paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 530-757-7700
Address: 24998 County Rd. 102
Davis, California 95616
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Spyderphreak Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
enemy territory,midway,Sierra Paintball,WAP
Directions
to the Field:
ON their site.
Review:

I got there really early and was just checking the place out.

1 port a potty and no proshop. if your gear breaks, you better have the extra parts.

Some of the people didnt know how to fill CO2 and kept frosting and over-filling the tanks.

The walking and asking for pizza is really kool. $10 for a whole pizza.

Some of the refs Cant REF for crap! Our first game there and there was no heres the safety rules and what you can't and can do on a field. One kid, a new one was bunkered down in the starting area they have and shooting from there the whole game. The ref just stood there all game untill he was the last one and called the game saying he was out of bounds. Talk about shaddy, some players didnt take well and arguments broke out.

Some of the other refs are really cool.

chrono is right next to a field YOU CAN GET SHOT.

Self serve HPA air is awesome.

Overall I had fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

_LT_ Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nfinite
WAP
JF in Grass Valley (I think that's the name of it) but that was a LONG time ago
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are listed on their website, http://davispaintball.com/directions.htm
Review: First off, a little general info about Davis. They're open from 9 to 4 Sat or Sun, rain or shine. If you have a group of 15 or more you can get reservations for a private game 7 days a week. Admission is $15. All day air is $5 (NOTE - they only have a #3000 fill station, no #4500). CO2 refills are $2 for a 7-9oz (get a 9 oz with a rental I believe), $3 for a 10-12oz, $4 for a 13-16oz, and $5 for a 17-20oz. Rentals are $25 and Coverall rentals are $5. Rentals get you admission, a marker, mask, CO2 tank, hopper, and 100 paintballs. You have to shoot field paint if you rent, although that's to be expected. Girls with their own gear play for free minus all day air or CO2 refills. Their paint is pretty pricey, just like every other field, so if you can, bring your own paint.

Their pro shop is a little lacking. So don't expect to find too many things there if you're missing something. I'm not sure what they do and don't have, but their shop isn't very large. Everyday, the refs walk around and ask if anyone wants pizza. It's $1 a slice, or $10 for a whole pizza. They also sell Gatorade. I believe they're $2.

They only have 1 porta-potty, but it's sufficient. They have quite a few tables, and when it's hot and sunny out, they usually have them covered with sun shade tents which is nice

The fields are nice. Some of them need a little weed-eater work, but overall they're set up pretty nicely. You can check out some pics of their fields on their website under Pictures. I don't want to review each of their fields, but I've always had fun on all their fields assuming the teams are set up evenly.

The only thing I didn't like was that their crono shoots right into one of their fields, so you have to be careful both when you crono and when you see someone about to crono. Wouldn't be very fun to get shot before the game even starts.

All the staff are very nice and approachable, including the refs, and the owner, Micah, is a real cool guy. Most all of the players are good guys as well.

The only real complaint that I have is that the refs don't really do a whole lot of reffing. They kind of just stand around and say, "GO GO GO". Which, since everyone I've played with has been honest about being hit, is fine, but a little bit of proactive reffing would be nice.

Sometimes they don't pick the most even of teams, but they usually fix it after a game or two. If they don't, the best thing to do is to just try to even up the teams yourself. I've had experiences with some good refs who are running around and checking to ensure that no ones hit, and I've had some who just lean against one of the netting poles and wait for the game to end.

Sometimes the refs seem like they're afraid to say, "Hay lets get a game going here guys!", but I can understand being uncomfortable around people that you don't really know. Overall, I've had some good refs, and I've had some bad refs. The bad refs weren't any worse than the refs at the other fields that I've played at, and the good ones weren't any better.

One thing the field need to work on is safety. The refs seem to be afraid to tell someone to put their barrel bag on or to quit messing around. It really pisses me off walking out to a field and having to zig zag around all the people who feel the need to shoot anything that is standing off the ground. The refs and staff need to stop this. I know that they probably don't care if people waste their air and paint on shooting a shed, but it's a safety issue in my opinion. It's especially a problem when the refs are trying to set up teams and half the people are facing the other direction shooting at a post or something stupid. The barrel bags should be kept on until you're ready to begin playing. And the moment you're off the field, they should be put back on.

