paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field

North Shore Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
50Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (778) 896-7529
Address: 100 Lower Capilano Rd.
North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3P6
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Slaggo Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tswawassen, panther....
Review: i have been playing at north shore for 3 years. The field has improved every year that it has been open, new features are being built every couple of months and bunkers moved almost every week to keep regulars on there toe's. in this winters storms some of the bunkers like the jail house(aka crack house) where semi destroyed and allot of trees fell in the back, it looks a little thin right now but in the spring everything will be green and beautiful again other then that there were some great improvements in the field like a set of tire stairs up the front and back of the main hill!. allot of people complain that they don't have a compressor for 4500psi, they don't take credit or debit cards, and that they don't have food. that is because it is on native land and there not allowed to put electricity at the location and also they are on a lease so if they did have electricity put in and they were nto able to renew there lease there out all the money that it cost them to put in the power poles (it cost $5000 to put in just one power poll!!!) The staff there are TOP NOTCH. i cannot say enough good things about them. if you have a problem with your gun, i can guarantee you that one of them can help you, from pumps(russ) to timmies(Andy) they find the problem and give you a solution. CHRONO IS MANDATORY AT THIS FIELD , you get one warning and if you caught again your gone, that goes for any rule, in-fact i think there is only one warning per-day for everyone who is playing. do not bring your own paint because they only shoot one or two colors a weekend and will check everybodys hopper if they see other colors flying. as for paint fees i used to think that it was expensive , then i thought about everything that they have to pay for Rent, business license fees, employees, equipment up keep, meterial for building up the field, chrono( oh yeah DON'T SHOOT THE BIG RED CHRONO), and much more other stuff. if you think about it everybody has to make a living, and if you really love paintball then $45 (500)to $80(1000) every-other weekend isn't that much, if it is i suggest you quit smoking or something. the facility's ( tables and such) took a beating this winter so it will be a little while before everything is up to top shape again but when they are up, everything is fairly good.
this field is in its fifth year i believe and will be the number one field in bc in no time at all


The short list:
Reffing- the best i have seen ever
Facility's- there's room for improvement
field- for ever changing (for the better)
prices- you get what you pay for and more(like i said everybody needs to make a living)
Safety- is top priority and if you follow the rules you have a great time
players- the nicest REGULARS i have ever met (leave the smack talk for the drive home)
customer service- just be patient and polite and people will help you, your not the only person there
i give it a 10 but there is room for improvement as far as there being more tables (too crowded in the regulars area)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Comando_chick Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at this one field in Victoria and I have to admit I love North Shore Paintball compared to that one. The ref's were rude and unfair when it came to splitting up teams evenly and they weren't very creative when it came to variety.
Directions
to the Field:
"Follow the yellow brick road.....I mean dirt road"
Review: Well I play at this field almost every weekend and I love it. They play a good variety of games and try to be as fair as possible when splitting the teams up. Sometimes one of the Ref's might be in a bad mood but that doesn't stop them from trying to be as helpful as possible when it comes to having problems with your guns or just having a question in general...... One big downfall is that there is no really food there, just pop & water...sometimes the ice cream man comes by. Safety is a HUGE thing at this field so be prepared to be kicked out for a game or for the day depending on which rule you break if you decide to try and chance it. I love all the staff especially Sherrie who always works the front desk, she's tough but really nice at the same time. Watch out if you overkill a newbie, the regulars (well me at least) watch out for the younger ones in gameplay. I think the prices are a little steep when it comes to buying a case but Andy & Corey give out free paint when possible...... I like all the regulars who go there, it's like one big extended family. All in all I love the North Shore Paintball and would recommend this field to anyone...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

