paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field

Orlando Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
116Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 407-294-0694
Address: 7215 Rose Ave.
Orlando, Florida 32810
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
SpragueTrain Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Safety: Well, the fact that there are countless numbers of broken and unbroken paintballs all over the fields make them very slippery. The indoor fields have this mud like soil covering not only the floors but the floors of the towers and stairs aswell. I busted my but a number of times running from bunker to bunker.

Fields: The 2 indoor fields are pretty sweet, mainly becuase of the setup and the scenarios they run. I also enjoyed the out door fields. Only negative I have on the fields is the fact that a number of the bunkers on the inflatables were deflated.

Hours of Operation: open all week from noon to midnight and open to 6am on weekends. Very nice feature.

Prices: $11 admission. $10 all day air. $30 for basic rental package. Paint prices; $30 for 500, $45 for 1000, $60 for 2000. As you can see this place has some pretty steep prices.

Staff: The guys inside the proshop are really cool. They really seem to care about your satisfaction.

Refs:...... Very disapointing. The refs do not get on the field, so i dont know why they wear masks. During one game the 2 refs were sitting just outside of the field, and I painted a guys hopper, wich he failed to realize. So I told this to one of the refs and they looked at me like I was insane for assuming they would do anything. Then he said shoot him again, or give me your gun and I will. Very unprofessional.

Facilities: Just what I mentioned in the safty section, very dirty.

Food: Free pizza for large parties. A consesion stand is there somtimes.

Even with all the things i found I didnt like, It is still a great place to play paintball, if you can afford it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

redconfetti Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Directions
to the Field:
If you're going from Altamonte Springs towards Apopka on HW436/Semoran Blvd. Take a left onto Bear Lake Rd. and go all the way down till you are almost at HW441/OBT. On the left will be a big warehouse area with a used car dealership across from it on the right. The big warehouse is Orlando Paintball.
Review: I recently visited this place with people I work with as part of a party for my boss.

It appears that the price has gone down compared to earlier reviews. I didn't pay for myself but the sign said that its $35 for players package (a gun, air, some balls, free air refills). Membership rates were between $35 - $45 which gave you 50% discount on most of the things you have to rent.

I didn't see mention of price for membership if you want to bring your own balls, however I did hear the ref say "only if you have clearance to provide your own paint" when explaining their paintball policy, so they must have the option. Before we were able to play they did run a paint check.

I don't have any basis for comparison but it did seem that this place did have too much paint everywhere in the indoor fields. Even the ground was a bit slippery, and it was hard to walk up the steps into a tower without worrying that you were going to slip and hurt yourself in a frenzy to reach the top without getting hit.

The ref was on the field during the game, he didn't stand outside and wasn't slacking in how much attention he paid during the game.

This place has a late night hours set of games from 12am to 6am on Fridays and Saturdays, which works out pretty well for me since I work the evening shift (on fridays and saturdays even) and I'm used to staying up this late. I don't recall the daytime hours.

I would recommend this field to others, but not without recommending that they check out the others that are available as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoballer911 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stingers (great place nice staff)
Directions
to the Field:
sorry dont exactly know how to get there.... all i know is that it is on rose avenue
Review: OK first of all, this is the dirtiest place i've ever been to. also the refs are so lazy they dont even get on the field, they dont do paintchecks, and they have this no matter how your hit your out rule ( always get out on bounces with this)Also, prices are outragouse, 60 bucks for rthe worst paint ever and 70 for the okay stuff. The proshop didnt have many things to buy. The only good part was that it had a variety of fields. IT had two inside fields which were actually preety good, And they had three outside fields(might have changed it up a bit i dont know)another good thing about this field (for you rec ballers) they had scenario games. That was really fun. even though im a tourny player i had a good time.So besides the refs, the proshop, and the clenliness. i give this place a 4 for the fields and games
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShatterdRose Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stingers - Way cheaper, but not as many fields
Crosstown - Only 1 field
Private Fields - Way cheaper, but not as many fields
Directions
to the Field:
441, onto Rose Ave across from McDonalds, don't turn into the first thing that looks like it, it's the second entrance. I've been there too many times to count and I still do that.
Review: Prices - yes, they are way overpriced. Their stock paint most of the time is a seconds paint, which is only 20 bucks a case online, but it's 65 bucks there. Plus, 10 admission, and 6 for all day air. So 81 bucks. Usually my gf goes with me, so it's 97 for the both of us to play. Needless to say, way too much. They do have memberships, but I completely forget the prices. I know the BYOP membership is 50 a year, and the rest are all monthly.

