paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field

Action Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
87Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (916) 366-6212
Address: Ione Road
Rancho Murieta, California 95683
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
crzysalvadorean Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lincoln Paintball, Sam's Paintball <- both of these have closed down *sigh*
Directions
to the Field:
On Ione Road, off Jackson Highway
Review: I recently got a Vs3 for x-mas and thought I should try it out at action paintball field. When I arrived there for the first time, the women at the desk was pretty strict and yeah....anyways
I guess they have to be that way otherwise people would screw around. The refs are one of the nicest people in the world. The fields are ok I guess if you like alot of woodsball, their speedball course is kinda dull, its more range then it is speed ball. One of the things I noticed when i first started playing was people complaining but hey whats different, everyone complains when it comes to paintball. Overall there are alot of nice players willing to lend a hand, one guy lend me his squeegee cuz I chopped some paint in barrel, and just in general everyone was pretty polite; the guy that owns the place is awesome even though he never plays like he mentioned, hes very helpful and knows alot about paintball markers.

Try this place out, just dont look for trouble otherwise you will get it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

idiotwithrpg Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N'Finite Edge-better speedball/airball, Actions got better shade and woodsball
Capital Edge-AMAZING speedball/airball, no woodsball (NICEST STAFF EVA, HANDS DOWN)
Directions
to the Field:
On Ione Road, off Jackson Highway
Review: Safety- Safety is strict here, they will yell at you when you touch your gun on goggle breaks, and things like that but its pretty reasonable and understandable.

Types of Games- Mostly wood ball, which is really awesome with the heavy tree and bunker cover. They have a game of speed ball towards the end. If you have a vendetta against wooden spools, don't go here.

Hours-First game is 9:30 or so but get there early so you can check in and get choreographed. The last game ends anywhere from 3:30 to 4:00 PM

Prices-The admission fee is $15, which is pretty good. Rentals (Spider Imagine) are an extra $15, it includes pod case, gun, 100 paintballs, hopper, CO2 tank. Paintballs there are a total rip off but what's new? $2 for a 8 ounce CO2 tank refill, $3 for 12 ounce, $5 for twenty ounce. They have unlimited compressed air refills for $20.

Rules-No blind firing is among my favorite. No swearing (but everyone does it), no physical contact, and other rules which are common sense, such as no throwing things

Services-The staff don't find helping you fix your gun. If it's really bad they'll let you use a rental (I'm not sure if you have to pay or not)

Proshop- There are two shops and the tent. The shop on the right, in an old fireworks stand has a few good guns and lots of parts and the guy knows what he is doing. The tent, which is used to check in has O rings, batteries, things you want to rent and food. There is a new red and blue house which is Nor Cal Paintball but all i know is they sell paintballs for way too much, every time I'm there they're closed.

Staff-Down to earth people, nice if you're on their good side.

Refs-Same as staff, don't shoot at them-they hate it.

Players-Every kind of player from rental amateurs to sponsored professionals.

Facilities-Single Ply toilet paper in out houses. Well, you wanted to know didn't you?

Food-Chips, sodas, water, jerky
Last edited on Thursday, January 31st, 2008 at 8:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tony0000 Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball jungle,operation paintball
Review: First off i want to say that the night before i went to actionpaintball,i literally read all the reviews on this course,there was 64 reviews and 60 of it was all negative.i was thinking to myself how can any management be that horrible.the owner and the girl in the proshop.i was like "damned"i really love woodsball and am here in sac for the weekend and i want to play.so the next morning i decided to take a chance and go there hoping i would not run into any trouble with the management.so when i got there i alrready missed the first game.so i went up to sign in and guess who was there to help me.the girl from the proshop.i was already thinking omg is she going to be mean or what.after chit chatting for about a min she was very helpful.even try to help me fill my tank up.
So here comes the group from the first game.i already knew who was allen.i really thought he wasn't that bad of a person.he was trying to get everybody organize to get back on the field.i can see why people think hes a jerk.theres alot of little kids around that be goofing off.and to come to think of it we are all a liabilty to him.now i kno why he's so strict.these rules are here to protect us.of course we are all here to have fun but safety first.all it takes for that one person to get hurt and you can throw all that fun stuff out the window.
For me i spent a total of 25 bucks and really had a good time and would come back to see them again. rate 8 of 10.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

