paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Old River Paintball Field / Old River Paintball Field / Old River Paintball Field / Old River Paintball Field

Old River Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 352-288-5840
Address: 9911 SE 170 Ave Rd
Ocklawaha, Florida 32179
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Lawman Thursday, October 6th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
24 hours games, Dalton GA
Wayne's World, Ocala FL
Disaster Sports, Inc
Review: I went to Old River Paintball in 2007 for a scenario game called Bloodlines. It was production being put on by Nocer, so I expected a good game.

My overall impression of the field was not favorable. It was very dense in some areas, mostly the northern end of the base, and the southern base (not 100% on the directions) was much more open. It was very easy for the north forces to dig in and ambush, but the southern forces could not see anything coming until the enemy was right on top of them. The palmettos were so thick it was like hunting wild hogs... without a dog, you had no way of knowing anything was there.

The proshop did not seem that well stocked or equipped, but I did not need anything either, and they may have inventory in the back or something.

The teams seemed even numerically, but i believe the north team had all the advantage it needed simply due to the terrain of the field.

The camping areas and prep areas are shaded and scenic. Its in a nice oak hammock.

The Safety, Staff, and Refs were the worst part of the scenario. I personally witnessed one player holding my teammate in front of him like a human shield. The enemy player had barrel tagged my teammate who was about 8-10 feet away from me. After the enemy tagged my player, I head the voice and looked over. I saw the enemy player standing behind my teammate (who had stood up) and holding my teammate in front of him. I called for the player to "call yourself out" and "take the hit" multiple times, because I could not open up without hitting my player who was unable to move. The enemy player then shot me three times. and let go of my player. Rather than confront him I went to a nearby ref and asked him to rule the other player out and punch his card for a safety violation. The ref said nothing, shrugged his shoulders, and did nothing about an egregious safety violation. The enemy shot me at a range less than 10ft when I had no way to shoot him without lighting up my teammate, who was out. (one time I wish dead men had the ability to speak...)

I approached the ref, nothing was done, I approached the staff, nothing was done, I approached the event production personnel, nothing was done. Touching another player with anything more than a barrel to tag them should be an immediate punch if not expulsion from the facility, but nothing was done. If the guy had grabbed me and used me as a shield I probably would have lost my cool and done something that would have gotten my card punched or worse.

The ineptitude of the refs in this situation may have been acceptable if he was inexperienced, but the lackadaisical attitude of the staff and event producers showed me they don't care about player safety as much as making sure they keep people on the field shooting their paint/making them money.

After seeing this and nothing being done, I packed my stuff and left, never to return.

Overall, I don't have any plans on returning. Of all my scenario experiences in central Florida, North Florida and Georgia, this was without a doubt the worst.

Last edited on Saturday, October 8th, 2011 at 5:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thanifex Sunday, March 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wayne's World of Paintball,Ozzies' Kamikaze Paintball. I have played wayne's world and the field is a large field and the scenario games I would give a B-. I have never played the other feild it is a speed ball field and I don't much care for speed ball.
Review: Old River Paintball just played The Holy Grail scenario

The Field- It was wet from rain but was not the problem with this field. The field was small from others I have played I found the bases to look great they had many point to shoot from and gave good cover. The field was open on one base and the other base had about a zillion Palm fronds around it . You could get to the one base with ease it was open field with some bunkers to the front and woods to the left. But if you had to attack the other way it was impossible to get to the Palm fronds made great cover and you can't make it far enough to attack the base. Over all I give the field its self a C.

The Referees- They didn't have enough refs to start the game they said they were going to have 15 refs and they only had 4. The field told the players this and made some of the players refs. They field refs were some of the best refs I have got to play with. They were polite and played fair from what I could tell. Over all A.

The Scenario- It was a 8Th year running game but felt like a amateur put it together. I Heard only one mission all day and the teams were very lop sided to one side. They had 2 tanks one for each side and some scenario players that could be hired to work for you and against you. The one group of the scenario players could not be killed and would flip sides a a moments notice and even walked in to one sides base and wiped it out. The other scenario players about 10 of them were polite and helpful but I only saw them once or twice. The only time the losing team could make it to the palm fronds in which was in front of the enemy base was when one of the special units was there to help. There was a 5 pm break until night play and I did not stay because of how awful the game was. Over all I give it a D.

