paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / OSG Paintball Field / OSG Paintball Field / OSG Paintball Field / OSG Paintball Field

OSG Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
54Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-800-707-PLAY
Address: 1053 North Barnstead Road
Center Barnstead, New Hampshire 03225
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
shocker35 Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. Traveled up to NH for vacation.
Directions
to the Field:
Its on the corner of North Barnstead & Cooke? Rd. Do not be fooled by the fields initial appearance while driving by it.
Review: I'll start out by saying that this is a great field. There were only minor things that I didn't not like about the field.

Safety: Pretty good. Before anyone is allowed to play, a staff member briefs you on their safety policies and rules. The two main rules that they stress regard barrel plugs & masks, which must be in when outside netted area and must be worn while inside netted area. The next rule they consider most important is no blind firing, which they will watch for and enforce.

Fields: Very good. They have 8 fields; Sup Air, Urban Town, Hamburger Hill, The Village, Western Town, and 2 wood speedball fields. The 8th field is a castle like field with a new huge castle under construction, to be opened in August. My personal favorites were Urban Town and Western Town.

Hours of Operation: Open play is Sat & Sun 9-4, and you can make reservations for any day of the week.

Prices: Field fee is $5 for half day and $10 for full day. Paint is paint, and here it is $70. CO2 refills are reasonably priced, but I think their Nitrogen fills are overpriced, charging $10 for all day air, and $1.50 per 1000 psi. Their rentals are $25 for M98s. Things I did not like about their rentals were; they only gave you 100 paintballs. You have to buy any additional paint. They also give you only a 7 oz. co2, which you must also pay for when you run out. So to me that doesn't make sense. You pay $25 to rent a gun which will last you what, 2-3 games? They should give you all day air for free and maybe an extra 100 paintballs. Many people with rentals had to constantly get their co2 tanks refiled due to the skimpy 7 oz tank.

Rules: See Safety

Services: Very good. Almost all of their staff was friendly, helpful, and doing their job. As I mentioned earlier, every staff member briefs everyone on their safety before allowing them to play.

Proshop: To my surprise, OSG doesn't have a proshop. All they have is a registration cabin where they keep their rentals, food etc. They will however lend you gear for free, ex. pods, harnesses, barrel plugs, masks.

Staff: This is the area where I think OSG excels in. Everyone on their staff is very nice and extremely helpful. The owner, Dave, is constantly checking up on everyone asking them if their having a good time. There are also a handful of employees who will do that as well.

Refs: When I went to OSG, I had two different refs; one in the morning and one in the afternoon. The one in the morning was very fair in dividing teams and would go paint check people if you called for it. The one in the afternoon however was horrible. He would not divide up teams, even after one team got massacred 4 games straight. He didn't seem to care much about being the ref. But this was the only ref that I heard of who was like that. At the end of the day however, I explained this to Dave and he informed me that it was one of his newer refs, and he would talk with him. Other than that one ref, they are all fair.

Players: Good. There was people of all ages and of all skill levels. This is a great place for anyone. People are nice and are all there to get better and have fun.

Facilities: Couple portletts w/ hand sanitizer inside. Nothing fancy.

Food: Good. During lunchtime they will grill hot dogs and hamburgers. They also have nachos and bags of chips. For drinks they have soda, water, Gatorade, and red bull.

To sum it up, this field is very good, and besides the bad ref that I got stuck with, my first experience there was very fun. I give this field a 9 because of the lack of a proshop. I think one would greatly benefit them and all players who go there. If you are ever in the Barnstead/Concord area, I would suggest trying this field. You won't be upset.
Last edited on Saturday, July 8th, 2006 at 6:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

johnnybarbs92 Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I personally havn't, friends went to adventure games.
Directions
to the Field:
it's in hick-ville ...and dont stop when you hit the dirt road...its the right way.
Review: The owners of this field are really really nice and all the reffs there are really good. i went with a private party on just a normal day two times.

RENTALS: they are great ...well the masks are ok ..but what do ya expect! the guns are 98c tippys and they just recently got some new bt-4 rentals. im soon to get a gun so i rented one and got a bt-4. the first two guns i had leaked air or kept jamming so the ref said sorry and kept giving me new guns every time on failed. he said they were new.

SAFETY: the safety here is very strict. don't take your mask off.. barrel bags on...safety's on...etc. id some people said its not safe cause you can go right up to someone and shoot them. you can but 1. they'll hit you first, and 2. that guys a wimp.

FIELDS: both times i went i played the village and tombstone(western town) they are both phenomenal fields. and they usually play Push CTF at the village. i went to urban town just recently and it gets flooded quickly. unfortunately ive been to the castle only the first time because on 6/23/06 they're reconstructing the castle field to make a !!HUGE!! castle. the main ramparts is gonna be at least 1/8 of a mile long. 3 story's at least. he said plan for a late august opining. havent been to sup air though.