josh1233 Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
wap, enemy territory, nfinite edge
Directions
to the Field:
go down Jackson to ione road, and about 1 mile onto ione road is apg on the LEFT. ( the sign is not big and there's trees near it, but once you pass it you'll see it.
Review: hours:9:00am-4:00pm
prices:
15$ for general admission,
30$ for a rental pack.
5$ for a 20oz. co2 fill
8$ for all day air

fields:if you like woodsball, flanking, and spools go here. I loved this place. huge almost endless land and you can flank way out of the way then pull in for a surprise attack.

the speedball is great, big yet not too big,you can really spread out.
they play speedball as the last game of the day so save some paint, half my team got forced out cause they had no paint left.

safety:this place is real strict about barrel plugs and masks on, but just keep your plug in till your ready to play, and you'll be fine. they let you take off your mask like 5 min before the games starts to get some fresh air.

staff:the refs are real cool, they try to help out the new players as much as they can.over all the staff is nice, i didn't really get to meet them yet but they seems cool. i busted an o-ring and they gave me one free.

offerings:
most parking is shaded if you get their early
they sell some snacks there but i recommend you bring a lunch,
there's a burger king on Jackson about 7 minutes away
chrono limit is 285

all in all:
this park is awsome, you can never get tired of it and they have a huge variety of set-ups
i would go here again
watch out for the cow crap
alot of swearing
they put glue on your gun after you get chrono :s (it washes off)
check it out
and if you see a short dude in a ghille suit call him chewbacca



Last edited on Saturday, July 15th, 2006 at 6:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

miguelbenitez Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first one since I moved into the area.
Review: I enjoyed the field, with it's high upkeep, large layout, and meaningful rules. There were 5 active areas of the field, and we rotated through all of them by the end of the day. Since you have to walk little ways to get started, they run 2 games per round, 15 minutes per game with about a 5 minute break between the games (while on the field) as well. Each round everyone walks off the field for about 15 minutes to prep. They do not allow full automatic or ramping whatsoever on the field, only semi-auto. If you have an electronic marker, they must inspect the gun to ensure it is performing within these limitations. The only beef I had was with a girl that worked there, she was really arrogant - after checking out my black magic and dropping a large glob of glue on my marker, she said something to one of the other employees: 'Well if he doesn't like it he can play somewhere else...

All in all, it was a good experience and will go back to the field. It was well put together and is a good choice for novices and experts alike.

----Update 8/26/06
Well, I took my wife there today and , long story short - I ended up taking the advice of the arrogant girl previously mentioned and 'get a refund and go to Nfinit Edge' (old paintball sams) which is less then 5 minutes away. (you can read their review as well) I will not go here again unless it get's different owners, it is after all, a well maintained place to play IF you can stand the attitudes.
Last edited on Saturday, August 26th, 2006 at 11:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jc127 Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
old paintball sam's
Davis paintball
Directions
to the Field:
a little hard to see the entrance, about 1.5 miles off ione rd.
Review: This was my first time to play in about 6 years. I read the reviews here and was a little worried the staff would be jerks. When I got to the field we started pretty promptly, they were pretty organized, gave a good saftey briefing for the new people. Most of the ref's were younger and I thought pretty nice. We had a pretty good group of people so no idiots taking their googles off, so I would say the staff is fine as long as every one behaves. I could see that some of the older ref's might be *ickheads if you pissed them off but all in all they were ok. I'd rather have them yell at you then someone get hurt.