The paint- The paint they sold was Crusader paint from Valken. It was Green filled with a clear shell .68 in size. This paint was the worst paint I have ever played with. It was chopping paint every few ball and I even changed guns and barrels to see if it was just me but it didn't help. I talked with a few of the other players and they had the same issues .I will never buy this paint again It was mis shaped and just was made from poor quality. Now I normally not blame a field for one bad case but I bought 2 cases just to start with and tossed the second case in the garbage. I fell that the field should check what paint they are selling before they sell it. Over all Fail F.


Over all I will never return to this field and I feel that you should save your money if you want to play here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb Saturday, July 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
waynes world and orlando paintball. both had horrible prices and people
Review: i love orp.
GOOD:
-friendly people who give advice and pretty much any thing you need to know.
-great fields for senerio players and some for speedballers too
-good prices
-just a great all over place. it feels friendly evan when your a noob you feel welcomed not picked on and riticuled
BAD: doesnt have a good shop. (i dont think they have one)

so in conclution orp is a great friendly place with good prices and fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Superrmahon Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes World & Ozzies
Directions
to the Field:
Out in BFE
Review: If you like woodsball then you'll love Old River. It's acres and acres of woods. They also have a pipe field and an airball field if you feel like something a bit different after a while. They have everything from a Vietnam jungle to a midevil castle. And all of the fields are a considerable size.

Everyone I've met out there is very friendly and eager to talk about paintball. The refs are more than fair, pleasant, and are avid players themselves. Every player out there is about sportsmanship, and play reasonable against noobs and younger kids. If you're an advanced player then others will turn turn the heat up on you ( whick is fun, cause I always like a challenge).

Their pro shop is'nt much but they usually got what you need. They can usually give you a hand if youcan't fix it yourself. They're a little bit pricey if you're going to buy their paint, but admission and rentals ( if you need it) are reasonably priced. They have a concession stand that ussually fires up about luch time. They have hamburgers, hot dogs and other snacks.

It's ussualy pretty cool at the entrance due to all the tree coverage. So when you get back in from playing it's a nice place to relax and cool down. The bathrooms are porta potties so if you have to pinch a loaf I'd do it before going.

All in all Old River is a great place to play, whether you're a seasoned vet or noob with rental gear. I have to give it a 10 due to freindly people, nice enviroment and helpfull staff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sickn3ss Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've been to no other big scenairo fields.
Review: Well I went to OR for the 2005 Great Elf Rebellion. Had a good time put coulda been beter.

The Good: -Prices were good.
-All people seemed nice there.
-The field is pretty cool.
-Seemed to be no bad behavior

The Bad: -Rainy Weather. The field was ankle deep in some places and some
mud slides in places which shows it rained here not to long ago.
-Field was horribly stacked IMO. One side was very wet and was ankle deep
in water,had lots of brush. The other side had very open speedball areas as
soon as they started and about the only time they got big brush is if they
wanted to end up in it.
-The teams SEEMED stacked.It seemed for about every 5 of us there was 8
of them.The Elves also seemed to have all the more experienced scenairo
people on their team.
-The long walk to the back from the parking lot was annoying as sin.The Elves
had a very short distance compared to us to get back to our "spawn" area,
which was by the castle.
-Walking around forever to find some true paintball action.Once we finally got
some action it seemed that my team got owned or they dropped back.Even
I who was the only one sporting a pump marker was sticking myself into the
heat of action more then some people.

The Even: The chronoing from the refs was good but once the word got out some was
was shooting hot every time you reentered the field you had to rechrono and
that was very annoying.
I didn't like the fact that some people were carrying tools ON field.

Over all the field was pretty good but could've been way better.The event was pretty organized for the events and all.But I give it a 6 becuase it just didn't suit my style.
Last edited on Sunday, February 12th, 2006 at 12:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mlynch Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
waynes world
Review: The feild has lots of potential... i went for a 24 hour scenario game june 18th 2005. The weather was less than ideal very rainy the first day but play continued however in some places you could be almost waste deep in water. The rain was out of the feilds control however the refs were very lethargic and could stand to be a bit more proactive! They were also playing favorites all day. Its just etiquette not to sit next to your friend and tell him whats going on and who is moving where. I would expect more of a professional attitude from refs. I will admit it was a tough day in the rain but the refs were just being lazy. I could scream at them till my voice hurt and they wouldnt move. A lot of the scenario teams left the first night so the 24 hour game that i paid for turned into a 8 hour game because the night play was canceled... well i thought hopefully play will resume in the morning oops wrong again they didnt get a game going till almost noon because we had to go through some corny awards ceremony for the 24 hour (actually less than 8) scenario game! I drove over five hours to play here and the feild couldnt even get a game going for me the second day till after noon... i got 3 games of speedball in before i had to leave for the afternoon. I felt ripped off! I couldnt even blow out the 2 cases of paint i purchased!!! I will say however the people were nice... lazy but nice. Maybe when it is a bit dryer i will try again but i am def giving waynes a shot before old river! By the way bring food if you are going for the weekend this place is in the middle of no where!!! If the reffing was better and they actually played paintball there(what a novel idea) i would have given them a much higher score... in fact the only reason they even got a five is because the feild looked like it could be fun under the right conditions... come on old river i read so many great things about you get your act together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Monday, June 20th, 2005 at 6:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orlando Paintball ($$$$$$$)
Extreme Rage (Barnett Park)
Paintball World (closed)
HyperSports Park
Epik Paintball
Stingers Paintball
CrossTown Indoor PB

