paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field

ABC Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
110Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 973-728-1000
Address: 1745 Greenwood Lake Trpk
Hewitt, New Jersey 07421
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Jweb617 Tuesday, August 13th, 2013
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 19th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at New Breed (now called Battle Creek) which is literally right down the road. I've always liked ABC better because the employees/refs are nicer and from what I've seen they rotate games much faster.
Review: Fields: As far as I know there are 3 woodsball fields. One traditionally set up woodsball field with trees and such as bunkers and also a speedball styled field on an open piece of land that features small buildings for bunkers. There is also a small field directly behind the first field I mentioned but I've never played on it, possible it isn't even used anymore. They also have a single speedball field that has always been FPO.

Prices: This is one of the main reasons I keep coming back. It's $15 for entry, $10 for all day air and of course the woodsball portion is all BYOP. I'm from Southeastern PA and players would go crazy if there was a field this inexpensive in my area.

Staffs/Refs: I've never had a single issue with the staff, they're all nice people and have always answered any questions I've had without any trouble. The refs at the field are really nice and are constantly watching to see if the mask rule is being followed. I've seen several players have to sit out games for lifting up their masks just before they get inside the safe zone. The refs are strict and know exactly what they're doing.

Players: I always feel weird commenting on this in a review because the players themselves really have nothing to do with the field unless they're frequent regulars. ABC tends to attract a decent amount of rental players and kids who have played for a little while so there is always somebody to play with. The least amount of players I've ever encountered during a day's play has been 20 people.

Overall: It's a nice field, the only thing that some players might find a little questionable are the number of fields. There isn't a huge amount of variety if you are used to playing on 5+ different fields during a day of play. There's also a large hill to get up to the woodsball fields so walking back and forth to get air fills down at the proshop can be a bit tiring, not a problem if you like a bit of exercise and take it slow.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

music+pb=life Sunday, April 8th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 11th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None really
Directions
to the Field:
GPS
Review: Refs: Good. Not psp refs, but theyre nice. One ref (Dan i think his name is) let me use his gun because i was considering getting it. Theyre all chill. (9/10)

Staff: Lady behind the counter, really nice, pretty knowledgeable. Field owner, JACKASS. steer clear of him. 7/10 (because of the owner)

Price. BYOP, reasonably priced paint, good admission. Rentals have improved a bit (i think they use the 98s now instead of the older ones) 10/10

Fields. Woodsball (7/10) not bad, not insane either. Ghost Town: (9/10) fun, good field. similar to speedball. Airball: Same layout constantly, must use field paint, which is good paint anyway. (8/10) Overall: 8/10

Overall: Go there. As long as you dont run into the owner, your good. Its a good budget field, and i see all sorts of skill levels there. Its ok if youre a newbie up to a divisional player. Overall rating is 8.5 out of 10. Not terrible, but not spectacular. Still an awesome Time!



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

J3rzey Monday, June 13th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 15th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
map quest
Review: well go to the field only to find out the other two fields (speed ball and woods field) were closed do to government work, so 1 out of three fields was pretty bad, was not posted on their website guess shame on me for not calling, the prices were good and it was byop always good, refs and the rest of the staff were great no complaints there. they also had a pretty good shop not a bad selection of paint and markers and you could rent ions or tippmans. now to the part that really bugged me and my friend, you had to walk pretty far to get to the field up a big hill, the field was also on the hill so it was always one sided do to this, they have a safe area where you can take off your mask and store you equipment but you cant bring your marker inside and has to be put on a gun rack kind of annoying working on your marker with a mask on. the field was poorly set up you could easily shoot through a hole in bunkers and make it hard as heck for you to get hit some of the bunkers were a pain because they were in long L shapes making it nearly impossible to leave from one side. i imagine once they get the other fields back up it will be alot better

Okay was there today Oct 22 2011, was a even worse time, still only one field. they had three refs all of which were high school girls that look like they never played in there life, they couldn't get games moving fast enough the down time between each game was about 10 minutes which is pretty bad since its only one field and your not walking any where. they were terrible and just sat on the sides and didnt do paint checks. later in the day there was way to many people at once on the field to the point where you had 5 people on one bunker. on the plus side they had a bunch of pre-built castle things for the field they are putting back up.
Last edited on Saturday, October 22nd, 2011 at 5:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Airplayjr Wednesday, October 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBA
Directions
to the Field:
GPS
Review: So i have been going to abc for about a month and a half now and i gotta say its not bad. The speedball field is great size, good players, good a range of skill.
The only things i dont really like about the field is that the refs are never around and the field never, and i mean never, changes. It has been the world cup layout for a month now.
Overall it is a great field and atmosphere.
You should definitely try out this field(For Speedball)(Never played Woodsball field)
8.5/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nkifyak Wednesday, October 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Depot
Review: Alright... well my overall experience at ABC paintball was pretty fair.

