paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field

Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 905-679-2122 (ext 30)
Address: 2633 Upper James (Hwy#6 South)
Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1W0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
DBirkett Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soldier of Fortune (Hamilton)- Great Variety of Good Fields, Long Walk to the Great Fields,
Pro Shop and fields are too far apart.

Paintball City (Toronto)-Not a big fan of indoor (too dark can't see anything)
Review: First off let me say that Shane (the owner) and his staff are amazing. My brother and I showed up yesturday (dec 30) and all we had was nothing but trouble with our guns. This was the first time I had actually used my gun (more on that later) and the cold was screwing up both mine and my brothers gun (apparently CO2 doesn't work well in the cold, lesson learned!). I couldn't get my gun to shoot at a consistant velocity and my brothers didn't work at all. Now I'm not sure if I should be saying this or not but when my brother went up to rent a gun Shane saw that he was frustrated because he had bought all his paint CO2 and field fee's that he gave him a rental for free. Now I don't want people showing up with old junky guns hoping for a free rental, I'll just say that my brothers marker isn't junky at all. So I hope people don't take advantage of Shanes generosity. The ref's are also great. I actually shot one by mistake (what can I say I'm a noobie) and he didn't take it personal and eject me from the field, after he actually helped me to get my gun's speed under control.

The Pro Shop is also excellent. I saw a post claiming that it was expensive, but that couldn't be further from the truth. I bought my spyder pilot there for 190 (C) on a boxing day sale, where later that night I saw online sales of the same marker for equal or more than what I paid for at Cameron but also received a membership for the field that entitles me to free CO2 refills and cheaper better paint (can't argue with that). I would have to say that the prices at Camerons from what I have seen so far are extremely competitive to anywhere else. Probably because they are located so in the country on highway 6 they pay next to nothing in property taxes and the fact that they want to make you a long time customer makes them go out of there way to give the greatest customer service in any industry.

Going back to when I bought the gun days before I played, Shane was trying to sell me on the air tank. I'm not a trusting person and I havent' ever bought something from Camerons before so I thought he was trying to get me to buy something I don't need. Apparently I was so wrong, the next day when I tried to play in -1 degree C weather I learned very quickly that CO2 blows (inconsistantly). Shane and his staff desperately tried to get the gun undercontrol but to no avail. So Shane actually lent me one of his compressed air tanks to help show me what advantages air had over CO2 and all I can say is wow what a difference, the marker shot so consistantly that now I am a believer.

The 3 fields are pretty good, they actually have heaters in the waiting area during really cold days. I cannot really give a great comment on the quality and setups of the field because I am still a noobie. But I will say that I had tons of fun on the main field shooting little kids (it's like the little guys in Halo) and hiding and ducking behind all the barrels and bunkers. The people that come out to paintball are all pretty interesting and passiontate about there sport, but I''m sure that's the same wherever you go. The other fields there look big engouh for some fun but are covered in ice when I was there so we did't have the opportunity to play on them. Maybe they should have two fields open at a time. One for general and the other for people who don't want to play with kids at a birthday party who end up shooting you below the waste because they are only 3 feet tall.

Overall I would say that my experiences at Cameron Speedway can be considered be great. They have a great staff who are passionate at what they do. They have the best customer service that I have ever seen in any industry. Prices are more than competitive. Fields in the summer are well kept and offer some good challenging play. All in all I would say that if you're in the area you should check out this field, you may never go anywhere else.
Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 9:41 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crosby87 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
sof
Review: They have added new things to the first field and the second field it is pretty good . there lots of places to hide but its hard to hit people.dont go the day after it rains because the first field gets drenched and u cant play there. the refs r nice and the guy who owns it is nice. so if u r in the stoney creek hamilton area this is a great field to just go play wit ur friends for a day and have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dillwack Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soldiers Of Fortune, Paintball Adventures
Review: To View the Negatives about this field,
- first off they need major drainage, the fields are always flooded if it rained earlier that day or even the night before you go to play, also they should be putting down something solid on the ground unstead of mud that sinks, with mulch over top of it. They need new bunkers also, even tho they are set up decently they need to have them positioned in a place where they are stationary they are so light you can move them, they should put something down like astro turf, sure it would be expensive for the first bit but after a while they will make it back, not only that, they forsure need to get rid of the trees and shrubs that break your balls, after that the last thing they need is to reposisition the bunkers on the speedball course, they are 2 far apart making it to hard to travel form 1 bunker to another. the refs also are strict unless you are friends with them, if your not they are a total dick, and they make you crono in every 4th round sometimes you get lucky if you dont get cronod in, like today some guy was shooting 317 on a 240 field, also on the other fields you canplay 240, 260, or 280, other wise they help you out in the pro shop, in the back room where they fill tanks. i think they have some bad negatives but for all those negatives there are alot of positives.

