paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field / Orlando Paintball Field

Orlando Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
116Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 407-294-0694
Address: 7215 Rose Ave.
Orlando, Florida 32810
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
usafboy2212 Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: They had a great pro shop an alright piantball prices.the fields were great they had 5 field. 2 indoor an 3 outdoor. field A had 2 towers and many bunkers,field B was the swat field i had one huge tower and that overlooked the whole field. Field C was my favorite it has bunkers and snakes and dog house an 2 big walls field D was the same and e was a X-ball.overall it was a great experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FireFox Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Deland, Space Coast, Wayne's World, Paintball World
Review: GOOD
- very large indoor field with many, many plywood props.
- large, treeless outdoor fields with many plywood props.
- you can almost always show up and have people to play with
- hours of operation (doesn't shut down till midnight even on Sunday)
- Fun rotation of games takes you around every field once, takes almost 4 hours, with 5 minute breaks in between. You get your fill of PB

BAD

- It's so true about the staff. A little old to be acting like hard-ass rebels (except Travis, he's a good kid, and the crazy ex-Nam guy, he's a good ref, but would be better if was on the field)
- 10 bucks to get in, rentals are prehistoric tippmans, a case of the cheap black shelled paint runs you almost 70 bucks, which interferes with my guns Vision
- No airball. They have a "Hyperball" field as they call it, but it's all plywood and tires.
- Refs never, never, never step on the field.

There isn't a decent alternative if you live in Orlando since Paintball World moved about 12 hours outside of town. You're stuck with the X-treme/O-rock/Chip-on-the-shoulder boys in their mid 20's behind the counter because they have a monopoly.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 17th, 2004 at 3:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
11 Comments - Add Comment

mead_hall Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
woods.. they rock!! - haha not anymore Crosstown, Hypersports.
Review: ***PLEASE READ COMMENTS ** ORLANDO PAINTBALL RESLOVED THIS ISSUE****
12/05I now have some more experience and would like to add some things. Ive been playing OP for more than a year. Its a decent feild and i enjoy the play there most of the time. For regular players its best to go on tuesday nights. Its BYOP and there is usually a group of good players. Dont buy OP paint. Ive gotten cases that 3 out of 5 paintballs break in the barrel or hopper. Over all OP isnt that bad although some of the other feilds in Orlando are better.
UPDATE: 4/13/04 Went to get my new drop installed and add a microline.. they simply rocked hooked it right up no problems.. Thanks Guys!!
Basically i have one major complaint about OP.. the Fields are good i enjoy the play there.. they people (some reffs and some players) have attitude problems.. I went to OP the other day to have my new tank filled.. it was about 6:30 which some of u know is during their break.. well im standing waiting for one of the reps inside to finish what they are doing and one of the reps looks up and me then down again and says "no tank fills." well i stood there for a min dumb founded.. i asked why not is the machine down and he says.. "NO TANK FILLS." ok i understand if they are not doing tank fills but maybe a hay man were not doin tank fills right now or we cant come back a lil later but he was very rude.. anyhow i went up the road to sports authority and not only was the staff very nice but they also cost less..
Last edited on Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 at 8:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

Threaten2Leave Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball World - Only one very small field
HyperSports - Little small, but nice to see some Airball
Review: I first started playing at OP last April when I moved to Orlando from NY. Seemed like a decent place but it always got bogged down on the weekends. Since I'm one of those few paintballers with a real job (kidding), I couldn't go during the week and avoid the crowds. The fields were nice, but I always left a little bit disappointed because of the slow pace. It seemed like I was spending twice as long waiting to join a team and waiting for the looooong breaks between games than actually playing paintball. I guess that should be expected when I'm going on their busiest days, but it still seemed inefficient. There were stupid waits when 3 groups would try to go to the same field at the same time and I seemed to have the worst luck when it came to refs. Without fail, I would get the greenest one there and would be stuck with him the whole day. I ended up losing interest last November. I still liked playing recball, but I just couldn't stand the crowds when they would get those 100 player days.

