paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field

North Shore Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
50Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (778) 896-7529
Address: 100 Lower Capilano Rd.
North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3P6
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
AK47NUKE Sunday, June 12th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 12th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush Paintball
Richmonds Indoor Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
www.nspaintball.com Directions and map is located on their site.
Review: First of all, everyone that hates on North Shore Paintball probably are only hating on this great field and staff because of some mishap that might have happen.

Now on with the review.

I currently live in Surrey and I travel about 1.5 hour by transit to come to this field so that has to say something for it, besides the staff being extremely chill and relaxed unless you break the rules such as lifting your mask during mid game or not putting your barrel stock on when exiting the field which happens alot with newcomers but they are understanding, and some of the best refs I've seen so far. Not only is the environment female friendly they are very kind to newcomers and often offer tips to them and the best plan for certain games we play.

Now although the food may be lacking on some days, but them being able to supply water and although most people dislike slightly warm pop i actually really enjoy it, but although they dont sell food food their are often times when a icecream truck will roll up or a hot dog stand well i should say smokey stand is set up and they have no issues with you ordering take out to their field at all.

Now to the prices, which are extremely extremely fair compared to richmonds indoor paintball field (for paint the price for rentals there is fair due to they are really good rentals at RIP) and they offer you great deals, like 80 dollars for 1000 paintballs. however not being open on Monday-Wednesday extremely sucks for people who work full time and often can't go to the field lucky for me i have a great boss haha. but being open Thursday-Sunday from 10am-6pmish is good as well and not to mention females get in for free on Fridays as well as half price Thursday on entrance and rental fees not paint.

The field it self is pretty amazing with alot of cover, bunkers, a few trenches, tree forts, bush ball area and a big ol hill which is often used for king of the hill. However sometimes putting your hands on the wall kinda gives you the feeling of "ewWwWwWw yucky" what you expect from a field often used by 40+ people on busy weekend? So get over it! @#$%if you want to play a clean sport go play golf :/, and of course you got to love the muddy environment well at least I do, the field it self seems to be kept in good maintenance when it comes to the bunkers,buildings,tree forts and what not.

Now I know NS paintball use to have these really old sucky ass paint but that was years ago, they now use I believe it's called G.I paint which i find is great in bushball part of the field though can sometimes bounce which is okay.

The rental guns... well their rentals if you want to use one of their good rentals pay abit extra for a upgraded version, or abit more for the sniper version of them but besides that, yea the rentals could be better.

Bonus:
Andy the boss guy is bloody amazing, today i spoke to him and he was very kind as well as understanding, and offer to sale me a GT goggles for 49$ compare to the price in stores which would be 80 buck a roonies, he sales paintball gear and i believe sometimes markers as well, if you see him ask him what he has for sale! great prices!
The female staff well most of them are very into paintball and I admit easy on the eyes as well, and the tech their is funny awesome and is always willing to fix your gun for free!

10/10 highly recommend, learn more about North Shore at their website www.nspaintball.com

FROM THE GUY THAT WEARS THE MAJOR LEAGUE INFIDEL SHIRT

Pros:
Great Field
Great Staff
Great Manager (bawss man Andy)
Great Paintballs
Great Tech
Great Prices
Bawss man Andy sales paintball gear at great low prices
Great Events when they do happen (like the Easter event!)

Cons:
Big Field=A few cheaters (but then again cheaters a RIP and Ambush as well)
Rentals could be better
Better coolers to keep drinks cold
should run a hot/burger stand and charge like 3-5 dollars (depending how big and filling they are)
Update their website more!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

iron-maiden Saturday, May 7th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 30th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Richmond indoor paintball
Ambush
Tsawassen
Directions
to the Field:
Right at the foot of the lions gate bridge

www.nspaintball.ca
Review: This was the very first paintball field I played at. It wasn't until I started playing at some of the other fields around the area that I realized how good this one is.

The good:
-Excellent refs, friendly management etc...
- good services for renters and owners alike.
- varied terrain: A big hill, a backfield (more traditional bushball), another area with lots of bunkers.
-NICE players

The bad:
- not the largest field
- no good food for sale (but fast food delivery eg. pizza close by)

Summary: I've always enjoyed the games at north shore. When I first started, I was a renter, and now I'm a gun owner and a regular. Both experiences very lots of fun. The reason for this is the refs. At other fields, the refs can be disinterested, or sometimes not even present. Not so here! At north shore, the refs are very involved in the game, calling out players, preventing cheating, and giving advice to the renters. In short, they actually care! By having refs like these, you don't often see players cheating by wiping paint off etc... If you call for a paint check, they will even run into a firefight to check to see if you shot some one. The players are also nice, welcoming for new players and don't have the attitude seen at some other fields. The paint must be better than in the past based on some of the earlier reviews, as I find it no worse than any of the above fields. The rental equipment is at least as good as the other fields as they use HPA.

