paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field

HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 315-453-RUSH
Address: 3417 Walters Rd
Syracuse, New York 13209
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
killer13z Monday, November 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 16th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: OK, first the pros-

Headrush is the one and only field I have ever played. The refs there in my opinion are extremely fair. The proshop can fix or sell you anything you need. They have food and drinks right downstairs. The coolest thing they have is an elevated staging area, so you can get a birds eye view of all the action. I have personally never been there when their hasn't been several people, so theirs plenty of action. Oh, and finally everyone their is extremely nice from staff to the players, not once have I gotten attitude or ignored. Finally their paint is some of the cheapest around $55 for 2000, and only $45 for some leagues and tournaments!!

Now the cons-

The only real cons about the place is...everything is filthy, including the bathrooms. However that is my only complaint...which come to think of it the cleanliness doesn't really affect your game. After awhile you don't even notice it!

Well I've been there several more times, and I'm actually increasingly impressed here. There employees are still very good, as well as their refs. Also their field is a little cleaner in my opinion.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 5:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alphaferret Saturday, August 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
aaa/play to win/fury/eas/
Review: Headrush xtreme-state fair blvd

Staff-not including refs
they are very customer oriented-putting together mods for free and giving great advise on purchases and tacts

fields
woods-never played but heard it was small

inside x ball field-dirty bunkers/dirty floors/uninflated bunkers/uneven floor/ unanchored bunkers /too dark in back areas/and on a side note the stairs that lead to the raised viewing deck( which i like)are super slippery!Watch your step!/puddles of paint on edges./not enough tables in staging areas

outdoor speed field-again-fill the bunkers -clean the bunkers-secure the bunkers!



pro shop- limited selection- but good service & workers

parking -plenty of stone covered parking spaces-handicap too!

refs-i don't think they pay these guys-just give them free play time & or paint-it shows!-
they are totally biased to the side of any local team players and treat new guys or teams w/ unfair and unsafe practices
many times there would be players on the field w/ out paint- or w/ markers altogether waanting to play and the refs would let them/
the game starts were slow and few
w/ the ref asking things like are you ready to play?-yes thats what I paid for!
players who knew the refs were bonus balling other players and myself continuosly w/ out fear of the refs- cause they wouldn't want to be neutral or unbiased-they just want to be cool w/ the regulars(not what i am looking for in a safe fun time)
also i noticed people advising players from the viewing deck/barrel bags off in areas which they should be on/firing on the field when we were supposed to have our barrel bags on/
just overall chaos as far as the refs go-We did have one older ref who was not too bad- but was only there for 3 games
I believe if they get some real refs(older / muture/ and at all costs neutral) this could be a great park
if they keep going the way of young /cockey/unneutral refs this park will not succeed w/ the local rec players & thats too bad!

location-great if you are in the 'cuse

prices-very fair & byop is appreciated

conclusion-as you can see this place could be great, but unprofessional refs bring it down to a sub par level-rating 6-out of 10
Last edited on Saturday, August 20th, 2005 at 9:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pumpaction4life Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Old Headrush, Play To Win Outdoor, Play To win Indoor, Fury outdoor and some others
Review: Okay I have visited this field 5 times, it is pretty new about a year old and it is already going down hill. Now I have went numerous times and what ive seen is the same every time.

Fields: They have a large indoor X ball field that can be combined to form two 5 man fields. Their outdoor contains a woods/fort field, a NPPL Field, and a hyper pipe that is not complete. The indoor complex also contains two bathrooms, a kitchen and a pro shop. Now the fields are horibble The indoor playing field is very dark, and it does not appear to be cleaned often. The bunkers are stained and rarley cleaned and there is literally puddles of paint that are abundant all over the place. The astro turf is uneven and is very slippery. The Woods/Fort field is not good, there are so many twigs and branches it is impossible to mark any other players unless you get into the small fort. the NPPL field is set on a mix of dirt, grass, and rocks, trust me on this one I have a 3*1 inch long gash thats pretty deep because I slid into my bunker. The air bunkers are not filled all the way (its not just one our two its almost every one) and are not properly secured. They tend to tip over and get smaller as someone hammers your bunker with paint. I rarely saw a ref fill a bunker with air or clean it.

