paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field

Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 905-679-2122 (ext 30)
Address: 2633 Upper James (Hwy#6 South)
Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1W0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Jeramey Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF
A lil place in cayuga
Review: This field is a prety good field.....if ur 3 feet tall. Every bunker is about 2 feet tall u have to lay and crawl. The paint prices is alrite, the speed on the chrony should be turned up tho so we can actually get people out . the refs are alrite and the guy that was at the proshop is nice
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shaokahn666 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Soldiers of Fortune: More expensive, but more extensive. Better for woodsball. Kartworld is the better speedball field in my opinion.
-Paintball Adventures: I think it's closed now, but it wasn't as good as kartworld. It was indoors, and very cramped, good for about 6-8 max.
-Paintball City: One hell of a drive, but well worth it. Just about on par with kartworld.
Review: I've heard some negative comments about kartworld, but i've seen nothing but good things about it.

The field: This field is speedball only. I think they have another field, but this is the only one i've seen. It's still very good. It has lots of cover, and plenty of interesting obsticles. 10/10

The pro-shop: Shayne is a really cool guy. He knows a lot about paintball and is really friendly and easy to talk to. 10/10

The price: 5 Dollars for entry and 28 dollars for 500. Better than Sof, and the paint is a much higher quality than sof as well. 9/10

The reffing: These guys are reaaaaallly strict on safety. It is good, but can get a bit irritating at times. I was dry firing my gun, and one of the ref's promptly stopped me. This was just a test for my C02, but i never got that chance. O well, it's better to annoy one guy than to let someone lose an eye. 9/10

All in all, this field is really nice. If your into woodsball, this obviously isn't the field for you, but if you like speedball. I rate this field a 10/10.

Keep up the good work guys!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.Paint1979 Wednesday, April 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF
Review: I have played on this field for a few months and I realy enjoyed the experience.

It is a little different then some fields and players that go there should know what to expect. It is a smaller then usual field, so that means that you cant fit many people on at one time (20 - 30 at most) but it is cool because you are always in combat. It has a speedball like feel to it. I love the setup but some people dont. They are getting some bigger fields sone if you dont like the combat ready field.


LOCATION 9/10
+Easy to find. Lots of Parking. Short walk from parking lot to field.
- a little far out in the country

FIELD 8/10
+ High paced. good condition.
- Needs better drainage in spring. more veriaty

EQUIPMENT 10/10
+ Tipmans! (OH AND TIPMANS DONT FREAZE WITH CO2) All equipment is available for repairs. Cheast and neck gaurds available for free.
- sometimes have to wait a couple of minutes for the realy cheap fills (i had to wright somthing)

PRICES 10/10
+ well its really really cheap! and the realy cheap membership makes it even cheaper. The price alone should get people out there.

REFS 7/10
- - not very active somtimes. more concerned about saftey then game (its understandable but still a drag).
+ willing to help fix equipment. willing to set up teams or games the way you want it.
+ not all Refs are bad. I only had him once but the tall guy with the bierd is one of the best I have ever had.


All in all I would give this place a 9. It needs improvements in the field by making it bigger or adding more (THEY ARE DOING BOTH) and the refs need to get better or get more of them (the last time I was there they semed to have been better AND one more ref was out there). But for the price alone and the interesting field setup I would suggest trying it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmbientShadow Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soldiers of Fortune Paintball
Review: I played a scenario game last year at SOF... it was great.

But I started at Kartworld, and I will still go there day in and day out.

They raised the prices of paint for '05 to $8/100, $15/200 $28.00/500 $100/case. The paint they use is "okay" (i like Severe stuff better but meh). The refs have also improved for this year... they actually call you out! As everyone else has said, the recball field is of adequate size for anywhere from 4 to 12ish players (i've played with 10 and i think we coulda put 2 more in). The speedball field is SUPPOSED to increase in size this year (i was there today and I didn't ask... ah well) but if it's the same size as last year it's only good for teaching your buddies how it works or if the recball field is filled with 10-year-olds that all have Angels. They also have disposable coveralls for $5.00 if you want 'em (they work great). CO2/HPA fills are complimentary with the $5.00 field access for marker owners.

THIS IS IMPORTANT: They've upped the chrony speed for '05 to 240! Breaking a ball on someONE as opposed to someTHING is now POSSIBLE! WHOOHOO!

The field itself is easy to find, it's right on the highway and you basically can't miss it. No turning lane from southbound lanes though... pissed off a few people cuz the driveway sneaks up on ya... brake slamming... you know how it is.

The pro shop is "alright." It's a touch expensive and they don't carry high-end stuff. What they DO carry is alot of the little stuff (fill nipples, drops, accessories, o-rings, squegees and whatnot) and most of the little stuff is at a good price.

The refs are extremely adamant about safety (which is great). The owner is a great guy who won't screw you over when it comes to anything... I had a broken fill nipple on my 68/3000 and we ended up filling it 3 times and he didn't gripe about it, sold me a new nipple and installed it with teflon tape and everything on the cheap right there, filled me up and AWAY WE GO! They do fill right to 4500 (or 5000 probably if you have that particular tank) but over this winter they've only had the tanks able to fill to 3600ish, which isn't bad since they only charge you for 3000. CO2 fills are cheap (can't remember the price), HPA is $1.00/1000 psi ($4.50 for 4500, $3.00 for 3000 which is great) and they make sure it's a FULL fill (they let it sit after the first time to cool, they don't "flash fill" don't worry). All in all a great field for beginners and a cheap place for a few hours with your buds.

