paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 530-757-7700
Address: 24998 County Rd. 102
Davis, California 95616
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
themccannman Thursday, October 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Capital edge (amazing)
Solano county field(crap)
WAP (good)
Directions
to the Field:
Follow poleline until you get to a dirt turnoff to a go kart track, then just drive past the track and you'll end up at the field.
Review: Davis is a great field for playsers of any skill range. i probably shouldn't be writing this review since i work there but i am basing this review off both my opinion and others. We as refs work a long day from 8-5 to bring you a good field, we recently put in new turf for the NPPL super 7 field, we may put up an X-ball field where the old turf was and we definetily are putting up hyperball on the far lot. Admission is $15 all day air is $5 and pizza is $1 per slilce or $10 per pizza(12 slices). on the firt saturday of everymonth we have a scenario day, $15 for admission and air is free, plus there are free hotdogs. Paint is $40 per case for karnage brown box, if you want to buy other paint the closest pro shop is outfit paintball in vacaville, $40 for karnage red box, and $45 for karnage blue box.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 17th, 2008 at 7:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Friday, September 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
You have 2 off of Highway 505, Wild Adventure Paintball and Midway Extreme. Also have Capital Edge in Sacramento. I'm sure there are others near Davis, but they currently don't come to mind.
Directions
to the Field:
The directions are easy, just follow the one's on the web site.
Review: This is the 3rd time me and my friends have gone to this field. By far its one of the better fields I've played at. It's also the most affordable one too.

Admission $15
HPA 3k or 4k all-day $5
Pizza $5

Not really sure on the prices on the paintballs. I always buy them elsewhere for less.

Let's see, Safety! They really don't check the chrono and I've had to point out a few people running the markers hot. There are more newbies that go here and some of the more seasoned players are the one's running there markers hot and hurting the noobs. Other then the refs not checking the chrono's, it's a pretty good field for any type of player.

The fields are nice and they just cleaned up the area and rearranged the fields. 4 Corners was made a little bigger and has more bunkers. Stalingrad is a good close quarter combat field thats always fun to play. The speedball fields are okay, but since I don't like them or like playing them I'll skip them. The other 2 rec fields are also fun to play at.

I'd give this field a high recommendation for seasoned and new players.
Last edited on Saturday, September 27th, 2008 at 9:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

greg94080 Wednesday, September 17th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Jungle
Sherwood Forest
BAP
Operation Paintball
Venture Paintball

Most comparable to Sherwood.
Directions
to the Field:
Get them from the website.
Review: Pros:
Refs ran efficient games and divided teams well so that it was not too stacked to one side. They will do paintchecks for you in mid game but don't really seem to get too involved in disputed hits.

Free hotdogs the last time I played there.

Nice fields: There are pot holes but who cares. It not supposed to be a bed of roses. We moved around through most of the fields during the two times I have played there and there was plently of cover for the noob to the experienced player. Lots of angles to shoot from.

Self fill air station: 3000 and 4000 psi fills.

Cons:
No adherence to chrono: The two times I have played there no one was checking chrono. As a matter of fact the last time I was there the chrono was completley useless as it was obviously busted. Now I have seen a review saying this is not a big deal and that grown men should be responsible for their own chrono. As I agree somewhat with this, a grownup also owns this place and should act accordingly by assuring a working chrono as well as making sure folks are using it.

Paintball prices: They do not stay the same. I believe they give discounts to whomever they feel like hooking up that day. One day its $45 the other its $50. Charged me too much last time I was there and then practically gave away free admission to their friends right behind me and mine.

Porta Potty: There was only one there the first time I was there and nothing the last time.

Safety Speech: The first time I was there I was given a very stunted safety speech by an employee walking by. The second time I was there there was no hint of a safety speech whatsoever. As I am fully aware of the do's and dont's I believe that a safety speech is still a necessary begining to a day of paintball especially with the amount of rented markers I saw out there that day.

All in all I give this place a 7 of 10. As some of the employees were quite helpfull some were condisending as well as blatently over charging some and while giving free admission to their friends. If I were friends with them I prolly would not be complaining about it. It gets deathly hot out there in the dead of summer so bring some shade and plenty of water.