Staff: Their desk staff is nice and will help you in the pro shop. The Refs are horrible. They do not enforce safety at all. I know because I ref at another Paintball Park regulary . I dont care if its not a tournemeant you still watch and check players at open play, which the refs dont. I had shot numerouse players with ovious hits and they would play on and it was not just one or two players it was the majority of the players. I do understand that sometimes you dont know if your hit. But When I see someone try to wipe a hit as I run by and bunker them I know The refs arent doing there jobs. When I was in the staging area I witnessed numerous players wihout Barrel Condoms on, and they were shooting not Dry Firing but Live Firing and the refs were standing next to them and said nothing. There were some new players on the field that had rentals but never were chronod and they already played a few rounds so i took them to get chronod. Some of the players were on the field without masks on, while there were players firing standing less than a foot away from them, the ref was standing less than five feet away and said nothing. And a few parents walked into the field while games were going on with no safety equitmeant on, and the refs said nothing come on refs thats common sense, just think parents see unsafe enviorment they may take their buisness elsewhere.

If this place is going to expand like it planes to I would suggest Cleaning your fields at least three or four times a day, Enforce safety rules, and clean up debree and rocks on the outdoor NPPL fields. Because if someone is injured I dont think it will make a good impression of your buisness and your staff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Pmieforce Thursday, April 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Playtowin
Review: This field is great Mike is a great guy and will help you out when you need it. Sanchez is a great tech and helps out everyone. He installed my eblade and freeflow ram and the gun works perfectly. when i had a proplem he walked me through how to fix it. The proshop is scarce with itims but has the things u really need. The prices are fair, i love playing on byop days because 45 dollars a case. Also all day air with self filling(HPA). I think they are scarce on reffs. The reffing is fair. The people that play there are great and friendly. When it gets crouded expecially on a friday or saterday there are way to many people on the field at once. I will stick at headrush because of the great staff and people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

taz1769 Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hornets nest, first prize, spaz, splat factory, liberty, NPPL, Skyball.
Review: The one and only time i played in the indoor i liked it quite a bit. The only thing that drove me completely nutz was the floor. I'm not sure if it's fixed but when i was there the carpet was all lifted up. I almost rolled my ankel quite a few times. I was there for the New York Cup and the out door had too many rocks. I'll tell ya that ACE bandage i had on my hand to stop the blood really stunk. All in all i love the people there. Extremely friendly and helpful. They set up the fields really sweet. Awesome for 3 man and pretty good for 5 man. If the floor is fixed then you'll be seing me there alot more. Oh yeah. I forgot to tell you... The pizza's GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbcrazi Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ithaca, Play to Win
Review: Well, I would say that the indoor field was not bad. It was spacious, however the setup was kind of strange though I heard that it was because the HR team was using it for practice for the upcoming tourney. I agree that turf was kind of on the bad side, but on the good side, I hear that they are replacing/redoing it over this coming summer so it should be much better. Lighting was kind of bad since there were dark portions that you could barely see any players there. Occasionally an employee would take out a broom to clean field up a bit. I agree that the store was kind of...empty, but they did hold pretty good stuff. Perhaps it was because the walls didn't have very much and it was a wide space so it was hard to fill.
Employees there were very friendly. Same with the players. Quite a good environment. They did have a food section will I didn't get anything so I don't know if it was good. Their air station was "fill your own" so it was pretty convenient.
Staging area was cool since it was on 2nd floor and overlooked the entire indoor field. BYOP day is awesome since paint there is cheap ($45 a case).
Only thing I would probably have to complain about is that each game had too many people. At one point, we had a 12 man game going on. not 6v6, but 12v12 on a 5 man field. That's just crazy. Other than that, I think it was a good field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

