paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The War Club Paintball Field / The War Club Paintball Field / The War Club Paintball Field / The War Club Paintball Field

The War Club Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
8Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (315) 337-6259
Address: 7624 Watson Hollow Rd
Rome, New York 13440
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
315pballer#17 Tuesday, January 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Headrush. I personally would rather spend a day at War Club than 4 hours at Headrush
Review: They don't always have ref's, but if you want a ref either matt will ref or will have someone else ref for you. He is doing a lot of work to the fields. If you're new to the sport or matt doesn't recognize you he will go over the safety precautions and give baselines on how to play the game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flamesoccer Sunday, December 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Headrush and that Vunder bar place
Review: The other reviews are from 2005 or earlier and this place has done some major improvements since then. Most of the improvements have been done in the past year.
I have never had a problem except the first time i went there the tech guy (who is no longer there) scratched my new ion that with the upgrades cost me $500+. Lets just say I was not happy. The owners have switch and the brother that now owns it is very friendly and helpful. Sometimes they don't have refs on the field but that's usually only if there r a couple people on the field or if there is a group of noobs the ref go with the noobs. 90% of the people i have played with there have been very friendly and knowledgeable. As said in another review that there are boards with nails they have been removed since the 2nd time i played here.
Overall it is a good place to play I think it is $20 admission now but still not bad u can bring your own paint too.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

twc Thursday, May 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
headrush(syracuse)
hyperson(clinton)
rhode island indoor(providence RI)
cape cod paintball (bourne Mass)
Review: went there visiting family in the summer. absolutly the worst field ever. the air field wch sucked had wooden boards for land fill with dirt and hay on them this was extremly DANGEROUS AND IT HURT TO SLIDE THERE ARE NAILS IN THE WOOD AS WELL. the refs.......oh yeah there are no refs u have to start games yourself. and when u need air or paint wich is zap spank selling for 75 a case wich retails for about 25. to get air and paint u have to get the lazy owners son who is either doing or selling weed, and the place reaks of weed. this is THE WORST FIELD EVER
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

kondj23 Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crazy ass hyperson EASTCOAST!
hogback mountain Virgina (middle of no where)
'some other places on the west coast.
Review: war club is ok i mean nothin great about it i liek the boat and the car....... lol but the wood field is nice the supair sucks ASS and the open field is so so. i think there best field is the woods cause they got the hidden forts and the monster castle in the middle. i mean its nothin speacial. sniping is ok in the open field the woods all you do it hit trees so it aint that great.
over all the field is a great place to have parties and to have horrable food.... but to have fun if its your first time and its a great place to have fun if u suck welp Good PB
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

quatsy Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
HyperSon Paintball (http://www.hypersonpaintball.com) - Better organized, average fields.
Review: I've been generally impressed with The War Club in the two times I've been there. They have a number of fields that are fun to play on. I particularly like the large woodsball field in the very back of the property. The terrain is fantastic, including good bunkers, a stream, and small ravine. There is also a large high grass field that is fun to play on. They have a number of smaller speedball fields and an airball field as well.

The Postive:
The turnout is always good. I've been there a few times and there are always other 'ballers to play with.

The staff is helpful. My mask broke while playing and they were able to help me fix it free of charge. A few friends had fogging problems and were provided with anti-fog spray free of charge.

Unlimited free hot dogs. Need I say more?

The Negative:
The place is kind of dirty. There is litter around the waiting areas and there were beer cans on one of the fields I was on. Sometimes there isn't a ref on the field, resulting in some unsafe practices (barrel plug and mask infractions).

Not really professional, but to me it's not a dealbreaker.

Parking can get a little hairy too, but is not really a problem.

Overall, I say check it out. As long as you take your safety into your own hands and look out for your friends, you shouldn't have a problem. That woodsball field makes it worthwhile for me. In the Utica/Rome area I haven't found a Woodsball field that's better than this one.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

baby huey 35 Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hyperson, Fury, Headrush, Play to Win indoor
Review: I am not an expert from 5 different states or anything, but I have had a decent time at the war club. It is what it is. I went for the first time and rented equipment and had a blast. Tom (owner) and Matt were very helpful during the process of buying my first gun (TES) and my current gun ('03 Shocker). They were willing to work with me on price and maintenance of my equipment (and as a noob I always have a hundred questions for them). There is a group of us who are there 3 - 4 times a month and we usually have a good time. The refs are fair and I have not witnessed any inappropriate behavior by any of the employees. Again, I am not king of the PB world but I have always had a good time at the War Club. If you are a high end tourney player this may not be the field for you, but if you want to play with a few of your friends (and some other people) and not spend $80 on a case of bad paint this is a field for you. Thank you and God bless.

Last edited on Saturday, February 5th, 2005 at 9:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpinDoctor15 Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Headrush Paintball (NY), AAA Paintball (NY), Skirmish (Pennsylvania), Splatmasters (Colorado), Rocky Mountain Paintball (Colorado), Action Pursuit Games (Colorado).
Review: My background: I have played paintball for approximately 10 years now. I enjoy both tournament and recreational as well as scenario play. I was the president of my college paintball club until I recently graduated and I've run rec days, tournaments, you name it... I've played paintball in three different states and hail from the central NY area.

In my opinion, the War Club is one of the worst run fields I've ever seen. They used to offer decent reffing and customer service about 5-6 years ago. Now it's a long shot to see any refs at all on the field, to see decent paint, and to see any attempt at safety. The truth is I'm waiting for an accident to happen there. I really advise any newcomers to try out different local fields before trying this, or your first experience might not be a great one. I've played at this field more times than I can count. Being an experienced player, I felt like I was instructing the newer players all the time on safety, how to play, what to purchase, etc. just so that they were more likely to come back and try the game again!, as well as provide a safe environment for them. The refs and staff made no attempt to jump in and Do Their Jobs! They seemed more concerned with smoking and drinking small concealed bottles of Jack Daniel that helping their customers. Often times they let us play with no refs which, looking back on it now, was not the smartest thing for us or them!

My intent with this review is not to hurt their business, but to keep a local field open and improve their safety and business practices. I will be writing them letters of complaint in addition to this. Please help me by doing the same, and let's help CNY Paintball grow. Thanks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

devildog87 Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
North Side paintball sports (not at all the same thing)
Review: This course is great for anyone who is just starting the sport or who has been at it a while. The staff is great, most of the reffs belong to assorted teams so they know the rules. The club has four feilds which are all set up to be challengeing and fun for anyone. They have just installed a new sup.-air feild which is a blast. They are open ALL year which provides interesting snow play. The sell everything from brass eagles to intimidators( you have to order out of shop for most high end markers). If they dont have what you want they will order it for you. If you have an old gun they will put it on their wall for what ever price you want free of charge. They will do anything to cut a deal with you. The paint is limited and alot of it isnt that great but occasionaly they have some really good stuff. They have a large woodsball feild as well as 1 sup-air feild and 1 3 man feild(not really alot of fun). If your just getting into the sport or your looking to go reck some newbies like me on the weekend this is deffinetley not a baed feild to go play at.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 1:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media