paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Three Rivers Paintball Field / Three Rivers Paintball Field / Three Rivers Paintball Field / Three Rivers Paintball Field

Three Rivers Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 724-775-6232
Address: 284 Rochester Road
Freedom, Pennsylvania 15042
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
paintmaster6 Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just this and outlaw feilds
Review: This Field was great. I played my first scenario there which was a Mission Masters game Based on Halo. It was great day of play. They where very concerned with safety made sure a BBD was on at all time when off playing Field. They kept the games running smoothly and actually got ahead of schedule. At the award ceremony They were very organized also had a good amount of prizes (I won the grand prize yay me). Overall very good Field great reffing staff.
Last edited on Sunday, August 27th, 2006 at 5:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBOverlord Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Assault
Crazy Dave's
All American Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Their site has directions. Take a look on there (do so even if you don't need directions).
Review: This field is the absolute best in the area. Ever since I've discovered it I've attempted to go there as often as possible. The IAO started at this park, until they decided to move it to a new location to support more activities. Luckily enough, the IAO is moving back to it's origin, as the Three Rivers Paintball Festival. To support such a national event, you know this park must be good. If you were there last year, you may remember their amazing woodsball courses (still there and good as ever), and their one nice stone speedball field. Well, for this event, Three Rivers has expanded, and has now planted grass at their Speedball (now I can slide, thank god) field, and on top of that added a few more courses, including hyperball. After the Three Rivers Paintball Festival these new courses will be available to the public, so be ready to play everything you could wish for, from woodsball to speedball to hyperball.

But let's get back to what you can play now. What can I say? All the courses are great. Excluding the tire course, every course you play on this field has equal cover for both teams, and on top of that the cover is brilliantly placed. By taking chanced, players on both teams can gain a real advantage over the opposition. These courses include obstacles that stretch as far as tanks, castles, buildings, and even a helicopter. Of course, there's always the classic planks of wood and bundles of stick to hide behind, all of which are abundant and all give great cover. But, as said before, if someone on the opposing team decides to take a risk before you, there's a good chance you could find yourself in an awkward position, scrunched up trying to avoid the gunfire coming in the side of your bunker. If I can give you one tip on this course, it would be to keep moving. Not only does it give you a nice rush of blood, but also allows you to experience the full potential of this course.

Of course, if you prefer playing the back, Three Rivers makes sure to give each team a nice starting position, with bunkers close and in great supply. Only as you advance will you find less bunkers appearing. Not that this is a bad thing.

The only real negative of this course is the wait between games. Sometimes it can stretch from 15 to 20 minutes, but several paintballers seem to be procrastinators, because even when the refs announce that we're heading out, people are yelling that they need to fill up on air or buy paint.

Let me finish with some words of wisdom: Try getting into any snakes you can find, and of course try your best to get into some 90 degree bunkers. For those of you who don't know, 90 degree bunkers look like a capital L. You're pretty much protected from the front and one side, which can be a real lifesaver. Trust me. I think Eric has really done a great job on this course, and he's buying even more land to expand it. I'm eagerly awaiting to see what he plans to do.
Last edited on Friday, July 7th, 2006 at 8:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

devastator07007 Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crazy daves
Review: Three rivers is the best place to play paintball in western PA. I no loneger go anywere else. the staff is cool and helpful. feilds are great and well kept. In fact they are reconstructing the speedball feild and adding a hyperball feild. Refs are great at deviding teams. Seems like they are never one sided no matter how many torny players might be playing. great unless raining or snowing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dirtdrop Sunday, January 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: First of all i went on a day when the admission was free and a case of paint was only 50 dollars. Normal admision is 15 dollars and paint is 80 dollars a case. The paint was a good brand Draxxus Blaze. The paint was old though and ovaled and dimpled. You have to use there paint or you will be kicked out. I was a little diapointed in the condition of the paint. I drove 2 hours to get to the field and left my house very early so that i would be there on time 12 oclock pm was when the game was supposed to start. and is over at 5 oclok. The game did not start until 1:30 pm because there was only 1 ref that showed up on time. Only one more ref showed up. There was about 60 people who showed up to play and 2 refs was not enough.

The woodsball field is divided up into a few sections and when they have a large turn out they combine them into what i felt was a awsome woodsball field. they combineded them for the game i atended and it was amazeing. These woods have the coolest bunkers you will ever see and they have alot of them. The bunkers are all placed perfectly throughout the woods that you get the feel that they had a profesionl design the field. You have to see it to believe it. The woods are very large and handled the 60 plus people who atended very easily.

The one thing that really disturbed me was that the refs had pistol markers and would take shots at people while they were not looking and then call them out. The refs should not have markers. Also i saw kids call there selves out but then noticed that the paint did not break. The kid i saw walked about 600 feet to a ref and asked if he was out. The ref said no and reinserted him. That is not fair i could call myself out to get out of hevy fire and then reinsert, not cool.

Also i saw several kids chronograph at around 400 feet per sec and sneek in the game.
Also i saw kids using full auto and ramping when it was not allowed at there field.
There was not enough refs to controll the mayham.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment

BTRobertson Thursday, November 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any other field in the area yet, but the competing field seems to be Urban Assault in nearby Bridgeville (about an hour south of TRP).
Review: I kept hearing from my buddy that I have to play at Three Rivers Paintball, and I'm glad I did. My first time playing there was October 15, 2005 for a regular team elimination game on their fields. TRP has no indoor fields, but they do have a speedball arena with an announcer booth and fan stands. Mostly, people go to TRP for the woodsball, their specialty.