Last Saturday a few of my friends came into town and wanted to play paintball. Well, I thought it would be worth giving OP another try. Even if they did go slow, at least it was somewhere to play with some old friends without driving an hour or two out of Orlando. My heart sunk as soon as I saw the place. Well, actually about minute before I saw the place. There were cars parked on the roadside starting so far away that when we finally found a spot we couldn't even see the pro-shop. I told my friends to give up, but they were driving and were going to play whether I did or not.

I let them drag me into the office and figured that I was in for another OP disappointment. I would pay $40 for admission, paint, and a fill and then wait for an hour just to get chronographed and get a ref then maybe get 4 games in before they closed and I would have to take half of the paint home. I could not have been more wrong.

The longest wait we had all day was the line at the register to get signed up. The wait wasn't half bad considering how many people were there and the fact that they were handing out rentals as fast as some poor guy in the back was fixing them since they had run out a while ago. When we finally paid they sent us outside to find a ref named Timmy or Tommy or something up at the big warehouse. We walked outside, started looking around for a ref and barely cleared to door when the chrono guy grabbed our attention and ushered us over to the warehouse. He chronoed us (only 260 FPS, Oh well), did the rules so fast I thought he used to be an auctioneer or something, and then told us to go across the street and find David. Hmmm.... usually they just let us look around for a ref, but when it was this busy, I guess being assigned to one wouldn't be that bad. As soon as we got across the street, someone came over and asked if we were the three new guys. I was wondering how he knew we were coming and then the squaking radio on his hip gave him away. We told us we were in group 7 and could play if we hurried onto the field right away.

Sure enough we went on the field, listened to some rules and were playing a few minutes later. As soon as we finished the game (and I had given my out-of-town friends a nice facial redecorating) the ref said to hurry back in 5 minutes. As we left the field another group came onto it and started getting ready for a game. Well, we went inside to clean my paint off of my friends' masks (did I mention I shot them in the face?) came back 5 minutes later and caught the tail end of the other team's game. As soon as they finished playing the ref ushered us onto the field, did a quick count and had us switch sides. Karma kicked in and I caught a shot to the leg right off the break. This gave me a little time to talk to some of the refs and ask some questions. It was obvious that the place was better organized than it used to be and I was wondering how they did it. David explained that they had stopped assigning refs to groups and started assigning them to fields instead. The groups would keep up the normal rotation and just switch refs every field. He and the chrono-dude were in charge of traffic control and kept the groups moving along as fast as possible. It seemed a little impersonal, but by the end of the day I was sold on it. We kept up that pace with the games one right after another right up until the end of the session. I started an hour after the session began and still got 2 games on every field plus a few extra. I not only ran out of the paint I bought, but I had to buy more just to play Aliens at the end of the session (well worth the money even if the aliens did brutalize us).

My experience that Saturday and my experiences with OP last year were like night and day. With this new system they've been running, we got in more games than ever before even though this was the busiest I've ever seen them (later I found out that they made a new record that session with 190+ players!). I felt like I was constantly be hurried around with the new system and I missed being able to stay on the same field for more than 2 games or just skip Swat like we could when we had our own ref, but I'd still take this way over the old way any day. The most important thing I want to do when I go out to a field is play paintball and I've never played that much before. I no longer have any qualms about going to OP on the weekends. If that last day was any indication, the types of crowds I used to hate seeing won't even faze them.