Refs - I can't bash them too bad, as I'm friends with quite a few of them. But honestly, they suck. Compared to other fields, they just don't make par. They don't do paintchecks (if they even know what that means), they don't watch the fields, and they're never ON the field. They're usually off field watching the game (if they're watching the game, which most of the time they're not.) They also do one ref per field. Sometimes a field can have 8 players, which is ok, but sometimes, they'll be nearly 40 players out there with only 1 ref watching them all. Some refs are decent, some just such. We played one night and waited an hour to be chronoed. They were really busy that night, but they knew they would be. But our ref came and left, and let other people get chrono, but then skipped us again. Typically, we don't have that problem, but their newer refs aren't that well trained.

Again, like I said, on the field, the refs are non-existant. No paintchecks. So if you hit someone, you have to hope they're honest, or argue with them and get shot by someone else. Also, they have a any ball hit rule. So even if it bounces, they want you to count that. I dunno about you guys, but I know I've been hit and didn't even feel it (aka, packs, hoppers, so forth.) They're called MARKERS for a reason . . . but hey, I don't run the field.

Fields - well, they have 6 last time I counted. Right now they're updating 2 fields with new sod and tourney style bunker setups. They just got a team going there, the OP AllStars, so they're making a few considerations for their practice. I wonder if they'll play the bounce rule too . . . . :) However, I do love their fields. They're not well kept, but they're varied. They have 2 indoor fields, which I think are rather cool, thought not well maintained. They don't change them often, which really sucks. I've played there for 6 months now and they haven't changed. You get a player like me in there with my small team, and you're dead. We have yet to lose to any walkons inside because we know them too well.

The outside fields are decent. Aside from the two new fields, they're in pretty bad shape. They're bunkers typically aren't inflated all the way, if at all sometimes. I've played whole nights where a bunker just laid flat the entire night. Not cool. No snakes either, I love snakes, so there's a mark off. lol Their hyperball field is ok. Still haven't changed it in months, but it's ok. It's large, so you can do a huge game on there, but it just needs updated.

Their field E, the PAINTWASTER, well, they just need to scrap that POS. It's like the deformed child they hope to forget about. They usually throw you back there when there's no other fields open. No one likes it, the refs don't like it, and well, it's a waste of paint. It's just slats lined up, 4 wide, 12 deep with a center barrel. If you have an 9 member team who are cocky, and plenty of paint, you can keep every lane closed while your last man grabs the flag. Then you all move up, leapfrogging, and you've pretty much already won. You don't get many elims, but you'll be a few hundred rounds ligther.

Overall, their fields have potential, they just aren't getting there. This is due to management and ownership of course, but I'm not going to throw accusations around. I simply don't play there anymore. I hang out, and when I get in with my ref friends, then yeah, otherwise, I'll save my money for something else.

Players - the biggest thing OP has for it. It's mostly newbies. You can get in on a night with almost 200, but generally around 100, and 90% being newbies. You get the little group of black kids who thing they're gangta's talking how their going to pop caps in people and all this bs, Mexicans who don't understand English, like, PUT YOUR BARREL ON THE BOARD, and rednecks out there in their full camo (wtf, it's speedball you freaks) and any other sterotype you can think of. It's great though, there's always going to be players, but they're bunker humpers most of the time and are afraid. By the end of the night though, some come shining through.

Though sometimes you'll get the experienced player, most of which are cool, can listen, communicate with their team, know their objectives, keep low profiles, move forward, and when you find them, hang on to them!

