paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wild Planet Paintball Field / Wild Planet Paintball Field / Wild Planet Paintball Field / Wild Planet Paintball Field

Wild Planet Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 480-227-8486
Address: 4517 N Curry Rd.
Casa Grande, Arizona 85222
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
pb princess Friday, September 2nd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 3rd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
My friends and I have all played at Cowtown and Splatter Ranch and prefer Wild Planet because They are far more safe and friendly.
Directions
to the Field:
They have directions posted right on their website that we printed the first time we went.
Review: I started playing paintball when I was 13 and now I am 17 and have played at a few different fields and I can say that I feel safe at this field unlike the others I have been to. The referees make sure people are using their barrel plugs and keeping their masks on where necessary. They are awesome because they do both day and night play. They sell good paint cheap. entry is only $20 and it includes air. All the other players are really cool and great with the younger kids too like when I first started. They did not overshoot me and gave me pointers on how to play better. They only have snacks and drinks for sale but we usually just bring food with us or eat before and after. The employees are always asking if people need help and if they are having a good time. I will continue to Play here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skyballer33 Tuesday, March 29th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 5th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Ranch- Much better
Review: We will start with how I ended up here. I was going balling with some friends, and they decided to take me to a new field. I said why not, after reading the reviews on here I was impressed. When I got there, it did not seem to bad. We bought paint, which was extremely cheap. This is when my marker jammed. Like other fields, I went up to the manager so they could tell me what was wrong. They told be that due to insurance reasons, they could not open up my marker. I have honestly never heard a field owner say this. Now here comes the fun part. The Air tanks that they use all ran out, and it took us an hour to get more air for our tanks. I also left the field with 52, yes, 52, mosquito bites. We later learned that they had mosquito repellent at the front counter, but they did not tell anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

DVplayer Sunday, December 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A Field closed down
Directions
to the Field:
Check their website http://www.wildplanetpaintball.com/directions.htm
Review: To start off, WOW. I played here first for the first yesterday and was really impressed. I was worried if the players were going to be too agressive. Seeing I brought my nephew for the first time, who is 10 years old. We walked up, signed our waivers and proceeded towards the window to pay. We were greeted by the owner right away. (I think his name was Randy) He asked if we needed any rental gear which I declined seeing I brought some for my nephew. (But they have everything, guns,masks,chest protectors for rent). Seeing we got there a little early (8:30am, they don't open till 9am) I asked them when people started showing up, he said usually 9:00-9:30 possibly later. Which was no problem because I wanted to walk the field and show my nephew a few things. I asked the owner if I could walk the field, he said that was fine; as long as we had a mask on. Which to me shows they are very conerned about safety, even if no one was else was on field with a gun.

9 oclock rolls around and people start trickling in, and then BAM! 9:30-10ish everyone rushed it. We got air and proceeded chrono, which is 285FPS. Once everyone was close to ready, the ref did orientation (which explains the rules) Here are some rules I liked most, that other field don't have.

1. NO bunkering/close shooting.-They require a minimum of 20 feer OR more before you can shoot someone. I liked this rule seeing it was my nephews first time.

2. Gun hits don't can't- This rule is great for the new players, so they don't get out too fast. And are able to get the hang of it faster.

3. 285FPS(Feet Per Second)- Most field are 300FPS, but 15 FPS does make a difference on sting factor. The Ref also mentioned if anyone get caught shooting over 285 during play, they had to sit 3 games. This is done by a hand held chrono.

After orientation we got divided on teams, which were switched up during the day by the Ref to keep the teams fair. And started playing. Through out the day we played a bunch of different fields and games. Such as elimination, capture the flag etc. Around noon time they yell out to everyone if they wanted to order pizza. Which we did and it was like $8 for a large, and was really good pizza. They also had drinks for sale like water,powerade, and soda. Reasonanbly priced also, but you can also bring your own drinks and food if you want.

