paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / NW Paintball Park / NW Paintball Park / NW Paintball Park / NW Paintball Park

NW Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 360-377-0398
Location: Bremerton, Washington 98311
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Antlion Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that I was aware of during my time there.
Directions
to the Field:
Behind the golf course by the highway. That's all I can remember. Sorry.
Review: It's been a few months since I last played there, but this is what brought me into paintball. This is an awesome place with only a few negatives.

First the positives:
There are three fields there. One speedball, one wood, and one that's speedball-ish but made out of pallets. Except for the wood field, the other two were rearranged almost weekly which kept things interesting.Safety is a big factor, sit downs before the games to remind people of safety, everyone chrono their marker entering the field to try and limit last minute cheating, everything professional. Staff was always helpful, though sometimes annoying with their "Go to the next cover you'll be fine!!" Many of the staff and patrons were also ex-cops. It's a very safe place if you're worried about leaving your kids. They also hold events and raffles. Usually on every 4th of July. Don't expect to win a LUXE though.

Now the bad:
The field is hidden behind a driving range and mini golf course so you might miss it unless you know it's there. Also, the road leading to it is rough an unpaved. Don't try and bring a fancy car to the field to impress everyone. Just saying. Lastly, and this was a big problem for me, the owner was always looking for a good deal on paint and wasn't always concerned with quality. He's a great guy though. My last couple games there were plagued with ball breakage. I used my tried and true A5 there and literally every other shot would break in the barrel. Stock barrel BTW. Many of the rental 98s had the same problem. I suspect the paint to barrel match wasn't right but I never remembered to test it while I was there. Odds are they've changed the paint since then due to all the breaks.

Conclusion:
Excellent field and staff. The paint issue wa very problematic and wasn't addressed while I was there. It probably is now though. Overall, I'd play there still if I could. Usually a nice variety of people and games. The maximum amount of people I saw was probably around 60 or so and never fewer than 10. Even in -10F one weekend. Field was open every saturday and sunday. I think from 11am to 5pm. I'd recommend it to anyone in the area.
Great place+great people=great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hippipp Sunday, August 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Mountain (Duvall), someplace on Woodinville-Duvall road, Semper Fi, some speedball place in Snohomish / Monroe area.
Directions
to the Field:
Take the Seattle-Bremerton Ferry to Bremerton, find your way to Highway 303. Go approximately 5 miles and it'll be on your right immediately after a golfing range.
Review: Staff were super professional and positive. Made sure all the walk-on rental guys were having a good time and understood the game. Great prices, great fields, and an all-around great experience for myself and some friends who'd never paintballed before. Would recommend to anyone in the area of Seattle.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

C.A.R.45 Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
premier paintball (formerly paradise paintball now located in belfair) much better than NW
Directions
to the Field:
behind rocket golf on waaga way i believe
Review: I have been playing paintball for about 4 years and have been to many fields. Northwest Paintball park has a pretty good woodsball field. It is pretty cleared out but still has things to hide behind and enough woods to be covert. The medium size field (which is the one they play most often has tons of interesting bunkers consisting of big tubes and a whole mess of interesting things. The speed ball field is also good. I really don't have much complaints about the "field" itself. Here is where i have a problem. Northwest Paintball charges an arm and a leg to play. It was 70 dollars for a case of paint not including entry fee. Realistically you should plan on spending around a hundred bucks for a day of play. This is pretty steep i would say. Secondly every time i have gone here their paint was horrible. The paintballs were so brittle they broke inside my gun constantly. My group of friends i was with had the same problem, I shoot a tippman 98 with a cyclone my friend an A-5 and my other friend an ion with a Q-loader and none of us could stop the paint from exploding in our guns. When I brought this to the attention of the staff they simply told me "it is tournament grade paint its supposed to be brittle so it breaks on your target". I was pretty furious and received no compensation only staff telling me something must be wrong with my gun. It seems that the paint really only works in very high end markers which i think is irresponsible considering half the people there were playing with rental guns and having the same problem. Needless to say i had a terrible day and spent a lot of money. I have been playing at a place in Belfair called premier paintball formerly paradise paintball in port orchard and I have written a review in this field as well, hope this helps
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

aerophyte Monday, January 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
KCs Crusaders, Forest Fire, Doodlebugs. Great fields, the FF staff compares.
Review: Over the past few years in Washington, I've seen fields go out of business, stoned refs, overshooters, paint wipers, talking during the safety briefing, and aloof field owners that run poorly maintained fields.

Northwest Paintball Park is an exception to this common, low standard, in greater Seattle area, and the owner runs a field the way paintball should be played whether you're a milsim guy, into speedball or a pump fanatic.

Northwest Paintball Park:

+ Refs that ref (similar to a soccer, football or basketball ref). Loud, clearly understood, ran onto the field to verify hits without slowing the game.

