paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Route 40 Paintball Field / Route 40 Paintball Field / Route 40 Paintball Field / Route 40 Paintball Field

Route 40 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
22Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (410) 335-7622
Address: 11011 Pulaski Highway
White Marsh, Maryland 21162
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
XBall09 Sunday, May 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This is a great place to play paintball.

Good:
3 of the 4 fields are very good and i think the woods field is the best
you are paired up pretty evenly
refs and staff are very nice

Bad:
Refs don't pay attention to who gets hit as much as they should
only sell XO Spectrum paint
dont sell that many accessories in the store
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jbdv70 Wednesday, March 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Everybody at route 40 is very nice and Tommy (the owner) is a great guy and used to play pro paintball.

The good:
--- there are 4 fields and out of those 3 fields are set up very well and are fun to play.
--- the refs and other staff are kind and patient and can sometimes help you with gun problems
--- all the people you play with are there to have fun and treat everybody equally
--- the refs pair you up with pretty evenly matched players
--- it is a very safe enviroment

The bad:
--- the only paint they sell is XO Spectrum
--- the refs don't really check to see if you are out. they kinda just sit around and play on there phone or only watch one person. they never rush in to pull somebody when they are out.
--- they don't always have a part you need. sometimes they run out of batteries.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilpaintball07 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outdoor Aventures, Rosedale- Better woodsball, Worse airball
Adventure Park- Better everything
Robinhood-Not as Good
Directions
to the Field:
on website
Review: Route 40 paintball is a good place to play. They have 4 fields, 2 airball, 1 hyperball, and 1 woodsball. The airball fields are great and very fun. They redid the hyperball a little which made it better and the woods are alright.Their pricing is fair. They are open on weekends from 10-4 and in the summer they will probably have some night games. I heard they should be having some tournaments soon. Safety there is ok but not the best. They have beginner and advanced walk-ons. This is a great field, if you live within 50 miles from it you defenitely try it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MindReleaser Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outdoor Adventure
Skyline (Virginia)
Directions
to the Field:
After the go karts and enterprise. right after ebenezer road or something
Review: Pros: Tommy the owner and his wife Mimi are excellent people. They are really nice. The refs and other staff are always willing to help you out if you have problems or questions about something. I went this past sunday with my brand new gun and they helped me out with any problems that I had with it.

Cons: The field only has 4 fields currently. There is a woods ball course which is as big as the airball course. In addition, there are 2 speedball courses that are a little smaller than the woodsball course. Lastly there is an airball course tha can split into two separate courses. If there are a lot of people at the field then the games are going to be really packed. The refs do seem like they don't really care as much and just sit around while the game is in play. At least that is what my ref was like.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

UV Halo Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in area, I'm usually in N. VA.
Review: Went with a private group.
Safety: The owner covered all the major points and no problem there. However, the young ref (minimum working age I'd guess) was not doing a good job at enforcing the safety. I'm an experienced player and I frequently had to play safety cop for all the newer players. In the common areas, it was another story. A lot of the speedball players were frequently without barrel covers, not counting the ones who were using plugs (against field policy) and Battle Swabs). If you look at their website, In the photo galleries you will see one individual with his hand over his barrel, and his finger in the trigger guard... The self-fill station is a major hit here. Sure it's convenient but, who's checking certification dates, damaged fiber wraps, or making sure the players aren't overfilling? Fortunately, the owner stepped in to fill for the rentals and I got mine filled at that time. It's not that I don't trust myself but, I wouldn't trust anonymous walk-ons if my life depended on it.

Fields: Aside from the fact that there aren't many (less than 10), If you like speedball (or it's cousins- Hyperball, airball, etc), then all of the fields are for you except one which is for the woodsball folks. However, the woodsball field is really small- maybe 1.5x the size of the largest speedball field.

Refs We had one ref for the group (of about 20) and, he was just not in the action at all. Talking on the sidelines with other refs, or some of the speedball players. Or when we were in the woods, he hung back on the open side not really doing anything at all. Fortunately, this was a private group where everybody knew everybody but, sometimes new players get a little too hyped with the adrenaline to realize they've been hit on the hopper, gun, shoe, etc- that's why a ref is needed even in a private group. Fortunately, for some of the games, Speedball players (off-duty refs maybe?) would make calls for our group from the sidelines.

