paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Chaos Paintball Field / Chaos Paintball Field / Chaos Paintball Field / Chaos Paintball Field

Chaos Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 3262 McConnell Road
Charlotte, Michigan 48813
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
OziDarklighter Sunday, October 24th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Directions
to the Field:
n/a
Review: The Good:
-- Decent prices (I brought my own equipment, bought a case of paint for $40, and I was good to go).
-- Friendly owner
-- Friendly staff (except for one, see below)
-- Several field formations to choose from, and the group could choose which feild to play on. There were at least 4 different choices, and they were working on building several more.
-- Right off the highway (I-69)

The Bad:
-- The rental equipment was failing all over the place, many of the tanks had leaks, and I saw many guns getting swapped out. The staff was friendly to swap them out, but the rate of failure was much higher than what I'm use to. Granted, I had my own so I didn't have to use it =)
-- Very slow pace of games, we played 9 games in 4 hours.

The Ugly:
-- Do not ever get CODY as the referee. This kid was about 16, claimed to know anything about everything (which he didn't) and drove a lot of the games. He was extremely arrogant, chatty (not getting games going), and was not at all knowledgeable about equipment / guns / paintball.

The field had several other referees, and they were catering to private parties, so I think that's why general play got shafted with this guy.

I think the rating would have been a bit higher should CODY not be your referee.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

a4hope Thursday, August 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hell Survivors- The best field in the state if you don't mind using their paintballs
Field Excalibur- Good field, especially for their big games
Hole in the Wall- Has the potential to be a great field just needs to be run better
Directions
to the Field:
Take exit 66 from I-69, go south on Lansing road about a mile, turn right on McConnel road
Review: I started playing paintball at Chaos back when they first opened - about 2001/2002. I stopped playing there in 2004 because of a number of factors. However, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised when I decided to try them again. The field is under new ownership and it shows. The new owners have made a big difference. There are still improvements to make but I like playing there now, which I did not used to.

The proshop sells RPS paint for very reasonable prices, and by that I mean as cheap as you can get it online. They also allow you to bring your own paint for $10, or for free on certain days. All day air is $5, using a self-serve system filling 4500 psi. Field fee is a reasonable $10. The shop also has some parts and equipment for sale, along with field rental equipment. They also have the usual assortment of snacks and soda. Open play is from 12:30 to 4:30 Saturday and Sunday.

The referees do a good job of running the games but I wish they were more assertive when reminding players about safety rules.

The fields include a village, woods field, hyperball field, "junkyard"-type field, and airball when it is inflated (it wasn't when I was there). Each is a good example. The village is full of plywood buildings and a few old vehicles. The "firebase" (junkyard) field has sandbag bunkers, trenches, old cars, and plywood bunkers. The woods field is alright, with a few bunkers, but it needs to be weed wacked. There is too much undergrowth for my tastes. One criticism of all the fields is that the netting needs to be repaired or replaced on many of the fields.

The staging area has the standard assortment of spools next to the parking area. A nice bonus is that parking is plentiful and close to the fields.

The owner is usually available and was on on-site the day I was there. They have brought a change in mindset that the field really needed. The open play sessions are run much better than they used to be. The referees organize games more readily so there is less sitting around and more play. The refs also were more active during the game, responding to calls for paint checks and calling hit players out. This was the largest change I noticed from the old Chaos. It is now run the way a paintball field should be. If you are hesitant to play there because of negative reviews, I suggest that you give it a shot. For those who have played there before, give it another try. It has changed enough that I felt the need to give it a comprehensive review.