+ Refs in charge of surrenders, respawns and the over shooting of out players making game play much faster and much more safe.

+ Accessable knowledable field owners that encouraged support of other fields

+ Well run safety briefing

+ All players were very respectful and above average in skill

+ No paintball mess on and off field (they use a blower to clean the field)

+ Designated smoking area

+ Player filled air, clearly labeled

+ Lower than average cost at the pro shop in spite of a markup

+ Better than premium, custom field paint

+ Free technical help for markers

+ Clean durable bunkers (typically in the NW, people use wood pallets that fall apart over time)

+ Challenging fields that included rec, urban, woods

+ At the small fields the great reffing allowed for seamless game play

+ If we had a problem, the owner addressed it himself

+ No burnout, half stoned kids worked there (A+!)

Anything the field was lacking was made up by the staff, reffing, field quality and cleanliness.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

artmann Thursday, August 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PARADISE PAINTBALL WAAAAAY BETTER AND CHEAPER
Review: The day I go to this field is a slow day, so there are about 6 to 8 people actually playing. The staff was alright at the pro shop I did have a few problems with overhearing the refs helping the local players telling them when to look and shoot. I also had a problem with a certain person not to sure who he was but he was there badmouthing other fields and other field owners. It kinda ruined my day with all that mess, as paintball players and fields we should stick together and help the sport grow by playing fair and not disrespecting other fields its kind of childish but on a better note the fields are pretty creative and I did enjoy playing on them, when the refs were not to busy with the local players they were pretty helpful
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Avenger5 Sunday, July 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at one in kings bay, GA closed. it SUCKED!!!!
Directions
to the Field:
off Walga Way (ridgetop)
Review: Ive been to this park like 3 or 4 times.

Nice size fields, especially the woodsball. its got lots of bushes and 4 big forts, all on like 30-40 acres! there is 2 speedball courses one is small for like 8-12 people and the other is pretty big.

The pro shop is ok. a bit pricey but i dont shop there (i go online). it has the good begginner markers, such as ions and tippys.

The staff is incredible! the have helped me out with like every thing that went wrong w/ my marker. if i lost my allen's, then they would adjust it like no problem.

They have some good snacks. beef jerky, water, energy drinks, gatorade, and peanuts.

I think that they have one restroom but i dont know so i just use the trees :]

Prices is where it goes down a bit. its $65 for a case(2000). normally i buy for like $40 so when i saw this i thought that they were crazy!

All in all i will give it a 9/10 for its pricing
Last edited on Sunday, July 27th, 2008 at 8:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Windtaunter Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paradise - Great Sup Air field, nice woods
Thunder - Nice place to play. Lan is a great guy
Review: I started playing paintball in the 1980's. I travel extensively around the States. I've played on many, many fields in Virginia, Maryland, Florida, California, Hawaii, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Texas, Washington, and Nevada.

NWPP is a great place to play. Compared to other fields across the rest of the country, their safety is top notch, and they keep the games moving and fun. New players and players with parents who aren't sure about paintball should try NWPP. Very family friendly and its a great place to learn to play. The other fields in the area are nice too. Start here and try the others, frequent the one that suits your play style. I've only once been on a field that made me angry for poorly representing my sport, and that wasn't in the Pacific Northwest.

Paint prices are about average compared to the rest of the US. I've paid much much more, I've also paid less. I like fresh paint, they have it. They were getting all their paint from PMI, but the quality went way down in 2006, they switched to Empire which was good quality. Recently they switched to Draxus (procaps) which now has a 'local' warehouse in Portland, that paint has also been great. The procaps distributor out of Portland told me NWPP is his #2 paint seller. So they must be doing something right.

Field prices are also about average.
Air fills to 4500. They also have Co2, but I believe they're renting HP bottles to Co2 users, which is a great way to show someone why HP air is so much better.

Open Saturdays and Sundays. Usually has a nice sized crowd on Saturdays (30-80 players in the winter, more in summer). Smaller crowd on Sundays (15-50 players). Three fields, a small (20 person) speed ball, a massive speedball field (up to 250 people have been on it at once), and a huge woods with flag stations, towers and forts.

Ref staff is all volunteer, some are fantastic, most are good, a few need more experience. They have a great tech on staff, he'll PM your marker for a tip and he's great. If you aren't sure how to maintain your marker, he'll show you how and fix it too.

Parking is right at the staging area.

Staging area has a lot of covered tables, and is right near the net for the 2 speed ball fields. Makes it nice to watch games, for parents, or GFs that don't play.

They usually run a few 'big' games throughout the year. These are a blast and the owner typically has a good sized raffle with it.

