paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Xdrenalin Zone Paintball Field / Xdrenalin Zone Paintball Field / Xdrenalin Zone Paintball Field / Xdrenalin Zone Paintball Field

Xdrenalin Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 972-471-3200
Address: 2500 Fairway Dr
Grapevine, Texas 76051
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jeffkmk31 Wednesday, September 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gatsplat- I used to go there alot until they raised paint to 70 a case.
Directions
to the Field:
Off 121. Just print the map off their website.
Review: This is my favorite field in the area. The sponsorship program makes this field amazing. You can get a case of paint for 30 bucks and a weekly pass for 30. (that's another day of play with no entry!) I will review the different parts of the field in the order you will most likely encounter.

•Xdrenalin Pro Shop/Store --9/10
I highly recommend you visit the Xdrenalin store to purchase your paint and pass. You sign a paper and get discounted paint. They have a large selection of various guns, hoppers, upgrades, and various spare parts.

•Front Desk/Staging Area --7/10
The guys at the register are teenagers mostly around 16-18. They are friendly but disorganized. If you pay for all of your stuff at the desk at the field (as opposed to going to the store) it is a real hassle. The staging area is nice. They have tables to put your gear on under a large pavillion. You also have a nice view of the lake from the staging
area.

•Fields --7/10
They have 3 woodsball fields, and one speedball field.
-Plane Crash
Descent field. Lots of cover and places to go. This field is not nearly as good
if you are the team on the bottom of the field.
-Ghost Town
This is my personal favorite field. There is tons of cover, and I really like all the buildings. I never get tired of this field.
-Mounds
I personally don't like this field very much. It seems that most players pick a spot and never move up, because of how far apart the bunkers are. Still fun, but not as fun as the above fields.
-Speedball Field
This field is sometimes deflated, an a hit or miss if you want to play speedball. Sometimes it's a great field, and sometimes you get there to find the field deflated. My recommendation; do not come to Xdrenalin if you are only into speedball. You might be dissapointed.

•Refs --8/10
Mostly young guys. They don't really enforce the 'surrender' rule, but that's fine by me. They are pretty fair, but don't really do paint checks. They also let you stick with your buddies, which is a huge plus for me.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pontucci Sunday, December 6th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only one I have played on in this area.
Review: Well, I rate the parts of the field in the order I visited them. The rental area itself was good, with an awning and tables to prep you equipment, but the service was a lot less than good. The people manning the counter were all teenagers, and they would walk away in the middle of a transaction, and not come back for quite some time. They were constantly talking to the tourney players, and ignoring the walk-ons, and private parties.

I Give the rental area a 5/10, because of the actual facility and the stock.

Then we went to the woods, and played in the plane crash area. It seems to me like the field was decent, but not above average, the plane parts were rusting and hadn't been hosed down, so they were covered in old paint, and I saw more than one player who had his hands covered in paint. The layout was pretty good, but the brush pile bunkers gave the people hiding behind them an unfair advantage. All the tourney players ran to them, and just poked their barrels through, and it was impossible to hit them without the ball hitting the brush and just misting them with paint, and they could fire easily, without poking any part of them into view.

I give the plane crash field I give a 6/10

Now for the ghost town field.

The layout for this field was pretty good in my opinion. The ditch and high area to the side allows a larger degree of tactics than the plane field did. The buildings were falling apart, and leaning alarmingly to the side in some cases, but in a way that was dangerous. One problem, in my opinion, was the little tiny windows. If you are playing is like a close combat game, it is ok, buy for just a standard deathmatch, it made it very difficult to hit people holed up inside, because the windows were very small targets.

Overall, I would rate the ghost town field a 6/10 (would have been a 7/10, axcept for the tiny windows)

Now, for the speedball field. The field was arranged assymetrically, and many of the bunkers were in varying states of non-inflation. A few were fully inflated, buy most were lopsided, too soft, of just so deflated that you couldn't hide behind them. The giant x was sagging alarmingly as well. There was actually more than one ref on this field, but the refs were unwilling to go onto the field to do a paintcheck for anyone but the sponsored players.

I would give this field a 5/10, because of its poor upkeep.

We then went onto the field in the woods that was mostly hillocks and oil drums on their side for bunkers. This one I found the most enjoyable, because the bunkers were large enough to hide behind, and there were fewer brush bunkers.

I give this field an 8/10

Now to adress the ref problems. The refs were unwilling to do paintchecks, and I only saw them do a paintcheck once, and even then they did it from the side. I actually saw a ref, on more than one occasion, stop a player and ask, "did somebody call for a ref?". They just hung out on the side of the fields, and in the fields in the woods there was only one ref per field. Several refs didn't wear ref shirts, or wore something over them, and I saw one who had just come from playing and was reffing while holding a gun, and he was shot by a player. The ref didn't have a barrel bag on, and he threatened to eject the player. The refs were also bad about walking off and not notifying people of games. I sat with a group of other players for half an hour because the refs had gone to get a bite to eat, and let some players refill there pods. They then proceeded to walk to the speedball field and leave us sitting at the benches.