There was also a guy on site with a little shop set up, he has a decent selection and his prices didnt look bad, plus hes pretty cool guy. They have a good selection of fields most are wooded, and they have a huge speedball field.

I would agree with other reviews if you like woodsball head there, just be safe and you should have a good time.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rozencrantz Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in CA
Review: First of all, some clarification. I played at this field from '99-'00, then left California for Seattle until '05, and have just come back to using this field after my absence. I haven't been anywhere else in California, but the atmosphere is _very_ different here than in Washington.

The Field: This is a place to go for rec ball, and I can see a lot of reviews reflect this. There are a number of separate fields at the location, and all but one are significantly wooded. the one exception is the speedball field, which is large in comparison to the speedball fields I saw up in Washington state. You should be ready to hike; this field is hilly in places, and the terrain can get rough. Like any field in Sac, it's really hot in the summer, so bring your sports drink of choice for between games, and drink it freely. The built-up cover varies from stacked deadfall to plywood bunkers to tipped-up spools (the latter primarily on the speedball field). During the work week, the property is a cattle pasture, and on some fields you need to watch where you step. I know from personal experience that falling in one of the several small creeks on the property can be an- ahem- "aromatic" experience. Smelling like diluted cow urine doesn't go over well with the ladies, so if you're heading home to a spouse or girlfriend, stay out of the crick!

The Accoutrements: There's an airsmith on-site, who's not directly associated with the field. My buddies and I try to throw all the business his way that we can, 'cause he's truly cool. He rents CA tanks for $15 a day, and will sell you just about anything you need as far as parts or accessories go. Check him out; he's usually only there on Sundays, but we've seen him a couple of Saturdays this spring, so you may get lucky. Field paint is, I hate to say it, a rip-off. It's white-box stuff, nothing particularly horrible, but the amount they charge for it is highway robbery. Total robbery. Buy paint off-site, seriously. The rental equipment is pretty standard, and their rental rates aren't bad. Restrooms consist of two porta-potties in the parking lot area. One is locked; that is the "ladies' room." If you're female, or can convincingly imitate a girl, I understand you can get the key to get in from the staff. There is shade available in the parking lot, but if you can bring some kind of awning or pavilion, do so, as the shady spots go quickly in the morning.

The Staff: Here's where most of the complaints about Action come from. Here's my two cents. First of all, yes, the refs will yell at you if you take your mask off or handle your gun unsafely. Yes, they can be pretty harsh about it. My take on this, though, is that yelling is wholly fair and appropriate in those situations. Look at it this way: every time a player creates a safety hazard, he's increasing the owner's liability. Nobody wants to see anyone get hurt, and it could conceivably cost the field a lot of money if somebody did get hurt, waiver or no waiver. Lawsuits, and the people who do stupid things that create them, suck. And personally, I'd rather have someone get yelled at more harshly than they perhaps deserve and learn something than have them get off easy and wind up making a stupid mistake and hurting themselves or, frankly, me. Other points about the staff that I haven't seen mentioned here, but I think need to be brought up, include the chaotic way they set up in the mornings and their wildly varying concepts of customer service. On the first point, it's kind of a muttered joke in the parking lot that often, when they say "five minute warning," you still have at least ten or twelve minutes, especially first thing in the morning. On top of that, the 9:00 opening time they advertise can vary between 9:00 sharp and as late as 9:15, which wouldn't be quite such a big deal if not for my second point, which is the level of customer service shown by the staff. See, the young guys and gals they have signing folks up, filling tanks, and taking payment have attitudes that range from laid-back and a little slow, to downright obnoxious. One of the girls in particular seems genuinely unhappy to have to deal with people at all, and dealing with her is almost unvaryingly a serious pain in the hind end. The rest of the staff are easier to get along with, in fact often they're fun to talk to, but they don't seem to understand the economic value of working quickly and efficiently. And guys? If you could find it in your hearts to switch the air compressor on in the morning early enough for players to get filled up without having to hurry frantically, it would make members of my party a _lot_ happier and perhaps a bit less in a rush to get signed in and all.