Some people seemed to have a problem realizing that once you go out past the meshing, you're mask never comes off. Most of the time, the refs immediately caught the problem and told them to keep the masks on, and when they didn't a player usually told them to keep their mask on. It was mainly new players, so I could understand their confusion, but maybe a sign would help people to realize where they need to have their masks on and where they don't.

One thing that I really like about Davis was the fact that there isn't really a set time for games. For instance, at Nfinite, the refs will usually call for the Walk-ons group to get ready to go play. At Davis, There can be a game going on every field all at the same time. So you just walk to where ever you want to play and hop into the next game. Then you can go play at some other field if you want. There isn't a whole lot of down time which I really like. There's been numerous times where I'll go out to a field, play a game, and have a bunch of guys need to go fill up on paint and air. Well, I don't, so instead of having to head back to my car and wait, I can just go to a different field and join that game.

Even with the minor problems that the field has, I still have a hard time finding a field that I enjoy playing at more and that's why I go to Davis whenever I have the chance to play. It's a great field with great staff. The only problems are the small pro shop and the sometimes sketchy safety enforcement. But overall it's a great field and that's why I give it a 9.

Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 11:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Icankillyou Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wap....Lame
Directions
to the Field:
Use Mapquest
Review: Ok heres the rundown. People are always talking cr@p about Davis Paintball for several reasons.
1. Davis is very loose with its playing times. For instance, there are no set times for games. So there are often 3 games going on at once. I think this rocks because it makes it so you don't have to be worried about missing a game, because they are constantly being played all day long.(non stop)
2. The refs at Davis are really nice ,but are really just there to hang out. They do a good job and all ,but need to be more actively reffing.

I have been going here for as long as its been in buisness. I think that if your a serious tourny player or a laid back rec baller this is your best bet. It offers it all Nppl Air ball fields, Xpall fields, karnage air ball field, a smaller castle field, and a huge 4 corners field.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjhetrick Monday, December 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action, Wild Adventure, NorCal Paintball, TAG Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
I-80 exit Mace Blvd., North on Mace Blvd (Away from Taco Bell/Burger King)- follow the curve around to the right and keep going west, turn right on Pole Line Road, left into the park (behind the go-kart track -- can't see it from the road, must follow the little signs)
Review: I recently got back into the sport and have predominantly played here because it's 5 minutes from my house. If I wasn't from Davis, I wouldn't go out of my way to make it out to this place.

Fields -- They have "6" fields at the facility - 3 airball and 3 others - but the one of the 'others' is completely unplayable and I've never seen more than two airball fields set up for non-tourney purposes. Also, the ground looks like it has been plowed and makes it difficult to run/slide properly.
-The NPPL field can be pretty cool, but sometimes I question their layouts.
-The four corners field is very cool. It's a lot of fun if there are enough people to play it and the teams are divided evenly.
-The castle field is fun but kinda unbalanced. There is one building in the middle of the field and whoever controls it has a huge advantage. Cool in theory, but it's a little bit closer to one side so, in my experience, whoever is on the north side tends to win.
-The hay bale field is completely unplayable. It's a series of (maybe) 10 falling apart hay bales that is overrun with weeds.
-The 7 man airball field is fine, but I've never even played the Karnage field because it's never set up.

Staff- The owner is pretty cool-- very laid back and nice enough if you talk to him, but he just does not seem to care about the field. The refs are a complete joke. They are not there to work or ref the game, they are there to hang out with their buddies and get paid for it. In 8 or 9 trips out there, I have NEVER seen a ref call somebody out-- they just stand there and fool around with their guns while the paying customers have to ref their own game. There was one game I played where the refs set up the teams as rentals/noobies vs. experienced players. It was ridiculous-- 10 v. 8 or something and by the end of the game, all the noobs were gone and I don't think they had hit one of us. That's fine with me- an experiment or whatever.... but when they had us play 2 more games without changing the teams- I resolved to never go there again.

Prices- $15 field fee, $5 for air. Pretty standard. No complaints.

Patrons- There are usually a hand full of decent players and a bunch of rentals/noobs out there. The field brats really annoy me, but I've also met some really nice guys out there.