Another problem I had was with the FPS of the guns. The rentals were dialed waaaay down, and the walk-ons who brought their own guns didn't have to check the FPS, and most were running over the limit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ajbjoust Thursday, October 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
gat splat
Review: Great fields, was great about helping me put a new nipple on my HPA tank, as far as the refs they are awesome for private parties but if your walking on you nearly have to put a leash on your ref due to the fact they are not really good on announcing where they are going they just kind of go. Fields are awesome but the speed bal fields are not as great as advertised but still good. They have awesome paint prices especially if you become a member with them. The staging area needs to be bigger. All around great fields and techs just need maybe a loud speaker to announce games. Giving them a 7 ue to the fact that they didnt anounce games really good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Touareg Tuesday, October 14th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFWPRO in Alvarado, Texas
Official Paintball of Texas in Forney, Texas
Review: I've only played at this field once. Back in June, myself and 2 friends went on a Sunday to the park's store which is a couple of miles away from the park to join the preferred players club, which I was excited about b/c you can purchase their paint at almost wholesale. I purchased a case of 2000 for $27, which is a great price, but it isn't very good paint compared to the premium I usually purchase from DFWPRO. My fault for being cheap though, XZ does offer premium.

We were concerned that no one would show up b/c it was early Sunday morning and Grapevine had received some rain the day prior. The owner assured us that they would have guests out there, but if we were unsatisfied he would give us a voucher for free play.

We went to the field and stayed several hours. Only a couple of Speedball players showed up. I only play woodsball, so we went back to the store and they gave us each a voucher good until the end of the year.

They allowed us to walk the fields, which I liked. However the fields were small to what I am used to at DFWPRO, but very similar to that in Forney. The staging area was a bit messy that day as well.

Anyways, we returned this past Saturday at 9:30 am. There were a couple of nice woodsball guys out there, so I was optimistic. We took our gear out of the back and set up station next to them to chat. We walked over to the staging area to retain our vouchers. I handed them to the young guy running the register and he didn't know what to do with them, since it was just the owners business card with "2 Free Plays good through 12/08" written on the back. He handed it to this other guy and I explained to him that we had been out several sundays before but it had rained the night before so the owner gave us a voucher. He proceeded in a smart tone to say "Several Sundays or like 6 months ago", I said "Excuse me", he looked at the front of the card then just stood there. With my OCD self I had saved the receipt from back in June. I said "I have a receipt if you really need to see it", and he did. I was insulted, I'm sorry, but I don't need to get in the park for free by being dishonest.

Anyways, this is getting too long. Overall, I didn't like the park. Too many players on a small field. It was severely unorganized, the refs were not very friendly or useful. They got off on screaming at the people playing. They only allowed single shot markers b/c they only rent single shots/semi auto. I had my marker on 3 round burst and was told to turn it off. I will not be back to the park. I will probably return to the store however.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ManoPaintball Saturday, June 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hit and Run in Mansfield
Directions
to the Field:
Google Earth or mapquest
Review: Lets start with the refs,they are horrible they only blow the whistle to start the game and end the game.They gave my Co2 tank away and then gave me a messed up tank.The paint is pretty low grade.There woods ball courses sucked.This girl got shot from 2 feet away by a guy shooting too high.The refs didnt give a crap.They had too many speedball course.My overall review is-DON'T GO TO XDRENALIN ZONE!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gkennedy1314 Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Our Experience….

Employees and Rentals
We had a birthday party group that came in early on Sunday. We came right in – got instructions (we are all newbs), rentals, and were out on the fields almost instantly. The gentleman at the front desk was well organized and got us through quickly. Our ref, for most of our games, was Richard (who by the way was fantastic!). He really watched the games and made sure they were fair. Some people had not ?kronoed? their guns – needless to say it was handled and we were back playing quickly. The Rental were fine, not the greatest. They did what they were suppose to do, shoot!

Fields
We only played the wood fields (no speedball). We really enjoyed Ghost Town and the Airplane Fields. D-Day was good – but I think we need a little more experience for that one… that or just better guns!! In my opinion they were a good size. There was enough bunkers, walls, and buildings to play in and around for many players.

Price
We called around to a lot of different fields and pricing was competitive, but not expensive. We (my husband and I) spent $110 for rentals and 2000 balls+ a couple dollars here and there on drinks. We believe it was money well spent.

Atmosphere
It was great, staff and customers were always willing to lend a helping hand. Also were very eager to teach us ‘tricks’ and whatnot to help our skills. Our whole group, it was ether the first or second time anyone had gone, so most of us came in knowing nothing, and leaving knowing a lot. The day we went, conventions were there and were providing hotdogs, chips, and drinks to players for free.