PRICE: it costs 5 for half day, 10 for full or 25 for full w/rental...15 for half w/rental.
$70 for case of paint ...$30 bucks less than ag.

its a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matt LaClair Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is It
Directions
to the Field:
Go to OSGPaintball.com
Review: I just went to OSG on saturday the 17th of June for the NH vs. MA Scenario and me and my buddy had a great time. The costs were as follows: Paintballs(diablo Heat)- $50 a case, Registration $35(includes all day air), and food $1-$3. The day was great and It gave my buddy a chance to try out his new alien interceptor. The scenario was preety fun and it was based on missions that relate to MA and NH events that really happened, Like the boston tea party and stuff like that. The teams were alittle uneven at first, so the generous refs split us up, I am from NH but me and my pal went to MA, and MA won(because of us). If you get a chance go to OSG sometime for a load of fun. They have the best refs, food, and freindly NH environments, not to mention the extremely beautiful girls that work there : ) Have some fun at OSG!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin1990 Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
one indoor field up in maine but it wasn't nearly as good
Directions
to the Field:
somewhere in Barnstead is as much as i can say
Review: I'm 15 and I went to OSG just yesterday (Sunday, April 30) for my first time and i had the most fun I've had in a while. The staff and Refs were incredibly nice and helpful and everything was in order. I played the air-sup (speedball) field the whole time and although i haven't been to too many fields, this is the best one by far. Since it was the last Sunday of the month, it was bring your own paint, so that added on to the fun that i had because i think $70 for a case of paint (which is what field paint is) is too much. This is my first time and definately not my last time at OSG, as a matter of fact i will probably be back in another couple of weeks.

If you're in the area, you should DEFFINATELY hit up this field, i had a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unimoose Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet Paintball, Camp Paintball, Canobie, APG, Litchfield
Review: I'd have to say that Dave and the guys at OSG do everything they can to make sure everyone enjoys themselves to the fullest! There is never a shortage of refs on the field and when you yell "paint check" someone actually comes and checks you quickly! I know that doesn't sound like much but when your playing their large castle field it's nice to know the refs aren't hanging out talking by the sidelines.
Our team played in OSG's 3 man tourney this past fall and I have nothing but good things to say about them. The ref staff was GREAT! Not a single blown call and they worked their butts off. Dave, the owner, came down a number of times to make sure people were enjoying themselves and things were going well.
Their prices are very reasonable, even cheaper then some other fields that let you byop on certain days. The staff is friendly, safety oriented, and will get you as many games a possible in a day!
If you want to play at a good field with good refs then you have to go to OSG!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballerkid3 Monday, November 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 27th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
well not in the area, up north about a hour is vindico and owens
Review: this is an awesome Field, a lot to choose form. i personally like there air ball field, but they have more to choose from such as urban town, castle, woods Fields, and western town all fun Fields. they have good staff, good food and drinks, nice fill station, up to 4500psi. its just a lot of to be there, im defiantly going back next year
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sean_222 Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
umm none so far... some in cali though...
Review: i have been to OSG twice so far, and i can say that it is a great field with friendly staff always on hand to help you with your problems without making you feel like an idiot... i recall that at the table next to me, some one had accidentaly spilled half a bag of paint,due to the table tipping over, but to my surprise, the paint was refunded no questions asked. showing how the staff at OSG care about the well being of their customers.

having played some fields in califiornia i can say that OSG is by far, one of the safest fields that i have played at. chrono every other game, fps is lowered when entering "close quarter" fields like western town and urban, and a strict enforcement of the goggle and barrel plug rule.

the field set up was awesome, i could tell that a lot of care and planning had gone into designing and setting them up. i enjoyed playing western town (known as the best field at OSG) and the castle field.

i would have to give OSG a 9, because nothing is perfect, but the staff and the park have my hand in saying that it ranks top in my book.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

_]etta Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Spent the day up at OSG for their June BYOP day on Sunday. It was about 100 degrees and some of the fields were rather muddy, but I still had the time of my life.

As everyone has said before, OSG is a VERY safe field. Masks on at all times inside fields, barrel condoms on off the field. The refs are extremely nice but will jump all over you if you do something wrong, which is always a plus.

The fields were extremely fun. I couldn't pull myself away from the Urban Town, played quite a few intense matches on that field. Castle was also very cool and the sup air field looked very nice as well.

The park itself was very clean, especially the nice shaded staging area. You can just find an empty table and bench and leave your stuff there all day (very trustworthy and nice people there). There were about 100 people there that day and it didn't feel crowded at all.

