paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field / North Shore Paintball Field

North Shore Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
50Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (778) 896-7529
Address: 100 Lower Capilano Rd.
North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3P6
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Willie_J Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsawasssin paintball games
Review: Well ive been playing at North Shore since i started playing paintball.
mainly the reason being its close to home, i know the staff, and its a great field.
The Hill(Hamburger) is a awsome hill with many ways to defend and attack.
The field is located on Squamish Nation land and its free entery for members.
Paint is 10/100 45/500 they only use compressed air on there rental markers, they will rent out Hpa tanks if u need one and one is available. The refs to spite all the talk from previous reviews are not at all like that.
Staging area is under construction.
THIS is one of the Best fields in the lower mainland
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neoblackout Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Various fields in B.C., various fields in Toronto, and various fields in Edmonton.
Review: This field is really a great field. They're always doing maintaining of the field (Which is a very good thing). And their paint is relatively cheap compared to most other field in B.C.

Pro:
Cheaper paint
Good field conditions
Friendly refs and staff
Rentals which seem to be in good shape (I never used rentals though)
Compressed air
Free renting of a compressed air tank when it's not busy
Compressed air
Strict rule keeping (In a good way)
Refs play too sometimes!
Compressed air!

Con:
Cases of 2000 paintballs are a tad overpriced
No electricity
Port-a-Potty bathroom
A little bit too bushy on the hills
Needs to make the staging area a little bit better
In the middle of nowhere (Near a 5 or 6 way intersection... scary...)

Even with these minor cons, this field will receive a solid 10 out of 10! (PS get to know the staff and refs there, they can be really nice). It's a very fun atmosphere! Cheers to North Shore! Yo ho! Yo ho, a paintballers life for me. We shoot, we play, we get tagged anywaaaaaayyyyyys! Yo ho! Yo ho, a paintballers life for me... (I do not own the Pirates of the Carribean theme song)
Last edited on Monday, January 3rd, 2005 at 10:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder_Llama Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Ok so for my first ever time paintball i took $70 CN which is idk maybe $60 US off the top of my head, anyway I went with one of my friends who is a pro. He rocks. I got there about lunchtime on a rainy rainy day and i was playin paintball within 30mins which is good i guess. The field ROCKS! It is sooo cool, the car and the hill and everything just rocks. Three of the 'staff' were there, I know some of them and yes they ware jackasses and yes they're everything mentioned below, but u no the field was kinda worth it. Its $10 CN for 100 balls, the balls are of fair quality. $80 CN for 1000 balls. Field fee is $5 CN and you can rent a Tippman 98 ,crappy mask, CO2 tank, overalls and hopper for $15 CN.

A good field overall but they dont have a CO2 fill which REALLY sucks!

Scuse the crappy spelling + grammer, its late and imtyping real fast.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballin8888 Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush Panther Twasseen Maple ridge
Review: Field: The field is amazing they have only 2 fields but both of them are amazing good. The first field is a bush ball field of shorts there is countless bunkers and 2 minor hills and one huge hill in the back. Everything about the first field is amazing the layout and the time and effort of the staff really pays off. The second field is a real bush ball field with trees and logs situated everywhere. There are passages and paths that pop out of no where.

Staff: The staff here are amazing. They are always willing to help and make your paint balling day a enjoyable one. The staging area and set up place is small but you get what you need and there is usually always someone behind the counter willing to help. The Refs are on the whole pretty good they are always willing to go and paint check you or clean your barrel, but i am gonna have to agree with the last few posts that the younger refs dont take it very nicely when they get hit.

Prices: The prices here are much cheaper than everywhere else for bush ball and there equipment is the same tippmans 98 but with the one exception of compressed air.

Convenience: This field is close to everything and everyone its just off capilanio road so its close to bus stops lions gate bridge and the highway. The directions are on their website www.nspaintball.ca

Game Play: The game play is usually quite fair and there have a variety of games that the play and the teams are usually quite good.