Overall: I give the field a solid 7 of 10. It's a good physical environment, and they've got good services in the form of the airsmith, but the lack of customer service on the part of the front shack staff bring it down. My buddies and I are going to be trying out other fields in the area, and I'll update my ranking based on comparison with other places.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

duda_10 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP is pretty good if u like speeball and all the other balls there are
Directions
to the Field:
rancho murieta, keep goin on jackson then take right on lone road u will see a cattle gate on the left go threw it and fall the like path to the parking area
Review: Well first of all action is my over all feild of choice. yes the refs are pretty strict but all u have to do is follow the rules and ur fine. the couse is huge they have one speeball course and they rest is a mix of wood and speepball because there are many open places. the refs may use alot of profanity but they wont if u just follow the RULES i have asked them and they say the dont want to get screwed over cause some cool guy got his eye shot out cause he took his mask off or shot a round off with out a barrle plug in and nailed some one in the eye. overall its a great place to start out if ur a beginer u get the feel of what other courses may feel like. i highly reconmend this course for everyone u will have a fun time just follow the rules.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Panatuken Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Sams / Nfinite Edge, Amer Canyon. Comparable on different scale
Review: The refs and staff at this field have, over time, shown an increasing arrogance. basically if you irritate them there goes your day because they will harang you until you leave. Yes, they deal with people who don't listen to instructions and they are bound to get tired of it. Want woodsball - play here, want speedball - play here. All kinds of players come here. Newbies to Experts. The staff loves to try out their new guns and loves to wipe out other players. Many times their guns are hot but that is ok because it's their field. You'll go out to start a game when THEY are ready. This used to be a recommended paintball field. Palmers used to recommend them. Not anymore. If you want to go out and have a good day playing paintball then don't go here. The bottom line is that IT IS NOT any fault of the field - it is the Staff's. Foul language is almost a given. Staff and refs are arrogant. They WILL get in your face and tempt you to hit them. They would just love to kick you off the field. Used to be where if you could get a hold of Dave then you'd have a pretty good day without much trouble. But, if Allen is there then forget it. Pretty much if you don't like the way they run things then you'd either better shut up and deal with it or hit the road. I have reffed there years ago - it was a different place there then. It was fun to go out there when the Automags were the hottest guns out. Or, if you could afford it, a Palmer's typhoon. And then there were the autocockers. Then you played skill and equipment against skill and equipment . Now you are harassed by staff. Family fun - no. Again, not the field's fault. They have a pro shop, Porta potties, chrono area, and reasonable hours of operation. You can have a private party. Prices are competitive. Used to be you could BBQ out there. Staff gets onto players supposedly for safety but enjoys belittling players, cussing at them, and taunting them. Sorry guys. Really haven't had any problem with you personally except your attitudes. Open your eyes and see that there ARE other places to play paintball and that you don't have the only field to play in. AI'd rather go to a small dull field with a nice staff then a big field with arrogant guys who forget that they don't have the only market on paintball. Field - actually rated as an 8 to 10. Staff and refs - bring the rating waaaay down. The field is fine, get new staff - like at Nfinite - and you'll have a great field again. Seriously - business WILL go up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

twotoedtony2 Sunday, March 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
nfinite edge, lincoln, and other little places here and there
Review: -way too strict
-alot of swearing, not a place to bring a 10 year old kid
-only woodsball....
-paint is over priced, and sometimes odd shaped, and broken... i havent used it but ive seen them rip people off.
-nobody likes it there anymore, everyone just plays at nfinite edge wich is a better enviroment
-i hate the pot holes when u drive in
-owner and reff's use alot of profanity. Not just a little here and there, i mean every other word, seriusly.
-they tried to put glue on my timmy
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media