paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena

Paintball Arena

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
65Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 631-694-2707
Address: 400 Patton Avenue
West Babylon, New York 11704
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
epygit Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins indoor- so much better
Review: DO NOT LEAVE YOUR STUFF UNATTENDED!!!! DO NOT LEAVE YOUR STUFF UNATTENDED!!!! DO NOT LEAVE YOUR STUFF UNATTENDED!!!! DO NOT LEAVE YOUR STUFF UNATTENDED!!!! DO NOT LEAVE YOUR STUFF UNATTENDED!!!!

When I went it was very busy. This is very bad because IPA only has one field, and it is an L shape. If you get stuck in the bottom of the L, u can get stuck/cornered because you have no where to run.

You can order pizza there for a good price tho.

There were a bunch of kids stealing our paint and other peoples paint. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR STUFF UNATTENDED!!!! I AM WARNING YOU!!!!! It is so busy that nobody can even realize that one person is looking through everybag. My friend almost got his SP Nerve stolen because he was looking into buying a mask.

The prices were reasonable tho. The refs were not good. and in the beginning of every game, they check everyones hopper to see if the hav field paint (which i can kinda understand). The staff was not helpful. I had to buy $6 in batteries for a problem that wasnt even battery related. The staff was like "Oh, I cant turn ur Halo on. Buy new batteries." he didnt even check to see if something was loose. I got the batteries, the guy opens up my hopper, and goes "woops, forgot i took that battery out before" So i wasted $6 on 6 AA batteries.....



I give it a 4 cuz thats how many free passes i have left.
Last edited on Monday, April 9th, 2007 at 7:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cakret Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity Indoor, High Velocity Outdoor, Cousins Indoor, 3 Private Fields
Directions
to the Field:
Once you find the Road, Patton it has Cemetaries all around it, once you think you should see zombies you know your getting close
Review: I played here Last Tuesday and Yesterday, on Weds, The guy behind the counter of the pro shop, is rude and disrespectful, and was unhelpful, Nick the ref we had all night was one of the chillest refs ive ever played with. On weds it was nice and empty, for good 1 on 1 drills 3 on 1's and 4 on 3's there was only 7 of us there that night. I recomend this field, if i cant play at High Velocity, and the customer service is much better then cousins indoor, in haupage, all but that one heavyset guy in the proshop.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bonusballer216 Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High velocity Indoor and Outdoor
Review: Yeah im agreeing with xXBloodLustACXx he is totally right this field really does suck i started playing at it cause it is the closest to where i live but when i finally got sick of it i started to go to highvelocity inddor and outdoor. the refs are extremly nice and the field is great. and i dont care what all you say about high velocity but all that beginner stuff is a load of crap if you really want to get good i sugest you go to highvelocity the players there actually will give you a challange unlike the players at arena. The players at arena attend to hide behind the same bunker and friendly fire thats what you call a place for begginers. They are afraid to try and advance up the field and when u go they start shooting over the bunker without looking and u get shot in like the back it is so bad there. Highvelocity is probally the best place on long island once you meet James you will never wanna go back to arena ever.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schosama Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
HiVi+Cousin's
Review: A great field! The "L" shape is a bit awkward at first, but it does provide for some interesting action. Likewise, the field constantly rearranges the bunkers meaning that every time you go to play the field dynamic and shooting lanes will be different and encompass new strategies.

But above all what I noticed with the field is the staff. The refs are among the best I've seen; where in Cousins or HiVi someone could casually wipe a hit the refs will run and dive behind bunkers with the players to make do paint checks. Needless to say I was impressed. Furthermore, the rest of the staff was incredibly helpful and thorough to insure that all safety rules were obeyed. They even arranged two different game series to insure that newer players, or those with lower end equipment, weren't facing up against opponents packing tournament level Matrixes and the like.