All in all i think that this field is got to be the best around and is only going to get better with time and they are well on there way for only being open for 6 months or so
Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 11:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Bod Saturday, June 19th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush, Maple Ridge, Tsawwassen, Panther, Evolution Paintball (Edmonton), Paintball Action Games (Edmonton)
Review: Convenience: Great! Finally a field located close to the Vancouver area. Easily accessible by transit and vehicle. No longer do you have to travel to the bowels of Surrey or Maple Ridge. 8/10

Staging: At present, the area where you register, collect your equipment and acquire air/maintenance is completely inadequate. This area is quite small and during the busy periods is quite chaotic and appears very disorganized. If the area was moved away from the field entrance it would open up additional space. The refill area was poorly run as it took more than 5 minutes before I could get my tank refilled and purchase additional paint, by then several people were waiting in line. There were people running around behind the desk, but none seemed interested in assisting with customer needs. 4/10

Equipment: No different than what is found at any other field in the Lower Mainland. I'm used to having an agitated hopper and using one that isn't is at times quite frustrating. The operators have opted to use larger steel compressed air tanks which is a step up above other fields. The use of large air tanks means a greater number of shots and as with CO2 tanks you don't get the frost on the tank after firing a barrage of paint. Unbelievably the lens on my mask did not fog up, but I figure after it goes through a few more uses it will. 10/10

Field: At present there is only a single field, but I'm advised that more are on the way, land...it's so precious. Field layout is one of the best that I have seen with a giant termite hill at the back. Within the hill are carved trenches and other barricades providing excellent cover and concealment. From the top of the hill a trail leads into a small ravine which provides ample opportunity for ambushes and great firefights. Staff have done well creating numerous barricades from large plastic pipes and old used tires. There is a viewing area provided which gives those eliminated and spectators alike a great opportunity to see what is taking place. 7/10

Game Play: Unfair to say the least. At most fields, staff at least make an attempt to mix those with personal equipment with rentals together. At the time of play, it was personal equipment vs rentals and who do you think dominated? As well, too much time was spent by referees complaining about getting hit and what they were going to do if it continued. However, after playing as long as I have I still learned a new game, "President." Great idea and I'll be recommending this game the next time I play. 2/10

Staff: A staff member of note was Andy, I later discovered that he is one of the co-owners and a former member of Team Blitzkrieg. Very helpful and informative and like all first year entrepreneurs trying to balance customer satisfaction and running a smooth operation. However, I did find him very personable and willing to answer any and all questions, queries and comments. 10/10

However, with regards to his employees, Andy needs to spend some time training them on the fine art of "Customer Service." Sure it would be great to have a field and just play against your friends, but friends don't pay the bills. Too many times I observed various staff members telling paying customers to "Shut Up," ignoring other customers as they waited for air and/or paint refills and treating 'regulars' with greater respect. I know during games it's not uncommon for referees to take some hits, but after hearing them whine and complain to over 50 customers repeatedly it makes you want to turn your equipment back in. Referees were constantly 'threatening' customers that they would get their own guns and place multiple hits on people. 1/10

Overall: After playing at over 11 fields across Canada and Washington State, North Shore paintball is well on it's way. What the field lacks in size and facilities, Co-owner Andy Chong makes up with his service and dedication to the sport. The only thing that will affect the success of this field is the lack of customer service, professionalism and tact his employees possess. 3/10

Rating: A low score was given based solely on the poor and immature attitude and behavior of the referees and the lack of service.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004 at 9:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