Woodsball- the course was pretty cool. It was a decent size...yet kinda small, but it did have some cool little places to hide. Woodsball 7/10

Speedball- it was a nice course. Employes kept it clean... it was a good time. But wasn't the best course I've seen...Speedball 7/10.

Refs- Alright... this was my biggest problem! The refs SUCKKEEDD! It took forever to get a game going and they all just sat around and talked. They did during one match come out ofthe netting but for the most part they stayed in the safe zone. Refs 2/10

Safety- Pretty big on safety. had no problems with it 10/10

Price- price was awesome since you can BRING YOUR OWN PAINT TO THE FIELD!!! Instead of spending you usual $50 a box you could bring on your $25 paint. They did have paint for you to purchase for a reasonable cost. Price 10/10

Overall- great place! if the refs got better this place would be pretty amazing. i would recommend this one to anyone whos looking to save a little more cash and still have a good time! Overall 7/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Superbspb Sunday, October 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Breed- Less people and staff, but much better maintained fields.
Directions
to the Field:
abc website
Review: Staff- 3/10
When I walked into the store the owner was yelling at his employee and cursing in front of everyone. It was very unprofessional. He was very mean and rude to his customers.
Fields- 5/10
The website says bring your own paint, but you can't use it on the speedball field. The woodsball fields are poorly maintained and the bunkers are made of sticks except for makeshift walls at both ends.
Refs- 8/10
The referees were nice and knowlagable, and were involved with the games.

Overall- 5/10
My experience was mediocre at best at this field. I will probably come again for the 15 dollar admission.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Harveyster Saturday, October 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 2nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Fastball, Queens, fields in Russia
Directions
to the Field:
GPS
Review: to start DONT GO TO ABC FIELD! TRUST ME!
now details
I am usually way to lazy to write this stuff but i will make sure to find every review site with ABC paint-ball name and spread the word of how HORRIBLE that place is!
Quick run down of bad and good
#1 small place + lots of people
#2 teams of mixed players - i mean rental stuff Vs guys with M16 replicas REALLY?
#3 Not enough staff to have all the fields open on a very busy Saturday? - GREAT MANAGMENT!
#4 REALLY BAD rentals

and THE WORST OWNER! such a mother-bleep i mean cursing at 12 yr old for loosing somethign on the field!? really!?
ok now details

#1 we came in as my little cuzins (14yo) birthday party they told us a month ago that usually size of out group would get a field (we had 16 ppl) - given they didnt promise i was not surprised to see us matched up against some other birthday party. THATS OK. BUT 2 games later we got more people and they had PRO GUNS and they were NOT CALIBRATED TRUST ME ! We asked about another field they told us they are short on staff and thats when they knew in advance that they got two big birthday parties coming in.
#2 Really bad guns out of 16 ppl 4 had to go way back to change the gun and about 4 more had major problems on the field
#3 They dont tell you everythign and than they yell at you!
web site says
-We allow players to bring their own paintballs at no addtional charge. TRUE BUT YOU CANT PLAY FASTBALL WITH THOSE!
-We have 3 wooded fields and 1 speedball field. FALSE or at least not on a busy saturday when there is a lot of people!
-Unlike other fields, we balance our teams and the fields you play on according to experience ensuring everyone an exciting fun-filled day of paintball. -BULL i had to go with a rental gun against some dude with a replica of m16 in a full on armor!

