paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gator Paintball Field / Gator Paintball Field / Gator Paintball Field / Gator Paintball Field

Gator Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
59Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (727) 862-2222
Address: 11122 Houston Ave.
Hudson, Florida 34667
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
PharaohSamir Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiator-good only for rainy days
Directions
to the Field:
LOL middle of no where Hudson HAHA
Review: Safety: They have one of the safest fields I have seen. The refs make sure every player has their barrel plugs on and mask. NO ONE ENTERS A FIELD WITH A MASK OFF!

Fields: Plenty of fields for speed and woods. It never gets old, they have many events.

Hours: Sat-Sun 9am-4pm

Price: 25 all day (air included) Paint runs 40-45-50 if I remember correctly I am sponsored so I donít remember the real prices.

Rules: Every safety rule is taken at Gator, donít follow them you will be kicked out, which is good we donít need stupid players making paintball unsafe.

Services: It is great, Tim (the owner), is an awesome guy, very helpful and easy to work with. He can help you with any problem. Have to say this now TEAM SPEED ROCKS! WOOOT NUMBER 1 D2 TEAM!

Proshop: Canít tell you much about this, never been in it. I hear they donít have a lot of guns, but they do have spare parts I hear.

Staff: Very easy, friendly staff. Some refs are great and some are ok. Depends what day you go.

Refs: Like I said depends on the day you go how good they are.

Players: TONS AND TONS of woodball players. I am a speed player so they is a good bunch of us too. Mostly itís woodball. IF YOU READ THIS SPEED PLAYERS ARE NEEDED!

Facilities: Very nicely kept, port-a-potties are well taken care of. The area is cleaned every day. Looks like new in the morning except all the paint lying around.

Food: They serve hot dogs and drinks at a reasonable price.

Conclusion: I love this field and the owner Tim is great. This is my home sponsored field and I wouldnít have it any other way. Thanks TIM!

Team Sidewinders Thank Tim and Gator for an awesome field.
Last edited on Monday, February 27th, 2006 at 4:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChinoUSMC Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mostly Outlaw...
Elite once...

Gator is better...
Review: Gator was a blast. I called in for reservations (Birthday Party) and they easily accomidated us (13+ people). They have several different types of fields... airball, hyperball, some swat, and woodsball. My group only played woodsball.


MANAGEMENT
Tom, the owner of Gator, is a great person to deal with. He's very nice and is willing to help out if you need it.

I have read the stories about Bernie... and quite frankly, I really don't see what the complaints are about. Yes, he may be strict w/ a no-nonsense attitude... yes, he may have an attitude if you interrupt him, but if you follow the rules and do what you are suppose to do, he's easy to get along with. (for the kids... don't do anything stupid or foolish... for instance, not having a barrel plug in the "Safe Zone" or fooling around by throwing painballs at each other while you're in the Safe Zone. That's just asking to be yelled at.)

All the refs that I dealt with are teens, but they do their jobs pretty good... I have no complaints. They call it as they see it... the way it should be. If there is a problem, they try to resolve it.

THE PLAYING/FIELDS
Turn-around times were great... but sucks if you are recharging and refilling pods. When one game ended, 5 mins later, another one would start up. That part is great. But if you are busy trying to reload your pods and recharging your tanks, you might seemed a little rushed...

I didn't interact with the hyper/speed/air fields, so I really cannot comment on them.

[I will add more info in this section later]


THE RESTING AREA / SHOP
There are lots of tables (some with tents) to choose from. I think there could be a couple more tables though.... when we went, there was a lot of people... I estimate about 100-150+ in the morning... but by the afternoon, it tapered off. They have a small grill if you want to buy food and they also sell drinks. Port-a-johns were clean. Plenty of parking spaces.

They have CO2 and HP/N2. Their HP (at the time) was only able to charge upto 3700-4000 (it had the ability to charge upto 4500). I asked them what the problem was and they said they were having a little problem with the tanks. No big deal...

Their Crono station was also busted that same day (they are working on getting a new one). They ended up using handhelds... which also wasn't working that well, but it was better than nothing.

They have a pro-shop with markers, accessiores, and parts. The price of paintballs range from $40, $45, and $50 for (1x) box of 2000 rnds.... or cheaper prices for 500 rnds.


MISC
I was very happy to use paint grenades (F-Boy) here at Gator (there are other paintball fields that forbid it). I also found out that you can use Smoke Grenades (SG) *******As long as you ask permission first, show them what you are using, and if it's approved by them****** YOU CANNOT USE "FLAME" (i.e.: matches or lighters) to activate SG because of the dry foilage... major fire hazard. Pull tabs are ok for use... IF preapproved by management.

