paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Combat Zone Paintball Field / Combat Zone Paintball Field / Combat Zone Paintball Field / Combat Zone Paintball Field

Combat Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
53Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (321) 454-2374
Address: 555 Fortenberry Rd.
Merritt Island, Florida 32953
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Sicest Slash Saturday, July 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Orlando and just some friend's local fields.
Review: This field is really cool. Super nice people, and good prices. I like the atmosphere too, I went there last week by myself and I had a blast. Its awesome just think you can go there any day of the week, rainy, hot, freezing, hurricane(just kiding), and they're open till ten on the weekends. As for the field its a cool urban tactical theme with cars and houses. Its got a snack bar, an arcade,and a super nice, well stocked proshop. As for things that could be better, I don't know maybe the lighting. Check out the site: http://www.combatzoneindoorpaintball.com/ ,and then checkout the field. I gave this field a ten because its what a paintball field should be: a friendly atmoshere, great field, and good prices.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 10:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballempire Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hurricane and Space Coast. First of all there is no comparison. Combat Zone is an indoor field. Indoor fields have advantages that far outweigh any outdoor field I've ever played at.
Review: First I would like to start out by saying that the last reviewer was right in some areas and way off in others. Yes!!! The owner is strict and there are rules that need to be followed. I have been playing paintball since 1986 and I can say that there are two types of fields, the ones that are strict and enforce the rules and the ones that don't give a CRAP!! On this field they care enough to be strict. Every field I've ever been at that was'nt strict people have gotten hurt. The owner or one of his staff give the safety and rules speech everytime you play and in that speech the owner (Derek) tells all of his customers that you are not allowed to shoot up at his ceiling tiles, light fixtures, strobe lights sound system or emergency exit signs or emergency lights. Even though these items are chicken wired in it is still not cool to destroy them on purpose just because they are there. It's thoses kind of jerks that give the rest of us a bad name. So anyway in Derek's speech he tells everyone that in the 7 months that he has been open he has had (7) of the lights (DESTROYED!) 3 Emergency exit signs (DESTROYED!) (2) Speakers (THAT WE LISTEN TO MUSIC WITH!) (DESTROYED!) and several ceiling tiles, totaling close to $1,000 dollars in damage. He tells you that if you are caught deliberately shooting up at these things he will call the police and have you arrested for desrtuction of private property. I don't blame him at all!!!.

CZ is a very cool place to hang out and play paintball or just sit around and talk about it, or sit and watch paintball videos. There are times when they are slammed and times when it is slow. But it is the only 7 day a week field I have ever been to and I think that a lot of people just don't know that there is even a place like this anywhere. The owner (Derek) is a U.S. Marine and he can be a little intimidating at first but that's because thats how the Marine Corps make them, but if you talk to him you will see that he is a great guy. He actually talks to his customers, not down to them or even at them. He likes to talk with them. It does not matter if they are new to paintball and know nothing or if they have been playing since the beginning. I think that is cool!