oh and the OWNER IS A *BLEEP*. Yells about everything one kid lost the cover on the field (they are not attached to the gun) he got CURSED AT by a big grown up adult WAY TO GO BUDDY. he is just a moron DONT GO TO ABC FIELD! TRUST ME!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann king24 Tuesday, June 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
go to website on google or at abcpaintball.com
Review: i have only ever played paintball once and this was my fist time. first let me say that it is a pretty good field for those of you who arent looking for extreme competition. pricing is very good. its $40 for all rental equipment and all day air w/ admission, and only $15 to get in with own gun and paint. the owner there is kinda mean as long as you stay out of his way, but the rest of the staff is either cool, funny or nice. the pro shop has everything from guns to barrel plugs. the hours are good i think 9AM-5PM. the actuall fields are good too. they have like two woodsball fields, a hill advantage field, an x-ball field, and a speedball field(website has that info) i only played woodsball, it is a small field, but lots of bunkers, and a castle. the refs are VERY VERY STRICT about masks, if you take it off well SEE YA LATER they kick you out faster then your gun can shoot. in a sense this is good cuz if you get hit in the eye you'll be going to prom a cyclops. they refs do however let you pick any game you want though. the speedball field is now open and looks pretty good. i was gonna play but there was pros there and being a newcomer i decided not to. mention pros, the competion there is very good. they have tons of newcomers as well as pros and doezens of military personel. the refs do there best with making fair teams i might add. they have a picnic area with like 10 tables. my friends and i make abc our choice because of location, service, gameplay, and rates. i think its a great place for people who aren't looking to play a pro-like game. P.S. it gets hot there so dress lightly

Last edited on Friday, August 27th, 2010 at 10:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ASNY123 Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Breed: Worlds better! Fantastic field at a lower cost than crappy ABC.

Ring Homestead: Didn't play here.... just saw it but it looked fantastic, for a bit mroe money though.
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to Find.
Review: Where do I start. I get to the field with my freiend, brother, and his three friends. (Im 14, my friend is 14, and my brother and his friends are 12). We have been painballing for a while and where good.

We arrive on a windy November day. Check in was smooth..... no problems there. The lady who runs the front counter is really cool. She fixed my friends gun for free.

We walk up to the field ( they had to combine all of them) and we are greeted by 100 people. No joke. Most of them rented and had no prior expirence. However, they were all very nice people and fun to play with, but a 50 on 50 game on less than 2 acres isnt great, espically since this field sucks. There are rocks everywhere and it is so easy to get hurt. The bunkers are pretty nice... ( they dont smell!). After about 5 games, me, my friend, and my brothers friend are walking down a long trail about 450 feet from the uphill, netted playing field. There are no signs explaining to wear the mask so we sat down at the staging area and removed them. Then the owner came over.

The owner is probably the biggest a**h*** I have ever met. He approaches us and screams in my face, ( remeber im a little 14 kid with 12 year olds who have been following the rules all day and don't even look remotley like trouble.) He then yells in our face "Get the **** out of here. Your done for the day." He screams all the curses he knows and when I ask him why very politly, trying to calm him down, he tells me to go F my self. He thought we all took our masks off at an unsafe distance (450 feet! If you can ifnd a marker that shoots that far, tell me. Ill buy it). He screams bloody murder at me,, so loud my brother at the top of the hill 500 feet away heard clearly what he was saying. He is the biggest jackass i have ever met.

If you read this Leo, ( th owner) thank you for ruining my day, and me, my friends, and entire town are never comming here again. Im putting up pages in craigslist saying who much of an a** you are. New Breed KILLS YOU!

If you are thinking of comming here, dont. Go to New Breed in West Milford. Great place. Many Fields. BYOP! 30 for all day addmission and all day air and any required fixxing to your gun that happens om the field. Great people. Strict reffs but they are nice and they wont kick you out unless you are told numerous times. So great I love that place.


I give this place a 1 because of a crappy field. That owner, the refs, and wayyyyyyy to many people. I was almost thinking about shooting out there windows, bu I didn't :)


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZREXER Friday, July 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Breed
Review: The saftey of abc is ok. the refs really dont care about how fast you shoot. they only have two fields. speedball and woodsball. the speedball field hasnt been up for at least 5 months. they keep holding off on it. the woodsball is ok. the castle sucks but other than that its cool. there is a burger king up the road. and a dairyqueen rite up the woods ball field. the owner is a ***hole. he thinks smart parts is the best. very strict. there prices are expensive, i would go to newbreed. the pro shop is way overpriced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media