Overall I rate it a 7 out of 10 because it was a fun place to play, and with some more investment has the potential to be even better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

buzzard Wednesday, July 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
colors
Review: I play in an milsim league at this field and the staff is great. they keep the games moving right along. I have also played some open play here and they try to get as many games in as possile.for those of you who have tried the field before and were disappointd with it i would recommend you come back and try it now. New owners and staff are a great bunch of people. field have had a few things changed to them and hopfully more good thing ti come.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Modern_Savage Wednesday, May 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hell Survivors, TC's Grand Rapids.
Review: Overall, this field has slid off the deep end since 2008. The Referee's ability to control the movement of the game, communicate with players and even officiate is very poor. Safety violations even happen right in front of their eyes without a warning.

The fields are nothing special, bunkers are simple and effective but there just aren't enough of them. The woodsball field is a joke and the majority of the field seems to be tailored around X-ball and Air ball for the field workers and referees to play after paying customers leave. Plus, more often than not, if parties are not exclusively playing one another on the field, they're playing the "Resident Team" that works and hangs out there and the Pro shop.

Overall, I'd have to say if you're looking for anything more than just a place to go shoot some paint then go.

If you're looking for an actual structured game, go somewhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slopitchgod Sunday, March 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
m40 excaliber
Review: Refs are WAY to young !!! we played their for the mil sim league, all 3 games were in the woods which SUCKED. Village could of been used, the open play field netting was TERRIBLE in some spots it was coming up like 12 ft and that was the part facing the road where cars are driven. overall ran OK nuttin special, need some real refs not the owners 15 year old son and his buddies. I would recommend it for the casual user do not go there to do anything serious...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dontfconmigo21 Sunday, July 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Futureball Outdoor- better

Predator Paintball outdoor- Fields aren't as good, but much better management

Crossfire Creek- better, more $$$$

Area 51- awesome, more $$$
Directions
to the Field:
The major road Chaos is off of is under construction, check their website for current directions.
Review: Safety: (9) As diligent as necessary, reminding new players to put masks, barrel bags on.

Fields: (2) They supposedly have two airball fields. The past two times I have been there, they have taken the x-ball field down in the middle of open-play, and the sup-air wasn't even set up. This, in my opinion, is unacceptable. If you pay a field fee to play somewhere, they had better have the advertised fields up and running. The only reason this rating isn't a 1 is because chaos really does have potential, they just REALLY have to have their airball fields up and running.

Hours of Operation: (4) Open Saturdays and Sundays 12:30 to five. I would say that 4.5 hours of game-play only on Saturdays and Sundays is slightly below average. They have an x-ball practice every once in a while for a whopping 2 hours.

Prices: (8) Really pretty fair. I can't complain. $40 for a case of stinger, $10 for entry, and $5 for all day air. $10 extra for byop. Definitely better than average pricing.

Rules: (N/A) Keep it under 300fps.

Services, proshop, food, facilities: (6) Rentals are these dinosaur-aged pihrana/spyder pieces of junk. I saw two go down during play today. They have a big polebarn that serves as the proshop at the field. Most of the stuff is overpriced, but they are plenty capable of filling CO2 or compressed air tanks. Slightly above average overall.

Staff: (4) I see the staff there, but I don't see them doing anything. Seriously, most of them sit around.

Refs: (2) Another huge problem for Chaos. Their refs are typically the local kids sponsored by the field. Nothing wrong with that, but they are incredibly apathetic. They don't push game-play and they really need to. I heard a lot of complaining about not getting enough playing in, and rightfully so. During the first two hours of open play, I had played maybe three 15-minute games.

Players: (N/A) What players? By 3:30pm today, there were 4 open-class players left. Maybe I've just been unlucky the days I went, but is seems as if people aren't coming out.

Conclusions: Overall, I would say Chaos is a poor place to play as a walk-on. It seems as if people aren't coming out anymore, the refs don't want to be there, and they aren't as accommodating to new players/walk ons as they should. The new player really is the backbone of this sport. Chaos has pretty good prices, their fields could really have potential, but I honestly believe you will have more fun at most other fields in the area.

If someone from the field reads this, please don't take it as a slap to the face. I have thought about everything I said here, and really hope the field gets better. The two big criticisms I wish that you can take from this are:

1) keep your fields up, and
2) really push game-play. even if nobody is actively commenting that they want to play, believe me, they do.