They have about four or five fields, each roped off to contain the players and offer more group play. During scenario games, the ropes are removed to combine the fields into one large field. They have tons of barriers, props (like artillery batteries), buildings, an full-scale airplane tail section, and broken down vans and cars.

The admission fee is cheap, and they offer two additional rental packages for those who don't own their own gear. A pro-shop is located onsite for those last-minute equipment needs and/or repairs. The field paint they use is high-quality in my opinion: Draxxus Blaze in red/green shell with orange break. The balls don't chop, warp, dimple, and cost about $80.00 per case - aggressively priced compared to other fields.

All this being said, the best part of TRP is the people and the service. Nick, the owner, Eric, the manager, the refs, Nick's daughter (sorry, I can't remember her name) - all of them are great to deal with, personable, professional, and fair.

Now, the only item keeping TRP from getting a perfect 10 is the fact that there aren't any indoor fields for really cold days, and the outdoor fields are small. To compare, Skirmish USA covers about 700+ acres out in eastern PA, and TRP might only cover 100 at most (I'm being liberal here too; it's probably a lot less). Skirmish USA costs just a bit more, so TRP could charge less.

In conclusion, the negatives aside, I play at TRP because it's local, priced well compared to surrounding local fields, they provide good field paint, and the staff is second-to-none.
Last edited on Thursday, November 10th, 2005 at 6:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnowSniper Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Assault- Bad....sorry but its the truth
Crazy Daves-Cheaper paint but not as good as TRP
Fireball Moutain-hey its in the area.......NorthAmerica (Acually in NJ)
Review: TRP is of the hook....Best place ever...Eric Lightfoot is one of the coolest and nicest guys that could ever run a feild. Steve the tech can fix anything, and with semi god speed. All the refs there are One of a kind...never missing a beat. A few other thing great about TRP are

1) Mission Games- Almost ever month or other month. Senerio based games that last 20 min long with a 10 min breack and usually consist of and average between 50 and 75 people a team. Its all the fun of senerio with out the contiuos play.

2) Senerio Games- Usually happens twice a year and are put on by Black Cats Production.

3) Tourneys- Major- IAO which for the 2006 season will probly be held at TRP
Minor- TONS!! of tourneys lined up for the 2006 season... so buckle up and
enjoys the ride caus eits going to be a fun one


TRP PWNS!!!!!!!11one!!!!!!!Shift+1!!!!!
Last edited on Sunday, January 8th, 2006 at 10:42 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pgh Crunk Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Assault, Crazy Dave's
Review: Three Rivers Paintball is great the employees r nice and will talk to u and the refs r great. Every thursdays they have paint night 6pm-10pm they have lights out so u can play at night its really fun. For entry its 20$ with free air. Everyone come out you will have a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mindlessyouth14 Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crazy Daves, Urban Assault
Review: Well I guess this field is under new management. There has really been a drop in prices. A case of paint went from 90$ down to 75$ for Draxxus and 65$ for seconds. Air also dropped in price, from 2$ for 1000 psi to 1$. Over all, the fields are really nice. They have one airball field, and an excellent speedball course. Don't worry recballers, they have 60 acres of wooded field with natural and manmade cover to conceal yourself. There is also a great proshop, probably the only proshop within a 60 mile radius.
Last edited on Thursday, November 25th, 2004 at 6:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tragedy 21 Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crazy Daves, Big Butler Paintball, PSA, Ultimate Pursuit
Review: Three Rivers is the place to be, whether your a hardcore tournament baller or a first time player. They have everything you need to get started and have a good time. As some people have mentioned the prices are a bit higher than you could expect to pay to buy paint off the internet but that is the only way TRP can make money and pay their staff. Three Rivers has over 60 acres of woods fields, an airball field and are in the process of building field to replicate a battle field from the vietnam era. The only reason why "exlicit" (see his post) dislikes TRP is because they kicked him out for reasons that will not be mentioned. He is just mad because he cant play there anymore, hince the bad review. Three Rivers is a cool place to play for everyone. And if you have a team come up on a sunday and join us at a team practice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballsk8er3 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crazy Daves
Urban Assault
Paintball Extreme
Review: All right first off it takes 35 min from where i live to get there but i mean it made the trip enjoyable blastin music on the way. This place is easy to find i mean. you would have to be an idiot to not find this place. Well it was an over cast day but it did nothing to the spirits of me and the 15 other kids there playing on a school trip. First off the staff is really friendly. I mean we drove up and they were greeting us at the door. They gave us the party discount for paint. The paint was Diablo Heat. Normally its 90 a case but the paint is really nice though. I never had a prob with the paint at all. Well they got us started quick and chronoed. They went over all the rules and regulations which took a little long. But hey they are doing their job great. The refs are really friendly and helpful. The games went off real smooth and the refs were doing a great job pulling all the kids i kept tagging with my paint.(big grin while writing this) The only bad thing was they had the 15 foot gentlemens rule so that was bad cause i had bunkered the kid and i was allowed to shoot him and he ran away but he ended up getting shot. It might be pricy to play but i highly think i will get a players gold card and go there as often as possible. I am looking forward to their scenerio game May 1st. 10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media