If you were like me and used to be hate the long waits between games at OP, I hope you'll read this and give them another chance. Despite some of the whiners below, they've always been the biggest and best in Central Florida and it seems like they're still finding ways to improve.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 at 4:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chrome_demon Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
wayne's world, it was a completely different experience.
Review: This place was a complete surprise. At first it didn't seem like much. Yeah the rentals are only tippman prolites, unless you get the upgrade. The paint was a little expensive. but then i actually got to playing. The refs were professional and friendly. they took the time to get me aquainted with the individual fields, and the rules. the games flowed relatively smoothly from one field to the next which was a surprise for me. I played in Texas before where usually there is only one field for everyone to share. the simple variety of scenarios that weren't based on the old elimination routine was refreshing. too often i go to paintball fields only to be pushed around by the local good-ole-boys crowd, and when i got here, i felt like one of the group. i would definitely suggest this place as one of your orlando stops.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintslinger16 Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none on Vacation in FLA
Review: Well I have not played as a rental player in quite some time, but since I was on vacation and wanted to try throwing some paint in Florida I tried it out at Orlando Paintball.
The field is open everyday until midnight which I though was pretty cool.
And after a day at Disney we did not get there until 8 pm.
I thought with the size of the area and the tourists that it would be a active field at any time of day.
Not so at 8 pm on a Tuesday night, there was two guys behind the counter but the one I talked to was a young guy not really to talkative, but seemed OK other then that.
There was absolutely nobody there but me and my kids, so I looked around the small shop, they did have some higher end guns on the wall, but not a huge selection. I then looked at the indoor fields which are in what looks to be a old warehouse or manufacturing building.

The first thing that hits you is the Smell! The indoor smells like a Hamster cage that should have been changed last month.
The floor is a mixture of sawdust and dirt/sand and is just wet and damp. The bunkers are all wood and in many different shapes with cut outs etc.
There are other fields across the street which are outdoor but the same mix of wood or hyper style, no airball here.

I was leaving at this point but 4 people showed up to play with a couple having their own gear, and the rest renting.
I went back in and rented two packages for myself and my son.
I figured it was the normal 98 rental but they said the 98's where 5 bucks extra and the standard rental was a old prolite on CO2.
I just got the standard gun and the goggles, which where well worn and scratched single lens, JT Xfires
each gun came with 100 balls to start I got a couple more bags of paint also.

The Ref was pretty good at explaining everything, but refed from a netted area above the field, using the PA system to call out players.
the games where not standard single flag or elimination type, the first one was every player had a flag and had to hang this flag at the center to gain points
once you hung a flag you where still in the game to continue to shoot at other players.

Glad I went and tried it but not what I hoped for in the same place the world cup is played.
overall a 5 because so many places are very hard to find unless you are a local
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

slater Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many Others
Review: Well to start off with Orlando Paintball does have a large (5) selection of feilds to play on, that includes 2 indoors or should I say one large one that is divided into 2 separate fields. This does allow for many different playing options and changing lines.

Many of the fields are dating and the bunkers are showing wear. In my opinion the bunkers need to have new treated plywood and moved around. I have been going there on and off for 2 years and none of the bunkers have been moved or resurfaced. During the summer the fields are not mowed or taken care off to include filling in any holes or patches of dirt that have become large holes or should I say depressions that your body could fit into.

The ref's show modest professionalism and do seem to do nothing more than explain the rules of the game being played, blow a whistle to start the game and then walk off the field. I should say that the do attempt to let other plays know when a hit player is coming off the field by yelling HIT PLAYER through the netting and then remind them of barrel plugs. If they are going to be Ref's should they not be proactive in the game and makes calls as needed? Oh don't let me forget that they say nothing to those players who's every other word is straight from the Sailors book of Proper English. Come on People you are responsible for ensure safety, be it from idiots that shoot people off the field to those you cant stop cussing with large numbers of 8-14 year old kids standing around.

Now to talk about some of the regular players (I am one of them, but know better) they have nothing nice to say to anyone as they are the shiznit, cuss all day long and come with an attitude that is so big that it must compensate for others things. Ok so you are good/really good but stop and help out others who might not know as much as you and aspire to become a good player, cause you are no better than anyone else that snubs you when you leave the field, grow up and promote the sport so others want to come back and play instead of give up or their parent wont allow them to play anymore at your field cause of others bad behavior and trash mouth.

The line to pay to play is long, can take a long time to get signed in. All products are over priced to include the paint. I know you need to make money to keep in business, I have no problem with that but charging 200% mark up on paint is crazy. If you get the paint for say $40.00 a case (as I would think you do) charge another $15.00 on top of that you and then you will sell more paint to everyone and make more $$$. But $73.00 for a case of decent paint is crazy.

