paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Atlanta Paintball Field / Paintball Atlanta Paintball Field / Paintball Atlanta Paintball Field / Paintball Atlanta Paintball Field

Paintball Atlanta Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
77Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 5315 Shiloh Road
Alpharetta , Georgia 30005
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
paintball crap Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
georgia paintball
Directions
to the Field:
The directions are pretty easy.Go to www.paintball atlanta.com.they will give you very clear directions
Review: This field was extremely fun.The mounds and forest fields are my overall favorites.the biggest problem i had was the paint prices.25 for 500 balls,80 for a case of 2000.The refs were great.They are really into safety and are very nice. This is a great place to play painball.I give it a 9.Be prepared to use some money
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coenen Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nitro Paintball - Different, better I think, but not as close.
Ultimate - Better prices, more tournament oriented clientelle.
Maximum - Still better prices, but definitely not as nice facilities or fields. Unless you count an onsite pro-shop.
Directions
to the Field:
Believe it or not the directions given on PBA's site are surprisingly accurate. The field is tucked kind of off the beaten path, but just follow those directions and you'll be there in no time.
Review: I actually hadn't played at PBA for about a year and a half, not since paint was $107/case and before they moved to the newer Shiloh road location. If you are on your way to the field you will probably pass by the old field location and see the nice new subdivision they are putting up there now.

After talking to one of the guys in the Cumming store I decided to pay them a visit for the first time in a long time. On Wednesday's during the summer the field is open from 10-6 and the prices are lowered a little bit, it was this offer, as well as the lure of some X-ball that got me on my way before work one day.

Well, to start I paid $75 bucks, that's $15 for field and all day air and $65 for a case of PMI Premium. Still a little rich for my blood, but acceptable, Ultimate charges $60 for their Premium's. And I believe Maximum charges about the same for their field paint. The difference being that Maximum and Ultimate are both BYOP all of the time whereas PBA is only occasionally

The field itself is a complete 180* from what it used to be, the old PBA was almost all big woodsball fields, the new sports only one, a speedballish field with some thickets, and a mounds field. After that there are three or four speedballs counting Hyperball. They also have an X-ball, but sadly it wasn't up the day I was there.

I liked most of the fields, although I could quibble and say that the were generally all on lateral inclines, it wasn't that big of a deal. Hyper ball was a lot of fun as were Legos and the more traditional speedballs. Mounds was sort of a mystery to me, since I'd never played one before I didn't get it at all, the only thing I could think to do with it was a run through. The newer players, and there were a lot of them, loved it though and you can't knock a business for pleasing their customers like that. All of the grassed fields were in excellent shape, although that may be attributed to recent rains perking them up a bit.

There were a good number of other players considering that school had just started back for the high-school and younger set. In this respect it was just like the PBA of old, a lot of new players and very few who were very experienced. This tends to skew games a bit as one or two strong players can really make a difference for a team. Expect the first couple games of the day to be the refs trying to get teams fairly even, which, IMO they did a nice job of.

The reffing was fairly efficient and the rules, especially those pretaining to safety were explained often and clearly. If you have an accident, especially a goggle related one at this feild it's all on you, they explained goggle rules before EVERY. SINGLE. GAME. Sure that gets tedious after the first 5 games or so, but some people have short memories and need to be reminded.

Rules are set out clearly pregame, and definitely favor the younger players, there is a ten foot surrender rule, and no bunkering. Understandable for a field where new players make up such a large part of the customers.

Facilities were nice, the staging area had plenty of tables and shady areas either under nice trees od artifically covered. There was also complimentary papertowel and a jug of water and paper cups to keep everybody hydrated. There is no proshop on site, so if you're going to need repairs have your own parts kit ready. They have air fills to 4500, but it is not self serve like some fields, so if there's a crowd plan on waiting.

Games themselves went by fairly quickly, and you will play a good number of games in the course of a day. This is ensured by the fact that the refs try to run two straight games per field before returning to the staging area to pod up. Some of the fields are fairly close to the stagin area, so if you have a chance and can hurry you can grab another pod between games.

I think that covers just about everything important. All in all, I had a pretty good time, much better than I expected, even with no X-ball. It's good to see that PBA is finally going back in the direction of serving the players instead of filling their pockets. I'll be back around for sure.

Last edited on Sunday, August 13th, 2006 at 5:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JBa Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Review: Our company took a group of 20 to Paintball Atlanta yesterday. Only a few of the group had played before. It was a very well run, safe and fun place. We had an absolute blast and are already planning our next trip. The refs were fabulous - friendly, helpful and fun. I highly recommend it for a super fun group event.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

j05hu41990 Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Georgia Paintball 2.0
Nitro
Directions
to the Field:
If your off 400 going North its on exit 13 i think. Just remember that the office park they are located at has 2 horses in front. Their website is pretty good though.
Review: The reffing, facilities, and staff are pretty awsome. I know a few of them and they are really nice. Saftey is really good because a lot of noobs and go but its ok. They have 2 pretty good proshops and have some good deals on markers. A slightly used Impy for example is 250 with a nitro tank of some sort. The only bad thing is the price on paint.......... they take your arm, your leg, and your wallet. It's usaully 80 bucks except on cheapo wensday when its 65 for a case.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matthias Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bearclaw, Arkenstone, Nitro, Georgia 2.0
Review: Well, Paintball Atalnta is definatly better than someone's backyard. Its awesome! They have a bunch of fields that pretty cool. I like the mounds, and the airball, I like all their fields. the refs and the staff are really helpful. Although they may want to put a few more refs on the woodsball feild. People wipe a little more when there are like 4 refs on MASSIVE field. Well theres one thing that you can't misss when your at paintball atlanta, the paint prices. Its actually al ittle ridiculus, $80 for a case of paint, $65 on wednesdays. The safety there is tight but thats a plus, considering the new players have mistakes sometimes. The field hours are good. All in all this is a great place to play just bring lots of money for paint.
Last edited on Saturday, August 26th, 2006 at 6:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dhawk2301 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Almost every one in the Southeast!
Review: Well, I will start with the positive things about this field. There were a number of different small speedball fields (leggo and mounds) that I am not used to playing on so it was deffinately something exciting. The Airsmith was good and helped fix a slight leak in my Nerve. The guys at the checkin were nice as well.