Overall - Nothing spectacular. It's fun if you bring a big enough group to run your own games (which you'll have to). The facilities aren't top notch but it's very laid back. I can live with some janky fields because I usually play airball and they have a couple decent fields, but the refs are just ridiculous. They make NO effort to actually ref anything- it doesn't bother me that much because most people are honest about things, but on principal, I'm offended by their lack of effort. Part of the money I pay to go there goes to paying their wages, and they don't act like they're there to work. That pisses me off. Anyway, I always have fun when I go there (because I love paintball) but I think there are better places to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Parrotfish100 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway (Vacaville)- WAAAAAY BETTER
Directions
to the Field:
Heading towards San Fran on I-80 take a right to the Midway Exit, follow the road for a bit and a right on Pole Line rd. It'll be on the left and follow the signs.
Review: First off, the owner is pretty lazy. Customer service sucked pretty bad.

Second, refs. They sucked pretty bad as well. Half of the time, they didn't pay much attention and actually asked the players if they were hit. They sorta stood there with their arms crossed and gazed around.

Third, fields. The fields sucked too. Except for the NPPL field.... that one was pretty fun.

Hours- Normal

Prices- Not too bad. I'd never go there if they were any higher.


All in all, I'd rather drive the extra half hour to a better field. I'd rate it a 4/10... They avoided a two with their NPPL field : ) From now on, I'm just going there whenever Foothill Paintball has their play days.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FastSniper Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Paintball Games - more of a woodsball place with a mostly unfriendly staff.
Directions
to the Field:
www.davispaintball.com - has very easy to follow directions.
Review: Well, I have only recently started to seriously play paintball and have been searching for a good place to play. I tried Action Paintball, but it was more of a woodsball themed place and I was looking for a place that had better speedball fields.

The first time that I went to the Davis Paintball center I took my wife with me to play for the first time. I was a bit worried about the reaction of the staff to her lack of experience with the game and the equipment. My worries, though, ended up being unnecessary because I had one of the best customer service experiences of my life there!

The staff was extremely friendly. The treated me, my wife and the friends that had come with us with respect and courtesy. I was very impressed because they went out of their way to make the experience enjoyable for us.

My friends were given great deals on the rental equipment and cases of paint and on several occassions they did not even charge us! One of their techs even took a look at my marker when it was malfunctioning and helped me get it working. At another time a different tech gave me a battery when mine had died.

I felt foolish at times because of the problems that kept coming up, but the staff there made it their job to get me to have fun. Overall it was an extremely satisfying experience!

I know that I did not cover the pricing or fields; I just felt that those had already been covered by many other reviews. This is more of a testimonial about the friendly and professional staff that they have working for them.

If you are a new player or have been playing for a while, I highly recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilpaintballeer Sunday, October 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
norcal-way better
sherwood-way better
Review: Well this is by far the worst field iv'e ever played. The grass in the pics on there site look nothing like the field. The owner is the worse @$$ hat ever. He confinskated(sp) sum 11 year old perana becuz the poor kid shot a ball out side the netting w/ his barrel condom off. He completly took the gun and put it in his own stuff. No1 told us that our pizza had been at the shak for like 45 minutes and yells and ppl for nuthing all the time.

saftey-there was no saftey briefing or speech,but they cheked fps.
games-set up unfair teams all day ..i think my team won once
facilities-1 portopotty..norval has a good sized bathroom
fields-actuall bunkers were nice but terain blew me and the setup wasn't great either.
refs-they were chill
prices-good prices
owner-wehen i went to buy a soda he said i was wasting his time.....
set up for equipment-there were about 2 chairs per table and i had to it on ground all day.

owverall i would give this field a d or and f...it would be an f but refs were chill.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Cam128 Saturday, August 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Ok lets take this one at a time:

Safety: The field is pretty good on safety; the basics are taken care of like they make you chrono at the beginning of the day or if they see that you just got there. Plugs in and masks on is strictly enforced where they need to be. Also if you notice other players being unsafe, just mention it to management and they'll take care of it. My only safety gripe is that no one checks gun modes.

