paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tsawwassen Paintball Games Paintball Field / Tsawwassen Paintball Games Paintball Field / Tsawwassen Paintball Games Paintball Field / Tsawwassen Paintball Games Paintball Field

Tsawwassen Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Address: Highway 17 & Tsawwassen Drive
Tsawwassen, British Columbia
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Caddyshack Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tactical Field - Open saturdays. $30 field fee, $60-80 for a case of paint. Lunch is Included

Review: This was the field that started me obsession with paintball.
For new/social players looking to have a great time of paintball, this is the place to be. For Intermediate and professional players, this is ALSO a great field to play at.

The reffing can be hit'and'miss at times. They do their best most of the time.

Games differ from 'ho chi minh trail', 'center flag push', 'straight team elimination', 'defend the embassy/helicopter', and 'd-day'. (There are a few more games....)

It is my opinion that the paint there is expensive. $160 for 2000 balls
Get a membership! Talk to staff about it. I have mine, and it is WELL worth it if you're a regular. If you figure you're going to come to this field at least 3-4 times in a year, GET THE MEMBERSHIP!!!

The rental equipment isn't bad at all. (considering it IS rental equipment). I have seen many rental players pwn gun owners.

On the odd occasion I have witnessed tempers flare and people going a little crazEh, but 95% of the time everyone is cool and chill.

To wrap it up... This field is an incredible one. You pay a lot of money for a quality experience. The cost hurts its score, so get a membership. Give it a go!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

98 or BT-4 Sunday, August 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: Tsawwassen Paintball Games offered me a great introduction to paintballing. The field is pretty standard with bunkers and vegetations, different terrains, a few huts, and (though I didn't see it myself) a two story building. The marker used are Tippmann 98.

Pricing is quite reasonable. Like I said to my parents, paintballing cost just as much as skiing (if you are renting).

Update: I just had an epiphany. Compare to other fields in the lower mainland, the walk in fee for Tsawwassen Paintball Games is actually more expensive. While the rest of the guys charges marker owners only $5 for field entry, this place charges us $10 for entry and $3 more for full day air reviews. Therefore, this field better be A LOT better than the other fields, because they may just lose a customer.

The staff are quite friendly and humorous. Most important of all, they are very helpful and offer some great tips in matters ranging from loading your marker to unscrewing your air tank.

The guys I played against ranges from young kids to hardcore paintballers, so it is all fun and all.

In conclusion, this is a great field and I would recommend this to anyone wanting to try paintball out.

However, one suggestion is that they should SERIOUSLY get a gardener to clear all those foliages surrounding their sign at the front.
Last edited on Friday, September 26th, 2008 at 9:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoggleBoy Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush:
Just went the once. To be honest, I don't particularly remember it, so I'll not say anything.
Panther:
Once, a number of years back. At the time, I thought the variety of fields was fantastic, though no one field stood out. About all I can say, given the time lapse.
BigShots (now Tactical, though I have not been there in its current incarnation):
Enjoyed it thoroughly, despite the small turn out for the day I was there.
Review: First, a brief history. TPG was the first field I ever played on, though it was under different managment when I first played, back at the start of high school. I'd go a couple times a year, due to lack of finances, mostly with a friend as his mother's company would organise work trips. This past sunday was the first time I've been back in about a year or so and I have to say that there hasn't been any dramatic changes to the field itself. That said, there have been a few note worthy alterations.

The Staff:
At one point, the staff carried radios and air-horns. Generally they wore some sort of uniform identifying them as refs; At one point that was a highly visible yellow shirt that, ironicaly, had cross hairs on it. Several refs were on the field at all times, ranging about to keep an eye on us. I am disappointed to say that this has changed.

Perhaps my recent experience was an oddity, but there was a single ref on the field the entire day, and he rarely left the entrance to the neutral zone. I personally did not witness any cheating and the ref was usually quite quick to run over for a called paint check, so it wasn't a _huge_ issue. However, the lack of signalling devices was. It's difficult to hear a guy yelling from across field in the middle of a fire fight.

All in all, however, I would not say this is a hinderance. They are just as safety conscious as I remember, strictly enforcing chronoing, live gun and mask rules. It would just be nice to have another ref or two out there.

Customer Service:
Now while they may have only had a single ref on the field at any given time, they did have a number of them sitting in the booth. This meant relatively quick service, usually presented with a minimum of hassle. Customer service is always taxing, particularly when it's hot outside. The staff seemed pleasant and relaxed. Also, I should note that when it turned out I was missing a part vital to the working of my cyclone, one of the refs gladly lent me the part for the day. A nice touch.