Unfortunately, the negatives overwhelmed the positive experience there. When attempting to Chrono a brand new marker, (Nerve) my friend was dialing in the regulator and apparently was taking a bit too long as one of the kids that was a ref there grabbed his marker from him and began turning the regulator up and down saying " I don't know anything about this kind of marker". He took it better than I did.

When we were called to the field where we were to play, we were assaulted by a young girl on a power trip that was the lead ref for the day. After covering the mask and "not wanting to pick your eyes up off the ground" speech we were allowed to play. During this game I discovered another slight problem, all off the Ref's were 15-16, wearing Jeans and a white or red t-shirt and red masks. THEY LOOKED JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE!!! Come on guys how about a yellow mask or orange shirts so we dont spend 100 rounds shooting a someone behind a bunker that turns out to be a ref?

Lastly, after being eliminated from the leggo field, instead of using the door to the left of the field where I was walking, I was told by the girl ref that I had to exit the opposite side, forcing me to walk behind about 4 firefights and enduring 5 hits on my side!

Don't get me wrong, I am not bashing this field, I like the field and I love the game. I simply think the owners need to hire a few grown up refs that can act professional and identify themselves. Even in this review I read a posting from a kid ref that said "I hate my job" Noone wants to have their game reffed like that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

wassup Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
nitro
Review: Well, personally, I had no problems with the refs. Its hard to make perfect calls all the time when your being pelted with paint. I think they did their job well. The fields are great(especially the woodsball fields). As for the paint well, I think they would have many more customers if they would either switch to a different type of paint, because they only let you use their paint and you can't buy it anywhere but at the field, or lower the price on it. I mean, I just can't afford to spend $100+ on each trip. If they lowered their paint prices, I would play there much more often.

I give them a 7/10 because of the paint prices. If you have a lotta money that's burning a hole in your pocket, deffinatly go check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KAMA Gibbs Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Georgia Paintball 2.0, Nitro, BearClaw
Directions
to the Field:
Off of McFarland, near the bronze horses
Review: Well, I have been playing there since it was basicly opened a while ago, It has always had a good staff and good hours of play. The saftey always comes first so if you dont like saftey, dont play there. SOme of the refs, and the owner, dont like to hear cursing, Especialy (sp?) when you curse to a 11 year old that shot you in the back of the head. (P XP). The prices are a bit rough, ($90 for a case, $80 if you have a season pass) but the paint is really good. Hard to wipe off without detection.

The players there range from complete noobs to the occasional pro player. Its a good field for all ages and rank to come and play on. If you are new, the refs will give you a bit of help all in the same time when the pros will get told like they were at NPPL.

The field selection is also quite nice. They moved recently and added a whole bunch of smaller, more tournement like fields. They now have 1 speedball, 1 dirt, 1 lego, 2 airball/ X-Ball and 1 woods.

Overall I give the field a 9.0, if they would lower the prices of the paint, they would have a 10 for sure.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

baddogh26 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nitro= pretty good if u are experienced Ultimate= same as nitro
Review: well the old indoor field in Roswell was the first place I ever played and its where i fell in love with the sport. I have been reffng at the field for 3 years and must say I hate reffing but who at my age (16) doesnt hate their job? I grew up on this field and every bad review hurts me. I know that the paint is pricey but it is steadly dropping. The refs enforce the safety rules harshly all though I know and i have been guilty of this as well we can be snotty to some of the newer players but thats because we are all tournament paintballers and its kinda annoying to watch noobs run around all day and yea of course the more experienced players (who are almost always other refs) get treated better. The staff is really nice and once you come there often they start to become very friendly. I think all of them are really kool they really are the ones who helped me become a CFOA player and are still helping me every time my team(Disabled) plays against theirs(Xtreme). The two things I would do if i were owner would be to cut down the paint prices and split the open group up into beginner and experienced catagorys (even though it is fun to jump into open group after practice and pwn a bunch of noobs to make you feel better about gettin your butt kicked by Xtreme)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluedevil008 Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ga 2.0
Review: It is So-So. I have played at Ga 2.0 and the fields here are much better but Ga's stre is way better. The ppl at PA are very friendly, they will help you out if you are new or need help, but they can be a little rough if you do anything not to their liking. It is the closest field to me besides Ga, but since Ga only has two fields, I have to play here. I have not been there since thenew setup but before it was fairly well kept. It is all outdoor with one main counter, there you buy air, paint, which is exensive but has gotten cheaper, guns etc. you can even order pizza or Subway w/e day it is. Once you play there enough, the staff will recognize you and youll have a great time. I reffing there this summer and the discounts are great.

Good- Friendly, good fields, well organized

Bad- prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media