paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / East Coast Extreme Sports Paintball Field / East Coast Extreme Sports Paintball Field / East Coast Extreme Sports Paintball Field / East Coast Extreme Sports Paintball Field

East Coast Extreme Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 954 757 0222
Address: 7710 Wiles Road
Pompano Beach, Florida 33067
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ZechChrome Sunday, September 16th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 16th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hotshots Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Located on a church camp, very hard to find.
Review: Before the actual review --

I can confirm this field is open and operational as of 9/16/12. I have seen some reviews saying it closed down, but it was open yesterday. No worries about going to a field that is closed. It seems like people are saying that there is more than one field, but this was not the case when I went. Only one field located in the woods. No x-ball, just woodsball.

--------

Finding the field --

With that being said, finding the field was incredibly difficult. It is located on a church camp, through some back roads, and basically in the swamps/woods. We had to call the place several times to get directions, because it was so difficult to find.

--------

When we got there --

There is only one field. It is woodsball, with a few "bunkers" made of wood and plywood. There is a shop, but do not expect to have any repairs done there. I took two markers I own there for repairs, and they told me I would have to go to the shop they own, which is not located on site, but far away. They can sell you stuff, but not repair anything.

They have benchs and tents, and port-a-johns. Food is available.

-------

Playing on the field --

I took with me two friends, who were new to paintball, so they had rental gear. One of them, named Logan, had his gun jam up 4 times in the first game. I eventually just gave him my gun and walked off, because I felt bad and wanted him to enjoy it. I went and replaced it again, and that gun jammed too. They use Tippman's with compressed air.

NOTE*

This is in florida, so humidity and weather are a factor you need to be aware of. Paint will swell and deform, it might rain, and heat also plays a factor. This was why the gun kept jamming, because of the humidity and rain.

-------

Staff --

My two friends were not given any kind of safety tutorial, I had to wait for a very long time while the staff inside the store talked and joked around, ignoring me, and the ref's looked and acted like teenage boys who were just there to boss people around. No one was helpful, no one made you feel welcome. Not impressed.

-------

My experience --

We went there, and within the first 10 minutes of getting there, it started to completely downpour rain on us. I felt awful for my friends, who were just wearing a t-shirt and shorts. Since the field is the woods, it was incredibly muddy and miserable. It was like playing in a lake, the water levels were constantly well above my sneakers, which is not fun at all. I know I can't judge the field based on the weather, but it just left me with an overall bad vibe from the place.

------

About the staff --

They really did try to help with the rain problem. They set up motors and tried to siphon off the rain, but you'd think that if it happens often enough that they have motors for it, they would do something a little more pro-active in stopping rain from people enjoying it. The refs all had walkie-talkies to speak from across the field, and made sure that your barrel cover was always on when you walked off the field.

-------

More description --

There is only one field, as I said. It is woodsball, and it is very small. There are really only 3 main paths you can take, and one side of the field is EXTREMELY easy to defend. One side has a tower, bunkers, shelter and walls for you to camp at, while the other side gets screwed over with a few log barriers. It is extremely unfair, and difficult to win if you are on the bad side.

If someone gets out, because of the way the field is set up, the ref's have to COMPLETELY stop the game, and wait for the person to walk entirely off the field before it can resume. This is incredibly annoying.

They do have a chrono, but it is located on the field. The refs will not let you go out and test/chrono your gun while a game is going on, which is also incredibly annoying and inconvenient. This means you have about a 2-minute window in which to do whatever you need to before the game starts, and then you better get off the field, or the refs will yell at you, which they seem to enjoy doing, especially to the newer kids I played with.

---------------------

Wrap-up ----

Plain and simple, I will not be back to this field. The refs are untrained and rude, they have no way to repair your gun if anything happens, the chrono is badly placed, only one field which is unfair, and the far-away location makes it difficult to get to, and unworthy to make the trip since it is such bad quality.

I was not impressed at all with aspect of the field, staff, waiting area, rentals, or location. Call me snooty, but if I'm going to be paying 30$ to play at a field, I expect quality, which was not given at this field.

I felt bad for my friends, who were put in a miserable experience with paintball because I chose this field. I will be lucky if I can convince either one of them to come back and play with me, even at a different field.

