paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 530-757-7700
Address: 24998 County Rd. 102
Davis, California 95616
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
68kaiser Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Directions
to the Field:
of hyw 102
Review: I play woodsball i don't really care for speedball and all of that but i went to this field to get my tanks filled since no other place was open, the owner was very nice and had no problem filling the tanks for me.
There was around 30 people playing at the time. The courses looked good and every one seemed to be having a good time, if you like speedall you should try this place out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Quagmire_FamGUY Saturday, January 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first one ive played in Norcal
Review: Well first off all, i actually got to play here for free. We arrived today and no staff members ever came. So me and my friends just walked on and used the "castle" field. This place was kinda flooded with about 6in of water in some spots. They could use a good weed wacker to get rid off some of the tall grass. This isnt exactly a professional type area but whatever, i think it would've only been $10 to play there. All in all its a pretty good field, since it was free.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

DavisPbJakeXSV1 Friday, November 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
midway= to expensive
wap=too expensive and Davis's is the only one wit x-ball
Review: well i work at this Field with some great guys and some immature but they do their job we get paid in paint and $$$ and our boss is a pro baller from XSV

this Field has an X ball full Field none of the other Fields in my local area has one...

only 10 dollars entry and 5 $ for all day 3k air fill


overall this Field is better than any other i have been to
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

TheMadMan Wednesday, September 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Good Field

Refs: Good guys, helps/coaches new players, officates fairly

Gear: PMI Somethings, 9oz Co2, Mask (V-Force somethings), VL Hopper

Cost: $35 = Mask, Gun, Co2, 100 + 500 balls, and field access
$10 = just field access (you need all your own stuff)
(if you have one of those ticket things it is $10 off above prices)
$2 = 7-9 oz Co2 refill
$3 = 9-12 Co2 refill
$4 = 13-18 Co2 refill
$5 = 19-20 Co2 refill
$5 = all day compressed air (3000psi)
$7 = 100 balls
$20 = 500 balls
$35 = 1000 balls
$60 = 2000 balls
**** When I went on the 10th of September 2005, they used WGP (Worr Games) Practice Paint

This place has some of the lowest prices of any field!

Fields: Currently (Fall 2005) Xball (speed ball style) and Castle (senario style)

In The End...
Good place, Also, Wear Long Pants and Long Sleave shirt cause there are weeds and stuff (scraches!)
Last edited on Sunday, October 9th, 2005 at 9:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkwolf857 Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle, WAP, sunol, TAG
Review: First of all, for 15 bucks a day, any decent paintball field is an unbeatable deal. Also, if you happen to be a renter they do take the paintball usa passes. They only have two fields, one is a nice chronic airball field that kicks ass, the other is a rec field that features a circular biulding in the center with fortifications on either side. There are just a few things to know when going to Davis paintball. First off, do not go immediatley after it rains or when in the rainy season, because both fields will be not only covered in mud, but little ponds of water form in the fields that are deep enough to take leg up to your ankle, this wouldn't be bad except they can be pretty treacherous when running. Also if in the rainy season, take a car that has four wheel drive or can handle minor offroad, because the entrance way is a mud road with swamps on either side when it rains. Also, if you go on a sunny day, there covered tables fill up qiuck, so it is good to bring your own shade, considering in Davis it gets to over 100 degress in the summer on a regular basis. Other than that this is a good field for a great price. The staff is great, they are all helpful. The refs are good and fair, they let you run your own games on the off-field if you have enough players. Overall, (barring the rainy season), its a small, but good field with great service and better price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

nerdcore Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP - more rec fields, has a small shop, closer to my house, more family-oriented.
Sherwood - more rec fields, trees (shade) but bad reffing.
Directions
to the Field:
It's a little hard to find since the sign isn't very big but it's on the same turn as this big blue/white go-kart track that you can see from Road 102.

Once you've found the turn, follow the dirt road & signs to the field itself, which is set pretty far back. You can not see it from Road 102.
Review: I ref at this field but i'm pretty good at being non-biased, since i play at this field more than i ref. Hope this review is helpful.

EDIT!: Just played there 11/4/07 so check out the revised review.

PARKING - adequate. It's a big gravel lot. I've only seen it full during tourneys. On regular days, there's way more parking available than there needs to be.

PRICES & HOURS - cheapest in the area. Self-equipped is only $20, including air, and that's AFTER they raised the price. Self-equipped girls are free, exluding air. Rentals are $25 or so. Co2 fills are $2-5. Paint is $40-60 a case (brands vary but it's usually decent). Field is open 9am - 4pm Saturdays & Sundays but airball shuts down 30 min early. Also available during the week for private parties (just need advance notice & down payment).

SAFETY & RULES- all day long you'll hear someone yell "MASK ON!" or "BARREL COVER!" The refs & worker(s) (Tim) are on top of things. Newer players always get a safety speech. Chrono is available right when you walk past the netting, although there should be a ref assigned to the chrono at all times. Last weekend i got beaned in the neck from someone shooting 370, which i know because i made the ref take him to the chrono after the game. But for the most part everyone follows the rules & listens to the refs. And just recently the owner hired an NPPL ref to supervise the other refs.

