paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Commando Paintball Field / Action Commando Paintball Field / Action Commando Paintball Field / Action Commando Paintball Field

Action Commando Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 5592 Rue Hochelaga
Montréal, Québec H1N 3L7
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
WeihmayerGuy Saturday, February 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Can't compare between outdoors and indoors.
Directions
to the Field:
Montreal
Review: Long time since there was a review on this field...
(I'm review the original one in Montreal, not Laval)
I've played before 2 years ago and I'm here to make a review of it in the present.
____________________________________________________________
___
Outside the field / preperation

Cleaness / atmosphere
Bathroom smells like f*ck...only one bathroom for girls and boys...
Smells like f*ck, you hear the GoKarts next door.

Staff / shop
Staff is friendly and experienced. Shop is AWESOME

The equipment
They gave my friends masks that are uncomfortable, that fog up easily and they have tons of scratchs on them as well. It's as if they forced you to rent good masks. The markers are old C98 with weird cocking systems (probably to keep sand from coming in) and 8'' barrels. The suits they gave my friends were sometimes wet and sometimes scary. They gave you good gloves and GREAT PAINTBALLS.

Price:
Price is expensive... costing 79$ for 500 balls. Compare that with my other field 69$.
But I think it's worth it for the field. They DONT give you discount for your own stuff.

I do not recommend this field for people who don't have their own equipment.
____________________________________________________________
_______
Inside the field / play time

Cleaness / atmosphere
Like sh*t. SAND ON THE FLOOR CLEAN YOUR GUN AFTER AND THERE WON'T BE ANY PROBLEMS. Can't hear karts inside field.

Field:
It is a EXCELLENT field if you forget the sand and the paintball mess. I have to say the lighting is a little too dark... They have towers, ladders, a fort, trenches, a bus, a tower on the bus, houses, missile props, concrete pipes, cars, sand bags. All jam packed in a great indoor field. LOVE IT.

Maintenance / improvements:
They don't really keep their place clean, but hey, it's indoor what did you expect. The place is jam packed with awesomeness, they imrpove slowly and added a couple towers/ houses/ props from last time.
____________________________________________________________
_____
Conclusion

Go: If you have you own stuff
Don't mind paying 10 more $
Like awesome small, intense full of detail fields.
Winter

Dont: If you don't have own stuff. Wait for winter to pass.
If you like big fields and like to wait 10 hours to see someone.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

af895 Tuesday, November 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arnold's Indoor, the old SXC with buildings, the new airball SXC, Mirabel, a number of fields in Ottawa.

Action Commando is unique and excellent, a good place to hold a big game.
Directions
to the Field:
Go to the Olympic Stadium. It's south-east of it, 5592 Rue Hochelaga, and not difficult to find.
Review: Staff are friendly but refs range from excellent to un-interested. Most are very good.
Paint and entry is pricey but worth the cost to play an excellent indoor field.

The field is fantastic. You have to put up with sand floors. Getting sand into your gun is a bad day but at least it absorbs paint so you can actually run on it.

The company website doesn't do this place justice. There are trenches, old spools, 6-foot diameter concrete sewer pipes, a bus converted to sniper tower, multi-level base and an underground zombie maze.

Be warned: there are some "agg" milsim types that come out to spray paint. If that's not your style of play, stick with your own group, organize a pump day or just refuse to play with them unless they're split up. A lot of Montreal paintballers appear to be hung like fruit-bats.

This would be an ideal field for pump or stock class players; if you conserve paint you won't spend a fortune.

No real "pro-shop" but they have a few items for sale if you're not picky.

Hours are excellent - you can play late into the evening, perhaps for a dark winter night if you'd rather play paintball than hang out at a bar.

This place is unique enough that I'm planning to organize a "field trip" with my regulars in Ottawa, 100 miles away, to spend a day playing this field. We have no worthy indoor fields in Ottawa, they're all "air ball."
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tcayea Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I played here only once, but it was worth it. There isn't much I can say that wasn't already posted, it's a good place, the people are nice, but I think that Worr Whores summed it up best. Staff are very nice except for the refs, who must be doing this for a paycheck,not the love of the sport. The fields are good, all the sand is not. Overall, a great place to play in the dead of winter instead of running around outside in 2 feet of snow!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Worr Whores Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paint storm ottawa
Review: Ok actually the first time i went paintballing was at this feild at first i thought man oh man this feild is awsome but after paying $240 a case of paint i thought that this was over prised. The feild itself was more of a rec-ball but to anyone that likes rec-ball this is a feild to visit if you are willing to pay lots of money lol. What i disliked about this feild was the sand we all know that sand and guns dont mix so there you are it's also very hard to get a grip when your moving from bunker to bunker. The ref's aren't really into the game they'll just sit down behind the netting and watch which is a safety issue because the size of this feild you can't really see everyone, and you never know when someone might get hurt, also the netting is damaged so always wear your mask behind it at all times even though the ref might not be wearing it. Other than that the staff is pretty nice i mean it does take a while to get everything set up but it's cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

badluck Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
t2 ,,, mirabell paintballll
Review: what can i say this field is nice big and a lot of bunker its especially good if you like recball since the speeedball field isn't that great but for a recball game or a airsoft game this field is very nice its simply huge iv seen people run out of breath running around ,, tons of place to hide ,, dark :d i love the darkness it add a lot of difficulty to the game

the staff is great and very friendly even if your a rental some of them are very good if you got problem with your marker but they are not there everyday the proshop (if you can call it like that) is kinda lame tho but they say there gonna work on that soon

of all the field in Montreal and nearmontreal its the only one i found worth subscribing
since its near a subway (cant say that about t2 that field is lost in a urban jungle)

sure the sand isn't the best environment to play but it dont get in your marker unless you put you marker in it

feminine staff is very good looking :D and always smiling best field in town
rental are in fair shape 98 costum but you can get some nicer marker if you pay the price you can rent about anything there

the only downside is the bathroom but i dont go there to sit on a bowl
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

