paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Bellows Recreational Field / Bellows Recreational Field / Bellows Recreational Field / Bellows Recreational Field

Bellows Recreational Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (808) 422-8058
Location: Waimanalo, Hawaii 96795
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
force4flyguy Saturday, June 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintballhawaii,allstar
Review: I have to say Bellows has a fun rec ball field. As a tourny player i like to get out and play a renegade set up every now and again, But i will never play at Bellows again.
REASONS BEING.
1. Expensive paint, like 70+ for premium, and 50+ for practice
ohh yeah its field paint only, can u say cu ching.
2. the refs suck, I got called out for a Bounce, and they wont get in to do a paint check
3. The guys at the house are rude, I noticed youngsters gettin yelled at just because they where asking if there tanks where done gettin filled.
4. Every time I got my tank filled it was being filled to 2k. made many unnecessary trips to the fill stations.
5. before everygame the refs had us place our markers in the sandy dirt and check our hoppers for unauthorized paint, and to re divide teams.
6. 20-30 min in beetween games come on i came to play paintball not waste time.
7. This field is supposed to support the military, they have a contract through MWR, which is supposed to help military members have something to do on there off time at an affordable cost. Any one who plays this sport knows that these guys are out for a profit, not cutting down costs.

AM I DISGRUNTLED..... AWNSER NOOOOOO.

I just think this field needs lower prices, a new staff, and to manage there field better..
but i will say this if your looking to play paintball look else where. Its not worth your money or time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BunkerRefugee Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All Star Paintball
Review: It's an alright field to play on. At the time I played their CA/HP tanks would cap off at about 4000 psi and they only had one tank. The feel there is pretty mellow although, with any field, you do have your snotty players who think they're the best paintball player in the world. And tempers DO fly there when you get bonused balled. The field is a pretty fun set-up and is on par for rec-ball players. Although one thing I can't respect is the constant field bashing that went on there on how this field is the best because...or the other fields suck because...Simply put, this is a rec-ball field and the other field is speedball!! There two different games! I really didn't like the Field Paint only policy...too expensive for the premium paint...and way too expensive for their "white box special" And being on a military base is a hassle.
Last edited on Friday, April 2nd, 2004 at 4:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbll101 Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaii All-Star
Review: Although this field is a big field it is very bias one team always has the advandage which I really didnt like. Having to wait close to twenty minutes for the next game to start was a hassle and usually left peoples mask fogged up. These are probably the only bad things i can say about bellows. There refs are great at throwing there bodys to get a player out of the action and were very helpfull with the young kids. They helped newbies set up there markers correctly and taught them what to do and what not to do. Playing in California i have been exposed to a lot of hot shot players who like to run there mouths i didnt run into that problem. the experienced players were also happy to help new players witch made it a lot nicer for them and hopefully a good impression of us senior players. Bellows also lets you fill up your own air tanks wich was help to lower the cost for me and my team considering it is a field paint only field. but i highly recommend playing at this field ove the others on oahu.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjstreets Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Hey things are changing big time with this field. Its under new management and they have made some huge changes. Things like lowering the cost of paint, sorting the time between games and so much more. Also they are in the process of getting an air compressor to fill up HP tanks. I think that over time things are only going to get better because they are still in the process of redoing the structure of the field staff. If you have played here before and didn't like it, give it a new chance you might be impressed.

Some of the things that I like about this field is how fast the game can change from a woods game to a urban setting type game. Great place to learn too because you can play either tourney style bunkering, or just try and duke it out between houses and bunkers.
I give it a nine because somethings are still kinda in the process of being fixed maybe when things get going i will give it a ten but for now a they deserve a nine.