Fields: Several fields, one haystack and bunker field, but it doesn't get much play. One rec fortress field, great for nubs but challenging for a 5 on 5 advance. And then three airball fields where they put up either NPPL, Karnage, or one other that I can't remember right now. The fields here are normally pretty well maintained, just sometimes it can be really muddy after a bad rain and there is alot of brush in the spring cause they don't mow it every week.

Hours: Weekends 9am- 4pm, never seen them closed.

Prices: GREAT PRICES - Self-equipped is $15 flat all day fee, $5 all day air. $25 for the rental package. Byop for self equipped. Field paint is not badly priced for a paintball place, maxing out at $60 a case.

Location: Kind of hidden, they are in this big field behind a go-kart track, so you have to take this winding dirt road behind the track to get to them.

Rules - Nothing special, same generic rules you'd find anywhere.

Service - They've helped me out when I had problems with my gun, and if I needed to borrow a piece of equipment (hopper, barrel condom, etc. .) It was free of charge. Management is great, friendly and always willing to help out.

Proshop: Not much of one, they have a few items in the back of the main office, but your there to play, not shop.

Staff: see service

Refs: refs vary (as they always will)- on average they are there making their paint checks and keeping the group active. On a rare occasion you'll get some lazy refs, or they will be shorthanded and you'll be down to one ref a game. On somewhat more occasions there are some really great refs, that are there on the ground with you watching for paint checks, running the field looking for wipers, just generally doing their best to make you enjoy the game.

Players: You get some pretty diverse groupings, last time I was there, there were two teams practicing on one field with advance players, with nubs and a Chinese church group on the other. Any of course the quality of players (sportsmanship) of course varies from the day to day as it does with all fields.

Facilities: To get there you must drive down some long dusty windy roads, but there are several signs to help you for your first time. They have netted off fields with a semi-covered staging area. My only complaint with the facilities would be they only have porta-potties instead of a real bathroom.

Food: I have seen them sell pizza and drinks; there are also a variety of fast food places right down the street.

Note: As of last time I was there for the self-equipped barrel plugs are not allowed, you have to use a barrel condom (safer for you, others and better for your gun). Though of course if you're self-equipped, why are you using a plug anyway?

Recommendations: Bring a group of friend to play, that way you can run your own games just with your friends if you want, I have done so several times before and it was great.

Overall: Good field overall, cheap prices and good fields. I give it an 8 out of 10. The reason for this score is I took what this field would be if it was perfect then -1 for no bathroom with plumbing, and -1 for the way it can get really muddy/overgrown at the end of the rainy season/end of spring.
Last edited on Saturday, September 23rd, 2006 at 3:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Broncosboi90 Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 23rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
midway=my fav =)
Jungle=very cool if u like woodsball
Directions
to the Field:
Dont go.....easiest thing to remember
Review: well let me just say this is one of the worst fields i have been to. I think the main reason for this was the fact there is no drainage at the field and there was about 6inches of water/mud. Also there is no protection. What i mean is where you park your car the safety net was down so u had the fear of being shot. Also i could only see 3 poorly maintained fields that where no where near what midway has to offer. I was dissapointed, the internet pictures made this field look good. Price is good i guess so it doesnt get a 1. Staff was nice
Last edited on Friday, June 30th, 2006 at 8:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jc127 Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
old paintball sams
that one in the santa cruz mountains
APG
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to miss if your not familar with the area. Keep an eye out for the minikart track and turn there.
Review: This field is close to my house so I went to check it out when I needed a bottle filled. They were nice and filled my tank for no charge, since I was just tuning my gun. I came back the next weekend to play.

The prices are great 10 walk on, 5 for all day air. They are a little bit disorganized and understaffed. It may have been because it was a 3 day weekend and there where more people than usual. They have 2 1/2 fields, what I call a half field is this little area with cube walls they call the office. The others are the Air ball and castle. The staff is very nice but there are not enough of them, half the time there was no ref on our field. They weren't really checking peoples guns at the chrono either, I could of just cranked it up and walked on. All in all this is a pretty decent place, they need to get a little more staff and organization is all. I would rather pay 5 bucks more and have things a little safer.

Update:
I've been back here several times, they have added a huge rec ball field. Its a nice addition to the field. Things were much more organized there than the first time I went.
Last edited on Saturday, March 24th, 2007 at 9:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media