If you join their website, they send you discount coupons that include a free admission day each month. They also have a punch card for paint purchases that give you discounts, make sure you ask for one.
Last edited on Monday, March 31st, 2008 at 4:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Sunday, March 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DZP at Ft.lewis- not worth going to... actually, avoid it like the plague
TPS at Elma- Good field and crew, but very much speedball oriented.
Directions
to the Field:
from oly/lacey, I 5 north to ext.132, then WA 16 to 303, then 303 east till the park.
Review: All in all, I'm very impressed by this field. it's well run and staffed, has a decent proshop, and there's plenty of refs and staging area.

First off, the staff and crew are helpful and courteous, up to the point of the owner giving me a free pass fr admission next time out because marker issues kept me out of the game most of the day. Did the same for a friend of mine who was having the same issue. Really friendly, and good about enforcing the rules, and not being an ass while doing so.

The proshop is about what you'd expect from an on-field store- goggle lenses, barrel bags, batteries and so on. there's also some higher-end stuff there- 45/45 stubby tanks, a set of grillz and a set of events. in addition, there was plenty of drinking water there, which is always a plus.

the fields are decent, if not stellar- they could use some love, but they're not bad off. The woods field, in particular, could use some attention, but I get the feeling that there just isn't time. Either way, it's a nice woods course, from what I saw of it- unfortunately, again, my marker issues kept me off field most of the day. the speedball course is so-so...not great, not stellar either. the ft.sasquatch course is different, to say the least... and unfortunately, i didn't get to see the challenge field, their other speedball course.

There were plenty of refs out- at least 6 or 8, and though they weren't quite as active as I was trained to be, they did their job well. games were kept going at a decent pace, one every five or ten minutes or so, with two big games there in the middle of the day (though that was a given, as it was an event day). Otherwise, games were standard fare- Centerflag push, speedball, and so on.

the paint was so-so... my marker hated it, but that seems to be the case anywhere i go anymore, so I'm not gonna ding them points for it. The paint we shot was fresh- just coming off the delivery truck from procaps, as a matter of fact, and had two grades available- field and premium- both of which had bright, thick fill.

One thing that takes getting used to- and the owner says it in the saftey brief- is the park is oriented towards the first time players, so rules are pretty big on avoiding alot of issues that are more common with alot of more experienced people. Hopper and marker hits don't count- anywhere, including the speedball course, and the surrender rule is mandatory, not optional. overshooting is very frowned upon, and in fact can get a player pulled from the game. Technically, there's a three round rule there, but it's three breaks on target, not three in the air.

All in all, this field is one of the better ones I've played at, and very impressive, and easily worth the hourlong drive to get there. I suggest trying it out, if you get the chance- you won't be disappointed.




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vlchargerowner Monday, December 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played every field in the area and u dont need to know hwere they are becuse this is the noly park u will ever need
Review: This park is the best there is the best there was and the best there ever will be. The refs are the best i ever seen safety is clearly a priorty. They deliver very good pizza to the park. the prices might seem scary but it really is pretty average and the park survives on paint sells. I can only say good thing about this park. If ur new or experinced go to this park and make one of the best decsions u ever will make. Every bad review is a lie. All the players there are nice and the staff is very helpful.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chitown23 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paradise Paintball
Thunder Paintball
Review: Safety of the Field: Excellent. Refs and other players are very vigilant about making sure barrel bags are on outside the netted areas and goggles are on inside the netted areas. Entrances to fields are clearly posted with "Goggles On" signs and players are chronoed atleast twice a day (start of the day and then after lunch) if not more often.

Hours of Operation: Standard. 10-4 on weekends

Prices: Reasonable

Proshop: Decent. Helpful.

Refs: They do their best. I have seen much worse.

Rules: Poor. Normal rules mostly.

Paint: Terrible

The last two subjects are why I will rarely go back to the field if ever. First off, they don't count gun/hopper hits which is annoying, but that is coming from a tournement players standpoint where you rarely see more. (It's annoying to paint someones gun and hopper pink with 30 paintballs and see them continue playing. Quite a few fields don't count gun hits so I decided to let that point go) What I really want to talk about is a combination of the rules and the paint. This is the worst field paint I have ever shot. I have played in big tourneys, local tourneys, used field paint, and bought my own from the store. But I have never had paint that was so inconsistent in bore diameter, shape, and breakage. They have a rule that if you hit someone with 3 paintballs right in a row it is overshooting but they allow full auto and ramping. On multiple occasions I have seen players shoot a stream of 10 balls at a player, atleast half hit, and NONE of them break. So most players are inclined to shoot more balls, or keep shooting an exposed player until they see a break. When this happens they say the player was overshot and is still in. @#$%^&*#$%!!!! If the paint wasn't horrible I wouldn't have to shoot so much to get a break on someone. I would prefer to shoot someone once in the pack and have it break than to have to shoot someone over and over again until I got a break on them.

If they fix how they store their paint, so it is consistent, I would have no problem going back.

Last edited on Sunday, April 15th, 2007 at 4:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media