Last edited on Wednesday, September 17th, 2008 at 10:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

EFMK4 Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Vallejo Indoor Paintball(closed down)
Midway Paintball(Vacaville)
Directions
to the Field:
See website...
Review: Safety- it was Ok. They chrono when you first start but not the rest of the day.
Hours was 9-4 more like 9:30-4:00 (airball ends at 3:30)
Price is very fair- $15.00 entrance $5.00 all day air not inc. co2
Rules just like all fields must have barrel cover and mask
Service- very good. we played private party and we had a ref. assigned to us and he was ready to go all the time.
Refs- we had a good ref. asked for a paint check an d he always did
Food- they offer to order pizza for $10.00 for 1 large
Pro shop- they have just basic tools but its better than nothing
Over all I like this place. There was not that many people. It did get warm towards the end of the day. They only had 1 airball field up but it was ok because nobody wanted to play there so we played most games on the airball field. The staff is very friendly, fields are not that bad but on some of the rec ball fields you have to watch out where you step because of potholes. Air station has 3000 and 4000 psi....

very good place to play for the general public and weekend player.....not the best place but its good enough....
Last edited on Sunday, July 20th, 2008 at 4:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Preston Tucker Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Capitol Edge - Good: for speed ball, safety, variaty in bunkers
Bad: nothing but speedball
Directions
to the Field:
See website
Review: Safety: More safe than playing outlawball. The chronoing is not enforced and I got shot with a hot gun. Other than that, very good. You get yelled at by not only the refs, but the other players if you don't have a mask or barrel cover on, and then you get a 1 hour "time-out" for a repeat offence.

Fields: As long as you have good, creative refs then the fields are good. The set up allows for field combining which can create many fun game types.

Hours: 9am-4pm. The hours are really 10-3:30, not because of the refs, but because people start to leave and there isn't enough people to play.

Prices: Very good. only $20 for all day plus all day air. It says that it is $60 for a case of 2000 balls on the site. But my buddy got it for only $45. The paint is pretty good too.

Rules: Normal Paintball rules. Last time I went, we had a-hole refs (a rarity) who were lazy biddies and said that gun and hopper shots didn't count. Also, in a center flag game, one of our players left his gear to run for the "bomb" and when he got back, the refs said we lost because he was "abandoning equipment". They never said anything about that. I knew that there was that rule for some game types, but that was just stupid.

Proshop: OK. They have a few people who really know their stuff, but you have to bring your own tools most of the time.

Staff: Varies. There are some really cool guys, and a few lazy guys. I was unlucky enough to get both lazy guys as refs last time I went. But most of them are nice and are willing to help.

Players: As long as they aren't wearing XSV jerseys, most players are awsome.

Facilities: Small proshop and one portopotty. Not too bad, certaily better than outlawball.

Food: Good, cheap pizza, especially if you are going with a friend or some of them.

In conclusion: A good, cheap alternative for paintball. It is not the 4 Seasons of paintball, but it is what it should feel like. It is what most painballers like, not too much restriction, but no frozen paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chadharper Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've been to wap, but it's farther and not fun at all.
Directions
to the Field:
davispaintball.com
Review: Safety: The safety at Davis used to be horrible they never checked the chrono or anything, now they give safety speeches.

Fields: The castle field is gone due to a hash storm a while back and that was my all time favorite field now the new castle field sucks it is way biased to one side. Same with rec ball II as they call it on their website, but you can get lucky and win on the other side. Air ball is fun to, but usually is put up on Sunday.

Prices are the cheapest I've seen.

Rules are just like anywhere else, but last time I went at the ending games they said gun hits don't count which is bull!

Refs are okay, but don't check players often which gets annoying.

Players are good, but sometimes you get those @$$wholes and wipers. Last time I went we played with some people with xsv outfits and they wiped the whole day and not one single ref said a word.

Food is good (pizza)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

caretaker320 Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood- more game selections ( woods, hyperball, airball, X-ball)
WAP- goodl variation in fields, 1 airball
Directions
to the Field:
see above
Review: Safety: No one really checks the speed. You can chrono for your own leisure or just want to try your gun, but refs don's check. Also once in the field, players are the ones that usually check each other for safety and once out of the field, the same thing. Mostly the new players are the ones that forget to put in a barrel plug/sock.

Fields: I like their new carpeted fields (2). Most of the fields I played are either dirt or bark. Maybe should have put sand under the turf to maybe even out the surface. Also a little sweeping of the balls once in a while would help. The refs do a pretty decnet job on trying to keeps the bunkers inflated. Other than that, the turf feels good having to slide and not get all dirty. It also gives the feeling of how it is in the tournaments with the layout of the bunkers.
I didn't play in the grass field but that was a selection for newer players to play on. Bad thing about it is that newer people have limited choices on where to play.

