paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field

North Shore Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
50Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (778) 896-7529
Address: 100 Lower Capilano Rd.
North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3P6
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
rockndude Thursday, February 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tawassen, Ambush, Panther, and several others in Alberta and USA
Directions
to the Field:
Bottom of cap road right next to the train tracks
Review: I have been playing paintball down at north shore paintball since shortly after they first opened for business. I last posted a review on this site almost 18 months ago and I figure it is time to update it.

Field layout

The field is narrow near the parking lot check in counter widening out as you move back of the large central hill in the middle of the field. Even though the field is quite narrow it has a varied landscape with several ridges hills and trenches. Once the numbers are whittled down a little moving around the field is easy. The bunkers, trenches, and buildings are for the most part well laid out for balanced game play. Although I personally believe that the “mesh” bunkers are a cop out. Most of the bunkers near the entrance to the field are covered in bunker rub. I have witnessed people literally peeling them selves off when they leave them (and those stuff doses not wash out easy). In the winter the field gets quite muddy with lots of standing water and ankle deep mud pits dotting the playing area. I suppose asking the owners to control our west coast weather is a little much though.
8 out of 10

Game Play

The refs have quite the library of games to play and they almost always play the game twice switching teams from one side of the field to the other. Groups of friends are usually able to stay on the same team if they like.

I know that safety is the top priority of refing a rec ball field. And they do a great job keeping people safe on the field at north shore. However, recently all other aspects of the reffing at the field has dropped off. Mostly it is the younger refs they seam more prone to grouping together chatting on the field. They don’t seam to enforce the rules uniformly. I have watched them blow calls and seen people wipe right at their feet. Of course there all not that bad and the Sunday refs are way better then the Saturday crew.
6 out of 10

Rental Gear

Was at one time great but it is showing its age now. If you get a new marker you will have a great day of paintball if you get an old one your not going to hit anything. Also I have a hard time believing that most of the older compressed air tanks they rent out would pass a hydro test. They are all dinged scratched and I have seen the tank start to unscrew from the regulator when they are packing up at night. It is had to believe a field with such good on field enforcement of safety would be so lax with their equipment.
4 out of 10

Front Area

The check in area has recently undergone a substantial upgrade with the addition to an old shipping container. Although still no power or running water and the port-a-potty I believe is the same one installed almost 4 years ago… Not cool it smells bad!
6 out of 10

Overview

North Shore Paintball is now a middle of the road paintball field. They have all of the potential they once did but have become lax in equipment upkeep and training of new staff. I would recommend North Shore Paintball to any equipment owners and then only on Sundays when the reffing is still better then average.
Overall a 6 out of 10

When I last reviewed this field I gave it a 9 out of 10 I hope I can increase the rating soon
Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008 at 12:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mballer Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panther Paintball, quite comparable
Review: I have visited ns paintball several times in this last year.
I find the paint to be of a low grade nelson paint, and do not appreciate the high prices of a case. Come on guys, I dont mind paying the high prices but provide some quality with that.(I use an A-5 So its not my setup) The field itself is excellent, with plenty of obstacles and bunkers to cross and fight for. The field is clean and well kept, with a great viewing area. I found the staff have everyones safety in mind always, and are always on top of things. I did find that some staff members could be rude at times but I guess under certain circumstances this is expected. I also found that certain games like rampage are a waste of paint and i will never play again. At certain busy time s the field does seem to be understaffed. I was once there on a saturday and their were long lines for air fills. Another downer about this field is that they use scuba tanks to fill air. this means you can only really get about 2200 psi into your tank. Other paintball fields like Panther use a air compressor with a fill table which allows you to fill to 3800 psi. Other then that we had as great time.
Still room for improvement but good job and keep up the standard. ns is becoming the place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Edder Friday, January 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPG, Big shots, North shore, maple ridge
Review: This field is sweet. In every sense of the word.

The field: Appears to be small when you first get there, but when you actually start playing is roughly small to medium some crossover. The terrain itself is varied ranging from a jungle to a huge hill with an extensive trench system to a bridge to a small river and to series of bunkers. However one cannot review the field without mentioning the scope of the field itself. The staff first of all paid attention to nearly every aspect of the field, and no where have i encountered such a diversive and engaging field. Finally the field is growing at such a stunning rate, that its growing every week. 10/10

The equipment: 98 customs, 20 OZ HPA, V-force gogs. Thats a pretty good setup. Rarely the 98s breakdown, meaning that they are well kept in very good condition. They use HPA not CO2, thats a first fur me, but i cant complain about HPA. The V-force gogs are actually pretty good. 10/10

The staff: Hats off to the entire staff, they are well trained, friendly, engaging and just overall great people who are devoted to paintball. Andy definately chose the right people. 10/10

Paint: For $10 for 100 is alright, however $150 for 2000 is a little overpriced but meh whos gonna shoot that much paint so doesn't really matter. 10/10

Marker owners: This field is pretty much were all the north shore marker owners go. Its almost designed for marker owners to get the most out of the game. 10/10