Ok now for the Good:
Open from 1pm to around 11:3opm with 2 play sessions, one running from around 1pm till 5:30 and the other from 7ish to 11:30pm
Lighting is pretty good for night playing but could be better.
Easy to get to.
The people who play are usually friendly, just beware of the real regulars as they have attitudes.
Lots of stores around to get food and drinks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

agent009 Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball World - Indoor, very small (about 1000 square feet), horrible refs.
Review: Well, I got into paintball nearly two years ago. At first, I would play at Paintball World off of I4 (they have now moved to Claremont), but then one day I decided to head to Orlando Paintball with my friends. Much to my surprise, OP was much better than Paintball World.

The paint is decent. People complain that the prices are too high, however they forget to consider the prices of other places. Extreme Rage, another local proshop charges about 58 dollars for a case of RPS Bigball. OP charges around 73 for a case of Severe Storm (sometimes TC Venom). That 15 dollar price difference helps pay the ref wages and also the rising insurance costs of running a field. What good that 15 dollars you saved will do you if you can only play out in the woods with it--no fields in the area that I know of allow offsite paint unless under special circumstances. Personally, I find the field paint at OP to be too hard for tournament practice or anything other than just messing around with friends during a rec game.

OP has a varying selection of fields to play on--5 in all. Two of the fields are indoor, one being a standard centerflag game while the other is a scenario SWAT vs. Cons game. One of the three outdoor fields is a 5 man hyperball field, another is a mid-sized field where the object is to collect gold bricks, and the last field is the largest with triangles, corrugated snakes, and even an old car. It is true that the fields themselves are starting to become dilapidated; I wish they would tear down one of their outdoor fields and sport an Ultimate Airball field instead.

Reading these reviews, I've noticed many people have quickly decided that the staff is irresponsible, rude, and down right horrible--there is nothing further from the truth. The staff works very hard to ensure safety first and foremost. Most of these posters chastising the refs for being "mean" and "jerks" most likely are upset because if a ref sees you walking around in the parking lot without a barrel plug, they most likely yell at you. Safety is nothing to take lightly. If the refs coquettishly walked up and quietly asked a player to place a plug in their barrel, the player may not realize just how dangerous his marker may be. Many times I have been shot by rental players walking around in the parking lot without their plugs in.

Over Christmas break, there was a paucity of referees and staff because OP had to restock itself with new refs since a whole slew of them were either fired for detrimental conduct or simply just quit. The staff tries its hardest to register players quickly. However, my only complaint would be that they only have at most 2 registers open which allows for a long line to come about if most of the people in line are renters. Just think how I felt a few weekends ago when I had to wait 45minutes in line just to buy 2 o-rings. Even though inconsiderate players were verbally abusing the staff, they tried their best to stay polite.

The rental gear itself needs a serious overhaul. Currently, OP rents out either Tippmann Prolites or Tippman 98 Customs--some lacking safeties. They also rent out X-Fire masks and require some sort of ID (such as a library card, concealed weapons permit, house keys, etc.) if you rent in order to serve as collateral.

For the regular players, I would suggest coming on Sundays. From 12-4PM, you are allowed to bring your own offsite paint for tournament practice. Every now and then, celebrities stop in. Last weekend, Ken Griffey Jr. played during his child's birthday party. Now, OP also gives out free pizza. OP is an overall great place with great staff such as Mike, Wayne, Sean, Derek, Dave, Eddie, and Brian--they're all good guys.

EDIT: For everyone complaining about OP shortfilling tanks, it's pretty much standard procedure to only fill a CO2 tank to 90% capacity if they expect the temperature to change a modest amount during the day. Why do they do this? Simple, safety. Take this for example: they fill your 20oz tank completely full at the start of the day while it is 50 degrees out; as the day goes on, the temperature rises to 65, then maybe on later to 75. If the tank was filled to capacity at 50 degrees, after the tank warms up during the day, the pressure will be too great in the tank and will BLOW your valve off.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004 at 10:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

HowTallAreYou Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Usually I don't post stuff onine, but I just can't stand to see the same poster attack my favorite field over and over again just because he keeps on using different names (look at the paragraph and sentance structure if you have any doubts).