Prices is a different story. Does CZ cost a little more (YES!) but if you look at it this way it might make a little sense... It is open 7 days a week 365 days a year, they are not weekend only like outdoor fields. (On Fridays and Saturdays they are open (Combat Zone) until 10:00pm) you don't have to worry about the hot Florida sun beating down on you, no worrying about (Encephalitus) (I'm sure it is spelled wrong) from mosquitos, no snakes Etc Etc, and most improtant NO RAIN!!!. When you are tired you can in the pro shop and chill get some snacks or a drink, kick back and watch a video on the big T.V. This place has a lot to offer. Now for that conveince there is a price...All you cry babies need to think about it like this. At CZ we can play 7 days a week, with no bother about anything, it is a breeze to get reloaded, or more air, we get a pass that lets us leave the field and go home if we want and then come back that same day (I've never been to a field that did that before) they will fix your gun for you for (FREE) if you screw it up. The rental package includes everthing you need to play for only $5.00 bucks. there are viewing windows everywere so you can watch your friends play when you get out, there is an arcade, there is a snack bar. I'm sure there is stuff I'm forgetting but you get my point. As far as paint goes CZ carrys two types of Field Piant ONLY! DraXxus "Blaze" and Zap "TORK" the other review said he could get them on the net. You can get Blaze on the net but it is not field Blaze. If you look at the boxes it is clearly different. The case of field paint says "FIELD USE ONLY" and only field owners can buy it. The other reviewer sounded young and his profile says he has not been playing very long so I'm sure that he just did not know any better. All fields have field paint and none of the ones that I play at except CZ sell it for less than $20.00 a bag thats equal to $80.00 a case. CZ Field paint is $18.00 a bag or $70.00 a case, and field paint is not slop paint. Most new players don't even know that there are 4 major different kinds of paint. 2nd run (slop), 1st run (Better), Premium (Best), Ultra Premium (Tournament Level). Besides, unlike outdoors this man is running a business. He has to pay rent, electricity, supplies and so on; it is called overhead. So we pay a premium to have the largest 7 day a week, indoor and only indoor in the county, it's worth it so we can play whenever we feel like it.

I have been coming here since they opened and Derek has done a lot to make the place better. I have heard him tell customers to tell him what they like and don't like and he will do what he can to make it better. There were a lot of problems in the begining but I see it getting better every time I'm there. Like I said earlier he listens to his customers. The pro shop has gotten bigger and his selection better, he just introduced air soft and hopes to have airsoft days too. But it never ceases to amaze me that insted of telling the man what you like or don't like so many of you will just take your fustration out on the internet, and cry like little babbies. Derek told me he almost went bankrupt trying to open this place, so all paintballers could have a place to play safely and whenever they want. Besides I don't see any of you doing it. He says he has gotten to play 10 games since he opened because he is so busy trying to make it better. So give the guy a break!

The field is a little gross, but you need to remember on an outside field good old mother nature will wash everything down every so often. On an indoor it is a little different. I have heard that they are going to reskin all the inside walls with new plywood with metal lamination so they can spray them down and keep them a least a little bit cleaner, but like the kid said it is a lot of fun the way it is.

Now BYOP! CZ only has it every other Sunday and every once and a while on a Wednesday. (- THEY JUST STARTED A NEW THING--- IF YOU COME ON A BYOP AND BUY THEIR CHEAP PAINT INSTEAD OF BRINGING IN OTHER PAINT YOU CAN GET IN FOR REGULAR FIELD FEES!!! NO $5.00 INCREASE) and you probably don't know it but BYOP actually hurts fields, How you say, well fields rely on selling paint in order to pay the bills and make profit. When you come on a BYOP they have to raise the field prices by $5.00 dollars so they can compensate for lost revenue on paint. They don't do it to be jerks. CZ sells a very good selection of less expensive paint. (that you can use on BYOP's) It's better than the Wal-mart seconds that most of you probably buy. So if you are going to buy less expensive paint go see them at CZ they will hook you up. They have the best group rate I ever seen but I don't remember all the specifics check out there web site it has all the 411.

Well, that's all I have to say, (For Now!) if you are open minded go there yourself and check it out. Or check out their website www.combatzoneindoorpaintball.com

Just remember paintball will be good or bad it just depends on you!

I give Combat Zone a solid 10!

Signed,

Paintballempiremaster









Last edited on Tuesday, July 20th, 2004 at 11:47 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

scubasteve3516 Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at hurricane. hurricane i think is not as good as a place to play just becasue i like the style of paintball play at combat zone and how it is set up. but when it comes to prices hurricane wins becasue its only 7 dollars.
Review: Combat zone is awsome. i love how the whole place is set up. its kinda like its swat style of a more tactical place to play, like if you were playing in an office building i geuss you could say. it has building lined up along the walls and cars. it is really fun. its easy to get close to people unlike hurrican casue there are so many people. they also have strobe lights there which is awsome with the lights off. they have a sorround sound system (awsome.) and they have fog machines (very awsome.)