BiOhAzArD_410 Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
twassin
Review: This feild is AMAZING. EVen though i've only been to 2 other field I still think this field is sweet. the field only opened about 6 months ago and its alredy HUGE it has 1.5 fields so far and is hoping to get three by the end of this month. (July) The field starts off with a small target range to the right and gets into this forest area from then on its about 30 meters of flat land fild with about 22 bunkes made of wood dirt car doors sandbags wheels and plastic/metal serfuces. on the left there is a hill that goes steeply up about 3 meters and goes down. the other side has three bunkers on a path that leads back to the middle area of land. To the far right is some barracks that start to lead up a hill that takes you on a path that leads to the top of the hill.down the middle there are many bunkers of all typ and when you reach the bottom of the big hill you can go 4 diffrent ways: the first to the far richt will take you down a path with a large red plastic tube blocking it you go over that and continue up a path tha takes you up to the top of the hill, the second is reached by taking the same path up till the plastic red tube when you reach the tube you go to your left as you see a small hill leadind to sandbag bunker and if you climb a little higher you will see a path that con take you to some bigger cover that has a good view of the hill to the far right mentioned earlier, the third way is to go strait through the small tunnel of branches into the heart of the hill which is riddled with sand barracks led to by well dug in tunnels with wooden bridges going over them eventually bringing you to the top of the hill so you can get a good look of the whole field, the forth and final is to the left which leads to a rather large area where there are many bunkers and one large circular bunker that can fill 10 people very comfortably. This area leads to 2 ways up the hill: the first is a small hill leading to a small 2 floor bunker which connects to one of well dug tunnels mentioned earlier a good way to evacuate the hill, the seconed is a tall steep hill in a stair like for mation that brings you to the back of the top of the hill this path is useful for sneaking to the top of the hill or flanking the players approaching the hill. The reffs are great and are willing to run up to you and clean your barrel. They enforce the rules of the field very well and will talk to you off the field. Andy the head reff is very good at running the field he gives every player a safty speech before letting them tough any equipment and will make you sorry if you break the rules. They rent out tippman 98s with PSI barrel plugs they will refil PSI for free there which is not a problem for people with co2 because if all guns are not rented out you can usually rent a psi tank. This is a AMAZING field. Thanks for reading!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coolness617 Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ambush, maple ridge, panther, sniperz
Review: I think that north shore paintball is a great field. where it is small it makes up for that in the amount of obstacles and terrain. Their is one big huge hill that is perfect to play king of the hill on. U can attack from all angles and it is a close action game. Their is lots of small trees that u can hide behind because the paintball almost never makes it through them. Their is one ridge that u can climb up and snipe down to the lower flater part of the field that is perfect for straight team elimination. Their is also a mercy rule at the field that has been a great rule because it has saved many people huge welts and cuts. The mercy rule is 10 feet, so u can still get that close action that u came for. They are building two more fields that will be ready in july. The first field is a forest tpe fiel with all tree bunkers and thing like that. The second on is a town lands cape with buildings and houses. The refs are the nicest refs out of all the fields that i have been to. They will help u with ur gun and just talk to u when the games not on. Well to sum it all up this field is a great field for paintball. Over all i would give it a nine.
Last edited on Sunday, June 6th, 2004 at 10:14 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jbarbour Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
panther, twassen, ambush, Capture the flag (indoor and outdoor), MR indoor, Rampage, Weekend warriors.
Review: Overall this is a good field. I am a Ref at Northshore, so what I have to say u probubly wont beileve because u probubly think im sticking up for the field. Wrong, Although The field has its flaws just like every other field out there, I have to say it is very good considering the time its been open for. Yes I do agree with having a stationary chronograph but due to the fact there is not stationary place to put the equipment YET we only have the portable one. And about shooting the reffs. We dont get mad unless we know ur doing it on purpose. So dont shoot us, Because Although we dont have our markes on us while reffing that can easily change. I give it a ten, because in the time its been open for its a great place to play, and an even better place to work.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

fairladyZ32 Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsawwassen Paintball
Review: I have been playing paintball, mostly woodsball for a year now and I must say, this was by far the most detailed field I've ever been to. Although it lacks in size (narrow) it makes up on numerous bunkers and hills. You must go and play on this field to see the detail they have put into this field.

The Good:
- Field has extremely good detail (based in WW2 scenario)
- Extremely helpful staff
- Cheap paint (money wise) and cheap entry fee
- Location: Finally there is a paintball field to call home in Vancouver
- If you bring your CO2 and run out, theyll lend you their N2 tanks free of charge

The Bad:
- Need more than one field (theyre in the process of making two more)
- Must use Barrel plug, should just have a rack to store guns
- Refs are pretty young and once they get hit, they dont take it nicely, theyll hound you throughout the entire time youre there.

Conclusion:
Although they are a new field, things are just picking up for them so the field cant be perfect, but you must pay attention to the detail they have constructed in their field. Two more fields are going to be opened during the summer - mid June I believe.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

spyder_only1 Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Twassen paintball, big shots
Review: This field is a great place for novice players and renters, I think the field is too narrow ,personally, but it has a awesome hill and great bunker positioning. The best part of the field is the hill for sniping and assault possibilities. The people at this field DO NOT fill ur c02 which completely pisses me off seeing as when I go I have to rent one of theirs which is a total jip and Im just not happy with that. The best part of this field is its low entrance fee, hill and as well cheap paint. I also have to complain about their rules :( forcing me to go out and get a barrel condom instead of just leaving my gun in a waiting area they are making gun owners put barrel condoms on to walk around outside of the field area. I like this field because of its convenience to me but the rest just needs improvement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media