I've been playing at Orlando Paintball since I moved to Orlando 3 years ago. It's where I played my first game and where I have slowly gotten addicted to the sport. The people there have always been helpful, even though they must have seen a thousand other newbies, all of whom are asking the same dumb questions. Sure, I've seen some absolutely pathetic refs there, but they never last more than a month. Every business has bad employees - the difference is that the good businesses get rid of them. Even when I do see a green ref out there, they never have that "What am I supposed to do now?" look that I see at other other fields where they just grab players off the street and give them a whistle. That thing in the post below about training is absolutely true.

They've got a bunch of fields with different themes, so you're bound to find something that you like. They've even got two indoor fields, so playing on rainy days isn't a problem. I don't like all of the games, but I noticed that because of the different skill levels out there, just about every game was someone's favorite.

They did get a little choked up around New Year's, but whatever the problem was, it seems fixed. I went last Saturday and got 14 or 15 games in before the first session was over. When I mentioned this to a ref, he laughed and said that one group played 18 games a week earlier, and that was with over a hundred people out there! I don't know what they're doing differently, but whatever it is, it's gonna make my paintball habit alot more expensive. I was through with my normal day's supply of paint a good 2 hours before I was through playing and had to go back and buy more.

I'm giving OP a 9 because of the, ummm, "Charlie-Foxtrot" after New Year's, but if they keep on going at the pace they have been since then, they'll deserve a 10+.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deep Purple Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball World Old River Synistar
Review: I have been playing mostly at O.P for a year now. I have played at a few other nice fields as well. Before writing this review I made it a point to read what the others were saying first just to see if my opinions matched everybody elses. And what I saw was a lot of good and a few poor reviews and then all of the sudden like five or six in a row that all seemed to be very poor. Well the last time I played there was last weekend and I didnt see all of the bad things that the last five or six reviews broght up! As a matter of fact in the past year they have lost many of their long time familiar faces. When I noticed that the referees were diffrent than the ones I was used to seeing I was worried that they might be power tripping punks . Quite the opposite was the case they were very professional and well trained. I couldnt believe it when one of the referees told me that he had to train for two weeks straight just to be allowed to ref without supervision. I didnt really believe him but he did seem to have his stuff togethor. So I went in and asked the manager on duty if he really trained his staff for two weeks before letting them reff alone and he said oh yeah, we all had to train that way. I said man if I ever have kids this will be the place can drop them off and not worry!

Anyways the my last time there was a blast! It was a saturday and it seemed like they had 2 million people there but really about 150. I registered after dealing with the crowd and all of the moms asking there kids what they need which seems like it takes forever. Got chrono'd 5 minutes later and was playing 10 minutes after that. We RULED Swat convict. As the Swat I got three kills! And as the Convicts I held the last couple of guys off to bring home the WIN!! Ref explained that and all other games very well and he even caught a couple of punks with impulses trying to switch teams so that they could play togethor and cream us less fortunate ones with Spyders who dont have rich mommies!
Games ran smooth with little down time except every now and then when a few people would leave or sit out. Then the reff would have to readjust the teams. And After a couple of hours I got thirsty and went into their shop to get a drink and noticed about 6 pizzas laying all over the place. I asked if there was a pizza party of something and much to my supprise they told me to help my self! I said what gives and they said that this was a new thing that they started and to help myself before it is all gone. So I grabbed 3 slices ( dont tell anybody) folded them all up and made for the door before they realized it!! LOL

All in all and awesome time and the free Pizza was just icing on the cake!

PS I have a membership to their store that I got free with my new spyder that I bought there and it gives me 10% off paint and half off my air fills. With this membership I get my paint for 66 bucks a case wich aint too bad considering. Speaking of that I read 1 review that said they OP charges 100 bucks for a case of paint. Sorry they dont sell any paint at that high of a price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media