I was considering giving the field a 4, but the new management has really made it better. Just not good enough.
Last edited on Sunday, July 6th, 2008 at 7:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

98customplayer1 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hells Survivors, Predator Paintball...
Directions
to the Field:
From Lansing towards Charlotte, its on your right at the either the Charlotte or Potterville exit, i forgot which one.
Review: Chaos is a pretty nice field that i have come to enjoy. I havent played at many other fields in the area, but i enjoy Chaos, so therefore i play there. The Fields themselves are set up very nicely and there is a big veriety of players that play there. Most days you'll find beginners, amatures, and experienced players all playing at the same time. I have'nt found any problems with saftey for the 5-6 times i've played there. The vast majority of the time, i have found the staff and refs to be very helpful and experienced. The on-site "shop" if thats what you would like to call, is'nt all that impressive to me, but it gets the job done. For days that your hungry, they sell snacks and drinks, but at a slightly marked up price. I find it better to go to the nearby McDonalds or gas station and return for more play. If I remember right, open play is 12:30pm-4:30pm on the weekends, and on the weekdays they are unfortunatly closed. I find their pricing to be decent for everyone, and slightly discounted for people who have purchased their marker at their pro-shop in the Frandor Shopping Center (Outpost Paintball). For a case of economy paintballs it is 40$, and goes up by 10$ depending on quality. They also have packages for people who need to by the field fee, paint, and air. BYOP is 10$.

All in all, Chaos is pretty nice, i'de like to see them open on weekdays, open a little longer, more playing time, and maybe open up a reball field, other than that, i enjoy playing there.

I have no problem rating a 9/10
Last edited on Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 at 12:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snake2715 Thursday, September 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hells Survivors, Predator Paintball etc. I think each of the fields almost serves their own niche of players I will explain more below.
Review: Well where to begin... First I have played before and after the new owners. I found both times to be well laid out. My biggest reason for writing this review is because I WANT to play at this field more often. Its pretty close, I am used to its layout. I like what they have done to expand the woods area, their admission pricing is in line, and they are a friendly bunch.

They seem to strictly follow safety, and encourage new players to come out. The fields have a nice variety ,I do seem to play more of the "village/woods" than any other area though. Thats mainly due to the others I play with preference however.

I especially like their new paint line up, and the paint pricing is pretty good. I somewhat disagree with the idea of the Outpost Store bought paint "cant be used at the field"... and left over field paint cant be used there again. Which actually brings me into my biggest complaint and single reason for writing this review.

There simply needs to be more games. I have been out there 5 Saturdays this summer ( I don't need to explain this but I play at other places as well). Each and every Saturday we barely got any play time in. The refs were more concerned with "hanging out" and talking than actually initiating another game. I have a lifetime membership... but when I bring new paying players (we all buy their paint of course) I really want to show them a good time. I DON'T want to have them standing around thinking paintball is a few quick games and a lot of talking.

I don't really get the idea of NOT having games every 20 minutes or even 30 minutes. It would sell more paint, and keep players coming back. The last time I went we literally walked the entire village and woods fields shooting randomly, came back stocked paint, almost decided to go home and finally a game was about to start. Literally 20 minutes later it did start and it was over in 15 minutes... We were then expected to wait another what, 1 hour to play again for 15 minutes? So at that rate in four hours you get 1 hour of playtime? I can find a better use of my time thanks.

Kevin if you ever read this I beg you to give the refs a good kick in the butt. I have some new people playing with me this weekend 09/08/07 and guess what... I wont be taking them to your field, I will be making a 1 hour drive to a field that is going to give the new players some actual play time, not talk time.

I wish this field the best and hope that some games actually start taking place there for the walkins, because right now its not happening.

I would rate the field an easy 8-9 but due to the problem above it comes in at slightly better than average for me. So I am rating it a 6/10.