Field Craft:
As I said, the field hasn't changed much in recent years, excepting the addition of a 'helicopter' and one or two bunkers since last I played. Sadly I only got to play with the additions once or twice, due to a smaller group; my fault for choosing to go on a sunday. TPG suffers from the same problem it always has; lack of vegetation. Well... perhaps not 'problem'. I like the field as it is, finding the more open field less claustophobic, but have a few bushes to scrabble through would be nice.

The Firebase/Embassy is, as I recall, as much a death trap as it always was. Defending it is a pain but thrilling when one pulls it off, as is attacking it. The route up the right side of the field to the Beaver Dam is a choke point that saw some of the thickest fighting on Sunday, but is exhilirating none-the-less. My only complaint would be the degraded netting on the windows of the Firebase, but that only is raised because I was forced to stand in the window as a living shield in order to protect my President's precious little noggin. Which reminds me; I still need to 'thank' him for surrendering after I sacrificed my ribs.

Pricing:
At $30 for rental fees, it's not bad. I remember when it was $25, but that was a while back. And $10 for a hundred rounds is more than fair. My one gripe when it comes to pricing is that, barring a membership, a case is $160. But gunowners pay $8 a hundred, so 2000 rounds works out to the same price. One would think purchasing a case would be marginally cheaper as an incentive. Of course, that could just be the Scrooge in me. For gunowner fees, I'd say its acceptable. $10 and $3 and you've got your air for the day.

As a whole, I would have to say I thoroughly enjoy TPG. Now, this could be bias as it was my first love. Err, field. But the clincher would have to be their policy of letting players bring back paint for play the next day out. A definte plus. I would strongly recommend checking out the field, though I do hope they throw some more refs on in larger games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wonger_87 Thursday, May 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Maple Ridge Paintball: good fields, not good prices or staff
Panther Paintball: nothing to complain about but nothing amazing
Review: This is my second year playing a TPG and I have not gone to any other field since playing there. Yes paintballs are overpriced (better if you get a membership) but the amazing field makes up for this. Recently they have added a new object to the field, a NPC, and a new game that comes along with it. Let me say this game is great, they put a whole team in a 2 story NPC and the attacking team must clear it out. This just adds to the already amazing variety of objects on the field which include: a huge ridge, 2 story embassy, helicopter, plywood bunkers, beaver dams, tons of small houses, and a outpost that sits 10 feet or so off the ground.

All of the games that you play at TPG usually last around 15 minutes with 5 minute breaks bweteen. Games like capture the flag/bomb, Ho Chi Mhin's Trail, D Day, Black Hawk down, Team Deathmatch, VIP, Embassy and many others. So the games never get boring and repetitive.

People that play there vary from hard core milsim folk to first time paintballers. Generally when I go there is about 50% to 75% renters and the rest are gun owners who are fairly skilled. Once and a while a woodsball team will come out to practice and a slaughter ensews.

The refs are usually quite fair and keep the game moving at a good pace even switching up the game in the middle to make it intersting when the game turns into a stalemate. I hate waiting forever to get my tank filled up but at TPG I have never had to wait more than a minute. Same goes for paintballs.

The only thing that I wished they had was more tables and cover for customers, usually I arrive there at open so this isn't a problem for me, but many people dont get a table and have no where to put there stuff.

All in all this is a great place to play paintball and reccomend it to anyone no matter what the experience level. 9 out of 10.
Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2008 at 10:14 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

saint19 Friday, August 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Basically everything is much crappier after they merged with another paintball company - EVERYTHING.


Safety
In the past, people who violated safety rules would be kick out of the game or banned from the field but now... they might get yelled at by a 15 year old kid who is volunteering as a ref.


Field
Big. great for wood balls.
No longer use air honk to signal end of game (unlike before) - now using yelling which leaves players confused as to if the game is over or not.

Prices
Decent. Good for people who own their own equipment.

Staff/Refs
Staff are comprised of untrained or unknowledgeable people, some of whom are volunteer teenagers.
eg. "could you replace the O ring on my remote coil?" - me
"no, i have no experience with that and i don't want to screw up your coil" - staff
Poor explanation of games, leaving crucial details out.