After 6 hours and lots of games we were finally wore out and packed up. As we started walking to the car is seemed like everyone who worked there said thanks for coming up, which is rare now a days haha. We also picked up punch cards, which are like those old subway punch cards. 5 entries and you get one free. And they punched it for that day too, so I only got 4 more to go!

All in all we had a blast, and now my nephew is hooked. It was awesome playing with people who were out there to have fun and be safe. (A lot of families playing together, which is cool)

I hope to be back soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

FULLXPECTRUM Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Desert Fox in Tucson, Wild Planet has variety when it comes to fields but they are small compared to DF's one big field.
Review: I made the trek out there once, I went fully loaded with my A5 with SAW mods from opsgear and acu camo with molle vest. It is a fine load out if playing in a large area. but the field we played was speedball size, a size im not used to. I only played one game when my aA5 Egrip crapped out on me. I thought it was an oring that was causing the misfires. I went to thank the owner (?) and he asked why I was leaving so early. (Early I spoke with him and told him I came from the Tohono O'odham Indian Reservation, some 60 to 75 miles away) He said that a batch of Egrips were bad and probably was to blame. I started to head to my car when he made a fine gesture and gave me back my $20. Keep in mind that I didnt throw a fit or demand my money back. I plan to head back there once my specops Omnipat ultralites come in the mail.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BUS Saturday, November 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
southwest (closed), cowtown, extreme pursuit, 23BPS and various renegade fields
Review: We played at hte toys-for-tots charity event 2006, 2007 and about once every 2 months. Its a 2 hour drive but well worth it. This is the safest field you can play at in AZ, The field is well run, chrono is enforced and they tend to split up the teams evenly. Best of all the refs actually do their jobs and paint check people. Its BYOP and $20 entry fee.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chief Brody Tuesday, October 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I played in the Police & Fire games this pass weekend. The staff was great!! field was clean and in good shape, paint and equipment was priced right. Safety was a priority, food was gooood, ref's were profesional and courteous and on top of the games going on. Thank you Wild Planet for hosting our tourney this year you guys Rock!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Noobasuras Monday, October 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Well no other fields in area but...
Directions
to the Field:
www.wildplanetpaintball.com
Review: www.PBAZ.com i am Ionmasta AKA Dollhouse i play every weekend out at WPP and the fun never stops..... there is nothing more i can say for this field because it says it all YOU GOT TO PLAY AT WPP!!! only thing is its dirty so wear your old raggity clothes unless you have paintball clothes... WOO... YOU GOTTA TRY DIS PLACE!!!!Exclamtion!!!1!!!1!!!one!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hondakid Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tucson fields. Its most like sudden impact
Directions
to the Field:
Check website, www.wildplanetpaintball.com
Review: This was the first time I ever went to this field and I was attracted to it because of the night games from 7pm-midnight during their summer hours...so lets begin

Safety- Fairly safe, we got there and the owner let us know about the no bunkering and other rules, they chronoed all of us and enforced goggles very well. The only thing I was suprised about was they really didnt enforce the wearing of barrel bags up until the game started, they didnt stop you from shooting whenever you wanted once you entered the field area. I was disappointed in this, but they were still very safe.

Hours of Ops- Well like I said the night thing during the summer was sweet and it was nice to not have to play in the hot desert heat.

Prices- Reasonable, 20 for pass and all day air, even if you run CO2, and you can use your own paint. I think ladies play for 10 or something. They sell just about anything you would need or want from guns to food.

Rules- Reviewed before everyone played and refs made sure everyone understood.

Staff/Refs- Both very helpful and pretty knowledgeable about paintball and willing to help out with anything. The refs were always running all over the field to watch for paint breaks and doing paint checks.

Players- Good group, every one wanted to have a good time and no one was ramping or cheating (that I saw) and since they kept changing the teams it was not one sided or anything. The guns out there were not too high end which is nice if you are just starting or just play for the fun of it, (which is why we all start in the first place)

Facilities and Food- You can order pizzas for 8 bucks which is SWEET, but they also have drinks and stuff at good prices. It was nice to see signage to get to the field once you get off the highway, since I didnt really know how to get there and if you havent been there before you might wonder why you are in the middle of nowhere.