Price: Good; Refs: Getting better; Field: Getting bigger; Experience: Awesome!
Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 2:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bunkd Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF, PBA
Review: Advantages:
-----------------
Well, this is a great rec ball field, for walk ons, I dont recommed their Sup' Airball as its unbelieveably small. The prices here are good, and its in a convienient place and is easy to locate, unlike SOF which is in the country, but has a HUGE Playing area compared to here. Cheap Membership Prices! $25.00 Gets you: Free Entry Anytime.
Free fills, 10% off in proshop and cheaper paint



Weaknesses:
-------------------
Okay, Dont listen to what those people said, this field is not the best, SOF is a lot bigger and better, first, This field being open in winter is not good for walk ons because the guns will freeze up as they run on C02. Second, The refs here dont pay attention to the game. Third, the chrony speed is so low you can barely shoot across the field.
**EDIT: Now that we're in 2k5 they hired some new, better refs.**

Overall Rating:
--------------------

8 / 10

Bunkd
Last edited on Sunday, March 20th, 2005 at 5:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

scotty757 Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF, Paintball Adventures
Review: I've been to this place quite a few times. I found it ok at first, but that ok soon decreased to bad. As many people have said, the reffing is very bad. You can hit somebody about 5 times and they'll keep wiping it off and the refs wont do jack-****.

Secondly, I found out that the paint was just plain horrible. One round I was playing and got hit in the mask yet the ball didn't break. In another round, I was playing speedball and bunkered some one from about 3 feet away and the ball didn't break.

Now, the velocity here was set VERY low - about 225. I couldn't even get my gun low enuf and they almost made me cut my spring, but eventually let it stay at 240 fps.

Cost. That's the only thing I found half decent about this place. Paint prices were cheap, entry was pretty good. It was all right.

I heard they're going to be expanding next year and that hopefully they can have a Marker Tech actually on site. I would still rather go to SOF or PBA so.. I give this place a 4.
Last edited on Monday, December 20th, 2004 at 1:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

double_d202 Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF, Paintball Adventures
Review: Field: Good setup, plenty of things to hide behind.
Refs: From the look of it they hardly did anything. All they did was make sure people did chrono and that the had masks on.

My experiance with the field was cut short by rain, but I will go there again to see if anything is changed or if the refs know what they are doing. I had fun though so I rate ok.

I will update this review if I get more information after my second time there.

Edit** I have played it a feww times in the 2k5 season so far and the refs are better. I find this field to be full of action with plenty of players. I like it the best for hamilton because I find SOF to be boring.
Last edited on Saturday, April 9th, 2005 at 8:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

glossix Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
sof
Review: I went there with 2 of my buddies, 1 of which is very experienced and the other is pretty much new to the sport but we had an awesome time. The field WAS very safe, and well kept up, the prices are really really good compared to other fields, probably because they only have 2 fields but in all honesty, we played for 4 hours and had a blast. So if you're in the area i recommend it for a fun filled saturday or sunday (open in the winter). So i highly recommend this field to players of all experience levels. The ONLY thing that i personally had a problem with was that the refs weren''t checking people if they got hit or not cause we played with a few guy that wiped paint from their hoppers but o well, part of the game i guess.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corey__A Saturday, October 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF, PBA
Review: I went to this field for a cheap game of pb. Thats what i got. The paint they use is ok, i think it was some ZAP. Their sup' air field is pretty good, but the grass need to be re-sodded(sp?) there were patches of hard dirt near the mostly used bunkers (didn't really bother me but to some it might). The reffing was horrible, well there wasn't even a ref he just lefted our groups of 8 and went to ref the rentals. It was fine with us but we know the rules and safety precautions, but if it was some unexperienced players something bad might have happened. The rental field is ok, nothing really great (used to be a mini-golf course, but the put some bunkers in there and called it a pb field, well it works, lots of rental were having tons of fun. The field could have been better, but it was a fun cheap day of playing, so i give it a 5/10 just because it had sup' air. I hope the field will be able to hire more refs and proshop staff. There proshop prices were average. Lots of selection. Well, thats what i thought of the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

i kik butt @ pb Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
sof
Review: This is probably the best paintball field around. It is well managed and very organized. The refs are fair and helpful. This is a great place for newbies and for skilled paint-ballers. The owner Shane is really nice ( and he even plays with us sometimes). They have a great proshop. Prices are very cheap 500pb's/ $28.! They also have a membership (which i totally got) for only $25!!!!!
You get the following with your membership
-$5 field charge (for gun owners ) waved
-free fills on c02 or h.p.a
-discounted price on paintballs
$7/100 - $12/200 - $25/500!
-10% off anything you purchase in the proshop
- Buy 5 laps for go carts and get 3 free!!!! (but who cares about go-carts)

They have a really good well kept field which they change around so you have a different playing experience every time. I have never played on their speed ball field so i don't know what it is like. This place is really safe and they always check your gun speed. Overall this is the best field around and u definitely should go!

(p.s. - for those people who complain about those "random" pieces of concrete in the field it used to be a mini-putt )
Rating 10/10!
Last edited on Monday, July 4th, 2005 at 4:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media