It was BYOP so it was a rather inexpensive day for us, and well worth it I might add. Honestly, OSG is the only field in this area that I would recommend. The refs are great, prices are fine, fields are fun and fast, and the park itself is pretty tidy and organized. I'd also like to thank Tiffany for the wonderful job she did on the muddy Urban Town, even with her sandals and 100 degree heat. I'm looking forward to my next visit which hopefully will be very soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PyroMarine Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Birch Hill- More Speedball Oriented, not as many people.
Review: Well, I just had a wonderful day at OSG. The people there were extreamly nice, and they are wonderful to people that have never been there before. Me and my buddy must have been asked at lesat five times how our day was going, if there was anything we wanted done, and what fields we prefered!

The teams they seperated us into were very fair, and they always kept people that came in groups together.

There were about 50 people there overall, and this was on a sunday! About 10-15 of the guys were tourny players though, and they took over the speedball field. Well I shouldn't say that, when me and a couple other players wanted to do some speedball, they gladly let us in, and a couple of matches into the game, they even started playing with us! That was a bit much though, my ION is a great gun and all, but it just doesn't really compare to a Bob Long.

They have alot of fields other then speedball, the only field we didn't play on was urban town because it was knee-deep mudy, but no matter, I had much more fun on the other fields like castle and such.

OSG is also a very safe field. Right when a game ends, barrel condoms have to be on, and saftely have to be locked, and they never let you take your mask off while you are on the field or near the chrono station.

In conclusion, OSG has great people, well-built fields, good crowds, ok prices, and a high standard for saftey. 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thesnoman Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only field in NH I've played at. Bennetts All-Weather (Gorham), Rogue(Assylum/Standish), Firestorm (Windham Speedball) All in Maine.
Review: This field is GREAT. I play here because it's open on SUNDAYS and Rogue has been able to turn me off on more than one occasion.OK...now on to the review.

Staging Area: Picnic Tables, grilled food, beverages, and (if you need them) tools. It's a very basic staging ares, but it accomodates about 200 people without a problem. I've seen better, but the staff at OSG keeps the staging area free of trash, (except for paintballs). There's also used equipment posted for sale, and also some basic repair items (o-rings, springs, screws, etc). NO PRO SHOP...thats its only downfall, but the experience here makes up for it.

Safety:<,/b>Safety is DEFINATELY OSG's #1 priority. Barrel condoms must be on at all times when not in a "Shooting Zone", and immediately after calling "HIT". Masks must be on at all times when in a "Shooting Zone" You get 1 warning here, then you're asked to leave. There are no exceptions to this rule...PERIOD. They'll tell you that you're more than welcome to come back next week, but they can't let you play for the remainder of the day. As for refs...I've been to MANY fields before and the refs here are by far the BEST. They're friendly, attentive, and they all frown on wiping. Wipers are ejected from the current game, but they are allowed to continue playing for the rest of the day. Needless to say, I have encountered very few people that wipe and aren't caught.

Games and Fields: There is a HUGE speedball course (Sup-Air), a woods course, a 60' x 60' Castle, and 2 CQB areas called "Western Town" and "Urban Town". On busy days there are games going on at 4 out of 5 fields at all times. Speedball and Urban seem to be ALWAYS going, and two of the other courses are usually going as well. This is the case only on really busy days when there is no way of getting everyone into a single game. This being said, the players get to choose where they want to play on these days, and sometimes they do have to wait to play on the field they choose, especially Urban and Speedball. On slow days when there are 50 people or less playing, the Refs keep speedball open and cycle through the other 4 courses. If there's a private party, they keep them together and, if it's big enough, (20+) they get their own refs for the day.

Pricing Pricing is generally good, you can pay for a full day, or a half day if you arrive after 12:30. The only thing that is a bit pricey is field paint. Every day, except for the LAST SUNDAY of the month, is FPO. Field paint is Draxxus field paint (I believe it's a rec-sport ball) and it's $70/case. This is a bit overpriced, but if you come on BYOP days, there's alot more people and you can bring whatever paint you want as long as it: A) Wasn't purchased at Wal Mart, and B) if it's a paint they've never seen before, they must test the paint to make sure it will break on contact. Food is great, Soda is $1 for a can, but you're allowed to bring food and beverages if you want.

Conclusion If you live in Southern Maine, New Hampshire, or Mass, this is a great paintball park. The fun factor here is great. The Refs are FAIR, the price is great, and the park is kept VERY CLEAN, and they maintain the Highest level of safety I've seen on a public field. OSG is GREAT...9 out of 10 (FPO Days) 10 out of 10 (BYOP Days)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media