paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field

ABC Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
110Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 973-728-1000
Address: 1745 Greenwood Lake Trpk
Hewitt, New Jersey 07421
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
pudge66 Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-Jam, NJ Reball Center, Skirmish
Review: I have no complaints on the fields. I enjoyed the woodsball and speedball. For the most part the staff was helpful. I only had a problem with the little ten year old refs. The prices were good and you could bring your own paint every day. They are very strict about safety.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ION666 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ejam
pbdepot
Review: Ok...heres the big part...me n my 2 frnds went this weeknd so yea heres the stuffs...


GOOD

safety-huge on this...my frnd got his rental taken away cuz he walkd intot he chrono without his mask...i say this is good not bad cuz they come down hard on it so its a major priority

staff-very friendly and helpful...if u go there and at the fill station and see a dude with like a blue contact in 1 eye hees really cool

rentals-ions and 68/4500 tanks?! very good i say

price-very fair like 60 a case but thats how much the same paint costs at my proshop so yea and i think like 25 for entry and 10 for air or sumthing like that

BYOP- BYOP EVERYDAY CANT BEAT THAT(any color fill)

BAD

fields-the speedball field is on a hill and duzznt hav inflatable or hypertube bunkers just wooden stuff...however the woodsball field is very good and ima speedballer and i thnk its good so it must be good lol

reffs-dont do much just yell a bit

facility-paintballls evrywhere on the floor and picnic tables kinda messy




well thats about it so ima giv the place a 6 cuz theyrs plenty of room for improvement but if u wanna go n hang out for cheap and hav old paint u wanna get rid of...d o it

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

foretwoone Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-jam(indoor and outdoor)
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: Great staff, really friendly, good prices and big on safety. Field was all mud and its on a hill, so its a little bit of a strain. Alot of begginer PBers. Also i was only able to get 2K psi on nitro, but who cares with all day air. What i like most is the speed of games, as soon as one let out they called for the next game. Litterally the second the game was out. E-jam takes a few minutes to get the next game going. Because of mud and the hills disadvantage to the bottom team i give it a 7. Worth going once every other month or so, but wont make it my home field. I simply prefer indoor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ittalianstalion Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-jam is the only other field in the area that ino of.
Directions
to the Field:
Map quest
Review: I like abc, its a great field as a begginer but after u are inot the sport for a while u want a nice field to play at and good competition, the refs are cool people some are pretty knowlegdeable about paintball, others are jsut complete idiots that screw around. Yes the refs are more interisted in sitting around and talking than actually playing. over all id give it a 5 its not a great field but its good for a begginer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pandor Monday, September 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-Jam
Review: i worked at abc for almost a year so im telling you first-hand not to waste your time or money going there.

i just went up there a few weeks ago because i heard things had gotten better......no. the speedball field is now only the bottem half of the field now and games are played the across so now any paint that goes over the net is hitting in the picnic area (not safe at all). its still muddy as s*** and smells the same as it looks. i didn't even bother going into the woods but from what people told me its not much better than speedball. the paint they're selling now is garbage. my brass eagle paint from wall mart was shooting better.

the only upside about goin there is they got their old head ref Reese back so the refs dont dick around anymore and speedball games are run back to back. only go on sunday tho if your looking to have some competition because only 10-year-olds and birthday partys come on saturday, or just don't go to abc at all and head down the street to E-Jam ($45 for admission, rental, and 500 balls (cant beat that)). if you're heading through that way tho stop and ask cathy for directions to e-jam just to piss that biotch off
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dm4syzygy Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish - incredible field if you can afford $100 for a case of 2000
E-jam outdoor - BYOP, friendly refs, 4 fields, knowledgeable techs .. simply awesome
Directions
to the Field:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&saddr=&dad
dr=1745+Greenwood+Lake+Turnpike+07421&ie=UTF8&om=1
Review: PROS
~Cost - You can't beat $15 admission and BYOP. CO2 prices are $5 for a 20z tank and Nitro is $1.20 for 1000psi or $10 unlimited fills. Field paint is $60 for a case, which isn't too bad.