And to top it off, the prices are generally better than other indoor fields. $25 covers admission and air, and it's BYOP during the week. Can't get much better than that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXBloodLustACXx Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi Velocity indoors - worlds better
HiVi Outdoors - amazing, a ton of fun
Directions
to the Field:
It's inbetween a cemetery, 2 factories/power plants, and some hidden strip club. Great location, huh? Really family friendly... :dodgy:

Review: I honestly don't know if some of you were high when writing these reviews, or are just plain oblivious to what goes on at this field. Arena has to be the worst field of the 3 locals I have ever played on, and like other reviews said, the only thing I like is the pizza (which isn't even anything special).

The staff is terrible other than 1 or 2 guys who are very nice, typically the guys who work the desk and such. The others, however, are just plain nasty, rude, and have no regard for their customers other than what's in their pockets. Refs are terrible, mess around constantly and make the most uneven teams in the world. I can just walk across to the other side and unbalance the teams even more and they'll barely try to stop you. Or better yet, don't like the team you're on? Just walk out your side and run around to the other really fast and walk in. No one ever notices, no one seems to care. Refs hardly check players for hits because the teams are so big that it's near impossible, though they will escort you out with the shield if you ask. Games take forever to start because the more time they waste = the less games they have to ref, clean for, etc, which all boils down to more money for less work. I once saw refs eating pizza on the field instead of getting the game started when everyone was waiting. I was so close to running out and lighting them all up, masks off and all... The chrono guys usually are alright, but I once got a guy that admitted he didn't even know how to chrono a gun. Great, isn't it? Air fill guys are the very worst, the fat guy is a complete jerk and thinks he is the greatest thing on this Earth. I can't wait for someone to lay him out one day, it's bound to happen sooner or later with his attitude. The other tall guy is usually a jerk too, but he's pretty quiet and doesn't bother me as much. They shake your co2 tanks to see if its even a little full and if it is they refuse you free air fills, and nitro has to be pretty empty as well... in which case they'll probably only fill you to half full.

The field can either be really fun or just plain terrible, sometimes the setup is so bad and poorly planned out that they must have done it blindfolded. Sides get an obvious advantage, and rarely are teams fair so that only makes matters worse. The field is pretty big and clean though, but there are just too many people for it most of the time to the point where it can get dangerous.

I don't really know if they can fix guns well or not, but I'd much rather toy with my marker for an hour than bring it to them for 15 minutes. That's how rude they are.

The website falsely advertises the place, the "roman cololseum" theme is hardly even evident, they have like 2 statues in the staging area. Staging area itself is big and clean, usually a good amount of room for everyone. The stuff they sell is extremely overpriced, though, so please don't buy from them...

There are 23754 kids that all have their daddies buy them all their gear and are real jerks, another reason I despise this place.

I think that's about it, I've touched on everything bad about the place and a microscopic amount of good things. It's BYOP on thurs and friday, field paint only on weekends, team night tuesday... other than that I'm not too sure about pricing and such, check the website.

All in all, the only 2 good things I can say is that the pizza is good (if overpriced), and that you meet some great people there on busy friday nights... and some not so great people too. Only good if you don't have a choice, or just want to go and hang out. You can go and not even play or pay anything, just hang around any day and probably sneak in some games too.

Please, go to HiVi indoors if you can, the staff is great and the whole atmosphere is so mcuh better. I really hate arena with a passion, HiVi indoors and out are far better. Invest your money where you like, but I'm sure you'll come to hate this place too.

Oh yeah, if you do go, do me a favor and punch the fat guy at the air fill counter in the face. Kthxbai!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

kornpaintball1 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hivi Is the BEST overall arena paintball arena is garbage
Directions
to the Field:
naa
Review: Refs:Arent Any good
Safety:Pretty safe
Hours: A little Short You dont get many rounds in at all
Field: L shaped kind of weird the small part gets screwed alot
Service: They know what there talking about but they are very very slow only get about 10-15 rounds in you can wait up to 20 minutes in between rounds
Proshop: They Have most of the needs to play
Staff: Average
Players: Litteraly like 50 on 50 on fridays to many players. noobs vs pros
Facility: Big Staging area
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBALLPLYR Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Indoor- good setup but expensive
Cousins Outdoor-Good Fields, Big

Both compare pretty closely to arena
Review: Ive been playing at arena for about one year and have discovered most of the pros and cons.
PROS:
Big Staging Area- at times it can get crowded and you end up sharing a table with like ten people, but other than that you have alot of room to operate.