some bad things about it are the prices. it cost atleast 10 dollars to get in, then you have to use their paint which cost $70 for 2000 when i can get the same paint online for $40. the walls are also covered in half a centimeter of slime from all the paint that has been shot at them. there is so much on the cars they look white and the real color of one is blue. i dont care though i think it adds to the fun, but not most people. another bad thing is the guy is strict. he has alot of rules, but unless your an idiot who wants to be arrested you wouldnt break any of them. thats right, the guy there said if he finds out anybody shoot the cieling or lights of fog machines and strobe lights he will call the cops and have you placed under arrest. and he was serious.

well despite those bad thingsi love the place and i am going to start going on sundays when you can bring your own paint. but that costs 20 to get in 25 to rent stuff. but i dont need to rent. this place is awsome so go their now. especcially on sundays because we need more people most of thre time their are only like 15 people their if even. so come now! i give it a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dzhezKov Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hurricane, Spacecoast
Review: The field is not a bad field as far as indoor fields go; the only thing that I feel needs to be looked at in the short term is the lighting. The drop ceiling and fluorescent lights are fine for an office setting, but they are not good at all for paintball. So much of aiming is being able to see the arc of your paintball in mid-flight, and it's difficult to see that under these lights. The drop ceiling should be removed and larger stadium or flood lights should be installed higher in the ceiling.

The owner is a top notch guy and very nice to his customers, if you have a complaint, voice it and I have no doubt he'd bend over backwards trying to fix it for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

steven_surf Friday, June 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at alot of other fields and this one has the most cheapest price on paintballs and markers, the admission pricea is the cheapest i've seen in the Brevard County area.
Review: I had the best time at Combat Zone, Paintballer111 is on Some cracked out MEDS if he thinks that this field is expensive, the owner is ex-marine so u can tell he knows what he's up against, he fully hooks you up if you need anything at all. He recently covered the tile with hard dirt clay so u wont slip or fall. There is so much stuff to bunker yourself behind and to top it all of they have Strobe Lights, Smoke Machines and a sweet fully surround-sound speaker system. NE ways...me, my brother, and my two cousins went there for a full day and had a freakin blast. The course is HUGE!!! Anything u can think of is there! They have old cars, trucks, barrels, wood walls and buildings you can run into...just incredible...im so exhausted and speechless about this place. Im going back there on Sunday because it's (BYOP)-bring your own paint day-. They also have a really sick-NEW-paintball shop/store,any markers you buy there the owner will totally strip your gun, clean it and fix basically anything for FREE, i don't know of any other place like this that does that! (remember he is ex-marine and knows what he is doing, also extremely nice guy)! Check this place out and you will never forget it, i guarantee that once you play in this INDOOR paintball field you will want to do it again and again and again!
just and average kid who plays PB,
--Steven K.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ViolentRogue Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, only indoor park in the area
Review: This was my first time playing paintball indoors. It was great, its 90+ outside and to hot to play so coming indoors to play is a treat. They have many things to hide behind including couches, trucks, and cars. It looks really cool. They clean it a lot so the stuff isn't caked in paintballs which is great. They had a nice proshop also. The only thing i didn't like was the price. The place i usually play at is 7.50 to get in but this place is 15 ! Renting equipment is only 5 dollars more which is cool but if you have your own stuff it should be a lot cheaper. I hope they lower it someday. And you have to use field paint which is 70 dollars for 2000. This is to much for paintballs, i can get 2000 for 40 dollars. And when you pay 70 dollars + 15 to get in = 85 dollars for one day of paintball. That is way to much money for 1 day of paintball if you ask me. They do have bring your own paint once and awhile, i guess ill just go then but its still 15 dollars to get in. Other than that it was a lot of fun and a good park. I rate it 6/10 because of the price. You should really check this place out if you have the money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZAPSARU Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None just moved to the area
Review: I Just wanted to write this review for the Combat Zone, and respond to e-force. To start I have been playing paintball now for over 8 years. I have played in multiple fields in the U.S. and Europe. I have also played in some 24 hour games. So what e-force said seems odd. If e-force is the player he claims he is then he know this game isn't for pretty boys who don't like to get dirty. If you don't want to get dirty go knit something. This is paintball and you're ment to get dirty. Plus as you know the gun doesn't make the player, the person using the gun makes a player.
Now on to my review. I enjoyed my time playing at the Combat Zone. I felt that use of space was great. I liked the set up of the field. They use old cars, tires, barrels, couches, and a full rounded bar. Plus they made their own rooms and bunkers made of wood. I like their armory/staging room. Their prices are incredible for large groups and pretty good for individuals too. The only real thing i didn't like was the floor, but they are working on it which is good. The owner and employees of the field are superb. The owner is open to any good suggestions. Which I think is a plus.
That is all for now. Comparing this place to other places I've played I give them an 8/10,


