paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field

Orlando Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
116Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 407-294-0694
Address: 7215 Rose Ave.
Orlando, Florida 32810
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
FLTippMan Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
too many to possibly list - just about every one in central florida.
Directions
to the Field:
Google it.
Review: I previously posted a fairly negative review about the ref's and thier efforts. I waited until the second trip back there before I was willing to write about a change at OP. Perhaps thier management monitors this forum?

At any rate, after a trip two weeks ago, and another tonight, I have to say the attitude and efforts of the ref's is completely different (in a good way)... they are actively involved, seem interested in making sure the rules are followed and "on the field"! My opinion of OP has completely changed and I will go back again as long as the ref's keep up the great work!

Tom
Last edited on Saturday, March 15th, 2008 at 11:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stoneenforcer Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Epik Paintball, Hyper, and Waynes World.
Review: This is an edited post/review. As you can tell by the comments below, my previous review was rather touching. I'm changing things a bit by saying what someone already did a couple posts above me here. OP pretty much deals with newb's and recy's for the most part. I do visit occasionally to check out the scene and perhaps play if there are some expereiced walk ons around. If your an" agg" , tourny , experienced player, just take it casually since its newb's/recy's. The place does play good music, which I like and they have vending machines for drinks. There are a couple jokers that I'm pretty positive, work there or are playing for OP ( since they're always onsite ) that seem to have it out for me and pitch a fit on and off the field. Their verbal crap, Makes me wish I had any one member from my previous teams with me to show em what tourny really is. I'm cool with it boys. I know your used to playing with newb's and rec'ys. Don't take my previous post personal, unless your guilty of my previous claims. Everyone else seems really nice and freindly. Tommy, I can see a difference since my original post, ex: bunkers are getting filled prior to game times, perhaps a lil less down time between games and a couple of the refs are showing more effort , being alert and tentative. And I saw sprinklers running for the grass field. Keep up the good progress.
Last edited on Monday, May 12th, 2008 at 11:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Kadoogenator Friday, December 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes world- awesome if you like to play vs like 500 other people during one of his events, Hyper sports and Epik are both very well run with nice grassy level fields.
Review: Well I guess ill start off by saying that when I 1st put my lil hands on a paintball gun i was at OP so I cant be too harsh. OP has been going down hill slowly over the past 4 or 5 years.

Field: their fields are perdy sucky if you ask me. They have 2 X ball fields with crappy inflatable bunkers that most of the time are deflating as you play. all of the fields are very uneven with roots,holes,broken glass, and all kinda of other "suprises". the warehouse isnt bad, but the inside has not been taken care of and iv seen it go to crap in the recent years.

Refs/Employees: The refs most of the time are ballas trying to support their addictions and are perdy decent guys. Never had a problem with their refing style, but how much can you be into your job constantly yelling at kids to keep their masks on and put on your barrel plugs. I dont know his name but the guy behind the counter is kindof an ass. It looks like he hates every sec of his job and looks like me might be on something, just looks really rough.

Pricing: Perdy High for a paintball field, but they are there to rip off 12 year olds parents from bDay parties then to cater to Ballas' so cant complain too much. Decent paint, but at 60-80 bucks a case kinda sucks. 12admission and 12 all day air isnt too bad but i can get better at other fields.

Conclusion: Im not going to be going back for much longer, because the business from what iv seen over the years is just going to crap. Hypersports and Epik have much better prices ,Fields,and just all around better time.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

surfbum1151 Saturday, December 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
waynes world..if your into woods ball would defently choose waynes world but personaly wasnt for me only because of the fact that there where no airball fields when i went though
Review: Prices where a little high service was was ok
the indoor fields where pretty good if you are into the indoor paintball you might think more or less of them though i personaly dont realy know what to realy think of them because i am into airball.
the hyper ball field was good just didnt like the rule that you couldnt cross the middle on it may have just been that day though only played there once
airball fields had ok setup the grass has alot of dirt spots but that is to be expected with the amount of play it gets other then that they just need to fill the bunkers up more often
the refs where great easy to get along with funny and keep the safety inline seemed realy fair couldnt realy tell though to caught up in the game to pay attention..haha
Store was pretty nice to
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

des2k Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Safety was almost non existent. There were kids all over the place without masks on the field. I had a kid popup from in back of a bunker about 10-15 feet away. I had a bead on him and realized that he did not have a mask on. IN THE MIDDLE OF A GAME! Half the masks came up on top of the head after the game was over, but still on the field. Some of the fields are large/have blinks spots. A single ref cannot see the entire field. There needs to be more refs on the field.

I was in the staging area and got hit in the side of the head by a kid walking off the field without a barrel sock on.

The refs were a little too casual. It's “OK” to be friendly, but their first job must be safety. If I was their insurance underwriter, I would be worried. It is a claim waiting to happen.

As a parent of a young paintballer, I would need to pass on taking my child to this field until the safety issues are worked out.

On the positive side, the proshop was great. I saw them on several occasions take a lot of time to explain “things” to parents and players. The paint prices were HIGH but the quality of the paint was excellent. You get what you pay for.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

otisgoldbergis Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
408 to John Young, turn left on 17-92/Orange Blossom Trail, take right on Rose Ave. and it's up on your right, can't miss it. Fields are on the left side of the road, proshop and indoor field(s) is on the right side of the field.