Last edited on Wednesday, October 24th, 2007 at 10:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CobraChick1369 Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51 - Nice Feild Nice Staff but long drive, Chaos Is much Closer
Directions
to the Field:
Take the Highway towards charlotte, and at the potterville exit, take a right and the stop sign and a left at the light and follow to chaos paintball feild about 3 miles down.
Review: Feilds- are awesome, they are very well laid out, and the objects and obsticals are great, very very nicely designed!

Prices- not bad at all, thats the thing that keeps me coming back is the prices they are very reasonable and i can afford them, dont ever change them.

Hours- I dont really mind, it would be nice if they were open longer and more during the week.

Staff/Proshop- very well managed, the staff is very nice and they were very helpfull everytime i have been there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Samus145 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hells Survivors - Larger Field, More Expensive, Further from Lansing

Chaos Paintball - Old Chaos (I put this under other fields, because this really is a whole new field under the new managment) was absolutely horrid
Directions
to the Field:
Just South of Lansing.. see their website
Review: As stated in previous reviews, Chaos Paintball is a whole new field now under new ownership. This place is doing an excellent job and shaping up to be a nice new addition to the area. This review is after the changeover.


Fields --
Standard speedball pipe field: well setup when played from either side, spread out effectively.
Airball field: again, setup well, hard to go wrong with airball, but up every other weekend it seems.
Village: Excellent setup with both sides having different directions of attack equally effective. This is the course to learn to flank. Vans parked in the field add a large "structural component, as do the several buildings present in the center and the back half. Spools and barrels interspersed appropriately.
Woods: very interesting setup. Impenetrable bunker in the back with sand bags (ready those grenades) Clearings with bunkers right up the middle for longball and 50-50's. Awesome soft cover on the outside on both sides (watch out for the marsh on the left) which allows stealth and flanking of the middle bunkers.
Firebase: Looks to be shaping up well, but not finished yet.

Prices -- This is about as low as it comes for paintball. 10$ Field Fee, 5 $ all day air or CO2 (self service if desired) Three grades of paint, the most expensive of which is 50$, the cheapest is 38$ (2000). Rental with a day of play and 500 rounds of paint is 35$. That is very cheap in my opinion, Tippman 98's; pretty standard stuff. Last but not least: Bring Your Own Paint charge 10$ for all you marbalizer fans out there.

Hours -- 1230 - 1630 Sat, Sun open play most all weekends. Could be more if they wanted to or had the interest for. I have stayed there till 1700-1730 playing before.

Safety -- MUCH more enforced than previously. Refs do a great job when they see the aimless new guy without a barrel sock on. Masks/Socks strictly enforced.

Refs -- Good job at making sure the rules are followed. They are great guys to talk to and are more than happy to point out strategy that you can use to the newer guys/gals.

Facilities -- basically you get a shed.. Actually the best part is the parking and staging area. Multiple tables and trash areas. Indoors is fairly spartan as all the proshop and such functions are about 15 min away at Outpost paintball.

Players -- excellent every time I have been there. Very willing to split and balance teams. Fair amount of regulars, who enjoy playing against eachother, not unsuspecting new players. Refs do a good job at splitting the teams and making sure the guys with the 2000$ Angels are not taking on the guys with the rental 98's. Folks are very friendly and you will find yourself engaged in conversation between matches more often than not.

Things I would Change -- Outfit the shop there a bit more, but I believe they are in the process of doing this. There is more work to be done on the new fields, and I am looking forward to them opening. This is a very casual atmosphere. It can be 30 min or so between games sometimes. Good if you need air/paint... bad if you don't. It would be nice to see more games go on with people filling up and such as needed by sitting out the usual 15 min games or so.


Overall this is an excellent field now, 110% better than previously. I will be spending more and more time here when I don't have the time/inclination to go to Pickney (Hells Survivors). Who knows, I may like it more than there eventually.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media