paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Paintball Games Paintball Field

Action Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
87Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (916) 366-6212
Address: Ione Road
Rancho Murieta, California 95683
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
ShinysidE Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ace Paintball Arena
Pros:Better for speedball, gets way more games in, refs are a little more laid back, conveniant.
Cons: Not as many people to play with, other players are a little less helpful, little less challenging.
Review: Pros: Great courses, 15 different areas avaliable to play, lots of people to play with that are willing to give advice and help you out, on-site snackbar and mini shop, briefing for new players, lots of fun.

Cons: A little hard to get to, tight reffing, lots of waiting, not so many games in, lots of walking to destinations, lame speedball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soldierboy Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
NFinite Edge Paintball Park
Review: Ok, I went to this field as a fist time player so I didn't know a whole lot about paintball. The staff was not helpful and very rude about anything. I had to cut my spring before they would let me play and the ref at the chrono told me to go to the table and have them cut it for me. I went over there and they were just total A-Holes they didn't want to help me at all no matter what it was I needed. They do have a lot of woodsball though I will give them that. 7 out of the 8 games of the day were woodsball and the last one is speedball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dnd Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
many if not all
Review: Well, this field has it's ups and downs. if you are into speedball then don't play here. there were some good moments, but it is mostly just a woodball game. which isn't bad. they have acres upon acres of field. yes field, all on one field, which is broken up into different sections, but when you play a game, you have free range, you mostly play two flag, capture the flag, about 20 or so on the same number. you are given decent identification, so you know who you should shoot at, and the refs overall are decent. they put up with quite a lot, and have even gotten shot by me, and laughed about it. they will only reprimand someone who is doing something completely innapropriate. you can play about 7 or 8 games in one day, but you go through much less paint than eny other fields in the area. i don't believe that this is because you see less action, but because you try to play a "commando", "rainbow 6" type game, with one shot one kill. the field is great, the people there are friendly, not out to kill each other, only to have a good time. i normally play speedball and go through about 2.5 cases a day, and i only shot about 250 shots all day, which i had no problems with, i had a great time. it is a place to take newcomers to the game, family who are visiting and want to do something fun, or a company outing. i believe that some other speedball fields lack this sort of enviornment.i give this field an 8 because again, if you have ever fantisized of being in world war 2 or nam, or some other war, then this is more your style than speedball, and even if you are into speedball, nothing is more fun than moving throuogh the small speedball field they have in a valley off to the right of the main field like a warm knife, through butter
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

longball Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB SAMS, First Class, Midway.
Review: Having not played here in a long time I was interested to see what had changed. What I found was that the changes were very much for the better. Registration and such was a bit long, but they had most everything well handled and well organized. Lots of shade to park under and the portapotties had been serviced recently. Like many fields no running water, but other than that the parking/prep/rest area was well organized and close by.

Fills and such were normal price and handled quickly. I saw none of the Screaming and such that others report, but I did see a high level of professionalism by the refs. They would not brief or prep a game till everybody shut up, and if someone started talking they would stop, which drew stares from the crowd to the offender and quickly silenced him. The main ref I had was Jim, and he was a veteran of this stuff. He was fair in his calls and merciless on cheaters. I was very pleased with him and the other ref who's name I did not catch.

The Field is varied with woodsball being the main draw, no airball here, and games last the standard 20 minutes, are run in pairs and have a 10-15 minute break in between each pair.

They run large groups here, we had close to 80 on a side most of the day, and even on a big field that is a whole lot of people, in woods ball it is downright crowded! Not that this is particularly bad, but tactics tend to fall apart when you have several platoons of infantry that IS under your control, when there are that many that are under no control, and are acting on nothing but their own idea of what might work it really goes downhill fast. Great woods, great spools arena, and safety is a number one concern.

Someone complained about the road in. It is a dirt road. It gets bumps and potholes. Drive around them and get over it. I went over the road in a 1972 motorhome and did not even spill a drink. Get over it and learn to drive on dirt. That means slowly so that your suspension does not hop and cause the washboard effect you complain about. Yep, thats what does it, not bulldozer tracks or alien spacecraft, people driving too fast on the dirt road. So if you want to fix the problem drive slowly, carefully, and avoid the holes. Otherwise get a shovel.

