paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sportsmans Lodge Paintball Field / Sportsmans Lodge Paintball Field / Sportsmans Lodge Paintball Field / Sportsmans Lodge Paintball Field

Sportsmans Lodge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 910-937-6334
Address: 3521 New Bern Hwy (Highway 17)
Jacksonville, North Carolina 28546
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Street Racer Saturday, August 4th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I vistited this field while on vacation.

Pros: Pro Shop was well stocked and prices were fair. Service was excellent. Several fields to choose, speedball, village, woods, and 2 other interesting looking ones I did not get to play on. Their players area was nice, benches and a long table all the way across. Room for about 50 players. And it has a real roof, so sun and rain protection. The crowd was a good mix and we got to pick what game and field we wanted to play.

Cons: Chrono area is very small and right at the entrance/exit of the players area, so a stray ball coming in is a possibility. Safety issue to me: Barrel plugs not required on the field in between games, but masked were allowed to be removed. I left mine on cause of random shooting going on and markers being pointed at me.

Lastly, not reallly a pro or con: Refs were not in each game. If people were ready to play and did not want a ref they were allowed to start. Do not confuse this with being denied a ref. That did not happen. They were available.

Overall a good place to play. I will definetly be back when down there on vacation.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wthomas333 Friday, June 10th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 4th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Southwest Paintball - geared more towards the speedball crowd.
Coastal and Nature of the Game - been so long since I've played either I can't fairly compare them.
Directions
to the Field:
If you live in the area you probably already know.
Review: The pro-shop located at the field is pretty good. Not really due to their selection, which isn't all that spectacular, but more because of the people and the prices. Everyone is helpful and you can't really beat the prices for admission, air, and paint. Very reasonable compared to anything else I have seen before.

The fields are average to good for what they are. They do lack a pure speedball field at the time of this review and if that is your game this most likley wouldn't be your favorite place. The woodsball course is huge and the boundaries could be better marked, but it does have plenty of bunkers scattered throughout and the underbrush looked to be under control for such a large area. The berm/spool field is fun, but the games tend to drag out a bit. Due to the setup, one team always gets the high ground and seems to "dig-in" while the other team slowly picks them off the top of the berm. I think this could be resolved by ensuring the 2 teams start an equal distance from the center and clearing out a little more of the underbrush from the berm in the middle. The last field which has several buildings and cars with some other scattered bunkers seems to be a mix between a speedball field and an urban/town type setting. The games one this field were fairly fast paced, but the number of buildings does limit visibility on the field quite a bit, which is fine, unless you are looking for a speedball type environment where you can generally see the entire field pretty easily.

The staging area is securely netted off and under a covered area with bleachers. The chrono station is conveniently located here as well and you have visibility to the first 2 fields, one of which was under renovation while I was there and was not reviewed.

The refs were knowledgable and helpful. they ensureed everyone complied with the 285fps limit and even stopped a game to chrono everyone when someone came off the field with what seemed to be an excessive paintball wound. They generally did a good job with all the games and were engaged with the action. With that being said they are also the biggest reason for me not rating this field a little higher. The facemask/barrel sock policy at the field is not clear and not enforced properly. Where I am from and the fields I have played at this is taken very seriously, especially now with the hair triggers on all the electric guns. Too often during the day there were people coming out of the games, into the netted spectator/waiting areas where people were de-goggled, without any sort of barrel plug device and without any intention of using one at any time. On one occasion someone was actually firing their marker in the waiting area. There needs to be better enforcement of this policy or eventually someone is going to get hurt. Maybe it's just me, but I don't really trust a bunch of stangers to look out for my safety. On that note, It is the refs job to ensure everyone is complying with the field rules and with what I thought was a universal rule in paintball..... you get shot, leave the game and plug your barrel.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballvalken Monday, December 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I tried playing at Southwest paintball but it was expensive. It was field paint only. And i think they only focus on Speedball and urban combat
Directions
to the Field:
its about 2, 3 miles from walmart as you go on 17
Review: sportsman lodge focuses on safety good sportsmanship and fun at their field since their new owner. The new staff is very friendly and their team is very good they give out good tips if you need them.Prices are very cheap.Food they dont give out food unless they are having a tourney. Refs they need a few but they let players volenteer if you want to have something to do with PB but dont know. and the players are mainly marines they all use actual combat enviroment tactics.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