In short, north shore is the ideal field to start your paintball experience. If you are a regular paintballer, you'll love it too! NSPB gets a 10/10 for its fun, friendly games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hexAGA Monday, April 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Turn left after the Staples on west-bound Marine Drive and head all the way down the dirt road
Review: I have been playing at this field for the majority of my paintballing experience and have been pleased with it all the time. The first look at it will not impress; there are a couple old freight carriers from the train yards set up as a front desk and a rough wooden tarp-covered area nearby. Amenities are limited to outhouses. The entrance to the field is covered with a couple of mesh flaps. However, if paintball has taught me anything, it's that first impressions are always useless, and I encourage other players not to be turned off by the rather unprofessional-looking facade that this field displays.


The field itself is fantastic. It's not exactly gospel "woodsball" per se as it's not really a forest and the parts that are covered with vegetation are pretty sparse, but my god, has the staff ever outdone themselves with the stuff they put in here. They understand that the idea of a woodsball field is to throw everything possible at the players to make it hard to predict the style of play, and thus the entire field is covered with walls of sticks, stacks of tires, plywood bunkers, tree houses, trenches, small forts and the like. The quarter-field games make for excellent CQB and the half-field games are packed beginning to end with action. Field is pretty narrow, so in anything but full-field (which generally get to be huge sized games) there are about two ways to go at your enemy: forward from the left and forward from the right. The only complaint I have about its layout is that it can often get very speedball-minded (i.e. fast-paced tactics in a slow-paced scenario). However, this is not so much a remark on the field's quality as a complaint about the number of players that can be found there... it gets to a good hundred or so on big days. I have heard people complain about "mud" on this field... I don't know what they were expecting; they live in Raincouver and are coming to play on a WOODSBALL field. If you can't handle the occasional mud puddle and sludge pile, get boots - or move!


Rules are strict, as they should be for an "extreme" sport. Andy gets a lot of new players around here and not one of them ever escapes the safety speech at the beginning of the game; I have seen very few safety breaches during my time playing here. Field speed limit is 275 with no mercy rule, which makes for good bunker rushes and a need for a more tactical approach to playing. Occasionally a referee is a bit of a jerk about stuff that doesn't include safety (including but not limited to laughing at new players and such) but for the most part they are good and do their job well. The front desk is largely friendly and never gripes about seeing you 20 times at the filling station or whatnot.


Paint - this is my only gripe with the field; they often stock sub-standard paint, which rather eclipses the good qualities that the field may have. It is also fairly overpriced (it subsidizes pump players but pisses off the semis!) and I have heard many complaints about its quality from many different people. You can walk across the field on a bad day and see unbroken, new paintballs littering the ground. In addition, I have pulled a paintball at random out of a fresh bag and noticed the wonderful oval shape... This pains me a bit as I KNOW that the profits on this place would enable them to get some slightly better paint and this is the only factor that really hurts the field! This field runs a rigorous Field Paint Only policy as well, so no escaping by bringing your good-quality paint to the field. To NSPB: We LIKE having our paint fly straight and break when it hits people. Please, please get some better paint!


Services/shop are great as a whole. Never known anyone to turn their nose up at free HPA fills (included with entry). No CO2 station, but the regulars have learned that it is in fact worth spending 70$ more on a tank that you can fill for free indefinitely, and the renters are all supplied with HPA tanks anyway (!). Rentals are Tippmann 98Cs which are fast becoming the standard rent gun. Haven't heard many horror stories about these; they are generally kept in good condition. Masks could be better; I strongly recommend buying your own mask first thing if you are playing at this field for a long period of time. The front staff keep a supply of o-rings, allen keys, screwdrivers, etc. which come in handy for the tinkerers. No 9-volts, but Staples is right down the road if you're using an electro.


Players seem okay. A lot of newbies frequent this place, which is sometimes a recipe for an easy game and often an irritation. Please, if you are a new player, take heed to what the regulars are shouting at you to do; listen to people and ask around about strategy. Regulars are often nice guys that will help you out with stuff (just make sure you stay away from the fast-talking electro-packing "hardcore" kids that have come up from Ambush with their Egos and their egos, whose greatest ambition is to put players out rather than have fun). Teams are usually attempted to be split evenly. This works sometimes. The rest of the time an inevitable lopsided defeat is had, since the tiniest gap of skill between two experienced players can often mean a whole game changing. Such is woodsball.