~Safety - The refs are rightfully very anal about keeping your goggles and barrel bag on and your gun on the ground. As long as you follow the rules, the field is perfectly safe.

~Low waiting time between games - Compared to E-Jam and Skirmish (from my limited experience), the games at ABC start soon after the previous game ends, so you get more play time in. I'm not sure about speedball, but the woodsball games are about 5-10 minutes apart (finish of one game to the start of the next).

~Woodsball field - This is a pretty nice field. It's big enough for a good 10v10 game (that's all I really played). There are plenty of bunkers to take cover behind and several paths you can take to the enemy base (including a road down one side of the field).

~Dairy Queen nearby - Right next to the woods field is a Dairy Queen.


CONS
~Variety - There are only two fields, speedball and woodsball.

~Speedball field - I tried this field 3 times and didn't like it. It's way to big for speedball and it's on a large hill - the team on the bottom is at a significant disadvantage.

~Management - Avoid Leo, the owner, at all costs. He will just ruin your day with his nonexistent customer service and appreciation and constant foul mood. Leo's son, on the other hand, is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.


CONCLUSION
On its own, this field isn't all that bad. If you wanna have some fun playing woodsball, check it out. But overall, I think you'll have a better time at E-Jam (although the competition there is more intense).


Off topic about their Paramus store:
Although the store is well-stocked, the people there aren't friendly or pleasant. I went there with a friend and we were there for about an hour while he bought an Ion and a $1000 set-up and the owner didn't seem to appreciate the business. Add to that their ridiculous no-return, no-exchange policy and the fact that they sold me a barrel that didn't fit my gun and a leaky remote, I'd recommend never going to this store.

Instead, check out E-Jam's pro-shop which is 10 minutes away from ABC's. The owner there is incredibly helpful and will price-match ABC's stuff if you ask.

Sorry, ABC, but the stuff you pull worked pretty well when you were the only shop in the area, but now that E-Jam's moved in, your business model needs some major work.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

MrGerbik Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, E-jam (Never played there) Paintball Depot (never Played there)
Review: First i must say the last time i played at this field was 8 years ago so i had an idea set in my mind of what the field should have been. I just played today (august 5th) and wanted to review as quick as possible while it was still fresh in my mind. I decided to play the field last night becasue it is my fathers birthday on the 6th and it is half price paint day at skirmish so that means i will only be playing at skirmish for maybe an hour to get the half price deal. I just got a new gun and mask and really wnated to play more then an hour to test it out.

Enough Back story, now for the review. First impression as i walked up to the field from the parking lot "Damn this place has gone to hell" (more then it used to be at least). I walk into the "pro shop" and the place is really dusty and old looking. It looks like none of the stuff had been touched for years. I didnt even bother looking at the guns on the wall, but i am sure that they were all older models. Cathy (thats her name right?) was very nice. I signed myself up while my brother used the bathroom. I did not go into the bathroom so this is second hand but he said that it was almost vomit enducing. We bought a case and split it between us since we knew we where gonna be there only for a short while.The case cost 60 dollars. We had nitro tanks so air cost us 10 dollars for all day. I am not condoning stealing but nobody checked my hand stamp so i am pretty sure you can just walk up and get air fills without paying. The nitro air fill station was around the side of the building. We handed the guy 2 nitro tanks (my brother's and a back up, mine was already filled) and he only filled 2000 worth on a 3000 tanks. Later on in the day he did the same to all three tanks so this was not a fluke.

After we filled up we went to the chrono area. There was a bunch of kids sitting around in a circle smoking ciggarettes without their shirts on. i assumed these were the refs. The chrono is capped at 280, but the chrono machine stops beeping at 290 so you could get away with a higher speed though i dont recommend that. There was noone checking who had high speeds or waht so i could have had my gun over 300 and played fine. The refs(all 16 years old) just sat there and made sure everyone had their masks on while in the chrono area.