AnarchyPb22 Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Play To Win, Fury, Hyperson, GRC
Review: Well when I first got there it looked pretty nice and the field layout looked nice. I was very wrong. Their outdoor surface was sooo hard and painful to dive and slide on. Their proshop is practically empty also. The staff there is very nice and helpful. The local teams and refs there are horrible. If your not a local there they make you feel out of place. The reffing is soooo onesided. I was out there playing against some of their shop players and I clearly saw one of the refs wipe multiple hits from one of the players. That is not even the worst of it. The Indoor field is sooooooooooooooooooooooo unclean and messy its not even funny. The turf is separating and there is practically puddles of paint on the parts where the turf is separating. The bunkers are covered in paint. It literally looks like they havent cleaned the place since it opened. There are huge un even areas of turf and i actually witnessed 2 people trip over it because it was so uneven and slippery. And its very slippery near the field also. Their staging area is elevated but the stairs are very slippery and I saw several people nearly fall down them. The refs dont enforce safety very well either. The lighting was horrible also...
Last edited on Thursday, March 10th, 2005 at 3:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cooldude614 Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
first prize paintball
Review: I went up to the field and it was really wide and big which i likes. I went to there tournament on the 27th it was mah first xball tourny and i enjoyed it. We took first place but it was kinda hard cuz the one ref was really cocky. mah team mate got shot and didnt shoot one ball and the one ref comes over and pulls me and another guy and i was really mad. He was doing it the whole time. they always checked us when we got to our bunkes but they never checked the other team. they always cronoewed use and never them. i was really mad bout that. but we showed them after the tourny tho. also they never clean the floors. if u tried sliding u would fall flat on ur face cuz the rug is all bumpy and stuff. plus the floor is slanted. but just the main thing i hated was the refs always trying to have their home teams win but we showed them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoggedYA-Dan Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ithaca Paintball, Pine Hill
Review: Ok, lets see here.. The field was all messy balls all over the place. Low lighting wich made it difficult to see. The air Fill was nice, except the fact that could only fill to 3000.. Self Serve was quality.. Safty was absolutly horrible! The refs had their masks off in the field when they were waiting for people to play, then they would throw paint up and try to shoot it outta the air.. They did this multiple times delaying the time in which we got to play. THere were delays of approximatly 20 mins between games. Absolutly no compitition only when one of the refs played. He got one of muh buddies out on the break. Wich sucked because i had no back player.. So i tryed to do a run thru and got royaly screwed.. In the game i only got out twice witch is no fun . Seeing as i love to get hit. The refs there were unbelievabally cockey to the max. They thought they were the best wich i believe we could have killed em..

Overall:
Wouldn't Come Back Except for NY cup
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ruffneckscout15 Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The war club,hyperson.
Review: I first went to the indoor field 2 weekends ago with my team just to play some games for the day. When we got there the shop was almost completely empty. It looked like they robbed or something, but whatever. The guy we talked to was nice. The air fill is sick. t is do it yourself for compressed air. Just hook it to your tank and pull the lever. The paint was very dimply but it was bottom of the stack so get if off the top and you'll be set. Now we got on the field and played. Nice, but dang they could have cleaned up. The field was covered in paint bunkers and floor. I couldn't get to my bunker because it was so slippery. We played some kids who were on another team an apparently knew the ref. They cheated all day long! It wasn't even sneaky cheating it was just you knew it. For example, A kid was crawling up the snake i pop out and put about 10 balls on his back and pack and then he crawls into a bunker and asked the ref if he was out! And tried to wipe it. I was even standing out off to the side because i was out and was standing right next to guy and saw him get shot by my buddy in the leg and the guy goes oops and wipes it off. Then i guess some guy on there pro team played and cheated! We still got him out and then won. Overall good field, good staff, and other friendly players. Try it out just maybe not on sundays when their team players are there. Overall i give it an 8 due toempty shop and messy fields. I'm not really gonna judge the place on 1 bad experiance with only 4-5 people playin unfair utta the like 20-25 that were there.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 at 1:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media