Refs- pay attention to the games and are very safety concerned. They always make you chrono and are constantly checking for cheater guns.

Staff- Very helpful and knowledgeable in the area of paintball.

Store- The on site "store" stocks basic repair things ( squeegees, allen wrenches,screws.etc) They also carry a wide variety of arena merchandise such as t-shirts and headbands.

Field Setup- They just recently installed new turf and lighting =). The Field is also sometimes combined to make a giant L.( not my favorite setup when playing but at times it is fun.)

Air- when you pay for your session you get unlimited air refills

Prices- 25 for a session and 50 for paint on weekdays and 65 for paint on weekends.

BYOP- throughout the week they have bring your own paint nights which is more affordable.

CONS:

Bathrooms- they are kinda run down and dirty and dont have paper towels

Heat- it often gets very hot, AC would be nice

Crowds- on certain days especially fridays it gets very crowded, i recommend going on weekends if you are looking for more 7v.7 action or just like playing with a smaller group

THe big guy behind the air counter- If your gun is broken he will tell you to send it back to where you got it from. He is also always complaining about something

Overall i will give this Field and 8 out of ten. I would also recommend this Field to anyone getting started in the sport of paintball.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtentativex Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
xfactor the best even if u don't agree
Review: This field was right off from where x factor was.
The only thing i did not like was how crowded it took to long up to fourty five minutes until the next game thats just crazy and there wiping everywhere almost everyone there wipes and the refs don't call anything there stupid. I did not enjoy this field but its the closes to me the next one im going to be going to is high velocity to check that out see how it is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mesa_SaW Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins indoor arena
Review: field is very good and the staff always keeps the field clean. the only negetive thing about it is the amount of scrubs that go and blindfire all the time. another kinda bad thing is the L becuase its not as real as a regualr arena in that concept but its also unique in a god way for that one detail. besides those two minor dislikes this arena is an extremly good place to play at
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SplatCase Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not been to any other fields on Long Island.
Directions
to the Field:
I had to get lost 5 times before I could drive there without a problem. If you are comming from the city (Manhattan), your best bet is to get onto the L.I.E and drive all the way to exit 49S. When you get of the highway you will cross one road and then you will have to cross route 110. After you cross 110 you will drive about 30 seconds further until you come to another road which is called PineLawn. Just make a right on that and keep driving down, eventually you will cross a set of train tracks. You will need to eventually make a left on Patton Avenue. Only a tiny little sign displays the name so you need to really drive slowly and keep looking left as you approach some stores/gas stations. I believe it is the first offshoot from Pine Lawn RD (first left), after you find Patton avenue just drive all the way down and you will see the paintball arena.
Review: I went to this field because I could not afford to go to anyother fields like cusions or make the trip to upsate NY.

The staging area works out well, plenty of room for all of your gear. The on hand shop has saved me a couple of times. Not too expensive considering what paintball products go for.

You get every player imaginable, from humble newbies all the way to actual team players. Each day of sessions generally has its own crowd, tuesdays for example is the team night practice - so they are certainly going to be a challenging bunch to play.

Personally I feel that the staff is mixed and varied. Most are decent to very good people in general and do what they need to do, but there have been a couple cases where I have run into the arrogant and rude personas. Nothing anyone can do about that.

The bunker arrangement on the field is always different each time you play.

By going to their "sister" supply store you can generally get some buy one get one free admission tickets as well as free play tickets to be used at the arena.

Techs working behind the equipment counters have no problem giving me new O-rings for my co2 upon request as well as usage of certain tools and the like. A very nice gesture on their part I think.

I personally believe that playing in the woods was more fun but now I can say that playing indoors and playing outdoors are two different kinds of fun. I enjoy comming here with my friends and having a great time. Without this establishment, I would not be as big of a paintball fan as I am today.
Last edited on Sunday, February 26th, 2006 at 2:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media