There is one thing I wish to repeat I never once saw anyone Ref or Employee scream or yell at anyone, and delt with people with respect and dignity. I was there the whole day and since I had read all the reviews I was watching for it.

Yes they could use a second chrono, and Yes they put a bit of loctite on your velocity screw to insure you don't crank it up after the chrono. But if people did not do that (probably the same ones who complained about the refs) the field would not have to
spend money and an employees time checking each gun as it returns to the field.

In Conclusion, I find it a great field and a great staff and they WILL be seeing me again!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tlspyder Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ace in folsom.
Review: The Field it's self isn't bad at all. Its a great wooded area that you can still get a speedball feel with if you are aggressive enough. They also have a great wide parking lot to fit a lot of people. They recently had a big game and fit 400 or so people in ther parking lot. However, the staging (parking lot) doesn't have running water, ir really anything, the location of the field is too far out for anything. They are strict on safety, so if you forget to put in your barrel plug, prepare for a verbal whipping. It seems as though they are hiring more and more, younger nice staff, so they might have a future, but for now they are jacking the price up 5 dollars, i dont think the field is worth 15.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slarb Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the best was Paintball Sam's
Review: I have been reading the reviews about this field and it's easy to come to one conclusion. Allen does not run his field like a business.I have been at the field when allen has chatized younger palyers for making a mistake. When I was last there I was silly enough to play with a pump gun. I didn't know that there would be people wiping paint and lighting up so many of the newer players. I have seen people using the "dead man's walk" to get from one place to another. This cannot promote safety, because it invites people to shoot players that have already been hit. I have seen refs and players take turns belittling other players. I feel badly that there are people who accept this behavior, because it has been the only thing they have seen. A field can be safe and fun at the same time. You can teach responsible playing and not intimidate, and as for swearing, we have a younger audience that needs to be drawn to the sport to keep it alive. I don't think parents will be too impressed with people yelling everything in the book because they aren't having a good day. I don't recommend this park because it draws in some of the poorest examples of paintball players. Some may call this whining, but I call it protecting the future of a sport I have loved playing for over 16 years! Play on!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

burywater Wednesday, February 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sams (when it was), a couple of the local speedball courses.
Review: I am primarily a woods ball player, so my field review should not be compared to speedball courses.

Overall, I have had great experiences with both the staff and the average paintball player out at Action. I appreciate the focus on safety, and I respect the no-nonsense attitude of the operators and staff.

SAFETY: I have read through most of the posts regarding Action Paintball, and I see a pattern of people complaining about 'Allen'. I work in an industry that prides itself on safety. My company has received numerous government awards for it's safety training and compliance, so it is comforting to bring my family and friends to an environment that I can trust to be safe.
It seems that these people don't respect authority, or simply don't understand the liability that a field of this size is exposed to. There are sometimes as many as 200 people playing and anyone of those people could be seriously injured by some negligent person walking around with a gun 'unplugged' and ready to fire. I for one, do not mind 'Allen' instructing someone to 'plug' their marker, especially when my young son is eating a sandwich at a bench. Unfortunately, people don't seem to listen these days, and it is of my opinion that Allen realizes this sad fact. Over the years, I believe Allen has evolved from being a nice guy that politely directs people to 'plug' their marker (ineffective and inefficient) 3 or 4 times, to the 'Allen' that now understands how to command immediate respect. I would expect nothing less. If you don't like it... then don't play. Certainly don't complain about their attention to safety.

GAME: There are 5 games scheduled throughout the day. Each game consists of two halves. With the exception of the first game, the remaining halves are 20 minutes in length, for a combined total of 3 hours and 10 minutes of potential play for the entire day. Occasionally, there is time allowed for a 6th game.

The field is HUGE, and one can easily blaze their own path within the time allowed. The terrain is flat in most areas, with smooth rolling hills, and an occasional steep incline. There is an area that is designed to appeal to the speedballer, but does not appeal to me since I am a hardcore woods player.
There are open areas filled with just grass and the occasional cow. Then there are areas filled with various trees and native shrubbery. These areas are my favorite, and my son and I maximize the use of camoflouge and concealment in these areas. These areas offer the player the ability to stay hidden and undetected if they know how to use them. Great fun for those of you that enjoy the element of surprise!

