paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ForestFire Paintball Field / ForestFire Paintball Field / ForestFire Paintball Field / ForestFire Paintball Field

ForestFire Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
34Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 425-879-2102
Address: 5410 123rd Ave NE
Lake Stevens, Washington 98258
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Dspartan Saturday, February 19th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 19th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
doodlebug, semper fi, 100 degrees, mad dawg every field in the area
Directions
to the Field:
website or mapquest once you get there its clearly marked.
Review: Amazing field. I can't say enough good things about this place. Everything was top notch from the field itself to the excellent refiing and products this field has it all. However the thing this field does better than any other field I have played at is... GAME TURNAROUND. The refs quickly and efficiently start new games immediately. This is a constant problem at fields and is easly fixed at forestfire by them simply saying when the next game is starting and sticking too it. It seems so easy and yet fields can never get this right. Pricing is as good as anything around, refs were professional and the players range from solid to beginners. I strongly suggest people check this field out its the best field around.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

**T1** Monday, July 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Name it, been there
Review: I will keep this brief but to the point.

ForestFire is a great place to play because of some important factors: Its CLEAN, the fields are well maintained and the staff cares about the players.

They have one large field that consists of an open grass area, large covered tree area with multiple bunkers and a castle with a moat.

The ref's take the time to educate everyone that comes on the field about the rules and safety issues. Everyone is required to chrono (at least when I was there).

A final note, FOOOOOD. You can order a large one topping pizza from ForestFire for $12.00. Its prepared by a local Lake Stevens pizzeria and believe it or not, its damn good.

All in all, Field is an 8, Staff a 10 so overall rating is a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GryphisOne Monday, December 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 26th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Danger Zone Paintball, TPS, KCC.
Review: If you love playing scenario games, you should check this field out. While it's not the biggest field you'll ever play on, they more then make up for it.

FIELD/S: Forest Fire has one big field that is split into two parts by a path that runs north-south across the field. The section on the west is the forest. This map is full of baricades, trees, bunkers and large stumps to hide behind. This map is also on a slight slope and at the top is a large bunker they call the Alamo, one of several main bases they have set up.

The map on the east is a large field with barrels and tubes to hide behind. The northern section of this map also has some marsh/woodland, so it's a good half and half map. At the far east part of the map is a large castle that lends itself to many of the games played. Note, both fields often get combined for games which is great fun.

STAFF: I have nothing but good things to say about the staff at Forest Fire. The refs, older teenage guys, are all polite, well mannered and do an amazing job keeping everyone safe and happy. Game turn arounds are short, with the refs giving everyone five minutes between games to refill and reload. I also have no complaints about the rest of the Forest Fire crew, those people being the field owner (Ezra) and some other guys that work behind the counter. This field should get a 10 based on staff alone.

PRICE/FACILITIES: This is one of the only fields I've been to where you can bring off field paint, so you save some money there. But if you decide to buy field paint, (dXs more often then not), their prices are well priced.
As far as staging room goes, things can get a little cramped, though things seem to improve every time I'm there. They have a newly built shack with a large overhang that covers about 15 wooden spools. There are more wooden spools spred throughout the rest of the area around the field. Spools fill up quick though, so I always try to get there early to snag one.
There's plenty of parking, both up and down the driveway and in a small clearing next to the field.
Pizza is ordered for the walk-ons most days and I've even seen a BBQ set up for some of the bigger games.

GAMES: Like I said, if you like scenario games, this is one of the best fields around. Not only to they have the oldies but goodies like Center Flag Push, CTF and Team Death Match, they also have a wide selection of their own games like Terminator, Alamo and Pilot Down. They also have prize games once every few months where you have the chance to win a new gun. But their big game is the D-Day Event, which draws 200+ players each year, from all skill levels. From amatures to pro players from DBS Kids and the Husky paintball team, this game brings em all in.
They break out everything from smoke bombs to tanks and rocket launchers. For this part of the US, it doesn't get much better.