Now to the refs. The refs are nice enough i guess, but they dont do anything. They make sure your mask is on and count for the beggining of the game. They also drag there feet big time. More then once players had to remind the refs that we should be playing and not just talking. Twice the refs said we were waiting for somone to get back from the pro shop. One person was holding up the games. I dont really know how that worked out. We also had to wait while 2 refs walked to a nearby dairyqueen and got icecream (i kid you not). They also seem to talk alot about how great they are. How they play with no shirts on and how they got their ions to shoot over 20bps ( im pretty sure that isnt happening). One even wanted to show me on my ion in the middle of a game but i just ignored him becasue i aint giving no 16 year old stranger a gun i just bought

Safety wise the field was pretty good. Masks was strictly enforced but what they call the 10-foot rule (no shooting 10 feet or closer, ask for surrender) went out the window. More then once i saw a few younger or dimwitted players got ran up on and lit up. Also as i said before the chrono regulation was non existant so somone could be shooting hot. The field paint thing kinda bugs me as well. People bring up some pretty low quality/old paint. Im talking stuff i wouldnt shoot through my gun for free let alone buy a case of it. I dont know what kind of balls thye were using but it was thick and ran down my arm staining my skin the whole way down. It also seeped through my clothes and left a powdery/gummy residue on my shirt. Im pretty sure people are bringing up stuff that has been sitting around for a long time. Now it is all over my equipment as well and it needs a heavey cleaning to get rid of the crap.

The fields: The "speedball" field has gotten ten times worse then i remebered 8 years ago. The bunkers are all falling apart and slimey from the lack of cleaning. The bunkers are also all built for twelve year olds or midgets Anyone approaching 6 feet tall are going to have to get really low to hide behind somthing. They also never mow the grass on the field so it is getting pretty damn overgrown. The woodsball field was cut down from waht i rmemeber. I was told the owner of the neighboring land told them they cant play there anymore, so the field is really tiny. Again most bunkers are really small so it is tough to get behind them. The bunkers are either pilled up pieces of wood or big piles pf mud with various rocks sticks and trash inside them to make some sort of fort type thing. A fallen tree acts like a snake type bunker but it realyl dosnt work. All in all the woodsball field is pretty beat.

This review got longer then i wanted it to be so i am cutting it off. But i must say somthing about their store in paramus. First off the staff are pretty much Jerks. Leo (the owner) is the biggest a--hole i ever met in my life. he regularly yells at customers and on more then one occasion he has done one of my friends/family dirty. Once i asked on the phone how much they were selling v-force profilers and another older guy (dont know his name) was all rude and then told me he dosnt quote prices over the phone. Thats fine they lost my buisness and a 90 dollar sale (plus the extra 30 i spent on tinted lenses). Most of the employees seem pretty unhappy there. They pretty much pushed me and all paintball players i play with to go to E-jam's store that is less then a mile away from theres. They got a really crappy attitude and even the refs at the field admit that E-jam is killing them. Maybe if the people at the store got the stick out of their butts it wouldnt be so bad. I never played at E-jam but i am sure that anything they have is better than what ABC paintball is offering. i give this place a 3/10 becasue the fields are bad and so are some of the people, but if you really force it you can have somewhat of a good time becasue in the end it is paintball. Pretty much i wont be go back. I guess if you bought me a case of good paintballs, and paid for my day of play, and bought me lunch, and payed for my nitro refills, and payed to fill my gas tank
Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 6:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

popcornplaya169 Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
e-jam cousins MSG other places and some custom backyard feilds lol
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest bro...
Review: wow ok.....editied beacuase i went back July 16th sunday i was with 3 kids Jans chinese Luke(the man) The Timmy guy my 2 friends in red and brown and Lukes friends yello shirt white tee and black shirt. and of course the black guy wit da ion

Safety-This places is so strict on safety. you have to have a barrel plug and mask on at all times excluding the picnic area. Trust me i was in the stupid chronograph gun test area w/o my mask on and got "suspended" by a d***weed ref for 3 games.