Staff: Friendly, courteous.

Prices:Reasonable.

Services No real pro-shop.

I honestly can't say I'd ever want to go there again in light of the size of the park, Ref and Safety issues.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

qukk Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Robinhood Paintball
Review: Refs- Lazy, talk to much, dont pay attention, dont seem to realize they are there to ref a paintball game ( they just want to go play with advance group). Very ignorant and annoying especially the short one who this he is hot stuff.

Fields- Nice( the only reason i went there), now robinhood got new airball so its better, I like how they take care of them.

Service- Filling your own air is nice, but can be a problem, Because of miss use the air hoses are abused.

Food- easily accessible pit beef stand nextdoor =]

Mainly i care about refs and service, both were mediocre, although the experience of the own is astonishing he does not run good management.

If you are in harford county Maryland looking for some fun paint ball this is not the place to go, if u just want to play like an unorganized group of wiping idiots play here.

Kind of expensive (Depending on which days you choose to go.)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ezatnova Monday, November 28th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 28th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Others in PA, NJ, DE, and MD

This one was decent. No skirmish, but less formal all around.
Review: I thought this facility had both good and bad qualities.

Good:
Price was fair, especially if you split a case of balls with a buddy
Fields were neat, we played all four and I enjoyed them all
Self serve air is nice
Refs were nice, if not always attentive
Parking

Bad:
I believe many fields limit the use of automatic fire or burst. For the love of God, this needs to be implimented unless it's a game with all advanced people or everyone agrees to it or something. Having half of the players with rentals, or with non-high end equipment against the other half of advanced players shooting 15 balls a second with high-end setups was simply unpleasant to say the least. It would make it much more fun and even for everyone to be on single shot mode when playing in a mixed experience crowd.

I would also like to see it mandated that the guns are chronographed. The machine is just sitting around like it's an optional thing. The few people that I did see use it set off the alarm, so I'm sure many people were shooting too fast.
Last edited on Monday, January 30th, 2006 at 5:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

xxRainManxx Sunday, October 16th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Robinhood (worse)
Review: This is the best field I've played at in MD so far. The refs are great, even though they don't always play the hyperball fields. The field owner, Tommy, is awesome. Many games in a day, great prices for everything... Good compitition shows up every day, and I always look forward to advanced walk-ons. Had a guy from Baltimore Trauma there the other day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

that one kid Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
homemade hyperball
Review: 40 is awesome. I have never been to robinhood so i dont know what its like, but kids that go there are straight. Some people tell me the fields there are nicer but i dont care, 40 is my home field. The prices are good for walk ons and beginners but once you start coming and playing with the big dogs and advanced walk ons you get discounts. We just got a new field today. Its the black and green x box field from cstv(we got it from navy). Everyone that plays at 40 and refs are great. We now have 2 airball 1 huge hyperball and the woods. Come out sometime.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CTBandit Monday, August 22nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
private field, alot better
Review: I've been playing for about a year now. Mostly on a private field but shoot at Route 40 every once in awhile when we don't shoot at the other field. I've shot on 40 a few times and I would have to say I'd rather not ever again. The last time out someone actually shot my truck TWICE in the parking lot and it was closer to the road then the field. Nobody Chrono's there. So all the guns are cranked up. Ref's suck. Waited atleast twenty minutes between games for the next one. Had most of the walk-ons shooting against there team. One player actually bunkered my friend and shot him at a range of about 1 foot. Ref's wouldn't play any other field besides airball and the small hyperball field. Suggested to them to have atleast one game on the big field and they ignored it like it was just a breeze blowing in his ear. PLayers continue shooting after being hit. And I was called out even when the ball didn't break. There was a red mark on my shoulder but no paint. This is just my opinion. If you feel differently, thats fine with me. I wouldn't suggest shooting this field, but if you prefer to thats up to you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media