caoney69 Saturday, May 1st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Coastal, SouthWest, Nature of the Game
Review: Been playing on this field for almost two years. since ownership change in late 2008 the place has been improving constantly. During the past 4 months they have done major changes and as recently as last month they finish their new CQB town. By the way it is great. Their staff is very knowledgeable , helpful and professional. Most of the staff are players so they know what they are talking about. By far the best field to play woods ball and Urban combat in the whole area. Woods ball field is over 20 acres and town has over 12 buildings in addition to a bunch of cool props. Their paint prices are good , they carry most of the best brands. My only request to them is to bring in more refs in order to minimize the cheating that some players do. If you are a speedball player sorry, this field is only for woods ball and CQB only...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

beachnpaintball Tuesday, March 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nature of the Game- was crappy, switched owners, it ok now, still expensive
Adrenaline Junkies-best for woods, just because service is friendly prices are good, and the owner is a normal player.
Review: When i played here, it was good, but the airsmith left to get lunch.... for 2 hours.... and they wouldnt let me fill my own tank (HPA). And then tha lady got mad at me for using so much air, even though i payed the all day air fee, and paid for all that paint, and she still was mad. not good. but feilds are new now, and they switched owners, so im looking forward to the next time i go out there. i normally play at Adrenaline junkies every saturday, so this will be alot different.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

truggy Friday, May 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Coastal Paintball and Southwest
Review: Nice field. Things have change in there for the better in the past few months. They are building tons of bunkers and they have a new urban combat area. The staff is very nice and they have new ownership that wants to make paintball grow in this area. You should come and visit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blazer1911 Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Others are good, but none has the woods ball land size
Directions
to the Field:
2 to 2 1/2 miles north of the Western Blvd and Highway 17 intersection on Highway 17
Review: Went last weekend. Good time. NEW URBAN CITY, pretty fun once people got going. The Price of Paint has gone down. I hope they keep up the inprovements. They have also built more forts and bunkers in the woods. You need to check it out if you have not been in a while. There was talk about getting some events if enough people ask about it.
Last edited on Thursday, May 7th, 2009 at 1:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

conorman356 Saturday, February 14th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Coastal-absolute waste of time, no one is ever there
Southwest-havent been there yet, but i have heard nothin but good things about it
Directions
to the Field:
About 3 miles down from walmart on the left
Review: I have played at this field many times now and have had nothing but an awesome time but when i started going this year, they are now under new management, and the new owner has a pretty dumb policy (im pretty sure that they dont do this at other fields so i hope i dont look like a newbie) they wont fix, or even look at your guns on weekends. And of course, my 98 staeted spewing chopped paint and i took it to them and they refused to look at it, after i had spent 300 dollars there. The fields are alright the speedball field looks the same every time i go, and there are less and less people there each time i go.paint and air i think is pretty standard price, decent selection of markers and accessories. But the thrilling experience isnt what it used to be. I strongly reccomend driving the extra like 5 or 6 miles to try out southwest. If u see me at either of these fields, im the guy with a camo98 and ghillie suit
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mozley Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
swing zone, coastal paintball
Directions
to the Field:
google it
Review: first off, this place is the best in the area, and a good way to spend a saturday. the field is kinda under staffed and by that i mean every body just reffs their own games. Cheating is seldom depending on the
groupe of people playing that day. I have been their many times and have had no problems with the staff, and the pro shop is well stocked, and thier is plenty of paint for all price ranges. The teams start to get lopsided when the first time people go aginst the regulars, who dont like to be split up. All around good place to go .

i give it a 8/10 because their is only one speed ball course , but i hear they are adding a new field.=)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

massman26 Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Milty's paintball. It was hit or miss some days my friends and I would go and they would be closed early.At least at the Sportsmans Lodge they had set hours and stick with them. They said they would even come in early , or stay late if we had big enough groups.
Directions
to the Field:
It is located on hwy.17n about 2.5 miles up from wal-mart on the left as ur going out of the city
Review: My friends and i enjoyed the full expeirence. some of my friend had never played before and had no gear,they hooked all them up w/gear and got them set up.The shop itself was great ,they have al your air needs (nitro.,co2).Paintballs from all different prices to fit anybodies budget,and a great selection of markers and accesories. They have a air bunker field ,spool field , and the woods ,which i think they said was like 14 acres (but it sure felt bigger than that running around in them) All in all we had a great time and i cant wait to go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media