Review: our family has visited the facility twice. the first was for the scenario game the beginning of October and once for open play. both times we had a great time. the battle for the rein was great and lasted 2 days(Saturday and Sunday) and they held one night game.
the open play was also fun. they had many players show up that day, I counted roughly 60+, on top of a private party. they had plenty of room to accommodate everyone who showed up. white river has a nice pro shop and bathrooms, not port-a-johns, for player use and outside running water to clean off your gear when your facemask or other gear take a direct hit. there was plenty of places to sit, providing pick nick tables with canopies over them. which is nice when its hot out.
both times at the facility a safety and rules review/briefing were went through for all players this was also done for players who showed up late. a Ref would go over the facility rules and go over the safety guidelines. all guns were chronoed before play began, at the scenario and open play. they provide all the equipment you need if you do not have any or you can bring you own, except paint. their a field paint only operation. its a bit pricey but of good quality. free air was supplied and they have 3 filling stations with only 1 or 2 people deep if that. all the players were very courteous and friendly as was the staff. it is very family friendly. at open play they split players into separate groups the experienced on one and little kids and their parents into another. which is good for younger people since, for most it is their first time and they can battle against people of the same skill level.
there was a ref on each field during the open play. at the scenario they had 5 to 6 refs roaming and next to the action at all times. making sure all is fair.
over all it is a great facility to go and play with experienced players and also for the beginner. the fields are set up adjacent to one another where they can break them down into their own individual area or they can combine them to make one Hugh battle field.
check out their website and come out for a visit or a battle.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mud Boy Monday, October 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Take I-69 to Exit #26
Go south 1/2 mile and take a right at the first stop sign (67th St.)
Continue 1/2 mile and take a left at the next stop sign (Columbus Road)
Continue 1 mile to the facility
Review: Safety- Owner is big on that and the staff is too

Fields- good size field for 100-150 but they hav to much more land that they are adding more stuff every week =P

Prices- the Scenario Game i went to cost me $105 thats for 2000 balls,free co2/N2 refills, and a 2 day and a night game, open play i find very good price just look on there site to seeurself

Proshop- everything u might need in a game and the owner almost can help fix any gun u got, moslty tippmann

Players- every1 had a good attitude

Refs- they did their job 100% =P



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FreedomIsntFree Monday, September 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is one of the better field in the whole state, the nearest ones are Dark Armies (NEVER EVER GO TO DARK ARMIES), Indy F.O.G., and The Proving Grounds.
Directions
to the Field:
N/A
Review: This is a Great Field with Excellent styles of playing weather your into speedball or woodsball it is excellent. there is a great variety of fields to choose from, hyperball, woodsball, the wall, or the new battlefield. I would strongly reccomend checking this field out.

The only downside to this field is the cost, if i remember correctly it cost me nearly $40 to play there for like 4 hrs. Which is absolutly rediculous, i can understand the need to get a business going, but thats just cheating people out...If the cost goes down this would definitly be one of my top pics for best Indiana Fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

css_kid Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Proving Grounds (my home field)
Sanitarium
Directions
to the Field:
USE THE DIRECTIONS ON THEIR WEBSITE! ! ! trust me, it will save you the frustration of getting lost.
Review:
i must say that i was very impressed by how well organized the field was. you could tell that the refs tried to make everyones experience positive whether you were an experienced player or just a newcomer to the sport.

the refs would split the players into two groups, the advanced players, and the beginner players. basically every other game they would combine both the groups together which is perfect for the more inexperienced players. it really gives them a chance to learn a thing or two, and it also gives them a little bit more of a challenge also.

the refs actually did their jobs! ! !
they would go walk the field during the games paint-checking and such. when ever you you were eliminated they would yell "HEADS UP PLAYER COMING OUT!" so you wouldn't get lit-up.

i would bring a little bit more cash than usual, paint and entry fee are a little pricey.

BRING WATER WITH YOU! ! ! !
i was shocked that the field didn't even have a water hose, but when i was talking to Ben the owner, he said that they'd be putting one in next year.

all in all this was a great field Even though its centered mainly around beginners.

I doubt i'll ever make it my new home field, but i'm definitely playing there again.


P.S. CHECK OUT THEIR 12 HOUR SCENARIO THIS JULY 5 (2008) CAN'T WAIT! ! !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media