Feilds-The woodsball feild is ok a bit small and i swear one of the bunkers some one or thing took a dump in it.LMAO seiriosly it was on the bottom like the 2nd bunker there. The speedball course is falling apart. They have enough money to fix it up but there so damn lazy. The so called snake" " on the left side is like a snake that got run over. The feild is on an incline and people always say "dude get the top youll win" thats bullsht. everytime i was on the bottom we won dont belive them ppl. There ghetto woodpiles and barrel bunkers all falling apart and are old.Supposedly there gonna fix it soon idk they shud theyd get soooo much more buisness

H.O.O.-mon-fri make resv. sat and sunday there open from 9-4 get their early its better

Prices- are good. 55$ for 2000 origin paint and co2 fills are by the oz i think a 16 is like 4.75. Nito is free all day for 10$ extra scince the addmision fee is 15$ which is good

rules-keep ur barrel plug on and mask on at all times !!!!!!! And u wont get in truble

staff-every one was nice there it was cool.The gun room area the lady shes sooooooooo nice she helped get my imp fixed and redy

refs-WORST REFS I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED truely there all teens like 18yrs old and smoke thinking there cool and they suck at refign they just yell alot and make sure u got ur mask on the feild the just stand in the back making sure no one takes there masks on or has their barrel plugs in after games... there was only 3 cool ref sthere idk ere names but he was the only 3 who werntt an aholes theres one who looks like stevo ask him hes cool theres one who has black hair and tats hes cool and one whos got like a lazy eye hes cool too

food- is good they have fast food rest. near by like 1/4 mile away walking distance and you can order pizza there any time u want. they have vending machines too 1.50 for drinks food and chips is .75-1.00

for and overall rating id say a 7/10 only cuz of inexperienced refs and crappy feild quality any one can put a mask on and judge a game. you gotta know fundamentals and next time you go make sure they give you the info and rules so u dont get yelled at
p.s its like an extra 200$ to get better bunkers they make that much money and more selling 4 boxes of paint.....
Last edited on Sunday, July 16th, 2006 at 2:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikeob613 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ejam=tiny field, still nice though.
Review: my favorite place to go, great staff, cool players, cool refs, fairly cheap. once again the lady that works the store, for no charge helped me fix my new gun and gave me 3 free orings for my bolt. refs are nice, very high on safety. while ejam may have a much nicer speedball field abc wins because of the people that go their. Although the woods field is nice i wish it had more brush, that would make it the ultimate.

Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 8:57 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

freddy222 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ejam(indoor)- very very nice (safe) fair price for quality nice field good turf great staff!!!
Ejam(outdoor) very good awsome for speedballers and woodsballers super field!!
Rucus-now ejam outdoor
Skirmish- ton of fun but a fuc*ing RIP OFF 100$ per case of paint they can shove it
Fireball Mountain(old bridge) Under staffed not much safety (cheap) gun techs very nice (field is good on a DRY DAY!!!)
Directions
to the Field:
somewere thew the woods over a rainbow and under a star!
Review: I was recently back over in this area to see how ABC has changed... Hasnt really... i went to play in this field back in the day. Back then it was decent so i thought cause of the price being so cheap and you could bring your own paint and all.. The place back then had its fair problems...sewage line broke under supposed (speedball) field and smelled really bad. there was also always tons of mud in the center of the field and the field is on a hill... not fair for the guys on the bottom... you cant really call that speeball either its more like somthing out of counter strike with crates an barrels and nets...
the staff is nice and the ladie there makes you feel at home except the reason i stopped going was the field really fell apart badly i mean nets were falling field was really bad and it was jus horrible.. not really anyplace to eat also unless you kno a place to order food from or go out looking for something. i dont really kno wat to say about it except much is needed. good for the cheap ballers tho. i mean if it was up to me i jus put crates in the locol woods and id be like abc. place needs tons of renevation. (also abc pro shop in paramus is horrible unless you like custom A-5s there good with that but they are overpriced and the owner..... a real as***** and that the nicest way to describe it) their guntech at abc knos his shiz i dont kno his name but he is an awsome guy and could turn a piece of straw into an dm6 he is real nice. basicly if you like going cheap play here. if you a reall speedballer ejam is ur place i give abc over all staff-field-so forth a 5 and thats only cause staff is great.field blows a big one! www.ejampb.com your better off.

P.S. people at abc dont have beef with ejam cause they bought you guys out no reason to be pric*s cause their better! :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media