paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / TACTIK Paintball Field / TACTIK Paintball Field / TACTIK Paintball Field / TACTIK Paintball Field

TACTIK Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (819) 360-5376
Address: 1870 Boulevard Maloney
Gatineau Ottawa, Québec J8R 3Z4
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
griffyn17 Sunday, May 29th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 28th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: The directions that were on their website weren't the best but we got there easily. It took us about 1 hour to start playing, WAY TO LONG! We waited for the refs and getting paint was a pain because they wouldn't just give us the case they had an odd way of doing it they would give us 4 pods and like a quarter of a bag, it was SUPPOSE to be 1000 but who knows how much it was actually. So after the 1 hour wait we get playing, right away we see how small the fields are. We were playing 10v10 and the rounds must have been only around 7min tops because there was no cover what so ever in some fields. After the rounds we waited another 10min sitting around again!!! The paint was garbage, we noticed some other groups with better paint but we were stuck with some crappy paint.

Overall nice fields a bit small, Costs a bit much, Paint wasn't the best, too much waiting around, nice staff, cool features in fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Col. Doubt Monday, July 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I found myself venturing from Hamilton on a 6 hour drive to Tactik Paintball... and let me say, I am glad I did!

Getting to where the field is, is very easy... however knowing where/when to turn into the field can be hard. One thing I suggust that Steve (owner of Tactik Paintball) does, is to get a larger sign up for his entrance, an possibly have some signs posted a long the way.

So... we arrive at the field, and everything starts getting better and better from there. We start talking around, everyone is very friendly, kind, helpful... and bilingual (no communication problems). So here I am, with all my monolinguist friends I brought with me, just fascinated by the generosity of the people around us.

The field staff are personable, friendly, approachable, and more than happy to bend over backwards and help you. The field also does scenarios in co-operation with Aggressive Diplomacy, a team from Ottawa that throws together some of the best scenarios that I have been to (and I have been to A LOT of scenario). GHOST and the rest of Aggressive Diplomacy not only develop the best scenarios around, they also organize and run them. As refs they are fantastic... as woodsball and scenario players themselves... they know there doo doo.

Steve, the field owner, is also one amazing guy. All he cares about, and man is it so true, is the happiness of his guests, the players. He does absolutely everything he can to make sure everyone his happy... and man, we were so happy! He goes around, talks to players, takes input, and uses is successfully. He is very friendly, likes to talk to the players, he is very approachable, and outgoing. For a field owner to be this involved is rare... and is a very good thing. It shows in the field. When you go, give him comments, he loves to hear positive feedback, and can work on correcting any changes you'd like to see. I for one seen little to none.

So, the staff, the owner, the players, and the locals are all FANTASTIC! How about the field...?

Well, the field it self, although not very large, is one hell of a game in a hand basket... that is to say, there is A LOT, of all styles, all wrapped up into one kicking package!

The field is generally all thin woods... there are a lot of paths, and some thick brush here and there, buts its a forest in general. Now... inside this forest are some of the most kicking fields... let's go through some of them.

Black Hawk - A minivan that has been modified to look like a type UH-60, great for use as a regrouping location in large scenario. Looks pretty cool too!

The City - The main part of the field... right when you walk in is one of the most impressive fields at Tactik Paintball, the Lost City will pump up your adrenaline with quarter battles and sneaking. You can hide behind cars or get cover inside one of the 7 buildings.

The T.F.E.T fortress - Right on the edge of the field boundaries you will find this nifty fortress. A great defensive position... but a well planned attack can take it down all too fast. The perfect place to stage a HQ. Just have guards posted.

The Ambush - Complete with a bus, brush, and a ton of cover. A ton of things can go down when there is a bus involved...

SOS Cargo - Another great part of the field, complete with protection buildings to help with the completion of objectives.

The Tower - A great look out area... perfect for the sniper, but watch out... thick dense lays all around the tower... perfect for an enemy sneak attack or ambush.

The Border Crossing - A sweet little defensive building... a great HQ, lot's of shooting points, and a lot of front line cover... which could also be called advancing cover for the enemy...

The Cartel - Possibly one of the best things of any field out there. A lot like Flag Raiders "Drug Lab" (for those of you that know what I am talking about), it is a two floor building, with bottom level rooms, corners, for large doors, upstairs, two stairwells, landings, walk ways... just an all around fantastic building... absolutely fun to defend... even more fun to attack.

There are also "hospitals" on the field... little dead boxes through out the field that have water for the players... everything you need, never at a far walk.

When all these come together for a large scenario game... I can promise you it will be both intense, and fun!

Prices:

Some of the best prices I have seen in a long time...

$6 entry price, fills included, all day.
$20 for rentals.
Lot's of cool things to rent as well... like mines!

Paint is $120 for a case of great quality paint. Membership offers a great discount of only $90 a case.

Scenario prices may be different, these are not official prices, and it's always best to contact the field for current rates.

Memberships go from as low as $100 to only $150 and you get fantastic deals on paint, the shop, free feild access (with paint on entry), all day fills, and V.I.P access for scenario games.

There are also group rates available, check website for details : http://www.tactikpaintball.com

Speaking of the website... just WOW! Fantastically done... just check it out, sweet flash, images, video... amazing!