Jason
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Impulse0wner Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, This field has everything I need.
Review: First off, I would like to point a finger at this kid and hopefully you can be entertained by his "newbish" and/or "I dont know anything about paintball but im going to act like I do" remarks. His name is "piranha e-force" he is talking about running to the fifty and taking out 11 people?? lmfao, He claims he has an Impulse and he's got the name "piranha e-force" yet.... he has an Impulse...hmmmm... Now, on to you slipping and falling while snap shooting? Haha, How do you snap shoot dude because I can tell you I've never seen someone slip and fall while snap shooting. Do you even know what snap shooting is? haha... All I can say is I would love for this "piranha e-force" to come back to Combat-Zone and we'll play a match to see if he is the "shiznit" that he claims to be. (try not to break your leg when snap shooting...) You don't have to say "I now have an Impulse" lol, dont brag about the gun you have, especially when its only $450.00 and is stock.

Ok, now onto the review.

Hold up im still laughing about him shooting 10-12 "newbies" with his "piranah e-force" lol. OMG I almost forgot to mention his comment about the field being a speedball field hahaha dude you really must be lacking paintball knowledge... This field is clearly not a speedball field haha.

Enough about this kid.

Wait... maby a little more... ;D And you ragging on people because they wear camo? Im not sure if you can read or not but it clearly says that this field is based on Urban Room to Room Combat and im not sure that the U.S troops would be shooting Iraqi's with "piranha e-force's" while wearing jerseys and paintball pants.

Ok, enough said. Heres my review of the field.

Combat-Zone is a alot of fun for Newbies and Experienced players. The fields are now cleaned 2-3 times a week. The refs are great and they even have a bikini night coming up :D I can't wait... The girls wear bikini's and will toss paint filled balloons at each other. There will be 3-4 inches of fresh beach sand layed out prior to the event. This field is great and I highly recommend it. This place is indoor too... What more can you ask for on a rainy day? So, to conclude this post I would like to say come on down/up/over/around, ahhh whatever... just come to Combat-Zone and have a great time :D.

P.S Before you talk shizzle about a field formulate a little better story. k thanks ; ]

Mark
Last edited on Monday, May 31st, 2004 at 8:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spacecoastMike Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played on other fields in the area, yet.
Review: There is a sign that you sometimes see in restaurants and other businesses that states:
"If you like our service/food/people (etc), tell your friends and family, if not, tell US so that we can make it right". After reading the first three reviews here, it made me think that everyone should try this. The owner might not know that you were unhappy about something and will most likely be willing to make it right (or listen to your suggestions).
If you had a good time or you got a good response to a problem, tell others here. If you had a problem AND you brought it to the owners attention _first_ and still didn't get a good response, THEN tell people in places like this that it stinks.