To sum up:

Upside: Field layout, safety, general atmosphere, free air fills, chill regulars, reasonable entry price, caters to the new players

Downside: PAINT, loads of newbies, sometimes lopsided games, unprofessional appearance, caters to the new players


Would I recommend this? Yes, if you feel fine with fields that don't necessarily cater to the regulars and that care less about outward appearances. A good field by anyone's standards. Not perfect, but then again, what is?
Last edited on Tuesday, May 4th, 2010 at 4:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chouie Tuesday, March 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panther Paintball
Tsawwassen Paintball
Review: It's a decent drop in or beginner's field. The best part about this field is that they have a huge hill other than that, there isn't anything about this field too special. They only fill your tank up to 3000psi, so if you have a 4500psi you're out of luck. In addition, they don't allow you have your marker firing fast then 280fps. The paint quality is wildly inconsistent, sometimes you would have high quality paint and sometimes you have the cheapest paint in the world.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vim8888 Tuesday, January 5th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
Near the trains south of the staples on marine drive. Somewhat under lions gate bridge.
Review: North Shore paintball is a great paintball field. F**k all people who say its terrible it is really actually good.

Staff:
The workers at nsp are really nice and know what to do in all situations. One lady who works there is sorta a dumba** and dosent really know much but the refs are really nice, paint checks whenever, call out if you are in a bunker and you are hit so they dont keep shooting you. They are realy nice and if you have problems with your gun they will take a look at it even if it isent rental most of the times they fix it for you.

Air: They only fill up hpa tanks, wich is kinda bad for co2 users but hpa is better anyway.

Guns & Balls: The paint there is meh okay, some of there paint is better, not sure if they do 43 cal. But definetly some of there paint is way better then others.
THe rental guns are Tippman 98 custom(of course) okay shape some are really Sh*tty.
You can rent better guns if you pay more.
They will give you free hpa tanks but its better to bring youre own
they supply barrel sacks for rental and player owned guns.

Food:They supply drinks for 1$ each
but they dont sell anything else wich is kinda dumb.

The field & games:
The field is really cool they have 3 acres. We use the front field more then the back There are alot of tires and bunkers wich is really good. The walls have alot of paint on them but it washes off.
They play alot of diferent games some i have never heard of before. Every time i play a different game.

They are only open weekends. Watch out for big groups of people that look like they now wat they are doing. They often cheat by whipping paint off or have there guns pupped over 310 fps witch is bulls**t. The players are usually nice.
There is no mercy rule soo yea this field is awesome would give ten if they had more food and better paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

defplaig Sunday, October 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsawwasen Paintball Games
Ambush Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Under Lions Gate Bridge on the Indian Reserve
Review: The staff at North Shore paintball are great, if there is a problem with your gun they will fix it right away, even if its not a rental! The rental guns are Tippman 98 customs with VL200, they work great for begginers or intermediate players. If you have your own gun for that $10 entry fee, they will give you a co2 tank unlike Tsawwasen were they charge you $3.
The Field is nicely kept, there are areas where it is extremely muddy but we are in Vancouver. They have well built buildings and a great amount of tires and other bunkers throughout the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nigelt Friday, August 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ultimate Paintball - in Milton Ontario
Paintball City - in Milton Ontario
Directions
to the Field:
lower Capolano (under the bridge)
Review: Playing at NSPaintball has kinda sucked the need for paintball out of me...
The paint there is the worst paint you can get. ive bought better paint at Canadian Tire, every building they have there has a layer of paint on them which makes them sticky and if you put your back on the wall you get stuck... and it stains your cloaths.

Paintballing after a rainy day is horible, its just a mudd pit. and its vancouver so it rains almost everyday. + The owner trys to break your gun i swear, im renting right now and his air tanks leak and he blames my gun which is a Tippmann A-5 and my gun works great but they blame my gun and i got 1 of my own O-rings and put it on the HPA tank and did it right infront of the owner he just took the tank away frome me. The owner tries to rip you off i gave him $20 for a gatorade which is $2 and he gives me $3 back. but i did aventually get my money back (my friends work there and they know)

the reff's there are good there doing nothing wrong most of the time
when there not working they like running on the field with a invert mini being a ass and shooting people up, im ok with it cause i just shoot back and have fun.

the rentals suck... if your lucky you will get a good shooting gun only about 20

i highly recommened staying away from this field
Last edited on Friday, August 28th, 2009 at 3:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

happyhappy Monday, May 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsawwassen - Maple ridge - Ambush - panther
Directions
to the Field:
Under Lions Gate Bridge! cant miss it.
Review: Firstly I have say the speed of the games is amazing never takes to long to get a good game going at the northshore paintball field, secondly most of the refs are very good they will paint check you, and others if you need them too very helpful guys, on & off the field.