!LovePaintball! Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
T2 Indoor
Arnold Indoor
Mirabel
Skorpion
Area 51 (Toronto, indoor)
Review: I think that the way you appreciate this filed id based on your preferences about the type of Paintball you play, I mean if you love to play SpeedBall or games in the same spirit or if you'd rather play Rec Ball (recreational Paintball). Action Commando is definitely a RecBall field. Yes there is a Speedball, that is good to play, but the real fun you may have is by playing on the other fields or on the three at the same time.

I have seen a lot of modifications since I play there. I began to play there when it was different owners from now and I can say that the field is a lot better. Last fall, they have changed all the field: they put the bus somewhere else, they made more windows in the fortress and in the towers, they put more bunkers in the speedball so it is now really fun to play full field and the changed almost every other bunkers so it is completely a new field. It is the same spirit than before, but a lot more fun. It is also the biggest indoor field in Canada.

There is a huge rest area, with a lot tables and the added lockers this fall too. Last year they got some problems with the staff, but they have solved the problem with new employees. I talk a lot with the staff there I and I have seen a big difference (compare to last year).

Sure it is not perfect. The floor is composed of sand. But personally, I am just careful with my gun and I do not put any sand into it and I never had trouble due to the sand. Some of my friends have cockers and they never had any problems too. I prefer sand that a rough surface, at least you won't hurt yourself.
The ProSop is not so bad. They do not have a big ProShop but if you want something, they can order it for you and you may get it in less than 1 week, at a reasonable price. The manager told me that they were going to have soon a bigger ProShop... We will see...

The rental equipment is quite good. They rent Tippmann 98 customs and A5 with response trigger.

The fees for a member are quite cheap, if you keep in mind that they are the biggest indoor field. Membership costs 150$ a year, after you do not pay the entrance, you do not pay for air and you pay 100$ for 2000 paintballs (Blaze). They always have fresh paint, a lot of people is playing there each week so they pass a lot of paintballs... They always give a better paint quality to the members, I mean they sometime give Midgnight to rentals but I have always played there with Blaze.

If I put 10/10, it is because this field it the best place to play indoor in all Quebec!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

randomflood Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
T2, skorpion,
Review: ITS BIG BUT IT SUX,
you can't bring ant good marker there without grinding the internals on the cheap beach sand that gets all over and sticks ( most places that give a damn use construction sand with gravel that has no dust and stays on the floor).
The staff is a joke talk to them as little as possible i kinda like it cuz you can treat em like dirt, you better believe thats what your gonna be treated like.
Even members cant bring there own balls and the field blaze they got is junk ive been shootin blaze for almost a year and its ALWAYS 684 their paint was jammin in a progressive plus i stepped on one on a hard floor and it didnt break like it was latex er something.
Half the people i was playin with also complained about the fumes in there from the go cart place also run buy the same 16 year old dolts
However if you just want to rent some gear and play its a good place to start i think the rentals are 98s and the non member paint is better than the member paint.
No one i know who has a good marker will ever take it there again ( my buddy was so pissed with his orracle bolt being all chewed up he bought a new one so he can have a crap one for places like that, still mangles the inside of the gun thou)
I give it a 4 if i had rated it b4 i took all my gear there id of said 7 but for now im gonna stick to T2 and skorpion where they are both friendly and my gear dosent get trashed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

méchant minou Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
arnold's indoor , T2
Review: this field is the largest indoor field i played .
there are 3 fields divided with netting and can be converted in one single large field .
the layout of the field is fair ...... no fuzzy things (except the school bus) and relatively simple .
the good things are:
its very large so you have room to move
lots of playable bunkers , not just sup-air bunkers .
large staging area with a shooting range and a chrono .

bad things :
the playfield is made of sand ...... you may like it or not but sand is not the best material for a paintball field ...... especially indoors ...
the proshop lacks definately of ...... everything ........
rentals where pieces of junk but they bought brand new 98c ann a-5 recently .....
bunkers seems to have never been cleaned ....... every time you touch a bunker , you are covered with old paint goo

conclusions :
its a good field to play at if you don't mind to play in sand ........ and you have your own equipment ........ i give it a fair 7 out of 10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lightpost Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
T2, Arnold (indoor)
Review: This field is weird... Because if you look at it technically, it's a REALLy bad field... The floor is sand and its really thick and wet and way to soft so u get lots of sand in your shoes, clothes and equipment, the obstacles aren't well placed compared to other indoors I went. The lighting is REALLy dark, you REALLy dont see well. The staff is rather rude and with limited paintball knowdledge. But I said its weird because even with all that, I still manage to have a GREAT time with my friends when i go... I dont know if its because I like paintball so too much, or because theres something about the field. Anyway technically it sux but you might wanna try it anyway.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

[X5] FLIP Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
T2 Indoor, Arnold Paintball Indoor.
Review: Huge field. Its around ~70,000 square feet. The field is so long that if you shoot from one side to the other, it won't make it.
=Pros
-Huge staging area
-Very Large, Can have many groups playing at the same time at once, or on diffrent areas
-Restrooms downstairs
-Large chrono room/target area

I have not played with their rentals, or have seen their pro shop.

=Cons
-Sand! This sand is very small and can cause trouble

Overall score is 7 because of no store and sand that really causes trouble.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media