Hours: This was a little different than the other places I go to. 1) Hours are from 9-4. We started at 1030 and ended at 2 PM. They didn't do a safety speech, they didn't call for walk -ons, and it was pretty much if you want to play, just hang around and wait for the next game.
Prices: The price was good. Only cost me twnety bucks where in other fields are $30.
Food, Facilities, Proshop, Services: Food was only pizza but since the place goes to lunce for like an hour, you could go to the plaza down the street. Only 1 port-a-potty. Not much of a pro shop so bring all your stuff. The rentals are decent for using SPyders.
Refs: What else is there to say that haven't been said. some of the refs actually refs. They do paint check when called upon, but some refs just stay to the side and look. I noticed in some games, the players end up checking the other players. The refs should be more pro-active and actually participate in the games.

Overall this field is decent, especially for speed ball players. The new turf and layout makes the games exciting. For new players, since most of the airball fields are occupied by seasoned players, it leaves them only one field to play. My suggestion is to try out Sherwood or WAP since they have variations in their fields. So if you're the speed ball freak, try this out, I know I will come back again. To new players, try out the other fields, since Davis only has 1 newbie field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

kam74 Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
available on website
Review: Most of the points have been covered in other reviews. I'd just like to say that Davis Paintball is a great field. The staff is friendly and the refs do their jobs for the most part. The prices are VERY reasonable and lower than just about anywhere else in california. other players are cool and i've not had a bad experience yet. The fields are awesome and the setup is changed around frequently.
Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 5:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Desacrator Sunday, May 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
get directions from the site
Review: Ok, this place was really terrible.

Chrono - its pointed at the field so even if ur in a game, there is a possibility you might get shot. That happened to me and my friend.

Safety - they give you a safety warning, but only if you rent a markers from them. if my friend went by himself with his friend's gear, he would have been running around with 308 psi and they would no idea.they don't care if you check the chrono of your gun. all they said was "somewhere behind those nets". also, they don't have any sort of barricade to prevent cars from getting shot. 1 field is next to the drive way of the parking lot

Refs - laziest people ever. all the refs did was literally stand there and say "1,2,3 go!". they didn't even pay attention to the game. They talked to their friends the whole game, every game. they didn't do paint checks or anything.

Staff - he gave me crap for not bringing a ful tool box. all i needed was a screwdriver a. and he almost didn't give me and my friends the tools to tighten/loosen the valves for the air/CO2.

Players - i didn't meet anyone that was actually a jerk, save one(surprising since almost all of them were sponsored). I got crap from some idiot who told me not to buy paint from Wal Mart, even though its about half price for the same brand of paint......

prices - for marker rentals it isn't bad, but paint is expensive .

for some odd reason, everyone left at around noon to 1 pm. i have no idea why. even 1 of the refs left. so we had 1 ref for 2 fields(not like it mattered he didn't do anything anyways, buts the concept)

on their site they are supposed to have about seven fields, they had three...... we couldn't play on the air ball field because of some particular reason only a specific 10 guys could play. the other field, 4 corners was constantly being used and the games last forever so we only got 1 game of that. we played on the 3rd remaining field, i don't remember what its called.

They had 4 positive things
1)good field(the unnamed one)
2)everything is close by so you don't have to use pod packs. you have enough time to get more paint before each game starts
3) they had tents to cover your gear
4)self-serve air refills

Negative
- crappy refs
expensive paint
- danger with the chronograph
- danger if people don't check their guns(going rebound mode with 320-330 psi doesn't not sound fun for the other persons mask or 400)

-didn't even tell use to safely chrono guns or where it is
-

Conclusion - It sucked what happened

ima gonna redo this at the endo of the month
Last edited on Friday, September 7th, 2007 at 9:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

ILoveLamp Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
midway
Directions
to the Field:
in davis
Review: I liked this course. not loved, liked.
the only thing i didnt like was a homo kid wearing a pink thong. It was a little awkward.
I really liked the long grass. it reminded me from back in 'Nam.
The pizza was bomb and cheap.
The refs were lazy, but i dont blame them, the courses are pretty large.. which is a good thing. im going back this weekend, hope it still have the same zing it used to
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media