I understand they did the best with what they had, but it was not enough for me. DO NOT come on a day that it rains, you will be extremely sorry you did. I was ready to ask for a refund and go another day, because it was such poor playing conditions. How can you play and enjoy paintball when you can't see anything, your gun keeps jamming, and water is flooding past your ankles?

Plain answer -- you can't.
Last edited on Sunday, September 16th, 2012 at 8:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nitestride Wednesday, November 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hot Shots - Loxahatchee, FL
Review: This field is sponsored by only of the only Paintball shops in Broward country, East Coast Extreme Paintball (http://www.ecepaintball.com/index1.php).

However, due to a large casino being built at the Pompano Harness Track (the owners of the land the field is on), this field is closed, and has been for some time. See ECE's page about this here: http://www.ecepaintball.com/fields.php

As of now, there is not a scheduled re-open date.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

****** Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Field(s)-The fields are not really the best you can get. I have not played at anything better, but that is simply because they are all too far away. They keep one field (the X-ball field) somewhat constant in the bunker layout. However, the other (walk-on field) is terrible. Bunkers deflate and are not anchored into the ground properly causing them to move around. The Snake is not properly set up, and the last time I was there one of the bunkers completely deflated and they did nothing about it. Also, the grass is non existent. Considing they are one of the fields that host the SFPS, they really need to put grass.

Prices-The prices are fair. They charge $50 dollars for paint, and removed the BYOP(bring your own paint) that they once offered on saturdays which does not help people who could barely afford it as it was. I would not mind the prices if i thought that I was getting a good deal but when the fields are run-down/neglected its hard to think that you are.

Staff-I have been to other shops and the ECE staff is definitely the best without a doubt. Everybody is helpful and quite knowledgeable.

Reffs-Unfortunately their reffs(certain reffs and certain days) are not so good. You are lucky if you get 1 ref for a game and if you want to have a fair match you have to wait on the field in the heat for around 5 minutes. Even then some reffs will just call the game through the screen from the other field and not actually ref the game. One ref at the field who is typically there on saturdays likes to reprimand people for calling other players out when they are playing. I would not mind being yelled at if there was a reff, but seeing as there frewuently is none, I do not believe he has the right to do that. Certain days you can find the reffs picking up garbage and sitting on the fields talking instead of reffing which i really dont appreciate since I pay a total of 60-70 to play.

Players-The players are for the most part nice. No matter where you go you will run into someone you don't like.

Facilities-The have some tables and tents for the players, its fine if you cna get used to the heat.

Overall-The X-ball field is fine, they just need some new grass. The only thing they need to focus on in my opinion would be the reffs. Im not sure if they need more or they just need to make sure they are not lazy. *Most of the Reff's are great, its just a handfull that I have noticed over the past few weeks*
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GatorJoe Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
East to Powerline on Atlantic, go south.
Make left at 2nd light - looks like a horse racetrack.
Once in, make right to go to south end of property.
Review: Good review from last analysis. Hasn't changed.

New to paintball, and didn't know this fact, but this field is "Field Paint Only". My son has own equipment, I rent, but we have our own paint. So, they wanted us to buy their paint too.

Little disappointed in that fact, since I would have to spend another $50 to buy on top of the $53 spent for my rental and my son's admission. So we left and got our money back. Considering they ONLY TAKE CASH, I'd have to bring over $100 with me to play there when I need paint.

They seem nice and helpful. A good number of people there too with their own gear (and I bet, their own paint!). The fields like nice too.

Wish they had their own days where you didn't have to buy their paint.

Not a bad place, but we're gonna see if there are other places in Broward.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigHen36 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
Atlantic Blvd to Powerline - S - 2nd light - E
Review: Field:
They have two fields. One is about 85% grass and the other is only about 10% (if that) The bunkers are great although they start deflating through out the day.

Price:
$50 a box (2000) for Classic
About $35 to rent equip.
$15 fo admission

Refs:
Still one ref per field.
Lazy!
Its up to you to make sure you hit your mark

Overall:
Its a great place to play. Staff is really nice and helpful. They carry some parts just in case (feed necks, o-rings, etc...). Refreshments sold! Tents and benches to escape the HEAT! I will definitely go back!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkdmd Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
FAU Renegade (Not official, just woods)
Directions
to the Field:
Atlantic Blvd & Powerline, Pompano Harness Track Parking lot
Review: Safety:
7/10-- They have crono's before teh entrance to the fields. Even though players aren't forced to use them, I saw a good number of players make sure they were under 300fps. I did however hear field personnel consistently tell customers to put their masks back on and barrel plugs back it.