Conclusion- Nice place to play, The night thing was fun but since I was playing with dark paint and the lights werent the brightest, it was rather hard to see the players in dark clothing as well as the paint. They only have the air field and rocket field lit up, but we didnt play on the air field, so it got sorta old just switching sides all night. But it was a great time and I would suggest this place to any Arizonan that wants to beat the heat!
Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 5:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alias007 Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at 23bps, Cowtown, and at Paintball City. Nothing can compare to Wild Planet. Since i work there and live 15 minutes away it is awesome.
Directions
to the Field:
Go to www.wildplanetpaintball.com for directions and pricing.
Review: This field is awesome. I like that it is family friendly. That is what makes it so great. Joe osuch(part owner), and Randy Largent(owner) are two great guys. Go to Wild PLanet Paintball to play the 6 fields and to get to know everyone there. Everyone that plays there has a blast compared to when they go somewhere else. So pickl Wild Planet Paintball and you will have made a great decision.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

mikegia5 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cowtown - Not as many field choices as Wild Planet.
Directions
to the Field:
Not as far as you think! About 25 miles south/east of Phoenix on I-10. I live in Ahwatukee and it's only about 35 minutes from my door. It's really easy to get to (see directions on their web-site).
Review: I'm a newbie and I really enjoy playing on this field. There are 6 playing fields all in the desert (no grass). The refs and owners really emphasize safety and have a passion for the game. They are always offering advice on how to play and to help with equipment problems.

Costs - currently $20 for all day air (CO2 or HPA). This includes marker and mask rental. If you rent a marker, you must use field paint (nel splat at 45/2000 rounds). If you don't rent, you can bring your own paint.

Hours - Vary depending on time of year. Saturday and Sunday. During the summer they open up early and then again at night. They also open up during school holidays (spring break, Christmas break). I hear the night games are fun but I haven't done it yet.

Retail - Some snack foods, soda, water available at the shack, plus a nice (but small) assortment of equipment for sale for emergencies. On busy days they usually order pizza at $8 / pie. They also sell paint (of course!).

Refs - The refs are really good here. They always keep the games under control and moving. They reshuffle the teams whenever there is an inbalance. The refs mix up the games and sometimes play capture the flag, double elimination, or at the end sometimes a "hits don't count" game, where no one can cross the 50 and everyone just shoots at each other.

Safety - They have two or three chrono stations and require that everyone chrono below 285. Masks are required in the field area and condoms required outside of the field. They don't allow a surrender rule - if you're too close - you are considered neutral and moved apart ( to prevent people from shooting each other at too close a range). You cannot shoot at someone closer than one bunker, or about 20 feet.

Rocket Field - My favorite - it has a trench running across the center (50) with a bridge. Several types of bunkers - all marked with numbers for easy communication ("T25 is hot"). It's also lighted for night-time play.

Barrel Field- A nice snake on one side and a big barrel pyramid at the 50. Plenty of bunkers, but many are lower so there is more squatting on this field.

Hiper Tube Field - Hiper tubes are tall and skinny, so big butts (like mine) need to be extra careful. There is a boat and car imbedded in a dirt mound at the 50.

Spool Field - This is right next to the Hiper tube field, and the refs sometimes combine both fields into a huge game. The spool field can be challenging because you don't always realize your foot is exposed at the bottom of a round spool. There are two cars imbedded in a dirt mound at the 50 here also.

Alamo Field - Great alamo field with trenches and bunkers surrounding the alamo fort.

Speed Ball/Inflatible Field. I've never played this but watched the AZ/Ballbusters practice here. I believe they set it up for team practice or perhaps special requests, but the field is not always up.

Players - there's a wide variety of talent - from parents, kids, and moms - to team players. There are many "pump" players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media