Anyway......I like the setup of this place and that fact that it's indoors. I've never played indoors before and while I can say that I still like outside fields (I've played in good ones and bad ones), sometimes being outside is the pits (if it's raining or there is too little cover, not a cloud in the sky and it's real hot, etc). I started playing when the only guns that existed were single shot pistols, the only games were 'capture the flag' and versions of 'elimination', and the fields were just some place in the forest with boundary's (nothing man-made).
Indoors, it doesn't matter if it's raining or not. I like the setup of a war torn street with buildings and cars and other stuff just like in a movie (although on a very limited budget, but hey, it's still new and growing). It's something different and unique. I've heard him talking about adding more stuff, new areas, better bunkers/building, improving the field floor and doing whatever he can (whatever it takes) to make it better.
The Pro Shop is very nice (and also growing) and the people try hard to make everyone happy.

I have known about this place for about 3 months and in that time I've gotten to know the owner a bit and I think he is trying to make Combat Zone the best indoor paintball place he can. I know that he cares about his customers and their satisfaction. Like any new business there is a learning curve and he is learning both about how to make the field better and how to handle the people that may be working for him at any given time. Of the refs I've seen lately, I can say that I think they are learning too. The owner is only one person, trying to do the best he can and I know he will listen if you have a problem or a suggestion.

And don't knock newbies, everyone starts out as one and you were one once. As for choices of guns, everyone has their own likes and dislikes, everyone has different opinions about brands and different budgets. Just because someone else uses a different brand then you, might just mean that they couldn't afford the one like yours, they might have bought theirs from someone used, they might have bought theirs because someone else they knew had one. Chevy/Ford, Pepsi/Coke, indoor/outdoor, Impulse or whatever - different choices for different people.

Nuff said.
I give this place a 7. Good for what it is, but still learning & growing.
Have a good one,
Mike
Last edited on Saturday, May 29th, 2004 at 9:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DMW Friday, May 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Space Coast, & Hurricane
Review: Well I just found this site today, 28-May-04. I would like to bring some other aspects about the new indoor field.

FIRST OFF!!! the field "WAS" disgusting but in the last couple of weeks they have implimented a new floor raking program where they said the floors are raked every Monday, Wednesday, & Friday to keep the field cleaner. This should keep a lot of the mess down as well as make the field more attractive.

In regards to the slick floor it now has a layer of sand covering it and they are talking about adding a new layer that will be up to 3 to 4 inches deep. They said it should airate the field better. On one review it was said that it should have carpet! When I was there last week one other player had said carpet would be better. The owner said if enough people want it he would do it.

Combat Zone Is designed aroud the Military Tactical Training facility Schools. It is not easy to fight in, which is what they said is by design. It is urban assult, room to room house style fighting. It is the largest indoor tactical facitlity in the state with full sournd sound stereo with two 150 watt subs encased in custom made boom tubes so you can jam to music while you fight, in addition to strobe lights and smoke machines. In one review the commentator stated that he did not understand why some people were wearing camo. Well Combat Zone is Militarily minded. It is "Not" a speed ball field as one review had stated, not even close. They do have plans for next year on splittring into 2 seperate fields one speed ball and one sup-air. They plan on having a different field theme every year.

As far as Ref's go... there were 2 that I could not stand, 2 that with some training would be good, and 3 that have gotten to were I think a ref should be. The owner told me that the 2 worst ones are no longer with him. and the others are still learning. But I feel like it has gotten better. I have refereed a little in the years I have been playing, it's not an easy job. If you don't like something tell them. The staff there seem very friendly and I'm sure they would listen.

I would give Combat Zone a 7 ot of 10, I have been playing there since they opened and it gets a little better each time. The thing to remember is there is no other Indoor in Brevard so comparing to to the only other 2 Outdoor fields is not a fair compairson. They are trying to promote our sport so we she help them make it better.

One last thing, I have played there on 2 seperate occasions were one of the owners of Space Coast was playing. He seemed to enjoy himself and said he like the change of pace. They are on the web now also. www.combatzoneindoorpaintball.com Look at the photos of the field they look clean to me.

Thanks,

DMW
Last edited on Monday, August 16th, 2004 at 12:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media