Rentals:
3/10--
Gun: Piranha
Hopper: Gravity (Java)
Gas: 12oz CO2
Goggles: VForce (cheapies) the only good thing they rent.

Their guns shot less than 220fps on their own chrono's.

Fields:
7/10--
They have two fields. One is mostly sand with a limited number of bunkers. It's not a bad field, it's just not a good field. The other is obviously their better field as it is 95% grass, has many more bunkers, a full length snake. It is setup very similar to the NPPL fields.

Pricing:
10/10--
Saturdays are b.y.o.p. which is awesome because I don't really like spending alot on paint. Their field paint is reasonably priced at $50/case.

Refs:
5/10--
Usually only 1 ref per field, sometimes two. It was pretty much up to yourself to get out if you got shot. They were nice enough, there just wasn't enough of them.

Overall:
7/10--
Fields could be grassier and the one could have a better bunker layout. There were a ton of people there, but I always pretty much got on as soon as I went to their ready to play area. Oh, they only take cash at the field so make sure you bring it. They also don't check at all for the armband that you get when you pay for admission/all day air. I'd definitely go back if it was the only place around to play, but because i like woodsball better I'll probably stick to FAU Renegade at 441 & Yamato for most weekends.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 at 9:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1990 Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
RNT, ER, Hot shots, spraypaint, Chaos(when it was open)
Review: Bad:
To start with the field was preety much all sand, i dont know how it is now but when i last went it was all sand. i havent been to the field in awhile though. There is a pretty bad fire ant problem and all the sand that is out there gets all up in your gun, that gets pretty annoying at times. there always changing the field layout and sometimes it sucks and sometimes its good. you got a 50/50 shot.


Good:
The prices there are alright the entry fee is affordable but paint is alittle expensive. Most of the staff is nice and there teams will help you out. the bunkers are alright and the field are a good size.

Its not a bad field if its the only one around but i would suggest a different field if theres one closer to your house.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

john@ece Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I just wanted to post the true price list so theres no confusion.

saturdays are 20.00 and b.y.o.p. or 15.00 and use ours wich is a premium draxxus paint (not the rec sport either) for 50.00 a case.

sundays are field paint only at the same price as above.Teams that practice there at least twice a month get special pricing. Pro teams play free.

Tournaments the paint sometimes is more depending on the type of tournament.
Last edited on Friday, February 10th, 2006 at 8:47 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rrwwe Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
RNT
SP
Cobra
Strike Force (when they were open RIP)
Review: Ok this is an awesome field set up. I played here for a tournement and lemme just say its a great field although the refs are not flexable at all. As a matter of fact they sort of dont care about wut situation ure in. We played a game against a team (not telling cuz it wasa tourney) they just do a straight run through and we get a few of them and they were playing on and techniclly we got them before they got us. Then the refs were all like omg they got u b4 u got them, then we told the refs that all of them were cheating nasty, lucky they didnt get any points and we got 10 points only and he said he gave us 2 players and he wouldnt let our 2 players hang the flag so the ref basiclly kept us from the finals due to his stupid decision. And the ref, he didnt care....... So if you want to come here to play a tournement or lets just say a ormal weekend id only goto play on the fields and not to listen to the refs or better yet save your time and money because prices there are insanley HIGH. 65 per case of paint. THats just sad and plus they dont take credit cards they want cash only thats even more pathetic and sad. save your time and money. the xball and air ball field may be good but refs+prices=horrible. Ive only played here once and i hated it put the only thing i admire about this field is that they set the bunkers real well and the teams that go there arent cocky. thats y im giving it a 4-10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

hockey2k28 Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only good one in the area besides the fields in miami like miami indoor
Review: i have been playing at this field for about a year. i have to say that it is one of the best fields in the area. they make sure ur barrel plugs are in ur wearing ur mask and that you get out when ur out. NO WIPING! Also not only do they have 2 good fields to play on but teams to back them up. i have just got servious about paintball over the summer and now me a a couple of friends are starting a club/team at our high school and this is defenetly the field we will be playing at
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media