Positives, overall the refs are nice and friendly the rounds depend on you not the ref calling you in, you can choose the game scenario unstead of pre game plan, also the Own Shane is a cool guy hes always nice and helpful and nice to the players. if your gun breaks he will lend you his and fix yours. his prices are cheap which is 25 dollars for membership, and then when u have a membership its
12-for200
25 for 500, the prices are better then sof and sof is very less taken care of compared to Cameron, they dont have as much care for the safty of the players so they let people shoot at what ever they dont test your gun unless someone complains. also camerons pro shop is nice and very affordable, umm they have a big area for the safe area, where you wont get hit with alot of tables to sit at, to either watch, eat, or talk. another good thing is, its not a long walk from the area of where you enter to the field, its not a huge field although they have, also i dont understand why they say its a newb coarse its fun, and ppl are challenging, so if you want good skill level and a fun affordable time for here!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

leg3nd Monday, August 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soldiers of Fortune, Paintball Adventures - haven't been to either only other place is the forest behind my friend's house which doesn't compare at all
Review: This is a great field. I was pressured into going by one of my friends and I dont regret it. The staff are cool, I got to play with one of the ref's angel and the owner let my friend use some of his gear right after fixing his gun for free. The prices are pretty good especially if your a member 25 for 500 balls which from what I know is pretty freakin good and their proshop is awsome. They have 3 courses 1 being speedball another one is the scenario which is used as a basic course as well as the third, plus there's always people there so the longest time i waited all day for a game was around 3 mins. I really like this field the ref's are nice and willing to help as well as the owner. It's waay better then the forest I usually play in and it's now my home field. I recommend it to anyone in the Hamilton area that's looking for a fun paintball experience.
Last edited on Monday, August 29th, 2005 at 6:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

splatters Friday, August 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
sof, paintball adventures
Review: 3 fields 2 of them i like 1 speedball and the 2 others have obstacles the speed ball course stinks in my opinion but the 2 others rock . paintball shop is great as well as good staff who actually want to ref unlike some places......SOF *cough* as well the owner is pretty cool . great players execpt when the little kids are there ...omg... i got out 4 times because of my own team mates.. and then they laugh...err the speed ball course could be better. but that's all aswell the standered marker is a tippman 98 pretty good and i recomend becoming a member
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mistro101 Friday, July 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
S.O.F, paintball adventures(moved locations not out of buisness)
Review: People: Cameron speed way is tight shane the owner is cool an the refs will help u with all ur needs unless ur just being a tool!
Paint: The paint is good if u have ur own gun and a member u get premium paintballs if not u get a tippman 98 rental gun and get rampage paintballs
The Pro Shop: Nice!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wizzard~Of~Ozz Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball city, tho I went there they had the gravel floor and we were slip sliding around, but they have changed since then and it would be unfair to compare them.
Review: As I stated above, I'm not comparing this course to others, rather looking at what it offers.

First, They allow party walkons, so if there is a party going, unless the party holders object, you can walk on with them, I think this is cool since you don't really have to call ahead to see if they're booked.

They are also opening 2 new fields, one will be at 260 or 270, they are larger then the first one and have the same "flooring" of woodchips which is a lot better then gravel.

The refs are always in a good mood, it's nice to see, yet they are quite strict on safety which is a good thing for the owner/players that go there.

The CO2/air fills are a good price (or free if you are a member).

The down side, the spectator area directly backs the field, (just netting) and you get the occasional spectator yelling out where you are (they are warned, but the damage may be done). The other regulars that I've met there are great, they play nice, stick to the rules and respect everyone.

All around, this field is a good place to go, wether for cost (not that expensive) or for atmosphere (people there are there to have fun, not to kill others).

I'm giving it a 9/10, only because nothing is perfect, but this place does seem willing to help (their proshop will order anything you want in, provided they can get it)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kovljenic Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sof.
Review: Refs, are really cool, they help u with stuff and all, they give u tips to help your game
8/10
Field. They are making new ones and i cant wait for that. Right now its a good field for paintball and crap.
8/10
Proshop. They dont have a huge selection but you can order things.
Balls- Decent cheap balls. Its a good place to go if you want a cheap round of pball. Sof is too expensive to this.
Rental. Although i dont use the rental, there 98 customs, they are pretty good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

burmutys3 Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Do not know of any paintball fields in this area
Review: Good things are good for newbies, it is cheap,not a lot of people on the field and they have fresh pizza and drinks.
Bad things are the refs are always mad at you , referees do nothing but yell at you,no full auto aloud,no 6 ball burst or 3 ball burs, they have cheap plastic barrels and a fue pieces of wood and outside paintballs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

andrew384 Sunday, May 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 21st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF - More bushball oriented, only sometimes has speedball.
Review: Pros: good prices
lots of tables and a good dead zone
refs watch you crony in
awesome staff!
Cons: The setup of the front field
Random slabs of concrete near bunkers
Kids freaking out because they get shot more than once.

This is a great field to hit up for a nice afforadable day of paintball with the guys. Its got players of all skill levels so even if you are as green as they come, you will find people who are in the same boat as you. On the other hand, if your more of a tourniment player you can find players of about your skill level to play on the speedball course. This is overall an awesome field because of the value. Its not expensive to play for a couple long, fun hours. Go hit the field if your in the area.

Overall I give Camerons an 8.4 rating.

Last edited on Monday, November 28th, 2005 at 7:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media