Overall: 10/10

Conclusion: This field definately deserves its rating.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

supguyex Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
no others
Review: It's really nice at northshore, except it's a little bit hidden, but if you can find it, it's completely worth it. The staff are really friendly and the staging area is really well ventilated, they provide towels to wipe yourself off and a lil tank of water for mask lenses. They have a small shooting range, but it's cool. The atmosphere is very relaxed and there is a good variety in terrain, from dirt, to rocks and such. many different paths everywhere. The setup is always changing, which is nice, and they have a viewing area for curious parents and pansy girlfriends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingman 1000 Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tsawwassen paintball games
bigshots paintball
Review: This field rocks !. I went there today and wow it is a nice field. The staff there are really nice and help you if ur gun breaks down. As for prices there awsome 5 bux to get in and free air (nitro only) and 8 bux a hundred for paint. The field is sick too, i like the big hill in the back, and there plans for building more stuff in the field sounds awsome. This field deserves a 10/10 !.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alijan Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Review: I've played at this field for about 1.5 years and worked for about 4 months. I pretty much know the field like the back of my hand now. There is always lots of players to play with/against. Even in the rain there is around 20 players, and on a sunny Saturday, the number goes up to 150. The field size is quite large. We try to keep the field as clean as possible; each broken bunker we see, we try to fix it back up for the next game; every hour one of the workers goes for a garbage run to keep the players in a clean environment. The field changes almost every month or even week (it could be just adding up minor bunkers, or building up a house bunker)! As workers, we try to be as nice to the players as much as possible. This is probably the safest field there is; there is no way that you will be playing without a safety speech (you don't have to hear it each time, only the first time players). If you ift up your mask at all in the field or come out of the field without a barrel condom/plug you will be ejected for a round. if it happens again, you get to go home. This sometimes upset the players but Andy does his very best to keep the players and the workers safe. The equipment is also pretty good. If you don't have anything, it is $15 for a Vforce Shield Mast, Tippmann 98C marker, barrel condom, a 200 round hopper, coveralls and either HPA or CO2 tank. The refills are free for the whole day! If you have your own marker however, you only have to pay $5. The paint prices are $10 for 100, $45 for 500, $80 for 1000, and $150 for a case. The paintballs are good quality Nelson paintballs ranging from the Affordaballs to Splats to Hot Spots. You might think the prices are to high, but it is just like any other field and it is actually the cheapest field in the Lower Mainland. ....and besides, come on, this is paintball. All in all, this is a great field. I shall give it 10/10. If you do come down to the field, you are sure to have a blast!
Last edited on Sunday, October 2nd, 2005 at 6:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

mikeh92 Sunday, September 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ONly NOrth Shore and twassen
Review: North Shore is a really awsum paint ball place...the games are awsum....the field is the best and the guns are pretty good....there are so many bunkers it helps so much...the only bad part about the field is tryin to get up the hill from the back in king of the hill attack...but overall north shore is a awsum place to play....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrK Sunday, September 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Non that compair
Review: North Shore paintball is the best balling field in Vancouver. I always find myself with 20 30 and 40 other's on my team. Never have I seen so many players at 1 field. I always feel like part of the family and Andy makes the experience exciting and fun.
I will only go to North Shore, the hills, the bush, the bunkers. They have it all.

See you at North Shore Paintball

MrK out

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wasabi51989 Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
haven't played at any other fields in Canada/British Columbia
Review: The field is really big and awesome. There are plenty of bunkers and it's a lot of fun to play. Unless you go the day after it rains (really, I guess it was my mistake). The staff was somewhat friendly, great deal on admission and on air (free pretty much). I heard they are going to get an airball field soon too, but I'm not sure if that's true. Overall the field is great.

The only problem is the cost of paint. They won't let you on the field with your own paint, and a case of theirs is 150$ CSD. I'm an American, so that is roughly 120$ a case USD, which is ridiculous. I play frequently in southern California, and my ball of choice is Bonus Balls, which I think are $35USD/case MSRP ( I get them for 20 on sponsorship). They are of the same quality of the field paint, if not better in some cases.

Overall, the field is a ripoff because of the paint charge, but if you live close, and really want to have a good time, despite the price, North Shore is for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPG, bigger, more room for people, but less tactical gameplay
Panther, has speedball and similar prices, but forest play gets really dark, and it's pretty much at the USA border.
Review: First of all, the refs are fine. If you need Co2 (they don't have a fill station - HPA compressor only), you can sign out a 20oz for free. Barrel plugs and condoms are provided. Rentals are Tippmann 98s with HPA. The staging area is complete, and there is a good emphasis on safety. Make sure you don't screw around with safety rules or you get kicked out for a game or even for the whole day.

The field is long and relatively narrow, and mostly bushball oriented. It varies in elevation, from valleys with bridges to hills with sandbag bunkers and foxholes for defence. Along the bottom of the hill are speedball tire bunkers and sandbags which are used in big 'crunchball' games once in a while, where they limit the play area to a small strip. There are alot of ways to get around the action and flank the other team.
There are alot of different game scenarios played including centreflag push, capture the flag, team elimination, crunchball (aka speedball kind of) and hotzone which is speedball crossed with dr dodgeball.

The surrender rule is sort of enforced, mostly suggested. When I went to this field, there were alot of renters. The ratio was something like 4:1 renters to owners.

I love the $5 field fee including HPA fills and Co2 tank loans. It's really close to home, and if I take a good route through downtown you can get to North Shore really fast. The only problem I had was that I missed a left turn at capilano road and ended up going all the way across Lion's Gate again, and having to turn around on georgia street and come back.

I believe it is cash only, so bring cash or stop by the ATM at Petro Canada at the big intersection to the north of the field. I love this field, and I'll probably be going here every week.

North Shore is my favorite field right now, and the terrain is the most fun to play on at a very competetive price compared to others. Definately the best rec-ball experience in the Vancouver area.
Last edited on Saturday, April 23rd, 2005 at 2:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media