OP doesn't really seperate players by skill. Most of the time they'll pick captians, but hello, most of them don't know either other. Unless you've played a few rounds, you don't know who your key players are. Sometimes they just pick you out based on gun. Which isn't the best either, as my gf has an Autococker, and they glorify them, and then claim she's a top player, and put me in the newbie group because I have a Spyder. lol No offense to her, love her to death, but I'm way better. I play serious, she just thought the gun was pretty. :-D But most of the time, they do a decent job. The teams tend to even themselves out. But they really should put the newbies with just newbies and seasoned players with their equals. But that's just me.

Prosop - It's really lacking. For their overall size and reputation, their proshop doesn't have much. And again, way overpriced. I saw an '04 Ion for 325 when you can get them online for 200(MSRP). (Could be wrong about their price, so please correct me if I'm wrong.) Otherwise, it's decent. It's not the cleanest (god, if you're OCD, don't go into the bathrooms.)

Overall rating - 5. They have tons of potential, but use none of it. It's a shame, it's like a great monument that's simply been neglected. I'm sure the owner is raking in big bucks, but really, it's hurting the sport overall. If OP did their part and did the best they could, other fields would have to compete. Right now, they only have to offer reasonable prices and they win hands down. I would really love to see this place become great, but that's why I'm going to start my own place. :-D

UPDATES

Paint You'll read in the comments about someone saying their paint isn't seconds. However, it still is. It's just seconds paint that's had their logo put on them. The box is a standards seconds paint box. I don't mind seconds, cause usually you get decent paint with very minimum problems.

Fields The've been updating their fields and finally got C up and running . . . well, I should say there. We didn't play on it, but the bunkers were out and uninflated.

Safety I can surely say they lack safety completely. I got hit by a hot gun from 30 feet away and through 2 layers of pants it still broke skin. The cut on my arm from paint is pretty narly as well. And who ever it was, wasn't using clean paint either. I've been hit before, but never did it leave little cuts all over you. The refs still yell at you for not wearing a mask and barrel covers, but those don't do much when you're out on the field.

Membership They have membership prices, and for a full year it's $99 but you don't get much, only 50% off admission and air, and 10% off paint and anything but guns and tanks. You can pay $230 for a year and get free admission and free air plus the 10% off. Dunno if it's really worth it though.

Ion Prices They did finally lower the price of their ION's though. It's down to 200 like everyone else.
Last edited on Monday, June 19th, 2006 at 8:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

mastaminch Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hyperspots, Stingers, Epik
Review: Ok so I went to OP with my friends one day. We go inside the proshop but in front of the door is this light thing that has the OP logo on it and we look at it for about (no kidding) 3 minutes. When we got inside we see a lot of people there (I guess OP has good business) and we pay and get our balls which cost about $200 all together which personally I think is pretty steep, since there where only 3 people. The guy at the cash register was nice i think his name was Shy or something. So we go out and get our guns cronoed and go to one of the outdoor fields. It was pretty fun except for the fact that the Refs don't really see who is hit and who isn't. the atmosphere is pretty laid back oh yeah and they order FREE PIZZA!!!!!! they also have a concession stand with hotdogs and burgers and stuff but that's not free. the proshop is pretty clean and organized.

Overall it is a decent place. A little steep in the prices, but how are they gonna make money. Go there you'll have fun( if your a rec. player, not a pro-baller) obviously.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

getyourgunn Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i was out of state and just decided to play at orlando paintball
Review: fields:
This place has quite a few fields they have a hyperball field, an airball field, x ball, and two indoor fields. imo i think that the fields were set up nicely and were challenging. The indoor fields were my favorite though because they had this rave music flashing light thing goin on, it was pretty sweet. The indoor fields also had sniper towers and a castle thing, it was pretty cool to play something other than speedball.
staff/Refs:
The refs were fun and kept the games moving. They were cool people and were lots of fun. I also had a woman ref, which i'v never had before, which was kinda cool.
store/prices:
this is the major downfall of this place, everything is overpriced, and i mean everything. you had to use field paint at $65 a case for the cheapest stuff. all the parts and accesories were way over priced too. They also had a pretty good selection of stuff.
overall:
overall i liked this place alot other than the fact that it cost me and my friend $116 to play for 4 hours and splittin a case. This place is also open 7 days a week from 12-12 which is cool playin at 11 at night. they also order pizza from the local papa johns for all the players, nothing better than free food. on that note i give this place a 9 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBPrincess11 Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Yall are all haters if you are talking crap about this feild, The people that work there are crazy nice and they are helpful. When I played for the very first time they treated me with respect even though i had never played before and even helped me learn new things. And why is everyone complaining about prices? what you expect to play for free? personally it's not that expensive, not much more than anywhere else. So what if a case of paint is 5 bucks more, i live 5 minutes down the road, so I save at least 5 bucks in gas! I say if you really want to know how it is there don't listen to all the trash talking losers just go try it yourself. The feilds are fine and Warehouse A and feild E happen to be my personal favorites. I've had a blast playing there so try it for yourself and then judge!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