As of 9/7/04 4500 PSI air fills.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 7th, 2004 at 8:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Towelie Sunday, January 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Kaneohe, Nimitz, Renegade
Review: I must say out of all the fields i have tried at, I have never continued to go to except for this one. The field is setup nice and the staff is friendly. The field contains all the right areas for every type of player, if you like woods, theres woods, you want speedball, you got speedball, you just want to shoot other people, you can just shoot other people. No matter if its your first time playing or have been playing for 5 years you will still have fun. I would also look at getting a membership with the field so that you get disccounted prices at the store and only have to pay $5 for field fee. Belive me its worth it. They also have a policy of field paint only, which is great, because you dont have to worry about paint that is to hard, and that will hurt allot more. And if you get a membership they have a place in kailua, actually two places, where you can purchase paint at, Splat Paintball and Oahu Dive Center.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuchi Friday, October 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaii All-Star (Nimitz)
Review: When I first started playing at this field, it was run in a very professional and extremely friendly manner. In fact that is why I started playing there, along with a different style of play. I'm just not into speedball and I'm there to play with my son and friends.

Games started on time, exactly at 10:00am and everything was up and running. They had a large number of Refs (six or more) on the field during the game and they all conducted themselves in a professional manner.

The employees were more than helpful, in fact they went out of their way to assist anyone with marker trouble and first time players. They even took some of the newbies to the speedball field for a quick class on what to do and what not to do, in order to make their game a bit more enjoyable. I thought this was a fantastic idea and even hosted the session a few times myself.

However, lately that has all changed and in my view not for the better. The old crew of employees has been replaced by a new crew, most of which do not seem to have basic paintball knowledge and that makes asking tech questions a bit difficult, especially if you are a newbie to the game (and I consider myself to still be an newbie).

The field opens at 10:00 and games are supposed to start at 10:00am , so I show up at 9:00am to socialize and set up my marker and check out my son's equipment to make sure it is set up and ready to go. Games have started as late as 11:30am, other problems are they have no air for fills, no rental markers, no ice for chilling the CO2 tanks, they want to hold the game till everyone has signed in, which sometimes takes quite awhile, instead of letting the players that are ready play.

The Refs are all young kids (under 18) and one is even 13 or 14, and they have cut the number of Refs down to two on a very large field. And I think that they are sometimes intimidated by the older players. I'm not saying they are not qualified to Ref, but they do not seem to be able to approach older players to call them out or question their method of play (blind firing, overshooting, etc.)

The old crew of employees used to make the rounds among the players checking to see how things were going and just to say hi and welcome. Not anymore. Some of the older players seem to go around to tell opposing team players how much they liked the last game, (basically a introduction and a thanks for the great time) and before they leave they make a point of shaking hands with other players that they have met or know and the employees too.

There has been a couple of safety issues that the Refs and or employees failed to address and a player had to go out and tell the offending individuals to cut it out. I'm sure that the employees and Refs (this happened between games) saw what happened, but they failed to take any action. The worst one was when several players (active duty military) were firing their markers at their own cars in the parking lot. Which is located close to the picnic area, so no one was wearing goggles. I think that the youthfulness of the Refs was part of the problem, I saw two of the Refs and some of the younger employees watching yet they failed to take action, to stop this behavior.

Having said all that, they seem to be turning some of what I see are problem issues around. Ryan who now runs the store located on Pearl Harbor Naval Base (located in the Sub Base section) and also runs the field has the games starting on time at 10:00, regardless of the number of players still standing in line and has been making sure that everything the field needs to start and open is on hand and up and running.

Yes they do seem to charge a bit more for field paint, and as stated earlier it does pay to become a member and buy your paint at their store for at least a $20.00 savings on a case of paint. Plus you get 10% off on your purchases too. And they do not allow non field/store paint on the field, they will ask you to purchase field paint or leave the field.

They still have a way to go, to get back to where they were a year ago, but at least they seem to aware of the problems and are working on it.

If you want to play in the woods then this is the place for you. They routinely completely rearrange their smaller bunkers, which totally changes the look and feel of the field and of course the angle of fire, making for an exciting and challenging game.

Yes it is a bit sandy, but hey you don't play paintball to stay neat and clean, just remember to keep your marker up and out of the sand. It just takes a bit more time to clean.