Equipement
No chronos at public field - very safe.
Use to have paper towels and water spray bottles for cleaning goggles, but not anymore
If you are using air at the public field, you have to walk over to the speed ball court. They will not have it at their main booth.
No longer uses 2 colour arm band system to differentiate teams (green on one arm and red on the other - so can distinguish by looking at the band less arm)
last time i went, they used only one colour on one team and band less for the other team.

For the people who have never been to this field, or only have been there recently - all i have to say is that it use to be better.

Tsawwassen Paintball is probably still the best field out there, but they are certainly not what they use to be. If they rectify theses issues mentioned above i would definitely give this field a 10.





Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

digi_blak_angel Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Renegade fields
Review: I have played this field a fair number of times. The lack of small bushes always annoys me. There is large open area that make tactic hard to use. The winter wind storms though have improved this a lot and I hope they do not change it much.. They have a lot of bunkers and parts to hide. Their large embassy building needs to have the ramps taken away. They are dangerous. Slippery even on dry sunny days. I am looking forward to trying out the Old/new field as it was the first field I ever tried almost 10 years ago.

I played their scenario this last week-end and had fun. Most of the people on both sides were great. I had no problem with any of the players except the Mercs. I will not go into it but there was disputes.

The biggest problem i had was their pointing system for their big games. The most recent game I will have to say was not going well for the axis. Allies pushed them back to their spawn multiple times and controlled most of the field all day yet the points were too close to represent that. I suspect it was to keep it close but making adjustments other ways would have been better.

Otherwise the staff are standard nothing out standing to make me impressed. The answer question helpfully and will attempt to fill your needs, but never have I walked away going wow.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkeytrev16 Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: TPG is awesome!!!!!!

the first time I went paintballing I went to TPG, I didn't know what to expect because it was my first time. They are really good with safety like everyone else says, the refs are really good, the staffs nice, the food wasn't the greatest but it was okay, and I had fun.

The field is nice, (this is a woodsball field), it has lots of cover, but still space to move around in, it had a couple buildings that were in good shape, and a lot of good obstacles. in the neutral zone it has a target range with a toilet and a few other thing s to shoot as well.

Over all I had a great time and I would definently come back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

microphage Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in Vancouver atleast....until i open my own in a few years - if i ever get any huge sum of money
Review: TPG is great! when i was a noob i went to bigshots and it totally sucked. So i went to TPG and had a blast. TGP, like in all the reviews, is crazy about safety. Refs where yellow jerseys to stand out agaisnt the other players. They used walkie-talkies and sometimes they sit in trees to have a birds eye view. If you are a renter, they use 98 Customs which aren't that bad. The paint is ok...but a bit expensive for renters at 12/100 - where as it is 8/100 and on the last sundays of the month, it's 6/100 (if you're a gun owner). You can also buy a membership to get paint at 6/100 - if i'm not mistaken. Shelters are ok...they dont provide much shade during the summer, so be there first to grab a spot!

Pros
- nice and experienced staff
- probably the closes field to Vancouver and Richmond
- big field with natural bunkers etc.
- cheap paint for gun owners

Cons
- expensive paint for renters
- last time i went, there were a lot of pros and i totally got owned...
Last edited on Sunday, December 17th, 2006 at 4:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

moneyindabank Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Big Shots, Panther, North Shore
Review: This in my mind is a good field. The refs are not bad but the field is great! I'm a woodsballer and I really like how there is a lot of bunkers and trees to hide behind. There is great spots for sniper yet there is open area for rushers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lookup Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panther Paintball.

Pros: Lots Of fields, You can play tell late at night because of lights

Cons: Staff is not very helpfull, They do not crono guns very often so you can play with a hot marker, The refs do not wont to run on the field if you yell paint check . Speedball field is in very poor condition, Bunkers are never inflated.
Review: I consider TPG to be my home field... The staff at Tawassan are very helpfull. The refs at the field are very good, they do not take crap from players that think they are better than them. The refs always crono the guns before you can play so there is never a hot marker on the field. The refs always inforce the rules and if you break them then your gone.
The fields are always in great shape. The speed ball field is one of the best i have ever seen and played on. The to woods ball fields they have (privet and public) are very safe for players to play on. They have a variety of games you can play during drop in at the woods ball field. The fields are always in good working order. There is going to be a new field opening up soon at Tawassan so stay tuned for more details.

Paint wise it is a little expensive but that's what it cost for good balls. (TPG uses Xball by the way)

Over all i would give TPG a 10/10 because it is a field i trust and feel safe at. The people I play with at the field are very friendly as with the staff. I recommend this field if you are looking for a good time and wont to play at a good quality field with very friendly people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media