paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / FT. Huachuca Sportsman Center Paintball Field / FT. Huachuca Sportsman Center Paintball Field / FT. Huachuca Sportsman Center Paintball Field / FT. Huachuca Sportsman Center Paintball Field

FT. Huachuca Sportsman Center Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: N/A
Phone: (520)-459-3782
Location: Ft. Huachuca, Arizona 85613
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Gkaee Sunday, November 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Disruptive paintball. It is much better in both pricing and safety.
Review: The sports man center is an okay field. Its only true benefits are size and playability. It is one large field that is fairly flat and has a lot of wooden pallets and spools for cover. On Saturdays the refs will generally pull out a few air bunkers and more players show up. That is about all the good however. The field has not been changed in a long time and gets very repetitive. They place is also pricey as the entry fee was around 15$ last time I was there and that did not include air fills. There paint was over priced but you are able to bring paint from Walmart which is about 10 minuets up the road. The field has refs but only for about the first half of Saturday. Even then they barely do anything. No one checks safety and the velocity is not checked. The pro shop is virtually non-existent with very few products. It does have a wide selection of spare parts however.

If you want to just go out for a casual game with a few friends for the first time then by all means go. If you want the full paintball experience or are more advanced go to disruptive in Tucson. Its well worth the gas and the fields are better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

THE TITAN Tuesday, February 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None other. I PB'd mainly in Cali before I transferred from the military.
Directions
to the Field:
Go through the main gait on fort huachuca --> go straight --> take the 2nd right ( quite a ways up) --> go straight, across the main road, and onto the sportsman's center. There is where skeet and trap, the range, and the fields are.
Review: There used to be two fields, but someone kind of combined them both, which makes it freakin huge. Its ridiculous, peaces of wood and spools set up for cover, random creations people made, and a middle, castle-like structure that both sides fight over. All and all, this field is capable of hosting quite a few people... its nuts o_O.

I like it because its clean, and you don't have fail-azz reff's there. Most everyone is military, skilled, and pretty chill. I like it. What it lacks in glamor, it makes up in fun. A couple nice fields up in Phoenix... Never been to the tucson ones. If you're ever over here TDY, on DET, or just visiting, I would entice you guys to try it out. Mostly active on the weekends, mainly Saturday.

I hope this review was helpful.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WatkinsGeorge Monday, January 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tucson and some Phoenix
Directions
to the Field:
You can ask the guards at the front gate for exact directions and a map
Review: I loved the field, i moved here last summer and now im trying to play every weekend. The staff is very helpful, quick on getting games started and knowledgeable about new gear buying. They just got a new speedball field, the PSP set up and try to set it up every weekend. I like it betr than the Tucon field just cuz they blow them up here, tucson is kinda deflated, and phoenix is a long drive. The regulars that come set up fair teams on a regular basis unless theres a toury coming up and they wana practice as a team. They do have a rec field but im not really a rec person so i dont usually go over there but it could fit 50 person teams easily. I know there trying to get more people out there and the prices are pretty cheap, so if your in town and wana try paintball, come on out! (i gave it a 9 because of the grass, its pretty dead in the winter but thats AZ)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ibwahooka Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any other fields in the state of Arizona yet.
Directions
to the Field:
After you go through the main gate to get onto Fort Hauchuca (do not let this intimidate you. You can get a vistor's pass at the front gate.), Follow the main road for approximately 3 miles and you will see a sign for the Fort Hauchuca Sportsman Center. Turn left and proceed for approximate 1.5 miles and you will see the Sportsman Center on the left hand side of the road.
Review: I am new to the area in Arizona and was looking for something to do on the weekends and the Sportsman Center does help with that.

Safety: There are enough experienced players at the field that safety is not an issue. Everyone polices each other and all of the new players are given safety tips by the veterans.

Fields: They have one main field which is setup with spindles and pallets that provides a good speed ball/scenario ball combination. It is quite large and I would say can accommodate approximately 100 people comfortably. On Saturdays they will set up a speed ball only field and depending on the number of players will dictate how big they make the speed ball field. Both fields have bleachers on the sidelines for spectators to come and watch. Overall I would give the fields 8/10.

Hours of Operation: Wednesday - Sunday 9 am - 5 pm.

Prices: I didn't get a complete list of prices for everything that the do, but the field fee is $7.50 and 500 paintballs is $8.50. A case of paint is $35. Full rental with marker, mask, CO2, and 100 paintballs is $25. They also have special discounts for groups. I would give the prices at the field 9/10

Services: They have a small paintball store on site and also a small proshop. They also have other weapons that can be rented.

Rules: Standard paintball rules, however players will modify depending on the level of experience of the other players.

Staff: The staff is very friendly and helpful and will get you setup and on the field in no time.

Refs: There are no refs, since most of the games are small. However, I did not see a single person that disobeyed the rules yet.

Facilities: The facilities are nice and work really well for a military post. Don't except a lot of glamor, however they do have a building were you can get out of the sun and relax if need be.

Food: There are only drink vending machines here, so I would suggest you bring your own food and drink if you are going to play all day. Also both fields do not have any tree cover, so you will be playing in the sun. Bring lots of Gatorade or water!

Overall: The field at Fort Hauchuca is very good. I would highly recommend this field to first time and experienced players. You will get a good mix of both and have a good time doing it. My big suggestion to anyone would bring lots of water to drink. Other than that you should have a good time playing here. Rating: 8/10
Last edited on Sunday, October 19th, 2008 at 9:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5ghilleman Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the aera. moved twice since then
Directions
to the Field:
I really cant rember exactly. just take a left about a mile arter the gate like your going to gaden conyon Thats all I rember.
Review: I have not been at this feild in about 1 year so some stuff may have changed. this was a fairly good feild the tier bunkers were awesome. (i heard they are taking them out because of the epa or somthing. game varaints are good. refs staff are awesome good enough proshop. I useually went to tucon for air because thier nitro was only at 2000. overall 9.5 because of the helpfull staff and awesome feild layout
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

~BboY~MalO~ Thursday, February 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i just moved here and they are no other feileds in the area.
Review: Well i just moved to sierra vista so this field is like 5 mins away from my house from wat ive seen its pretty good feiled if u like playin rec ball and just want to get away from tourneys for a little wile and its also a great hang out place on the weekends all my friends play there . also from wat i heared they have a sup'air ball Field but they only set it up for tourneys but all in all its a nice field .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

christian_13 Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: the sports man center is a cool little field on the base of Fort Huachuca. it has a small pro shop with alot of stuff for piranhas and spyders and a few high end parts. it consists of both rec. ball and speed ball. the speed ball field is a small field which pertains mainly spools and tires. while the rec ball has tires and other things like wood,cars,and anything you can hide behind. this field isn't the best but its alot better than driving out to Tucson great little field for party's or get to gathers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media