Gator PB (Hudson)
Waynes World (Ocala)
Paintball Experience (Lakeland)
SpaceCoast Paintball (TitusvilleSpacecoast)
Review: They got about 40-60 acres of land & about twelve fields:

SPEEDBALL...
There are 3, one airball & two with corrugated piping...the fields are large & roomy with multiple & good barriers. All grass

WOODSBALL...
They got a fort set-up...castle set-up...island set-up with bridge...some kind of city set-up & several others that we did not get to yet. The woods had some semi open areas and some with very thick cover (ambush ready) and all were very large...you could have games of 60 on 60 on some of these fields and if you get to use the whole place you could have 1000 on 1000 games (it's that large)
Some of the woodsball games lasted 20-40 minutes and we had teams of like 30 on 30 or 20 hold the fort and 40 trying to take it.


IN A NUTSHELL
We had a great time, the proprietors of the place were nice and a couple of the owners and instructors were out there along side of us playing as well. The people were friendly, other players were helpful, this is the best paintball I've used yet...I've even been to a few places out-of-state and viewed many other fields and this was the best overall set-up. There is some aspect about this field for every paintball player.

Old River is out in the boonies (BFE), almost out in the middle of nowhere, but once you get there it's well worth the journey and because of its location you wont bother a sole (but your enemies)...I can't wait to go back again. Very nice place. I never give a 10 rating because I think nothing is perfect but this was a dime (10). The day I went was BYOP day...another is coming up on 12/11/04 I think. Sweeeeeet.

My paintball buddies loved this place...it's on the top of our list hands down.
On the downside thier field paint is $70
Last edited on Tuesday, October 18th, 2005 at 12:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Six Feet Under Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wayne's World of Paintball, Ozzie's Kamakazee Paintball, New World of Paintball.

Wayne's World is another field sort of like Old River, because it's mainly rec-ball. Ozzie's and New World are both speedball\SupAir ball fields and do tourneys instead of scenario games.
Review: The fields are awesome, especially the Air Ball, Sandbag Bunkers, Fort & Pioneer Village, etc. so that gets them at least 5 points in my book. The paint prices are bad, though, for what I'm used to paying- $40 for a case of paint that is about the same quality as the paint they're charging $80 a case for. I think that they should do BYOP days some weekends, but that's just my opinion.

The people that work there are really nice and their equipment prices are pretty good, but the air fill prices are horrible too. Other than paint & air prices, the field is great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

proballer88 Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wayne world
Review: Old River is a really nice field, has about everything a paintballer could want in a paintball field. Lots a room, lots of fields to choose from. Couple problems though, paint is a little high at $80 a case for blaze and the last time a went I got a couple bad cases that the paint was coming through the shells already, also would be nice to have a bigger proshop at such a great field. Other then the bad paint experience and the high cost of it this is a really great field I will go back many time, I would recommend this field to anyone that is looking for a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jo060 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes World of Paintball. <--- Wayne's is a piece of SH*T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Trashaay although they have a good airsmith and good gun shop!
Review: This field is UNBELIEVEABLE!!!!!! Its like the Disney World of paintball. Everyone is VERY nice and fair there. The people that play rn' stuk up at ALL! Hey, they even have an AIR BALL course. They have a lot of courses. Air ball, speedball in the shade, 3 Hyperballs, sand bag bunkers....ect. Its really nice.

The only bad thing is they dont really have an airsmith that can work on your guns if you have trouble. ;) GREAT COURSE A+++++++ A must play
www.oldriverpaintball.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media