storch Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Maple ridge paintball, xtreme paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Well take the number 1, then take the Capilano road exit. Head all the way down Capilano road, past the native reserve, and it is on the left hand side at the very end. Keep going as far as you can until you hit the train tracks.
Review: This is a fun paintball field to play at. When I was there, and it was only January, they must have had about 60 players near the end. Which is really nice because then the scenarios are just that much tougher. Rentals are 10 dollars until the middle of March, after that they are 15 dollars until the middle of October. Rental guns are Tippmanns which are awesome guns. Overall though this field failed to meet my expectations. They only have one field which is by the way an awesome field! But they would need much more variety to keep me coming back again and again. This one field those is quite unreal. They have two large mountains, or sniper towers. Which are great for playing capture the flag, defend the base, or just all out killing. The paintballs were no name paint when me and my three buddies bought 2000 between four of us we were expecting better paint for 150 bux Canadian. The way they operate the CO2 fills is quite weird. Instead of filling up your tank they give you a tank which you must return at the end of the day. I prefer to use my own tank, since their tanks were using shot o-rings. The safety is also quite good. They give a very good speech at the start of the day and ensure all players always follow these guidelines. If they do not, then say good bye. Also I found that many experienced players attend this field as do many rookies which makes for fun and ensures that you will get better by playing at this field. Although they do have a big red chrony it is not enforced, and I am sure that some players were shooting very hot. They're paintballs were curving like all hell and I know for a fact that they were shooting hot. To make this field a better field they need to make more fields for variety, enforce the safe shooting speed of under 300fps, and get better paint for such a price. If you live on the north shore then Im sure you will only go to this field, but since im from Burnaby, I will now only go to either ambush in Surrey, panther in Langley, or maple ridge paintball. North shore was fun, but not up to snuff.
Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 12:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

North+shore=pb Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not been to many other ones, except maybe very small and un-visited fields like the on in invernmere.
Directions
to the Field:
Use a map, i hint (its by trains!)
Review: Well first of all i dont play on much other fields so i don't have much to compare it to, but this field is very strick about safety. Like if you come out with your barrel plug not on you get a warning by missing a game. Then if you break another rule like taking your mask off during the game they'll throw you out for the day. The hours of operation is always plenty for me since i only play 2-3 hours but the hours are longer than how much i play. Prices are pretty general, like rentals are $15. I really think they should have a deal for rentals so if they pay $20 they get 100 paintballs with the rental and they could get more if they liked.(That would make the field very beginner friendly). Rules are mercy 15ft, Mask must be on at all times in field, barrel plug and safety should be on when you walk out of the field, no off field paintballs, and well try not to hit the refferees because i've shot one with a 6 round burst twice and the ref started getting very angry. The staff there are really helpful and help you with anything you need. Andy, the owner, is one of the nicest guys i know but when he's on the field watch out! Cory is helpful too and i don't think it's possible for him to hate anyone, but anyways he's got a scary russian legion. Lots of players when i go rent guns which makes it easier for me with my Pilot and Fenix. There are still lots of players that go there that are experienced and the refs play so it gets more exciting. It's also fun to watch kids scramble with fear while you fire a auto at them.(Just my personnel enjoyment :) There a porto potty at the back.( Never personnaly used it) I haven't seen food there except pop and chips so remeber to bring a lunch!! Well overall i think north shore is excellent so i give it a 9.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Godfather22 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tswassen(sp?)
Directions
to the Field:
At the very end of Capilano Road off Marine Drive.
Review: I am a regular at NSPB. Everytime i go there i have a great time. Even if i get owned by renters or w/e it always a great time. The staff/refs are absolutely the best there is in my opinion. They have fixed mine or my friends guns on numerous occassion whether it was a big problem or not. Andy(owner) is a great guy and always has a smile on his face and loves to talk to people. Safet is a number 1 priority. They will kick you out for one game as a warning if u come out of the field without the safety and/or barrell plug/sack on. If you takeyour mask off during a game you are gone for the day. Good bye!

The field there is smaller than most field, I would think. However, they make very good use of the space and they are always updating the field. I believe they try and change it every couple of weeks to keep things fresh. The field is bigger than most think so, but the very back of the field is rarely used except for last games when the teams are smaller. I wish they would use it more it is heavily wooded on the outside with many log bunkers, valleys, and a sniper house.

Rental equipment is very good. Tippman Custom 98's they clean them after everyday, and i think they have a couple BT-4's but im not sure. You will almost always see atleast one staff member back there cleaning a gun on a busy day. They are in fairly good condition other than scrapes and such. They also have overalls and masks for rental. Barrell sacks and gloves are also available for purchase.

Prices seem fairly in line with the rest of what i have seen. Although some people seem to complain about the prices of 1000 pbs and above.