monkeys PB team Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
saint cloud paintball,stingers,waynes world,epic paintball
Directions
to the Field:
anywhere but orlando paintball
Review: First off let me say at first before they know you they are all nice and once you start spending your money they turn into ass holes. They think they know everything about paintball. The outdoor fields are nice but the indoor ones do stink. Theres paint everywhere inside it gets all over you. The referees call you out when your not even hit and what do they know they are out off the field talking to everyone else. The paint is WAY to expensive. They talk to you like you know nothing about paintball. You ask questions about things and they look at you like your stupid and have smart comments. We have spent over two thousand dollars there in the past month and we still get treated with NO respect. Our team wins all of the tournaments. We get kicked out when breaking up fights and the people who started it gets to stay. Its a bunch starters out there playing and either them or their parents COMPLAIN when they get hit if you cant stand to get hit by paintballs then why the hell get out there and play the sport? All in all orlando paintball SuCkS and i will never EVER step on their soil again.

our team rating 1
WE LOVE PAINTBALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! have fun and get hit
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

darrellparkhill Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 1st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painball World - R.I.P, we salute you.
Crosstown Sports - Smaller, but still indoors. Better people, better prices, and better environment make up for lack of size though...Just like my fiance says!
Review: Putting the "pain" in both paintball and your a**.... LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, GIVE IT UP FOR ORLANDO PAINTBALL!!!

You have got to be kidding me. I have STEPPED in things that were better than this place. I think becoming addicted to crack cocain is a better use of your money. Go out right now , buy a case of beer, drink it, and drive around till po-po stops you and takes you to jail for DUI. THERE! You have just used your money better than by going here.

I would rather go find some fat ugly girl with syphalis and Tourettes Syndrome that lives in a trailer park AND wears a mu-mu, pick her up on a motor scooter, and take her on a date where all of my friends would see her, than go back to this place. I just think THAT would be a better waste of my money.

Where can I start....
1. They have TONS of air there, but they STILL can't fill a freakin' bunker.
2. That abortion they call an "indoor field" should be condemed( it smells like ace, and it is FILTHY. )
3. The refs are a joke. (Well, I can only assume that, BECAUSE I NEVER SAW ONE ON THE FIELD WHILE WE WERE PLAYING. But they are GREAT at screwing off on the side, smoking cigarettes and di*king the dog with their buddies.)
4. Spiros, the owner (this is a long running thing, going back to the 1996 APPL World Cup, and is not personal, but strictly professional, even though I HATE to use that word in relation to him)
5. Price (The people that run this place are setting prices like it's Disney World.)

The list could go on an on. BUT, just to be fair, I will also list the good things about Orlando Paintball:
1. Canada (This is where Spiros, the crappy owner, now lives)

I have worked out a mathmatical equation to PROVE that Orlando Paintball sucks:

WR x (CF x CP) / MTSBUFC + S = CRAPPY ORLANDO PAINTBALL

WR = Worthless refs
CF = Crappy fields
CP = Crappy Paint
MTSBUFC = Money That Should Be Used For Crack
S = Spiros, the crappy owner

So, in closing, become addicted to crack and have a better time.
Last edited on Monday, February 6th, 2006 at 3:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

pbplayer9876 Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
oes: to muddy
hypersports: bad refs
stingers: best all around
Review: i honestly think that orlando paintball is the biggest waste of money ever, this is the place to go if you have money you dont want anymore, you pay to much for refs that dont even get on the field, don't even check them if you call a paint check. so if you have a small fortune to spend DONT GO!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media