Overall Rating
I believe we would give this place a 9. Overall it was great we all left dings and bruises that were well worth it. We had a great time and would recommend this place to everyone. Personally, this was my first time playing and I can not wait to go play again! --Go Spartans!! :)
Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 9:22 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChuckDMac Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Official Paintball Games in Forney. The staging area is bigger, the refs are more helpful, and the teams are arranged better in Forney than Xdrenaline. Since Forney arranges smaller teams, the field sizes are more accommodating.
Review: Fields: They have several good woodsball fields. We played four during the day. The fields seem to be space-limited, so each of the fields I mention below would benefit by being larger, with the exception of D-Day.

The D-Day field is interesting, with one team (defenders) starting at the top of a steep hill/cliff lined with sandbag bunkers shooting down on a team starting from the beach (attackers). The terrain advantage to the defenders is excellent, but can be overcome with some skillful play from the attacking team. Fun to play from either starting position.

The ghost town has quite a few buildings and bunkers set up across the playing field. They have a small creekbed on one side of the field that can provide cover and the shacks have some holes to shoot out of. Standard fare for a paintball field but well done.

The airplane crash field has a small plane body in the middle of the field with the wings detached and used to make bunkers on either side. Railroad ties and brush are used to make additional bunkers. The setup led to a protracted standoff. Not the most fun field.

On the last field we played, all of the bunkers were made from either large mounds of dirt piled up in front of holes in the ground or limbs and brush. The positioning allowed some good movement on both sides and a more energetic game than the airplane field.

Facilities:
Check-in went pretty quickly, but we were about the first people there. There was only one register at the check-in being run by a teen who was easily distracted.

The staging area had 9 picnic tables huddled together under a small metal pavilion. In between games it was crowded and difficult to get to your stuff.

Compressed air was self-serve, which was good. Never a long line and a quick fill.

Staff:
Everyone was friendly and the refs kept time between games to a reasonably short interval. The problem I had was that everyone who was a walk-on (not in a pre-arranged party) had to play as a group. That meant that we were playing games of 30-vs-30 on fields that really weren't big enough for that many people. Hiding spots were crowded and led to some quick eliminations. There were only 2 refs for this group of 60 people, so good luck getting a paint check, but mostly people were honest.

Pricing:
The $30 entry fee is the most expensive that I've played. However, at the store in Grapevine I got a great deal on their paint by signing up (for free) for a "sponsorship". Taking that into account, the price was the same as anywhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartpartsguy90 Sunday, February 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun on the run
hit and run
and lots more that have closed down :(
Directions
to the Field:
has not moved yet
Review: The fields here are simply amazing for me. they have a good variety of fields. i love the speedball fields they are set up pretty nice. the bunkers were very flat the day i was there. the prices are pretty good, the only problem that we had was there PAINT. wow this stuff was the WORST i have ever shot. wal-mart paint never sounded so great to me! haha really though bring your own paint!! the service was kinda crappy to. really slow and what not. didnt really have any idea of what they were doing it seemed to me? the refs were not so great either. u see people wiping left and right! not right! all and all i love the fields. im just going to remember to bring my own paint, that way i dont have to wipe down my gun after every single game! it was a chop festival! its worth the hour or so drive to me to play here. great surroundings and you can also order pizza witch is very good to have. anyway i would go here if you havent played it! p.s. bring own PAINT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mjv1980 Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None......only went to this one since I was in town.
Directions
to the Field:
dunno.......i used my gps to get there.
Review: Overall the fields were decent. I loved that the place is right next to the lake. It made the "D-Day" game very realistic since you start out right by the water and have to literally climb the embankment to the top. The ref not refs was ok. We had too many players in our group which made it impossible for him to keep track of everyone. In every game players were wiping so I took it upon myself to start bonus balling people by mid day so they would be sure to quit cheating. That was the main problem I had at this place.

They had a variety of fields but a few woodsball fields were too cluttered with rocks, limbs, trash, etc. You had to be very cautious when playing certain fields. I liked that they had a large amount of speedball fields but they didnt seem to change the layout ever because ruts were behind each one where people slide into them often. Since I dont live in the area it didnt bother me too much sInce I wont be going there reguarly.

Also the "shop" was understaffed. Maybe it was just that day but it caused long lines to get anything. The prices were decent for at $120 for two people that included a case of paint, 1 rental gun, 500 extra paintballs, and all day air for both of us.

I'd recommend this place mainly for speedball but woodsball was nice also. You have to watch out for the players that wipe though and let them know what happens to cheaters lol.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

edudcixlsyd Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFWAP
Review: This field is "okay". The referees are terrible. They'd rather talk to their friends then work, so you end up getting in maybe 5 games from a full day. It had gotten to the point where the players were running games themselves while the referees chatted it up. That was going alright until the managers started kicking people out for doing that because they can get in trouble with the insurance agency. They have a lot of speedball fields but they don't take care of them. They have now made the field FPO and you have to buy their overpriced paint. They now have a "sponsorship" program where you give them $60, they put it on a gift card and then you can turn around and something, as long as it's in their store. The "sponsorship" knocks about $5 off their original prices. This is bad if you're on a team with a paint sponsorship.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media