Occasionally, the staff will create a game that has surprise flag posts. In other words, nobody knows where the other team is starting. It's great fun because everyone has to spread out quietly so as not to give away the starting position. It sort of reminds me of a meeting engagement between two armies, and not knowing where the enemy is or where they will be coming from. It's a great way to break up the usual course and add some variety to the game.

Some people complain about long walks, however, my only response is... this is an outdoor recreational activity. What do you expect? I am 34 years old, and I can move about these fields all day long. For me it is great exercise, and I look forward to it. It is hot during the summer, so bring lots of water. Which leads me to the next subject........

SUPPLIES: I've read complaints about Action running out of supplies. As far as I can tell, Action Paintball is not in the business of selling paintballs onsite, food/drinks, or a fully stocked paintball supply/service center. From my limited observations, it appears that Action is in the business of providing a great place to participate in the sport of paintballs.
It appears that Action has to transport all rental gear and other paintball paraphenelia in just a couple of vehicles. Nothing is left at the facility after closing hours. So, it is obvious to me, that space is limited. I would rather see that space devoted to rental gear and other necessary items than twinkies and beef jerky.
If your going to spend an entire day in the woods, then I would advise that you prepare for that. Bring plenty of water and food. Anticipate how many paintballs you will go through during the day. Bring out enough to get you through. Don't blame the field because you failed to come prepared! Besides, it is cheaper if you buy the paintballs somewhere else anyways.

FInally, for those parents looking to bring your kids out for the first time. As a single father of a 13 year old son, let me say that this is an activity and an incredible opportunity to spend time with your kids. This is a sport that boys especially, can recognize and adjust to easily. If your a dad looking to bond with your child, then I highly recommend this field especially. Where else can you spend the entire day without distraction, side-by-side, and then share war stories later? There are so many friendly people here, both staff and players. The staff will take FREE photographs of you and your group, and post them on their website for download. Be careful though... you will become addicted.

My only complaint is that I wish the games were longer, and there were shorter breaks. It would be nice if they set-up an additional chrono in the mornings to expedite the check-in process. However, that is just my personal opinion.

I also just discovered that there is a big game coming up in a couple of weeks. This is a game that goes all day long, instead of breaking the day into 5 games, and the winning team is determined at the end of the day. This type of game attracts hundreds of players. I highly recommend attending this game and bring lots of paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

2old4thisgame Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Sams
Review: This is a great field if you like woods ball, which I do. There are sometimes a hundred people on each side, but the fields are large and can handle it. You can also schedule a private game if you have enough people but the big games are more fun. The owner Alan can be tough if you are a dirty rat cheater or too stupid to follow simple directions like "DON'T TAKE YOUR MASK OFF DURING THE GAME". He will kick you out if you don't follow the rules, which I like, but you usually get a warning. The refs are ok, they are very safety conscious which is another thing I like. Just don't talk after they tell everyone to be quiet, that just pisses them off, big time. You need to bring water and food like the web site says, and they have 2 portables. The only thing I would change is having more chrono's to get everyones gun at 285 or below. They need more refs there. There is always a bottle neck of people waiting for that and the first games never start on time. By the second game, things go pretty smoothly. After each game there is a break to go back to the parking lot to refill, so you don't need to carry a case of paint on your back. During the summer you will want a Camelback or canteen for water because of the heat.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squirrelrocket Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: The owner Allen is very mean. He yells at people for no reason. The staff is ok. Some of the refs were cool but others were !*@^#. The actual field is pretty cool. Everytime ive gone theres been at least 60 on each team. You have to do a lot of walking but its worth it. It's also confusing to get there. Last time i was there the "shop" ran out of almost everything.
There was no paintballs, chips, sodas, or anything. Overall the actually field and playing is awesome. But the staff and like of supplies bring down the rating. I give action a 7 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

ADRsk8boarder Saturday, February 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sinister- speedball= terrible
Review: I have been visiting action paintball for about the last year or so and love it. The owner will be one of the biggest pricks that you will ever meet, but if you follow the rules and don't do something to harm yourself our others then you are fine. The staff might not also be the most friendly but actually no what they r u doing **coughcough**. If u are not into walking, then don't come because you will be walking a whole lot during the day to get to the fields. They also don't offer bathrooms except for two porta potties, but, but its all trees out there so no biggie. The place also doesn’t have a real shop just some sheet metal over some wood. BUT I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS FILED TO EVERYBODY BUT A SPEEDBALLER.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media