Now... for the facilities... WOW! They have a trailer complete with food and beverage sales, all fills and paint sales are done quickly... a HUGE shed with tons of seating (indoor)... it's insulated, has electricity, and would probably be amazing for winter games... Steve wants to get a bar installed in the back... AMAZING! There is also small things like funnel pod loaders around, better yet... I think they have a chip wagon on site that is great for lunch. There is also a small pro-shop on site.

The feild is also located next to a fun place complete with motocross, go-karts, off-road go-karts, mini go-karts for the little ones, and mini-putt. So, if it's possible, for some reason that obviously you can not control... you have non-paintball family coming along, you can be sure they won't cut your day off early (call ahead for further information).

So, needless to say, you will defiantly enjoy scenarios... especially if they use exploding briefcases and other sweet scenario items!

I give this field a well deserved 9.5/10, it's is superb, fantastic, and the people behind the scenario are amazing people. For those that have a love for scenario paintball... this field is a must. See you there (after my 6 hour drive...lol).

Doubt gives the field two BIG thumbs up!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Roy Boy Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
im not sure ... Tactik is the best field around , i dont see any reason to go looking for any where else
Review: I use to play at tactik alot ... its about 10 mins from my house so i was there pretty much all last summer (06 season) now in the 07 season im am a ref there... we started getting ready for the 07 season as soon as we could walk around on the field. alot of work has gone into the field with the addition of the "cartel" and alot of clean up time, and we re-did the speedball field. In the past most refs spoke more french but this year half of us are 100% bilingual so comunication is never a problem. Some people complain about having problems with taking a while to get ready, and my self being a ref i can explain why this happens, most of the time the team will be ready to go accept for the 1 slow poke still getting his balls or the girl not happy with her suit ... im a ref i see it everyday. but of course some times it is the refs having a bad day

At tactik having fun and being safe at the same time is are bigest concern as long as both those things are happining every1 will be having a good time

I hope every 1 who reads this is planning on coming out to the field in the futur to have a great day of paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

roystonlodge Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando - More "woodsy". Owner not as good a guy.
Review: Me and a friend played with six other walk-ons, so teams were four on four.

Pros:

Basic rentals are Tippman 98Cs. He also rents a bazooka, mines, grenades, and a Spyder MR1.

The owner, Steve was a really nice guy who helped me out immensely when my marker was having problems.

Lots of different fields with good variety. The "Blackhawk Down" field was neat. There's a big fortress, and he's continuing to add to the facility.

He's put a lot of work into the place, and uses his imagination to create scenarios. He has a mock "nuclear bomb" that you need to defuse in one scenario, and a "communications uplink" that you have to blow up in another scenario.

Right next door there's a place with motocross, go-karts, off-road go-karts, mini go-karts for the little ones, and mini-putt. If you've got a family and you need something for the wife and kids to do while you're playing paintball, this is a perfect place to play.

There's a chipwagon on-site for lunch-time.

Drinking water was provided in the "Hospitals" (dead zones), which was very welcome because it was damned hot that day.

He has a funnel for loading your hopper at the staging area, which was a nice touch.

Small pro-shop on-site.

Cons:

A case of paint was C$120.

Fields were kinda small, so games were de-facto speedball games. Short games + more paint shot = owner makes more money.

The refs coulda been more organized. We sat around way too long between games. We arrived at 9 am. We didn't start playing until 11. There was an hour break for lunch. It was frustrating.

Neutral (depending on your point of view):

Personally, I like a facilitity that's more "woodsy". The brush was cut back so much at Tactik that there were very few places to hide and there were almost no shadows. Camoflage is pretty much useless except on a couple of the fields. Stealth and strategy play very little part of the game. Starting points for the teams were very close to each other, in my humble opinion.

Playing four-on-four made the games go really quick. I think it would be a lot better if you went with a big group.

I played lousy, but that's not really the field's fault. Hehe.
Last edited on Monday, May 29th, 2006 at 5:37 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt.Zen Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI, PS, Ottawa Paintball, Other places
Review: The field is insane. So many cool scenarios. They have cars and houses and stuff. I felt like i was in a battle from battle field 2. It was the most intense field ive ever played and so far ive played every 1 near the Ottawa region. Everybody should check it out. They have insane prices if you become a member. They have tactical night on Thursdays with people dressing up like seals and stuff with radios and modded paint ball guns to look like real guns. It is by far the best place in the area.

The owner is really nice the refs are cool. I played 2 rounds against the ref and i smoked him.

The place is not perfect it just opened. Only way it could be better was if they had the 2 scenarios that their building playable.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

H0t_P0t4t0 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indoor: Ottawa PSI
Outdoor: Perkins Paint Storm
Tactick has better prices and they have put more efforts in their field
Review: Pros:
- Brand new equipment, almost never fails
- Cool multiple scenarios, not just CTF
- The best prices in the region
- The only field close to the city (Gatineau)
- Really friendly people, you always make some new friends when playing there
- Near a recreational center ( Dirt bikes and Go-Karts )
- The field has big potential, they got some nice plans

Cons:
- They have just opened, so the field still needs little improvement, but it will sure be better next year
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media