PLAYERS: We've all seen it. There's always the one dumb*** that decides to come to the field and make everyone's day hell by swearing, cheating, arguing or just being a moron. I've yet to see anyone like this at Forest Fire, which is refreshing after seeing and hearing some of the things I have. There's also a mixed skill set, ranging from new players to solid tournament players. The refs do a good job of keeping the teams even (both in number and skill) so the games are usually pretty fair.

To sum this up, Forest Fire is an amazing field. It's a bit of a drive from Seattle, but in my opinion, it's WELL worth it. I'm proud to call this my home field and always look forward to playing there. Website is ForestfirePB.com
Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2011 at 11:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Killafornia Saturday, October 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DBS
Review: Played at this field for the first time. Best field I've ever played on. Open on Sat's 10-4. The Ref's are really fair and are willing to answer any questions you have or help with any thing you need help with. Its a great field for Pro's and those just getting into the sport. It looks like the field is made from someone's back yard but they have put a lot of effort in building the bunkers and everything else. Rentals, Air and Paint are sold at the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dr.j Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DBS, eastside, skinny joes, mad dog paintball, svp, milltown
Review: To start, you come down a narrow drive way with limited parking at the end cause its at some guy's house.

Prices for field fee, air, paint, and rentals are fair and competitively priced.

On a busy day, you might find yourself without any table space for your gear.

The field is a great rec ball course that can be divided up into smaller feilds if needed for different games. My only complaint about the field was the poor quality of the bunkers, and the lack of bunkers. Once you get behind one your kinda stuck unless you have good backup behind you.

The refs there are great and fair, probably some of the best I've seen. Willing to go into the middle of the heat.

The one thing about this field that pissed me off the most was the large number of bonus ballers that play there. Several times when I clearly called myself out with hands in the air, I got lit up hard core.

On that note, I wouldn't recommend this field for walk ons without a group of friends with them, but it would be an excellent field for private parties.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jolleygreen Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skinny Joes, DBS, Dangerzone
Directions
to the Field:
Once you know its there, no problem, Gotta look for the brown Forestfire sign on the left side going north. I passed it twice the first time.
Review: I've played at this field a few times now, basically because it's close by, less than 10 minutes away. Similar to most fields you'll come across, it's set up on the back property of a residence.

Parking - Get there early, and hope you don't get stuck/blocked in/dented. As this is a guys driveway, you'll find a very narrow driveway with the need to back up to let an incoming driver by, and cars parked in every free space of grass that's visible.

Tables/Player area - Basically a few wooden line spools flipped on their side for tables. Could use some more of them on busy days. Till then, get there early.

Staff - These guys are players and refs, and seem to be in their late teens. Friendly, no BS that I witnessed, stepping in to get "hit" players out safe. Field Safety strictly enforced - saw one kid forced to sit out for one round for Bonus Balling (lighting someone up). Only gripe was no bunkering. When playing "Alamo" where it's 10 vs 40 or so, the 10 being at the top of a small hill behind a small wall of logs, you have no choice but to fire point blank if you make up that close. At that range, possibility for injury is much higher. Not sure there is much that can be done, but I won't make the same mistake, that being I made it to the log wall, leaned over, and hesitated because there were players about 3 to 4 feet from me. I could have lit them up, but instead I got a face, neck, mouth, and side full of welts.

Shop - Found myself waiting at the side for air a couple of times for the guy to stop talking to someone at the front counter. But that aside, ask for it, and they'll do what they can. I forgot my wrench for adjustments and the lent me theirs.

Fields - While small compared to some like Dangerzone, the set isn't bad, but for the most part, it's very very open, and the "bunkers are little more than plywood leaning up against a tree. A bit more build up on bunkers and I think it'd be that much better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nemsin Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DBS, Eastside
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: This is a great field run by some great people. There seems to be a good mix of players from starting to experienced, and everyone was just looking to have a good time. If you are in the area give it a try and see if you like it as much as I do.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DECIM8 Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DBS - Indoor
Skagit Vally - Indoor
Directions
to the Field:
Use your favorite map search engine, you will get accurate directions. It is fairly easy to find.
Review: As the previous reviews have stated the staff and regular players at ForestFire are awesome. I really started getting into paintball after playing at FF. I played at other places a couple times but didn't really get into it.