They do have a porto potty on hand for those urges. Make sure you bring cash and a snack as they have no electricity for interac or such. They do have pop/water but i have not seen food except for the ice cream truck that rolls by once a day./

All in All this field is a must for a player of any level. This field gets a 10 in my books. Great Staff + Great Field + Paintballs = Great Fun
Last edited on Monday, August 14th, 2006 at 6:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sparrow_kh Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tswassan, panther, sniperz, private courses, and some course in trail
Directions
to the Field:
get a map
Review: Overall the field would rate a 7. Yes ive read lots of reviews saying many things but some key points for a good field are: size, layout, prices, and staff.
1) the field size is a bit immature as when i played there was about 60+ people and the bunkers were packed with people causeing log jams. Also the size does not allow for field variety (yes i know that there are many scenario setups but it is still limited)
2) The layout is very nice. The use of terrain is very nice, having low spots and high ground. Many places do not have such imagination with their fields as is nice to see that NSPB does.
3)Prices, a tricky subject. Starters the 5$ start fee with own gear is pretty standard. 15$ rental is ok, but i would think a 20$ plus 100 balls free would be better for beginners. 10$ for 100 balls also standard, but the decrease in price compared to increase in paint when purchasing in large quatities is a little weak. 1 case of paint sould cost no more than 110-120. And seeing as they are the only field in the north van area (the next closest field being langley or tswassan) they have a large population to draw in and get money from so i know that they can charge a little less for paint.
4)Staff, hmmm, 1 ref was cool, the other 2 seemed to be angry all the time. Now i know a ref will read this and go WTF, FU. ...But if you plan to be a ref in a sport where balls fly past you at 300 fps you should expect to get hit every now and then,a liability of the job!
Plus you are dealing with a large population of people would have never played before and yes, they will ask dumb questions and do unexpected things, again part of the job to deal with. The refs are there to keep it safe and fun, they should not be getting pissed off at a newb for asking a question. anyways i would rate staff as average. need improvment
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Ion_Guy1989 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsawwassen, Ambush (great for speedball), and Panther paintball
Directions
to the Field:
end of capilano road just off marine drive before lions gate bridge
Review: I am a regular at this field and have played at alot of other fields, but i would have to say that this one is one of the best. The staff there are really good with the safety , and make sure that you obey the rules. They are always willing to help you with gun problams as best they can. Although there field isnt the biggest it is always expanding with new bunkers and houses each week. The prices are good but it is a bushball field so they arent the best. Although Their prices are better than tsawwassens 12$/100pb. The hours of operation on the weekend are good and they do stay open longer than they say most of the time. One of the only downers is that they dont have any food down there just chips and pop so bring a lunch or snack with you. So over all i htink this is a really good field and will give it a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

aceofhearts Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have nothing to compare with(i am a loser who doesn't want to go as far as taiwassen for paintball when i could get there easy at north shore)
Directions
to the Field:
bottom of capilano road.... not that hard....just go till you will hit the trains
Review: this seems like a great field, i have nothing to compare it to, lots of ambush opportunities and a sweet hill, only problem is its a damn hard hill to hold. there is high ground low ground, a system of tire bunkers and foliage at the back(ambush :P) the hill is connected to raised ground that takes up most of the right side of the field. from there you can shoot down at people in the middle, left or even the small alley on the right. you can always find cover when you need it, so games at north shore often get to be close quarters.SAFETY IS TOP PRIORITY FOR THE WORKERS AT NORTH SHORE PAINTBALL. the refs are always fair and great fun to play with when they bring their guns. food is very limited. bring a cell phone and order pizza.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

¤paintwarrior¤ Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
most other feilds in the area.
Review: I really liked this field. Its got a very friendly staff, They have nice food,but not what i'd call nutritional (chips, pop, and sometimes hot dogs). The have good field hours as well. The field is very nice and is constantly upgraded for a continually better playing experience. The only negative i can think of is they don't have a speedball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ace_of_diamonds Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none.
Directions
to the Field:
down at the end of capilano road off marine drive
Review: Whether You Are Just Starting Out At Paintball or if you have been playing for ages, northshore paintball is an excellent place to play. the field has tons of variety and allows you to play in whatever style you feel like. also, the staff are always playing when they arent refing your games so if you have a issue you can freely exact your revenge upon them (which would be unlikely as the staff are very nice). there are always people there. it has lots of regulars and everyone who goes there often knows everyone else pretty well. it also usually has plenty of people renting so your really never short on opposition. the only downside is that it is a bit expensive but overall it is fully worth it. it gets add-ons on a weekly basis and is better everytime you go.

the only downside are that paint is 100 for 10$ (could be worse though)
Last edited on Wednesday, March 15th, 2006 at 4:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media