paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field

ABC Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
110Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 973-728-1000
Address: 1745 Greenwood Lake Trpk
Hewitt, New Jersey 07421
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
j22nba Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
e jams, rexplex(closed)
Directions
to the Field:
easy to get to.
Review: once you get there, there is a pro shop that dosent have much paintball gear. The lady at the desk is very nice but the owner isnt. The price is cheap at only $15 a day and u dont have to buy paint. Ok now to the fields. There are 2 feilds, woods and speed ball. The speed ball coarse is rather big and there is a slope giving the team on the hill an advantage. Beware on rainy days, the speedball field is VERY VERY muddy. Now to the woods coarse. The coarse is pretty big and there are many bunkers that are rather small for teens and adults. Now to the reffs. Ther refs are pretty bad and they wont do a paintcheck. There are usually 2 reffs on each coarse. the woods coarse it too big for only 2 reffs. Especially when the reffs dont move. Overall not such a good coarse.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SteelBlueXI Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty - More fields, horrible reffing, lots of cheating, much more expensive
NYC - Indoor speedball
Review: The good:
BYOP
Bunkering
Friendly staff
People play fairly
Decent field paint prices
Good staging area for speedball

The bad:
Poor staging area for woodsball
Woodsball field is far away
Mediocre air fills

Recently I've been playing paintball at least once every weekend and my wallet has taken a severe beating. I decided to give ABC a try because of its BYOP policy. I only brought one case of paint with me but the games ran so quickly I had finished that case by noon. The field paint (Origin Classic) wasn't terrible though and it was only slightly less than reasonable at $60.

The speedball field is decent, but way larger then what people are used to. It can handle up to about 20 people at once which is nice so nobody ever has to sit out. The woodsball field is slightly larger and is pretty much exactly what you'd expect a woods field to be like. The ABC woods field has a fantastic setup with lots of small and large bunkers scattered about. There are also patches of brush for those who like to sneak about.

The staging area for the speedball field is large and clean with lots of tables. It's right next to the shop and air fill station. Woodsball, on the other hand, is on the other side of the speedball field. To play woodsball you need to walk around the speedball field and up a very steep hill, and then into the woods some more. It's a little far from the shop so typically people drag their cases of paint up there so they don't have to go down between games. There is also a Dairy Queen within walking distance of the woodsball staging area, so the only real reason to go back down to the shop is to get an air fill. This is where having extra tanks comes in handy, because their air fills are a little shakey. They filled my tank between 3000 and 3500 all day long. One guy said they got him up to 4100 only once. Nobody got a full 4500.

The reffing on speedball was good, with paintchecks available. The reffing on woodsball was also good, but they only send 2 refs up when the field probably requires 3 or 4. Unlike other fields I was at, however, this was not a problem. Everyone played fair all day and I didn't witness any acts of wiping, overshooting, bonus balling, etc, etc. The refs were really just there to enforce the safety rules, which they did well. As an added bonus, bunkering is allowed on both the speedball and woodsball fields. Don't you just hate those mandatory surrender rules?

ABC is a good field with friendly staff (except the owner =P) and friendly players. It's not overly crowded with an average of 30-40 players at any given time, split equally between the two fields. The crowd seems to show up early, also, so you'll get a full day of paintball in. The games ran quickly all day, with the refs running them as fast as people wanted. The refs were as exhausted as we were by the end of the day cause they didn't take any breaks. Go there if you're looking for a cheap, safe, friendly and fun day of paintball. I'd give it an 8 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Shock135 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-Jam amazing place amzing players that you gve you a challenge when you play.
Directions
to the Field:
Fairly easy if you went before.
Review: There safety is like the number one rule at abc. The head ref guy comes up to you every single time when you go to explain the rules even if he knows you have been there dozens of times. I know its really important about safety butthey really over do it. One time i went and there was a few young kids just looking for a good time. It was in woods and the kid was behind the big rock by the dead zone, if youve been there you know what im talking about. The kid got excited when he shot some one ripped his mask off and yelled that the guy was out. The refs went absolutely crazy on him screaming yelling cursing and told him to go home. The kid was barely 10 years old i think that was a wrong thing to do. Another thing that really made me made there was when Leo and Master Pete got into a fight over something i do not know. If anyone was there that day you can remeber how bad the fight was. During the middle of a speed ball game you could hear them yelling and stuff falling and crashing. It got to the point wehre they were going to kill eachother and the police finally came and broke them up. I don't Understand why Leo just doesn't think hes ruining his fields rep. Other than the owner this is a good filed to go to for a day with friends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-Jam Indoor - More experienced players, staff was a tiny, tiny bit unwelcoming, GREAT rentals (Ions)
Fireball Mountain - Sorta good, nice rentals, pleasant staff
E-Jam Outdoor - MUCH better than this place. Staff is nicer, people are friendlier, 4 more fields than this one, better for old players and new players alike. More facilities and overall better place.
Review: This was my third time playing paintball. It was a half-hour drive and we had a bit of trouble getting there but as soon as I called them, the owners were extremely nice and helpful and I got there easily.