The Pros:
- Refs and Staff - I can't stress this enough. Refs, staff and the type of players at a field can make or break a field for me. They make this field a joy to play at.
- Field - Mostly woods and a grass speedball field near the staging area. They change the bunkers at least a little on a regular basis.
- Timeliness - Goes back to staff but they keep things moving. I figure if I can play for at least 75% of the time I am there (not counting getting shot out and a ~30 min lunch) that is good. I would say that they have met that mark each time I have been there. Some times I feel like there is too little time between rounds which is way better than waiting around for a game to start.
- Safety - They are serious about barrel bags and masks and always have you chrono. I have never had a safety concern there.
- Scenarios - They mix it up and are open to suggestions from players and groups that are there.

The Neutral:
- Price - Could be better but could be worse. They are on the low side but still middle of the road. They have their prices clearly and accurately laid out on their site so I won't quote them here.
- Bathroom - It is clean but it is a porta-potty.
- Food - No snacks or food available other than pizza for $10 a box or by the slice if they have extra. Bring your own water and snacks. Not a big deal but selling water or pop for when I forget would be great.

The Cons:
- Parking - It isn't very organized and the main driveway in gets lined with cars that can barely be fit in between. It keeps people from driving fast but can be harrowing some days if you have nice car. There is a grass area to park in at the end of the road.

Gave them a 9 out of 10 as nothing is perfect. A 10 would be playing paintball in Disneyland...... with the characters running around..... for free.

Try the field out, you wont' regret it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nail20619 Monday, January 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
doodlebug,
Review: Field:its very big, half forest half grass,

Refs: very professional, friendly, funny,

Games: good range of games, from center flag to cabin to terminator,

Owner: Owner is Ezra, he's nice, sometimes he plays but mostly just runs the place

Food: its in the middle of nowhere, but they do order pizza in the middle of the day, 10$ for a large 1 topping pizza, bring your own drinks and snacks,

Bathrooms: just a porter potty

Prices: prices are good, field fee is 10 bucks if your buy paint, 15 if you bring your own, AIR fills are 8$ for all day air, Co2 is 4$ for a 20oz tank, Paintball are 55 a case and 15 a bag,

players:there are great players plus alot of noobs, so its a good skill range,

Hours: they start at 10 and end at 3
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nomahsib Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played in Hole in the Wall Outdoors great field, but I heard they're closed.
Splat Attack Outdoors, that one was a few years ago at a friend's b-day party, wasn't bad either from what I remember
Directions
to the Field:
Um.. My friend's dad drives us and I don't pay attention lol
Review: Pros

-Service is great, during lunch the owner of the field went around asking everyone how their day had been playing and if there were any type of recommendations for the field. Staff (including refs) is very friendly and are even more friendly to the newcomers than the commoners
-Safety comes first there, very strict about it
-Prices aren't too bad. $10 entrance fee buying their paint $15 with your own. All day compressed air is like $6 or $8, can't remember. Co2 is like anywhere between $3-4 per fill depending on which size canister you have. Rentals with all day air, entrance fee, and 500 rounds of paint is $35, not too bad. The paint is where it starts getting expensive. I think the cheapest case they have is $45 and that's for Nelsplat. If I'm not mistaken you can get that paint in stores for like $36? Anyways I would plan on bringing your paint as it saves you the money.

Cons

-Hours of operation is not too good... Only Saturdays and from 10-3. The hours aren't too bad, but only open on Saturdays unless you plan a private session.
-Field size is a bit small, especially with walk ons (40+ people) so they open up full field (speedball and woodsball fields). This makes it fun, but there's a disadvantage in terms of fields. For a private session though it can't be beat.

Conclusion

Really fun field to go to. When playing there they try to mix up the scenarios based on the player's wants. Staff is a very big plus as they will take you under their arm. Go here and I guarentee you won't want to go anywhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media