CONCLUSION
Overall, my friends and I had great experience and a blast with no complaints We will definitely be coming back again soon... very soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jordan89 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 31st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: This is a great place to play paintball. its only $15 for entry and unlimited air fills or 5 co2 fills. and they sell a field paint for $45 a case, i think they're stingers, but they shoot pretty good. and they sell premiums for $50 a case. the proshop however is kinda high priced and they dont have too much in stock but im sure they would order something for you. the fields there are really fun to play on. the refs are fair. and its just an overall great field to play on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

section 8 Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 18th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
home is in Ohio but Michigan, Calfornia, Florida, Indiana
Review: I went there to play a litle and they had some great fields. $10 entry, $5 all day air and great paint prices. $10 BYOP but buy a bag of 500 for $12 and you are gold. 3 air ball fields, a tube field and then a large are that had cars and trailers for SWAT and urban combat. Walk back and lots of forts and a jungle. I give credit to the Florida ballers as I had sand in everything after a day of play. Anyhow, they kept the games moving, had food and water and pop. a pro shop I didn't go in. Older camo guys, younger future speedballers, everyone had a good time and split up fairly well. The refs were somewhat imature but did a decent job as far as calling you out and getting you out. All in all a pretty good experience and will go back again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

StealthSniper Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Florida Paintball Center, Orbital, Gladiator, American, all in TB area
Review: This is the best one period. I have been to every field on the west coast and this is the best. The woodsball is fantastic and Tim does his best to keep the airball bunkers grassy. Every time I go, the airball is defferent. Also, they have 2 hyperball fields, a trailer park, a "grave yard," a wooden town, a "vietnam" course, and 3 castles- a lot of junked cars- and a grassy area with just short brush to play napoleonic style games.

I drive 1:30 to get there, but it is always worth it. And unlike FPC and Orbital, the refs arent hot-shot pricks! Gator is also the cheapest. I can play all day for $15, including air. They sell paint for $40 a case or I can bring my own without a sur-charge.

If you live anywhere in Pinellas or Pasco, definitely give Gator a try.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SOD-Ghillie Thursday, October 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes. I love Gators.
Review: I was just cruising around when I saw some really bad reviews of Gators. I have to say, none of what was said in these posts, have I ever experienced. Tim and crew up there are just fantastic. Never had an issue what so ever. Yea, ok, Bernie can be overbearing, but geez, you going to stop playing because you let someone get under your skin. Come on! Tell him to pipe up next time, and have some fun. See you all next month at the scenario..SOD gonna getcha!!!!!!!

Haven't forgot about Team Hogan either. Bring on that night scope big guy....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in this area
Review: Nice field...I went there for a paintball clinic, put on by Break 50 Paintball and was surprised @ how nice the fields were.

3 airball fields that are nice and grassy and they have like 6 other fields...they must have about 20 acres of playing space....it's deep in the woods so you wont bother anybody or accidentally shoot up anything.

Great atmosphere, nice people, and a real nice set-up....they even grill up lunch that you can buy.

Good pricing on admission and paint. They have a little trailer with some items & parts for sale...overall it's a pretty nice place to play at....it's about a 1.5 hour drive from where I live but I will go there again one day soon...real soon.

I think like once a month or once every 6 to 8 weeks they have a tourney put on by Crush Paintball Promotions.

I'm looking forward to go again...check out their website and you can see their set-up and tons of pics...overall I enjoyed the field and enjoyed the clinic, thanks to Break 50 Paintball and Crush Paintball Promotions for throwing an informative class...well worth the drive.

When I was @ Gator Paintball I did not encounter any of the infractions that the guy who hates Tim Altman did. The people at the counter, when I was there, was a woman..not Tim...I saw no 3 foot holes around the bunkers, granted there was dirt immediately around the bunkers but that is expected of a field that gets used....I'm not trying to discredit the Tim hater but I did not experience anything like the horror stories he's depicting.
Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 8:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

buttazzugly Tuesday, July 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CFP, Gladiator
Review: Being an adult onlooker of the sport, it is evident Tim and his wife, Alicia are into this to make everyone happy. I am sure there is much work to make this thing happen. Unfortunitely... family is involved! Bernie Is a TRAIN WRECK! This man has no people skills at all. The fields are a business, and as in any business, respect towards the customer is a must. I have heard through the years that this man is a hard one....( back as far as the Dart business). Im not one to judge from here say, but I have witnessed his arrogance, and un orthodoxed way of handling situations, on more or one occasion. The fields are great, but 1 apple is spoiling the barrell. I have even witnessed Bernie pushing a player, a minor to boot! I know Tim is between a rock and a hard place with this situation, and I dont envy him at all, But Bernie is hurting the overall reflection of a good thing. Maybe he can be a lifeguard in the vietnam woods field! The rules apply to all, especially when safety is involved, I agree with this, but this rule applies to ALL players..... even the owners Dad. Good luck with your prediciment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neal J Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Awsome field. It gots three nice airball fields to play, and some nice hyperball fields. Good for anyones type of playing interests. Got good Competition for anyones playing level. The people there are easy to deal with and are nice. Definatly a field i would recomment for anyone to go play at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nealske Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Log Cabin~ Good 3v3 field, lot's of merchandise.
Review: Well, I can easily say that Gator is the best field I've ever been to. I have seen many others, played at another, but this one clearly defines the fun in paintball. With 2 Airball fields (which both rock!), A Hyperball small and large field that makes a very fun game, a trailor field with abandoned trailers to play SWAT games and such, and many more,, this place knows paintball. The staff is nice and extremely helpful, and the refs call fair games every game. Bernie is a cool guy, which he works at the front desk. The owner is flat out the coolist guy ever. To make it short, if you want to play fun, beginner through advanced paintball, there is no other like Gator Paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media