Safety - The field is very good about safety. The woodsball field has no dead zone so everyone is required to wear their masks all the time up there. The refs are great about making sure everyone has a barrel plug in and is wearing a mask. Safety gets a 10.

Fields - Speedball and woodsball. I didn't get to play speedball but it looked fun, even though there was a small slant. The woodsball field was excellent. Fields get a 9.

Hours of Operation - 9:00 AM until 5:00 PM on Saturdays and Sundays. Wonderful! 10

Prices - Excellent! $6 for 200 paintballs $15 for 500 , $30 for 1000, $60 for 2000. All day play with own equipment and paintballs (not including air) is $15. It's a dollar for every 4 oz of CO2, $10 all day pass for Nitrogen, $0.60 per 500 psi of compressed air. Their rentals were Tippman Pro/Carbines. They were accurate for rentals but otherwise pretty crappy. A ball got stuck in the feedneck twice and I had to switch guns. Lucky they had like a million of them. 9

Refs - Good refs.9

Players - Most of the players are really nice. You rarely encounter the bad sort here.

Food - You can get pizza ordered to the field, there are chips and soda at the field, I think theres a Dairy Queen nearby, its all good. 10

Overall - Great place, come for a fun day of play! 10!!!


Edit: I recently encountered Leo, the owner of ABC. WOW!... All the refs hate him, all the players hate him. He's a complete @$$HOLE... He tried to do some work on the field on a Sunday! He was bossing around the refs so nobody was manning the air station. Leo told one to help there. Then when a ref helped with the air, Leo yelled at him and told him to go back to work on the field. This isn't a cause not to go, just be warned. He usually doesn't interact with players so anybody going is gonna be fine, hes just annoying to be around. On the other hand, ALL the other refs and employees there are helpful and many of them know a LOT about paintball.

Edit again: This place isn't so great anymore. Like seriously. It is good for a new player I guess but E-Jam Outdoor is EVER SO MUCH BETTER.
Last edited on Sunday, December 17th, 2006 at 7:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

AuRevoirLove Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: If you are looking for a place that you will play and not have to wait... then this is it. The price is really cheap. $15 for all day, with a rather big woods field and a somewhat weird shaped speedball field. I believe the best part about ABC is that you CAN bring your own paint. It is almost never too packed... and is a lot of fun to go by yourself or a group of people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

rapshady08 Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
If you need directions just go on their website.
Review: ABC Paintball is awesome. It has 2 types of games available. There's woodsball and speedball. It is kinda big and most definitely fun. They have food you can buy there or you can just drive out and go to a Blimpie or McDonalds or even Dairy Queen. Mon-Fri. you need a reservation. Saturday and Sunday just go from 9 am to 4pm.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbramping Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
abc terrible, ruckus good , i didnt like the woods feild , to easy to be forgoten in,ejam amazing,skirmish overpriced but lots of scenario fun
Directions
to the Field:
anoying to get to
Review: terrible feild condition, they say they have a world class proffesional grade speedball feild, it is a hill, myself and the refs even named it hill incursion and drews hill after a ref. The place smells , they burn incence, they smoke majic cigerts, the gun tech is horribile all he can do is lube a tippman and put his ducktaped shocker board in it, p.s that gunj blows i owned him with a stock a5, master pete master shake is more like it ...anyway , the pricing is terrible and so is the condition of the feilds, their so called speedball is covered in mud always or is overgrown....leo ows the unfreindly italians money ahhh got his car blown up uh huh uh huh . ummmm thats about it aside from hes mean knowone lieks him including his refs . the only positive thign i have to say about abc , is they are serious about their safty , but sometimes realy just to much
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

delta39 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-Jam
Ruckus
Depot
Skirmish USA
Top Gun
Review: First of all...all of you refering E-Jam over ABC have to have some mental issues. E-Jam is an INDOOR SPEEDBALL FIELD. That's a totally different world than ABC, Ruckus, Depot, TopGun, etc etc etc. No way you can compare it...unless you have mental issues...I'll understand.

Refs: 7/10. Most seem to have a minimal amount of experience, and are always lazy. Once in a while you'll come accross some refs that have a sense of what they're doing. If you do, get on their good side. I'd recommend you find Drew, who's a 40-year-old ref that works there on Sundays. He's a real nice guy, and will listen to everyone.

Management: 7/10. Cathie is real nice inside. She's very social and is very nice about everything. She even let me use their store to shoot one of my action-paintball-movies! Currently I'm working something out with their management to shoot another movie this coming April.

Fields: 7/10. Only two fields. HYBRID field doesn't have the best setup, but that's what makes the game good. The angles are very hard to get around so good luck moving around and check your six. I was pretty impressed by their WOODSBALL field. Probably the size of a few 7-man speedball fields, but with what you'd expect to find in a woodsball field. Foxholes, bunkers, and of course...trees.