These directions are coming from the UCF area, check MapQuest/Google Earth/Yahoo Maps for directions from different area.
Review: Ok here's my review....

I've been going to Orlando Paintball since I got back into the sport a few months ago. I visited OP before I got back into it and then suggested I purchase an Ion. Good thing I didn't follow that advice!

Anyway, I went back after I got a marker and all that jazz. I checked in and got air and paint and the guys running the counter were pretty nice and informative. Not amazing, but good enough.

I went out to the field to join the group and asked a ref to chrono my gun, no problems there, helped get it chrono'd and took me back to the field.

The quality of the players there all depends on the day you go. Saturday nights there are some good players there, Sunday is mostly recs, and throughout the week you never know who's going to be there. Wednesday night is "3 man tournament" night, however I've never seen them get enough teams to actually run the tournament.

The refs are nice guys, they know the sport, but there seems to be a shortage of refs at all times, and they just chill outside the nets next to the field and call game on and blow the whistle to signal the end of the game. They don't get on the field and do paint checks or anything like that. I don't cheat and I've never seen anyone cheating there, so maybe it's not a problem, but I have seen a few people playing on with hopper/gun hits, but if a ref sees it he calls them out as best s/he can.

Pretty good enforcement of the rules, although I have seen people off the field without barrel covers, but being how there's only one ref per group, they can't have their eyes everywhere. Mask safety is always top notch, I've never seen anyone without a mask on the field.

Some of the staff can give you attitude sometimes, but it's never really been a problem for me.

I'm not a fan of the indoor fields or the games they play on them, so I simply choose not to play indoors.

The fields are relatively good, they have 2 air ball fields, one of which is not up right now because they are letting the grass grow back on it. The other air ball field has inflation issues, but they usually are on top of keeping them filled. There is also a large hyperball field, for 7-10 man games. None of the fields have very good grass, but they are open 7 days a week, so what do you expect? There is also a boards field, one solely made up of wooden boards of varying sizes. This is my least favorite outdoor field there.

Overall it's not a bad field, if you don't mind having to keep a close eye on your fellow players and call them out when you need to. I'd like to see them keep a little better care of their air ball bunkers, as some have a tendency to deflate. I would appreciate it if there were more refs who could be on the field to call people out, but they always have at least 3 people on staff, and someone has to stay in the shop to make sure no one steals anything. I would be willing to ref for free paint, but I think I'll mention that to them next time I'm there.

One of the biggest complaints I've heard about OP is their prices. While $20~ for admission and all day air is $5 more than most fields, it is only $5. I've also heard a lot about their paint prices, but they sell cases of Midnight for $45. And Midnight is by no means a bad paint, so that's acceptable for me.

I think this field gets a bad rap but it's really not that bad. If you're ever out there, look for a guy with a red Invert Mini, that's me, I'm always up for meeting fellow ballers!

I'm giving OP an 8 for having a professional staff, decent fields, good selection of fields, relatively fair prices (I think), and being on top of the safety standards, which is by far the most important thing in paintball. As far as what they could do better, well, please read my review!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtsaad Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: personally i would not go back
you figure you can play where you want but no you have to follow the ref and that sucks
i prefer woodbALL or playing in the warehouse but the refs friend was there and it made it unfair we played speedball half the time and that sucked because his friend had some suped up gun and could take my whole team alone
then all they do is talk crap and that sucked so screw them i aint wastin my money on that dump again
p.s. if you like woodsball dont waste your money go out to waynes world
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eric Quest Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Full Throttle,
Review: Its made for speed-ball players, outside field looks like any other speed-ball field. Indoor-field field slippery but can be fun but not my kind of play NOT well kept. Prices are on the high side, Staff was friendly but the refs sucks. The hours are great pretty much can play at any time.

Personally would not return...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DJEXCLUSION91 Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Epik, Hypersorts, Al's Army & Navy, Full Throttle, Orange County,
Directions
to the Field:
on Rose Ave, off of Orange Blossom Trail, heading toward Apopka.
Review: I played in this field a few times. I regret ever getting a membership there. The price are just ridiculous. Like I said, I have a membership and paid a little over thirty dollars for cheap paint and admission. I could have gone to other fields, got a rental, all day air and 500 panitball for that price. There paintball prices are just to high for no reason.
Also the ref need to be a bit more nice. Need a class on common courtesy. Also the ref allow a player to cheat which I later found out that he was an employee off duty( a ref). That is just sad because everyone say it and everyone knew she let him cheat. I think they need to employ ref who a bit more mature. The one other thing I say and which I have seen in other fields as well is the barrier for the speedball were deflated and that we, the customer would have to wait for them to be filled on our time. If you charge an admission fee then the equiupment you have should be ready to go so that the customer's time is not wasted. I think the fields should be ready to go before the business open. The sniper and viewing towers in the warehouse need a special carpet added to the stairs and platform. I slipped and fell twice. Once down the stairs. Someone can get really hurt. Besides the many negative thing I have addressed, I do have a positive thing to say. I like the fact of how many fields you have and the diversity off them. I love playing in the warehouses. Also the fact that you stay open late and are open during the week. Alot of the other fields are only open during the weekend and only between 10am to 6pm.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 3:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rickiii Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Stopped by yesterday to get a feel for the place. Staff were friendly. Plenty of Refs out there. Good for a recreational player that may go out a few times a year and rent. They do a great job at keeping the games going. Paint price seems very high. A lot of people there playing for the first time.




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media