SERVICES & FACILITIES - refs will offer some light tech assistance but that's the extent of extra services (although i've been known to offer some medium tech assistance, like fixing leaks or tuning guns). Facilities are pretty light, too, with just the one port-a-potty there. Co2 fills are done at the booth but hpa tank owners can fill on their own. Fill station typically only goes to 3000. Sorry all you 4.5k'ers (like me :( ).

PROSHOP & FOOD - no proshop. We've got nothing for sale, other than refs selling personal gear & Micah occasionally selling XSV gear. Water, soda & Gatorade are available for a $1 a bottle/can. For lunch, the refs ask players if they want pizza, either by the slice or their own whole pizza. It's $2 a slice or $10-12 for a large pepperoni. Other than that, Carl's Jr is just down the street. Or get something from Nugget...

FIELDS - They've revamped the speed setups. Netting separates the airball fields from the recball fields. Also, there's now turf! Oh, glorious turf!
Airball - space for 3 setups but only 1 or 2 are out at a time.
Fort - teams start at opposite ends & there's a fort at the 50.
Four Corner - it's huge. There's a fort in the center & smaller forts in all 4 corners of the field. Hay bales, pallets & large wooden cable spools dot the rest of the landscape.

PLAYERS - lots of groups play at Davis, both private & otherwise, usually newer players. Birthday parties, college kids, church groups, etc. Majority use rentals. Then there's the more seasoned players that usually steer clear of any newer players, mostly because they want to play airball & the new players don't. But i do see a handful of better players hop onto the rec fields to basically be jerks. I'd strongly recommend groups of newer players to request private games or games against other groups of people at similar skill levels. As a ref, i always honor such requests & other refs should, too.

REFEREES - refs do a pretty good job. They could do better to initiate the games but Davis is a more relaxed setting, with no real schedule. It's basically left up to the players how often games start. Refs won't tell you when to go out there, just go out there! When the refs see enough people on the field, they'll start a game.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 6th, 2007 at 1:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

frontsniper Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
APG(Way different to compare)
Valley Thunder(Less friendly, although more fields)
Review: First time I went to Davis, I was really phyched and was really jumpy to play their chronic field. You're allowed to walk the fields if you want to(goggles on! always!), and the staff is GREAT! They help with everything, from getting stuck to marker problems. This is the first airball field i've played on, and I must say... really impressive! Looking back at it now, there could've been alot more boring if i went to another field other than this one. All you need to do is ask a ref if you could play on a field, and they go out there instantly.
There is never a problem on the field. They let you dry fire your marker with your plug on at all times at the staging area(so you can cycle oil through your marker if needed). Micah is great, very friendly, and actually plays with the players himself. Once, we played with only a couple of guys, and we were considering playing with rentals, to limit rate of fire! how fun would that be? These guys are great, they aren't stuck up, but still on the safety rules strictly. These guys are regular people, and that is respectful especially if you want attention and respect.

All in all, best aitball i've went to, and the staff and my friends were talking and they are planning to get a x-ball field up! Can't wait until that happens!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sweden2 Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Paintball, Midway Paintball Extreme
Review: The first time I went I like "wow that's an awesome airball field, and hey linus check it out they're making a castle" my brother and I like "Mom, Mom can we play here tomorrow please,please,please" she said OK. When we went there Micah was standing in the thing where u pay and heard our accent and asked if we were from another country we said "sweden" he's like oh, cool. He's the nicest guy I've ever met. The refs there are good and knows a lot about everything. And the airball field is lovely except if it rained 2 days ago. Then it's like super muddy so it's impossible to get to the snake. You should go to this field as soon as you can. Oh, and did I mention it costs $10 bucks to play all-day and all-day air is $5 bucks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AliasTimmy Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action, Nfinite Edge, Sinister, Valley Thunder

Review: Great field. Kick ass chronic airball field with a beautiful 50 :). The rec field is exciting as well and what a great turnout. Very nice people, refs are friendly (unlike some other places). Hats off to Micah! Just make sure that this time of year a little mud or wind wont bug u but other than that the best!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skipper Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SCP, WAP, OP, Extreme, Paintball Zone, Sunol, TAG
Review: There was crazy wind there. We just happened to pick a bad weekend to go there. We were expecting to play airball but it had to be put down due to high winds. I suggest you check the weather forcast before you go there if you want to play speedball. I am a speedball player and had to end up playing rec ball. I haven't had that much fun for quite some time. I tend to forget how fun speedball. I really like the rec field they have. It is sort of rec ball but not in the woods. I like the fact that they have this thing in the middle of the field called the castle. That is where all the action. It was so fun cause both teams are rushing to take over the castle. You get alot of close quarter combat at the castle. There the staff there is awesome. Great people. All in All very fun rec field. Had a really good turnout of rec players. It was like 20 on 20.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media