Paint: 7/10. They recently changed to BYOP, after seeing how their competition fields were doing. As far as I know their winter paintballs are $60 per case, and are decent paintballs.

Safety: 7/10. They're usually good about safety. First time I was there, they told someone to sit out for taking his mask off in a game, and when he didn't comply, the refs took EVERYONE off the field until the dude went home. The ref I know well there- DREW, is actually one of the best refs I know. He knows what the meaning of SAFETY is, and not only that but he ENFORCES IT. He has a lot of experience at ABC Paintball, and has won my respect.

Overall, ABC Paintball is a decent place if you want to practice with your team. I'm going to try and go there more often with my unit this year.

Good luck nd good huntin.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

AJMPB Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 23rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-JAM - great prices, great field, nice staff
Topgun - not bad, a bit expensive though
Rexplex - nothing good to say about them (closed)
Review: ABC is just terrible. The only reason why we kept going there is that it was the only decent field in the area that we could get to easily. The proshop overprices a lot of equipment. The picnic area is trashed. Theres spilled paint everywhere and the tables are falling apart. If you play there a few days after it rained, its even worse. the whole place is muddy and smells horrible. The speedball field is on a hill, so the team at the top has a slight advantage. The bunkers are in terrible shape. The refs don't bother running begginer games or making sure the teams are even. I believe i heard someone ask, and was told that begginer games waste time, though they run games every 15 minutes! Running a begginer game here and there would "waste" a lot less time then ridiculous 15min. intervals between games. The owner is a complete ***hole, he just walks around yelling, and very rarely have i seen him actually help customers. A couple of the refs are idiots and randomly yell at you if you just ask a quick question or need help with paintchecks, etc. On the other hand, the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. They are pretty good on safety, masks always on on the field, barrel bags/plugs are on in the picnic area. They are very strict with chrono, and don't allow you on the field without a mark on your wristband or sticker on your hopper. Prices are not bad, and unless im mistaken they changed back to BYOP. If you want to play speedball, i recomend going to EJAM instead. I would also recomend that begginers interested in speedball go to EJAM, although more experienced players go there, they dont mind running begginer games. I give ABC a 4 out of 10, for decent prices and BYOP.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Zimm Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ruckus Paintball - nice place, lots of fields, decent prices, good refs
E-Jam Paintball - best place ever
Skirmish Paintball - great place but expensive paint
Paintball Depot - good fields, good refs
Top Gun - it's like mini-Skirmish (variety of many fields, paint isn't that expensive, though)
Review: When I went there over the MLK break on Sunday, it was probably the coldest time of the winter season. The wind was soooo cold and lots of snow everywhere, but nonetheless, this place was awesome.

The staff was extremely nice to everyone. The lady that works at the cashier is probably one of the nicest people I've ever met. There's also that other girl who works there and she fills up the tanks and kinda just helps around.

They've got a cool dog there, too.

Anyway, this place was one of the best outdoors I've been in a while. The lady (I forgot to ask her name) was so nice to us and got everybody ready as quickly as possible.

There are really only two fields there, one at the bottom is a speedball-type of setup. One team starts ontop of the hill while the other starts on the bottom. We played elimination for a while. A great variety of bunkers and the teams are even and if they aren't, then the refs listen and change it up a bit.

The ref and manager there was VERY strict about safety issues. They will not let anyone onto the field without a mask on and when you come off, the first thing they always check on is if you have your barrel bag and safety on and that you have your mask on until you get to the seating area. If you don't, they sit you out for a game and then they kick you out if you don't listen to them.

This one time a person there was not listening to the safety rules and decided to go into the game anyway. The refs and manager immediately stopped the game and took everyone off the field in order to get him off, which shows them how serious they are about safety at this field.

Eventually, after my friends and I talked to the manager, we took our party and a bunch of other people to go to the upper field which is just all woods. The only reason they didn't want to take anyone there in the first place was because it was still pretty dangerous up there (since it was still snowing and very cold and slippery) and just had a couple of more safety issues. If you read some other reviews, it says that you have to take a long hike up the hill...well, it's too bad that those people aren't in shape. It's just a small hill compared to some other things; it's nothing major.

I didn't get to play on the field up there because my Ion kept breaking down and the paint was getting messed up in my barrel and breech, so I went down, pulled out my TIppmann, but realized I needed air (since I couldn't use CO2 in that weather). So, I went to the front desk and asked if I could rent a nitro tank and they gladly let me (just needed some collateral), filled it up and let me play for the rest of the day. Even then, however, I still wasn't able to play...but that goes into another story.

While I was hanging out up there with one of the refs and I think the manager they started to tell all these stories of their past experiences with this field or people they knew (paintball-related and such). Very interesting and entertaining.

Overall, it's a great field with a great staff who are safety-conscience all the time. Now, it's a walk-on field with BYOP (Bring Your Own Paint) which is a bigger plus. The fields are great and this is just a great place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media