They have a side of the field dedicated to bunkering, called the tape line and the Refs will warn you to stay away from the tape line, if you do not like a fast and extremely furious game. These bunkers are fairly close together. The non bunkering rule is waived on the tape line only.

Games usually last at least 30 minutes and recycle or the ability to come back to life for at least the first 15 minutes of the game is a common practice. Towards the end of the day they open up the entire field (all three fields) and the game takes an entire hour to play. The winner (capture the flag), the individual that actually captures the flag is rewarded with a case of field paint.

I actually find the recycle play to be a bit odd, but I actually like it. My first thought on it (after playing at Hawaii All-Star) was that it was a good way to have people waste paint, since you get to play longer. Then after comparing it to Hawaii All-Star where if you get painted in the first second of the game you are out for the duration, it made the game a bit more exciting and gave me more field time with my son. Hey I'm middle aged and don't move as fast as some of you young whipper snappers.

Since the field is located on a Military Base/Recreation area, immediate access is limited to individuals with the proper base sticker, but it is not impossible to gain access. Employees and even other players will come to the gate to vouch for you and escort you to the field. Plan ahead and call before you get there, because of the limited number of employee's available it can take sometime for someone to come and get you and the players may all be out on the field.

As for rating this field, please understand that I'm going to have to rate it based on my newbie experience since I still consider myself new to the game and have only played on two fields and have not had a chance to experience fields off island, yet.





Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballbmx Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
nimitz
Review: it's a pretty good field, with friendly staff but a crappy rental gun but all in all the place is great! :-D The ideas for games were limited and they didn't have real good hiding places or bunkers. The area where there was alot of plans was fun but I did'nt really like the wooden bunkers because they had a bunch of holes in them and were real short so that we had to all huddle under that little wooden piece of **** while there was tons of paintballs flying over our head, I stood ip to give covering fire for one of my friends and took 3 paintballs right in the mask.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kenji Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Staff is friendly. If your low on budget, you can work sumtin out wiht them. Pretty interesting if you owning. But one thing to work on is the price of the paint. I dont mind buying from the store. Another thing is that its hard to enter because its in a militar base.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sur4lif3 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nimits, or Hawaii All-Star Games, located in Honolulu near the airport.
Review: FIELD INFO: This is the field to go to if you want to play in the woods. You'll find many
people here that wear camo and bushrags, which is pretty cool. Stealth and strategy is the key here, as there's plenty of trees, bushes, and people scopin' you out! The walk-on fee is $10, $25 for rent. The paint here is highly priced, and you can only use their paint. The best way to get paint is to become a member and buy paint from their store. You can save big bucks that way.

There are over three fields. First is a HUGE field with houses and bunkers surrounded by brush. Secondy is the "vietnam" field named after its dense brush and intense combat, and the speedball field. I say there are over three fields because sometimes they combine fields when there are lots of people.

UPS: There's a variety of games played. They sell soda. The staff and players are probably more friendly than your family, and there's a bunkering rule for those of you who are scared of the bunkering maneuvre.
DOWNS: If it's your first time paintballing you'll need to bring some big bucks. Sometimes there are long waits between games. Ever we and Iraq have some issues, security is tightened up on Bellows, so access to the field takes some time.

Conclusions: If you're looking for a great place to dress in camo and cruise with da friendly players and staff, then this is the place to go. Getting a membership cuts your playing fee in half and allows you to buy paint as cheap as $40 from the store.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazycoug Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaii Allstar
Review: The field is nice, but there are things I have a problem with. I know other fields in the Mainland (what we call the contiguous U.S. here in Hawaii) require you to buy their field paint, but I'm sure they take care of it. It seem that the paint I bought had been sitting in a humid area for sometime. The box was faded and the balls were warped. They other thing that shocked me was the price of paint. I mean paying 60 or so dollars for paint that you could pick up from the store at 50 bux a case is a rip off, in my opinion. All said and done my experience at the place was not good, and I probably won't go back. I want to give it a 1 but I get it the benefit of the doubt.
Last edited on Thursday, March 20th, 2003 at 10:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media