Paint is not very consistent BUT its not bad paint, some days there is good paint & some there isnt thats not there biggest problem, what is there biggest problem is that lady who runs the front desk WOW! she has to be one of the most ignorant ladies ive ever meet she is not very helpfull with anything nor is she very clued into what her business provides all she is interested in is $$$$ I have not heard anything good said about her by anyone on that feild, I get more response out of a brick wall. EH!

Anyways moving on........ The game types are nicely mixed up as much as they can be, would be nice for better props, instead of a massive tupper ware for a breifcase would be nice to actually see a breifcase, & flags on poles. minor details really.

The bunkers are not to covered in paint considering the ammount of paint shot on the field, which is very nice there is nothing worse than leaning on a gunked up bunker, thx for keeping them clean guys ;) props to who ever power washes these things.

Take your own food as there is nothing to buy at the field! Warm cans of pop if your into that :| is about as much as you will find there.

To finish up watch out for a few crews who play at this feild, TCS, CSPO ect these guys love to wipe there paint so get the REFS to check them quick, they get loud for no reason as they dont play very well they are either the 1st ones off, or the only time they seem to take ppl down is when they camp in a hut & unload on you from 2' away, i dont really call that skill on either account they spend most of there time looking at the mounds of gear they bring in the carpark!

Overall NSP rocks for a great day out with the family friends kids moms grannies, check it out you'll have a blast!!!!

HappyHappy

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

00101110100110 Tuesday, May 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: i have had nothing but good times at north shore ,the refs are very friendly the paint they offer for sale is great.the only problem i have is from the clueless women at the counter,her lack of experience boggles me.i try to ask her questions regarding the field or the paint and her response is never helpful.their choice of games are fun and you don't wait long between games,they could do really well if they had a consession stand.oh yes there is one more thing that is a problem, there is this group of regulars that go there to play (TCS) you have to watch for these guys they love to wipe paint off when they get hit plus they are terrible as a squad.cspo is also over rated. IYM!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

panther4life! Tuesday, April 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panther, TPG, Ambush
Directions
to the Field:
Near Lions Gate bridge.
Review: North Shore Paintball is a blast. I came out with a group of friends looking to play this field compared to the other local fields and we had so much fun.

SAFETY

Safety is taken very seriously there, as it should be. Each new player that has not played there more than a couple times is given a safety speech on the rules of the field. Those rules include ALWAYS HAVING YOUR MASK ON INSIDE THE FIELD!!!!!!!!! If you lift your mask off inside the field, you are suspended for a game. You just sit around for 20 minutes while your friends get to shoot each other up. It is for your protection and it is a lesson that people should never have to learn the hard way. The field has mesh netting for a viewing area and they have a shooting range. The post before me says that they got rid of the mercy rule but lowered the FPS down to 275. That is acceptable. The mercy rule is hard to deal with and people forget or don't understand it clearly enough so that will help the refs a lot!

PAINT

I am a gun owner so I have shot my fair share of paint and I can tell you that NSPB needs to get some real paint. The paint there is really bad. We bought 2 cases and a good 60% + was dimpled. That was a real drag because I had a hard time shooting straight. I'll come back and play much more if they get much better paint.

STAFF

The staff was great and very helpful. But I found that when I asked a question to a ref with a mohawk, he gave me a fairly rude remark back. He was funny and nice for most of the time but he was a bit of an a**hole to me. The referee's were outstanding. Compared to TPG, where they just stand around, these ref's are getting in the middle of the fire fight and actually care enough to check if your hit. Most of the time they will see if your hit and will just call you out but if your not sure, they will make sure.
1 negitive part of the staff was the lady at the front desk. She needs to get a clue and a much better sense of what the customer wants instead of shooing them away and immediately helping the next person in line. But other than that, if she isn't busy she is fine.

FIELD

The field is really muddy during the winter I've heard and it rained the day before we came. It was pretty bad mud but your playing paintball. What are you expecting? To stay dry and clean all day? But the bunkers are nice, even though covered in old Nelsplat, probably from a decade ago. The field has a nice very big hill in the middle used to play King of the Hill on which is so much fun. They have a bunch of buildings and are in the process of making more, better bunkers.

All facts put together, the refs are funny and hard workers, the field is awesome, but the paint sucks. Fix the paint and you will have the best field in BC. Some of the most fun I've had playing paintball in a long time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media